2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To preddan:  "What you mean "it's been a privilege" the word "been" meaning he's retired, strange thing to say!!! Why should he retire? Keep in decent shape and another 2 or 3 years in him with his skill."
It has been a privilege to watch him the last years. And yes Preddan it should be a privilege to watch him the next few also!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11791 - 25/07/2021 10:44:29    2363765

Replying To midlands:  "I can't help wondering if tiredness was the main reason for Clare losing today. It was strange, to say the least, that Cork (and Galway) got a bye to the second qualifier round after losing their only game, whereas Clare, after a great win over Waterford and an unlucky loss to Tipp, had to play Wexford on one of the hottest days of the year, and then turn around to play a well-rested Cork a week later. Of the teams eliminated from the championship at this stage I think Clare can consider themselves by far the unluckiest."
Agree 100% Clare were very unlucky this year. Fatigue was definetly a factor today. They played their hearts out even if they won it would have been a tall task to go out again next week and preform at the level that is needed. They had a tough route and a terrible decision may have put them on that route.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 25/07/2021 10:49:59    2363768

Replying To ahsure.:  "Donoghue given the boot when he should have been backed in 2019. Nobody as far as I know wanted the gig in Galway (that tells you all you need to know with the squad at disposal). Something seriously wrong which is disheartening as we seemed to get our act together 2016-2019."
Something is wrong at board level. There was all that stuff with Pat Mcdonagh and the sponsorship money. In fairness to Galway compared to Clare they kept their troubles far more in house and it wasnt splashed all over the media but when Donoghue quit and numerous Galway men were being touted as being interested in being the next manager before quickly not being interested youd have to wonder what was going on. Shane O Neill was far from 1st choice for the job. Maybe all the mess behind the scenes cost a great team another all Ireland or 2 which is a shame for the players.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11791 - 25/07/2021 10:55:53    2363771

Replying To ahsure.:  "Donoghue given the boot when he should have been backed in 2019. Nobody as far as I know wanted the gig in Galway (that tells you all you need to know with the squad at disposal). Something seriously wrong which is disheartening as we seemed to get our act together 2016-2019."
Something is wrong at board level. There was all that stuff with Pat Mcdonagh and the sponsorship money. In fairness to Galway compared to Clare they kept their troubles far more in house and it wasnt splashed all over the media but when Donoghue quit and numerous Galway men were being touted as being interested in being the next manager before quickly not being interested youd have to wonder what was going on. Shane O Neill was far from 1st choice for the job. Maybe all the mess behind the scenes cost a great team another all Ireland or 2 which is a shame for the players.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11791 - 25/07/2021 10:57:22    2363772

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Yeah that was bad,a Galway AI winning manager leaving,could it be the job for Eddie Brennan?"
Yes that's a great suggestion;)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11791 - 25/07/2021 10:58:06    2363773

Replying To Richardkimble:  "Davy Fitzgerald was in portlaoise at the Laois V Westmeath game this evening didn't see him but a good few people said he was there. I wonder what was the reason he was there Laois could be his next step on the managerial ladder perhaps. Cheddar is a good hurling man but I hear the players are not happy with the direction he's taking them. Would Davy improve Laois like Eddie Brennan did?"
He would improve Laois if he left us theres no doubt about it. Your board would have to back him though. I remember lads giving out that he had to buy hundreds more sliothars to do his training sessions when he took over our team. He has apparently some innovative coaching methods. He would raise the profile of the game in your county and maybe this would encourage more young lads to take up hurling as well as football. It's not just a manager you get with the Davy Fitz package.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11791 - 25/07/2021 11:03:51    2363775

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Having said that endgame, how come that Galway have eleven minor All Irelands since 1999, a string of different clubs have won All Irelands and a number of National Leagues have been won in that time and yet they have only one Senior trophy to show for it. . I suggest some problem was there long before Shane O'Neill. I do believe that if they get their together and really on their U/A successes they will be the top All Ireland of this decade as they were back in the eighties. What is gone is gone and the blame gets nobody anywhere."
Definitely something not right behind the scenes there Oldtourman.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11791 - 25/07/2021 11:05:38    2363777

You can win minor All Irelands all you like and it makes no difference. The way to optimize the possibility of senior success is to win U20 All Irelands. Our last win at that grade I think was 2011 and we got 1 senior All Ireland from the bones of that team. We have performed poorly at that grade for quite some time. We have a massive match vs Dublin in the Leinster U20 final on Tuesday. One step at a time, but it is crucial that we win the All Ireland this year at that grade with possibly the most talented squad on paper that we've had in a long time. Right now that's far more vital for the future of Galway hurling than the person we have as senior manager.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 25/07/2021 11:14:10    2363779

Replying To Canuck:  "Like the two incidents last week that just got yellow cards Conor Gleeson's was red. He could have broke Joe's hand. I hope there is not a smell of it though. It was announced that Joe was being replaced but was not. Where did t.v. coverage get its information. The referee had 15 minutes this time to decide between yellow and red. Hopefully there was no interference and Galway I am sure are above that. An explanation of who reported Gleeson and how the tv got information that was wrong or just changed again. Glad for sure that the great Joe is okay but I am sure hurting."
Was thinking very same. Didn't Canning leave the pitch with his hand in a sling? That's what radio commentary said anyway, and they didn't immediately know the cause of the red but were putting two and two together.

