2021 Hurling Championship

Privileged to be here and witness the greatest Limerick team ever.. I don't care if it was a boring second half..we were awesome
.I've seen enough heart break supporting Limerick to last a lifetime.. Days like this won't be for ever so gonna enjoy them.
Luimneach Abu.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 22/08/2021 17:36:16    2373903

Hayes a freak of nature.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 22/08/2021 17:36:24    2373904

Congrats to Limerick. Awesome display of power and class. Commiserations to Cork. They will be back. Limerick today broke the all time scoring record for an all ireland final.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 22/08/2021 17:36:56    2373905

Noone going to mention that disgraceful grounding/spear tackle of the cork player by Cian Lynch ? Or is it grand cause it's a mans game bla bla

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/08/2021 17:41:01    2373908

Has the player of the year ever been more clear cut? Cian Lynch is out of this world. Not just today but for the last four years, he gets better every game. For such a complete team Lynch stands head and shoulders above them all. Every top hurler has been marked out of a game at one point or other but this lad can't be marked. Given the abuse he got in the past, he's an inspiration to everyone.
If lynch is miles ahead of everyone else, then Hannon is the best captain in hurling I've seen in my lifetime.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/08/2021 17:45:52    2373910

Congratulations Limerick. What a team and what a display. Hard luck to Cork but you had a fantastic year and the future looks very bright.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2124 - 22/08/2021 17:49:00    2373912

Congratulations to the Limerick team management and supporters. Awesome performance.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 22/08/2021 18:01:48    2373914

Congratulations to Limerick. I'm delighted for the county and its people. What can I say? I thought Cork would toughen the game a lot more. Commiserations Cork. They'll need everyone of those minor and U-21 teams going forward. But forward they will go, because they are Cork.

As for Limerick. Imagine if they put today's first-half and the second-half versus Tipperary together in one game! Now, that's a scary thought for every other hurling county.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1915 - 22/08/2021 18:05:40    2373916

Cork won't handle that scoreline too well. Some whipping and congrats to Limerick, again.
Don't mind a few of the Kerry lads when they credit JP McManus with the win.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 22/08/2021 18:05:53    2373917

Fair play to Limerick, on a par with Kilkenny 2008 performance & possibly even better. We can have no compliants. Enjoy the celebrations. Limerick have a team for the ages.
All the best to Limerick, on a sober day for us Rebels.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 106 - 22/08/2021 18:06:39    2373918

Replying To skillet:  "Privileged to be here and witness the greatest Limerick team ever.. I don't care if it was a boring second half..we were awesome
.I've seen enough heart break supporting Limerick to last a lifetime.. Days like this won't be for ever so gonna enjoy them.
Luimneach Abu."
And so you should. Fantastic team. I love watching them play. Congratulations!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2021 18:10:07    2373921

Replying To katser:  "Hard luck Cork, next year try letting the ball off quicker instead of taking too much out of it with the stick and learn how to mark your man tighter."
How was it hard luck when they were beaten by that much? No sense in that statement

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/08/2021 18:24:35    2373924

Replying To waynoI:  "Noone going to mention that disgraceful grounding/spear tackle of the cork player by Cian Lynch ? Or is it grand cause it's a mans game bla bla"
You did. Move on...

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1915 - 22/08/2021 18:38:05    2373928

Replying To waynoI:  "Noone going to mention that disgraceful grounding/spear tackle of the cork player by Cian Lynch ? Or is it grand cause it's a mans game bla bla"
Don't worry wayno, 10 years from now when players go down for minutes on end clutching their heads at the slightest hint of contact everything will be OK again.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1709 - 22/08/2021 18:41:06    2373931

Delighted for Limerick, an absolutly powerful performance. They were truly awesome in that first half in particular, it was like men against boys at times.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 22/08/2021 19:02:40    2373938

Replying To skillet:  "Privileged to be here and witness the greatest Limerick team ever.. I don't care if it was a boring second half..we were awesome
Luimneach Abu."
Enjoy it, much deserved, and as you rightly say it wont always be like this. But for now it was a privilage to watch Limerick.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 22/08/2021 19:06:51    2373939

It was a rather dubious looking tackle alright, it got a yellow should it have been a red?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 22/08/2021 19:08:06    2373940

Replying To realdub:  "Cork won't handle that scoreline too well. Some whipping and congrats to Limerick, again.
Don't mind a few of the Kerry lads when they credit JP McManus with the win."
The only poster that mentioned JP and money was yourself and you are a Dub. This thread is about hurling and Limerick were majestic.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 22/08/2021 19:08:26    2373941

It wasn't a spear tackle. A spear tackle is when you lift a player up and drive him head first towards the ground a la what happened Brian O Driscoll when playing for the Kions against the All Blacks. Cian Lynch was tackled around the neck from behind and he pulled the tackler over his shoulder. It was reckless but it was not what you said it was.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/08/2021 19:24:14    2373942

Well done Limerick. A golden generation..

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 22/08/2021 19:54:55    2373954