2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Eight years , again you are spouting absolute nonsense and pretending to be a font of all knowledge ……Cahalane is 28 and Kyle Hayes is 23 ……to refer to any inter county player as 'hopeless' on anything is disrespectful given the levels of fitness and skill required to play at this level but a keyboard warrior like you of course would like one of Mackeys greyhounds (not)"
Amazing that nowadays some people think 28 is "old" . We do have our keyboard warriors on this site, as would be expected. You are correct in stating that all top class inter county players deserve respect...Damien Cahalane and the Cahalanes in general, have been excellent as dual players within the county. Conor Cahalane is half forward on Sunday, and here's hoping we take another step forward!Hard to believe that Christy Ring played until 45... some dedication! Up the Rebels!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/08/2021 00:52:23    2368392

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Curtail Kyle Hayes. Are you serious Kyle Hayes is eight years younger than Cahalane, a man who was hopelessly beaten for speed, in the Full Back Line, against both Waterford and Limerick in '17 and '18. I do not believe Kingston will even dream of putting him in the HF Line."
I guess Kingston consults with you when he picks his team. The encyclopedia of hurling! Limerick win a few All Ireland's and we get inundated with the armchair experts. Let the semifinals begin and hopefully the best teams will win.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/08/2021 01:28:56    2368398

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Yeah, sure Rockies. Hopefully most of the others in Cork, like you, believe that Kilkenny are a one man team. We've always smiled at the 'Billy Big Bollocks' statements coming out of Cork before a major game down the years."
Don't take it so seriously! Obviously nobody in Cork thinks Kilkenny are a one man team. I think Cork and Kilkenny over the years, respect each other whilst being keen rivals. Here's to another great game!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/08/2021 01:40:56    2368400

Replying To baire:  "Hard to beat Munster hurling all the same for sheer class and skill! LOL"
It is true! I enjoy watching this Cork team and not just because I'm a Corkman. Who doesn't like seeing Jack O' Connor's acceleration, leaving defenders in his wake. Reminds me of Eddie Brennan. I will miss seeing Joe Canning play, as he lit up the hurling arena with his skill levels. He wasn't enjoying the hurling life, no privacy in his public life!Good luck to him! We were blessed to watch him play! One of the All Time greats!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/08/2021 01:49:13    2368401

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Eight years , again you are spouting absolute nonsense and pretending to be a font of all knowledge ……Cahalane is 28 and Kyle Hayes is 23 ……to refer to any inter county player as 'hopeless' on anything is disrespectful given the levels of fitness and skill required to play at this level but a keyboard warrior like you of course would like one of Mackeys greyhounds (not)"
Oldtourman IS a fountain of knowledge. Every Down person I have met over the years have been great people. You may be the first to put a foot in mouth with this tripe.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 07/08/2021 03:34:29    2368403

Replying To Rockies:  "Amazing that nowadays some people think 28 is "old" . We do have our keyboard warriors on this site, as would be expected. You are correct in stating that all top class inter county players deserve respect...Damien Cahalane and the Cahalanes in general, have been excellent as dual players within the county. Conor Cahalane is half forward on Sunday, and here's hoping we take another step forward!Hard to believe that Christy Ring played until 45... some dedication! Up the Rebels!"
I agree that the Cahalanes as a family have given great service . No any would question that . That doesn't put the players above critique. Damien is a powerful player in both codes, would get on many teams. And Conor is a fantastic lad with great attitude. My issue is Damiens occasional and costly mistakes and in this stage of a championship mistakes are costly and his old enough now for Cork people to think he might always make these mistakes.. Anyway he's a very good sub to have.
I actually see players playing longer in certain positions. There's nothing stopping full backs and centrebacks, goalies and centre forwards playing on into their mid 30s. I think the flank positions are very demanding aerobically and a 33 or 34 year old might struggle there . But what's stopping a 35 year old making a 15 minute contribution. I think Joe Canning could have got another 3 years doing that and really helped Galway and the young forwards. Look at Richie Hogan in Kilkenny. He still has a role around the squad and who wouldn't be surprised to see him contribute on the field. In Kilkenny the selflessness goes on....its not a place where you go 'I'm not starting im gone'. Its Cody going 'you're still needed, teach the young guys and be ready for a cameo'.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 07/08/2021 10:52:31    2368427

Safe travels to anyone going to the games this weekend and looking forward to two cracking games.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 07/08/2021 11:09:33    2368432