Noticeable that the ones who were writing off Waterford seem to have forgotten what they said before the match! As I said before, Waterford (same as Dublin) have excellent record against Galway, but some people persist in dismissing them every time.

Waterford were always going to be capable of taking out one of the contenders and are now contenders themselves. Still standing, which is all that matters. Not what some superficial analyst thinks based on one previous outing.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2542 - 25/07/2021 11:36:44    2363789

Replying To Canuck:  "Like the two incidents last week that just got yellow cards Conor Gleeson's was red. He could have broke Joe's hand. I hope there is not a smell of it though. It was announced that Joe was being replaced but was not. Where did t.v. coverage get its information. The referee had 15 minutes this time to decide between yellow and red. Hopefully there was no interference and Galway I am sure are above that. An explanation of who reported Gleeson and how the tv got information that was wrong or just changed again. Glad for sure that the great Joe is okay but I am sure hurting."
I like your objectivity Canuck, i.e your honesty, it's refreshing compared to the ranting and weasel words of some others posters on this forum. Congrats on your win, we'll be rooting for you in the west!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1788 - 25/07/2021 11:39:13    2363792

Replying To baire:  "I like your objectivity Canuck, i.e your honesty, it's refreshing compared to the ranting and weasel words of some others posters on this forum. Congrats on your win, we'll be rooting for you in the west!"
Yup, as gutted as I am to have had such a bad season, I'll be cheering waterford from here on in. Would be great to see them do it.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 25/07/2021 12:03:09    2363803

Replying To baire:  "Maybe if Galway hadn't let in 2 very soft goals in 2017 the margin of victory would have been much higher. Maybe if Galway had Mattie Kenny as manager instead of AC from 2012-2016 Galway would have won another ALL Ireland, if they had Niall Donoghue (RIP) etc etc. Oldtourman is talking both sides of his mouth, before the game he was saying Galway were still a huge threat as were other Limerick posters, now they come here to bad mouth them. They hit you when you're down, a sporting lot no doubt! Maybe if Limerick hadn't the financial backing of a billionaire they wouldn't be so hot! There will always be maybes."
Maybe you think we 're not a sporting lot but Galway have been built up all year as the team to beat Limerick so of course a lot of Limerick fans were keeping a close eye on Galway-take it as a compliment. Ye looked very good in the league and seemed primed for a big year but I think the further the championship is going on the more the league is starting to look like a series of challenge games and the smart teams used it to build up for the championship. As for JP's millions being the difference for us just compare our respective records in the minor championship over the last decade where we won 4 Munster titles(a golden period for us) but have failed in the AI series even with about 10 of the current senior panel back in 2014. At the same time ye have owned the championship but failed to progress onto u20 or senior, why is that? Are yer players peaking at 17 or are they happy with their lot? Are the managers not being given a period of time to build a young team where you might take a few beating early on but young players often have to go through this to come out the other side. In January 2017 Cork put 6 goals past Limerick in John Kielys first match, not great at the time but about half that team were running around Croker with Liam 18 months later.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 25/07/2021 14:02:10    2363822

Replying To Richardkimble:  "Davy Fitzgerald was in portlaoise at the Laois V Westmeath game this evening didn't see him but a good few people said he was there. I wonder what was the reason he was there Laois could be his next step on the managerial ladder perhaps. Cheddar is a good hurling man but I hear the players are not happy with the direction he's taking them. Would Davy improve Laois like Eddie Brennan did?"
I believe Davy would improve any team and has done that but god he needs to settle down. Especially at his age. When interviewing someone for a job and I asked a question and the candidate went off ranting about some personal grievance, no chance. This is what Davy did after the last game. Thats a pity but I have learned the hard way you don't change people and you can bring a whole lot of grief down on yourself. Laois persuade Derek to go with you. He is good at using limited resources and would step you up another notch. He may not be the one to finish the climb either.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 25/07/2021 15:23:14    2363870

Replying To Galway9801:  "Yup, as gutted as I am to have had such a bad season, I'll be cheering waterford from here on in. Would be great to see them do it."
I do be some what surprised at the dumping on Galway as if getting pleasure out of any set back they have. I have been following the sport for more years to remember and their supporters are among the best. In 2017 sitting among them for the all-Ireland made for an enjoyable day. No gloating after. No shouting abuse at the opposition. Galway are always bubbling on the surface or barely underneath it and I expect that to continue.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 25/07/2021 16:03:21    2363905

