Championship 2021

After the highs of last year and the great success and joy the team give the Cavan people, with a league with the team hammered by injury and the unfortunate relegation to div 4 which is an unfortunate blip, but we got to look forward and hope that the guys gives it there best in Omagh. So best of luck to the guys next week.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 04/07/2021 10:32:02    2355926

Replying To goonie:  "After the highs of last year and the great success and joy the team give the Cavan people, with a league with the team hammered by injury and the unfortunate relegation to div 4 which is an unfortunate blip, but we got to look forward and hope that the guys gives it there best in Omagh. So best of luck to the guys next week."
Good luck to Cavan, Thanks for last year, it was brilliant! I know that regardless of who is playing it will be a fighting performance. The future begins here!! Come on the Blue's!!!

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 04/07/2021 22:55:01    2356320

Best of luck to Mickey and the boys on Sunday. ye are already in bonus territory no matter what the fair weather and faint hearted supports who are on here venting their anger think. Two Ulster finals in the past two years and one magnificent victory which no one can take away from ye. On that day in Armagh every player on the field gave the best performance of their careers in the cavan jersey. This gives me hope that if we bring the same fight to Tyrone we can beat them.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 05/07/2021 15:39:03    2356599

Any team news or injury updates? Slow Monday here so I put together a 15. Think it's a pretty good team if all are fit.

1 R Galligan
2 J McLoughlin
3 P Faulkner
4 L Fortune
5 G Smith
6 K Clarke
7 O Kiernan
8 T Galligan
9 K Brady
10 J Smith
11 G McKiernan
12 N Murray
13 C Conroy
14 C Madden
15 M Reilly

Tyrone are a good side and will be clear favourites but they are nothing like team they once were. We should have no fear going up there anymore. Best of luck to the Cavan lads

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 05/07/2021 16:31:27    2356639

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Best of luck to Mickey and the boys on Sunday. ye are already in bonus territory no matter what the fair weather and faint hearted supports who are on here venting their anger think. Two Ulster finals in the past two years and one magnificent victory which no one can take away from ye. On that day in Armagh every player on the field gave the best performance of their careers in the cavan jersey. This gives me hope that if we bring the same fight to Tyrone we can beat them."
Answer this question truthfully.

How are we in bonus territory?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 05/07/2021 18:23:33    2356675

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Any team news or injury updates? Slow Monday here so I put together a 15. Think it's a pretty good team if all are fit.

1 R Galligan
2 J McLoughlin
3 P Faulkner
4 L Fortune
5 G Smith
6 K Clarke
7 O Kiernan
8 T Galligan
9 K Brady
10 J Smith
11 G McKiernan
12 N Murray
13 C Conroy
14 C Madden
15 M Reilly

Tyrone are a good side and will be clear favourites but they are nothing like team they once were. We should have no fear going up there anymore. Best of luck to the Cavan lads"
Good team. Would start Caoimhín McGovern or Oisín Pierson for an added scoring threat.

Conor Brady looks to have really bulked up. If his fitness has come on from a month ago, I'd start him midfield and rotate Galligan in and out of FF line. 4 in MF from kickouts (gearoid, James, conor and galligan) should see us win our fair share of ball.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/07/2021 18:32:44    2356677

hard to see where scores are coming from...none of the team guarantee you 4 or 5 points from play a game, never mind having 2 or 3 players like that

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1681 - 05/07/2021 22:34:26    2356786

Replying To goonie:  "After the highs of last year and the great success and joy the team give the Cavan people, with a league with the team hammered by injury and the unfortunate relegation to div 4 which is an unfortunate blip, but we got to look forward and hope that the guys gives it there best in Omagh. So best of luck to the guys next week."
poor enough effort there.. I would give that a "D". much room for improvement.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/07/2021 18:21:33    2357074

we could not beat wicklow whilst posting 18 points so the issue is clearly defending and stopping runners down the middle. Hopefully Killian Brady will solve that problem . We also need our full back line to stick like glue to their men. We need a more "go-forward" attitude from Gearoid and more shooting instead of lateral passing. What we do not need is the lack of discipline from some of our players that we saw the last time against Tyrone (although to be fair two of the biggest offenders that day are not involved). Tyrone are masters at sledging so dont rise to the bait. We need to give every difficult free to R Galligan apart from those that Gearoid can kick. We need to be awake to the possibility of goals instead of taking "the sensible option". the sensible option is the coward's option.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/07/2021 18:33:58    2357075