Replying To Rockies:  "It is true! I enjoy watching this Cork team and not just because I'm a Corkman. Who doesn't like seeing Jack O' Connor's acceleration, leaving defenders in his wake. Reminds me of Eddie Brennan. I will miss seeing Joe Canning play, as he lit up the hurling arena with his skill levels. He wasn't enjoying the hurling life, no privacy in his public life!Good luck to him! We were blessed to watch him play! One of the All Time greats!"
I'm looking forward to your clash with KK. Thanks for your kind words re JC, we'll miss him in more ways than one! I also loved to watch Ollie play, his skill, vision and reading of the game was exceptional.
Yes, Cork always had skilful hurlers and that's what I look for most in a team. I remember sitting in a car outside a field in Cork back in the early 80s, lunchtime, and there were two young lads, teenagers, pucking a sliotar between them, about 40 yards apart and they never once touched the ball but controlled it with the hurley and struck it sweetly back and forth. It was a lovely sight to behold.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1840 - 07/08/2021 11:10:02    2368433

Replying To Rockies:  "I guess Kingston consults with you when he picks his team. The encyclopedia of hurling! Limerick win a few All Ireland's and we get inundated with the armchair experts. Let the semifinals begin and hopefully the best teams will win."
Well, if we had about four or five times a pool to draw from we'd probably have won more. And nine is not a few. We have a pretty fine record, considering the pool we have at our disposal. We are one of only three counties to have won an All Ireland in three different centuries and in eight different decades. We are fairly content in our own skin about our achievements, whatever the begrudgers may say. Anyway Rockies. as you say may the best teams win over and like every neutral I will be shouting for the Decies if they win. Long live the underdog.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 07/08/2021 11:19:54    2368439

Replying To Rockies:  "Amazing that nowadays some people think 28 is "old" . We do have our keyboard warriors on this site, as would be expected. You are correct in stating that all top class inter county players deserve respect...Damien Cahalane and the Cahalanes in general, have been excellent as dual players within the county. Conor Cahalane is half forward on Sunday, and here's hoping we take another step forward!Hard to believe that Christy Ring played until 45... some dedication! Up the Rebels!"
But should Christy have played on until he was 45, great player and all as he was. There was even still people in '66 talking of bringing him back at 46/47 'just to win the ninth'- as if winning an extra All Ireland would define such an absolutely massive player. No doubt Damian is only 29, in a few days time, but has had serious injuries issues over the years and has never established himself as an outfield inter county player up to now. I just doubt, with so much fine young talent coming through that Kingston, will play him as a half forward. No doubt he and his family indeed have been great servants of Cork GAA, but you pick teams on current form.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 07/08/2021 11:33:36    2368443

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Damian Cahalane is 28;years of age that is a fact …..soon to turn 29 , I don't need to rely on you tube to feed my 'knowledge' …..suggest you check your facts"
Yes sorry My mistake. I was going that he was Full Back in 2011, which might suggest he was senior member of a U21 team. As Hayes was eligible to be on the '19 U21- if there had been one he is still six years younger that Damien. My point is overall that K Kingston has a pool of young and very talented players, he is unlikely to start at 29, who has never established as an outfield player.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 07/08/2021 11:39:53    2368444

Fair play to play to you- you are not a bad old keyboard yourself. You carry the flag for Cork magnificently here and since few enough Cork people engage with HS that is a very good thing. Again best of luck tomorrow.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 07/08/2021 11:44:28    2368445

Replying To Oldtourman:  "But should Christy have played on until he was 45, great player and all as he was. There was even still people in '66 talking of bringing him back at 46/47 'just to win the ninth'- as if winning an extra All Ireland would define such an absolutely massive player. No doubt Damian is only 29, in a few days time, but has had serious injuries issues over the years and has never established himself as an outfield inter county player up to now. I just doubt, with so much fine young talent coming through that Kingston, will play him as a half forward. No doubt he and his family indeed have been great servants of Cork GAA, but you pick teams on current form."
Christy was 45 in 1966. His last inter county game was in 1963, but in club hurling he was the best forward on view in ' 64 and '65. Selectors wanted to bring him back on panel for ' 66 all Ireland final, but he declined. He didn't want to deprive another player of an all Ireland ,and also word is he didn't want to be understudy to John Bennett! Competitive to the last!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/08/2021 13:57:46    2368486

Waterford can't be faulted but what an awesome half of hurling by Limerick!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 07/08/2021 18:14:00    2368553

LK Vs. WD interesting how players can take 7 or 8 steps as ref. is obsessed with keeping play going

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1676 - 07/08/2021 18:18:52    2368558

This ref following the gaa tradition of giving everything to the team we'll behind. Very hard for Limerick to win a free in this second half.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2185 - 07/08/2021 18:44:23    2368565

Ref is determined to make a game of this in the second half

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1066 - 07/08/2021 18:44:59    2368566

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Ref is determined to make a game of this in the second half"
Even the red card couldn't help them

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 07/08/2021 19:06:05    2368570

Congrats Limerick a super team. We were leggy today but no excuses.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2673 - 07/08/2021 19:16:32    2368573

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Even the red card couldn't help them"
Says the hurler on the ditch.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2673 - 07/08/2021 19:17:17    2368574