Replying To Canuck:  "I do be some what surprised at the dumping on Galway as if getting pleasure out of any set back they have. I have been following the sport for more years to remember and their supporters are among the best. In 2017 sitting among them for the all-Ireland made for an enjoyable day. No gloating after. No shouting abuse at the opposition. Galway are always bubbling on the surface or barely underneath it and I expect that to continue."
Galway never 'want it' enough. Defeat doesn't hurt them enough. The Galway public just nod and move on in contrast to the Cork public or even the Clare public who demand more. Its definately a factor. There's no excuse for the hurlers no show and the footballers no show in the 3nd half today. For a big big GAA county the senior teams really are a glaring disappointment. No leadership either.
Shane O Neill won 1 All Ireland against a bad Northern team. He threw away another against Cuala when a few tactical decisions the first day would have seen Na Piarsaigh safely home. He's actually a perfect fit for Galway. Never let's passion over take him and sits camly by as his team folds the tent and heads for the exit.
I remember growing up and the Galway team of the late 80s that would kill to win. I loved the Connollys and Gerry McInerney ...As John Giles said of his great Leeds team. They had fellas that would kill their granny to win. Galway have no killers..

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 25/07/2021 17:10:16    2363932

Replying To bloodyban:  "Galway never 'want it' enough. Defeat doesn't hurt them enough. The Galway public just nod and move on in contrast to the Cork public or even the Clare public who demand more. Its definately a factor. There's no excuse for the hurlers no show and the footballers no show in the 3nd half today. For a big big GAA county the senior teams really are a glaring disappointment. No leadership either.
Shane O Neill won 1 All Ireland against a bad Northern team. He threw away another against Cuala when a few tactical decisions the first day would have seen Na Piarsaigh safely home. He's actually a perfect fit for Galway. Never let's passion over take him and sits camly by as his team folds the tent and heads for the exit.
I remember growing up and the Galway team of the late 80s that would kill to win. I loved the Connollys and Gerry McInerney ...As John Giles said of his great Leeds team. They had fellas that would kill their granny to win. Galway have no killers.."
Whelan is 'a killer', whatever that is!! HIs form may be a bit up & down this year, but only an ass would question his commitment, or at least his capacity to look like he 'wants it', which seems to be the particular bugbear that you have.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3417 - 25/07/2021 17:44:20    2363953

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Whelan is 'a killer', whatever that is!! HIs form may be a bit up & down this year, but only an ass would question his commitment, or at least his capacity to look like he 'wants it', which seems to be the particular bugbear that you have."
Ah yeah Whelan is great and always works his butt off and probably is close to being a killer and Daithi Burke and even McInerney. Youd count them all on one hand though and Joe Canning isn't a Killer ,never was. Great player and all...has pulled the team out of a hole like TJ Reid does..has Canning ever done that?

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 25/07/2021 17:53:53    2363957

Replying To bloodyban:  "Ah yeah Whelan is great and always works his butt off and probably is close to being a killer and Daithi Burke and even McInerney. Youd count them all on one hand though and Joe Canning isn't a Killer ,never was. Great player and all...has pulled the team out of a hole like TJ Reid does..has Canning ever done that?"
You said we had no killers. Now you're counting our killers on one hand. That's progress. I never heard anyone describe Joe Canning as a killer, so I'm puzzled as to why you'd feel the need to tell us what we might already know.

A lot of Limerick lads like talking about 'killers' these days. Did you enjoy the killer commentary as much in the mid 90s, when two Limerick sides came agonizingly close, but didn't get 'the kill'?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3417 - 25/07/2021 18:33:19    2363990

Replying To bloodyban:  "Ah yeah Whelan is great and always works his butt off and probably is close to being a killer and Daithi Burke and even McInerney. Youd count them all on one hand though and Joe Canning isn't a Killer ,never was. Great player and all...has pulled the team out of a hole like TJ Reid does..has Canning ever done that?"
"Ah yeah Whelan is great and always works his butt off….."

Here's a classic example of back- tracking, damage control, re direct when challenged or disagreed with.

But , we know , there are 11 "phantoms" who agree with you .
By the way Canning has frequently and repeatedly kept Galway in games they would otherwise have been hosed out of long before the full time whistle..
EG 1) 2018 Al Ireland final on overtime v Limerick..
2) yesterday v Waterford.

You may want to consider a new scriptwriter.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 25/07/2021 18:48:17    2364001

Replying To bloodyban:  "Galway never 'want it' enough. Defeat doesn't hurt them enough. The Galway public just nod and move on in contrast to the Cork public or even the Clare public who demand more. Its definately a factor. There's no excuse for the hurlers no show and the footballers no show in the 3nd half today. For a big big GAA county the senior teams really are a glaring disappointment. No leadership either.
I remember growing up and the Galway team of the late 80s that would kill to win. I loved the Connollys and Gerry McInerney ...As John Giles said of his great Leeds team. They had fellas that would kill their granny to win. Galway have no killers.."
Bloodyban I don't believe with the work and effort these amateurs put in that they don't "want it". That goes for the McCarthy, Joe McDonagh and Rachard cups or infact any time the county shirt is worn. It is a cliche that is another piece of b.s. If they didn't want it they would spend their nights with family or down the pub with their mates.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 25/07/2021 18:57:38    2364005