Replying To s goldrick:  "we could not beat wicklow whilst posting 18 points so the issue is clearly defending and stopping runners down the middle. Hopefully Killian Brady will solve that problem . We also need our full back line to stick like glue to their men. We need a more "go-forward" attitude from Gearoid and more shooting instead of lateral passing. What we do not need is the lack of discipline from some of our players that we saw the last time against Tyrone (although to be fair two of the biggest offenders that day are not involved). Tyrone are masters at sledging so dont rise to the bait. We need to give every difficult free to R Galligan apart from those that Gearoid can kick. We need to be awake to the possibility of goals instead of taking "the sensible option". the sensible option is the coward's option."
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5405 - 06/07/2021 18:33:58

Alot of "we need" in that post I don't have much confidence reading all that.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 06/07/2021 23:05:45    2357192

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Any team news or injury updates? Slow Monday here so I put together a 15. Think it's a pretty good team if all are fit.

1 R Galligan
2 J McLoughlin
3 P Faulkner
4 L Fortune
5 G Smith
6 K Clarke
7 O Kiernan
8 T Galligan
9 K Brady
10 J Smith
11 G McKiernan
12 N Murray
13 C Conroy
14 C Madden
15 M Reilly

Tyrone are a good side and will be clear favourites but they are nothing like team they once were. We should have no fear going up there anymore. Best of luck to the Cavan lads"
By all accounts James Smith will play no part in this or any other game for some time… a huge loss..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 06/07/2021 23:27:34    2357204

Best of luck to Mickey and the lads, I know they have worked hard for this, let's get this Tyrone monkey off our backs and summon that never say die attitude of last year. Hon the Breifne time to put things right lads !!

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 08/07/2021 06:55:52    2357572

Replying To facer4home:  "Best of luck to Mickey and the lads, I know they have worked hard for this, let's get this Tyrone monkey off our backs and summon that never say die attitude of last year. Hon the Breifne time to put things right lads !!"
It's a tough ask going to Tyrone, it's even tougher going with out James and ciaran two of our main players last year, but Micky will have something up his sleeve, come on Cavan.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 08/07/2021 11:54:40    2357633

Replying To blueman1903:  "It's a tough ask going to Tyrone, it's even tougher going with out James and ciaran two of our main players last year, but Micky will have something up his sleeve, come on Cavan."
We can do it, we have enough quality players in the panel but they will need to show grit, determination, belief. It can be done !! If things stay tight to 2nd half as I think they will the pressure will be more on the Tyrone under new management in their home patch in front of mostly home crowd. Let's face it the underdog tag suits us in recent times.
I don't care who gets the small number of tickets from Cavan by jaysus make sure you're heard up there. If you're in the stand there'll be galivanise sheeting somewhere near you to bang, let her rip boys and girls, Hon the Breifne

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 08/07/2021 13:57:34    2357674

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "By all accounts James Smith will play no part in this or any other game for some time… a huge loss.."
Mickey said it's "touch and go" whether he'll feature v Tyrone.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/07/2021 19:33:17    2357820

Replying To cavanman47:  "Mickey said it's "touch and go" whether he'll feature v Tyrone."
He will probably be one of the 4/5 players Mickey puts in the starting line up that won't start..:. The usual stuff to throw the opposition….. I wish he was fit to play but there is no hope….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 08/07/2021 23:09:56    2357901

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "He will probably be one of the 4/5 players Mickey puts in the starting line up that won't start..:. The usual stuff to throw the opposition….. I wish he was fit to play but there is no hope…."
Is the game on gaago?

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 09/07/2021 18:05:53    2358115

Replying To blueman1903:  "Is the game on gaago?"
No only on Sky Sports I believe…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 09/07/2021 19:12:20    2358128

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "No only on Sky Sports I believe….."
Yes looks like only on Sky Sport and I suppose Northern Sound radio

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 09/07/2021 23:01:06    2358189

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "No only on Sky Sports I believe….."
Deferred coverage on BBC in the evening. Showing full game.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 09/07/2021 23:12:14    2358196