2021 Rankings So Far

I'm not massaging any figures Mick, I specified that I was only counting league seasons where a final was played. This is how they would have finished if there was no pandemic. If Dublin and Kerry do play later on in the season, I think it's fair enough to judge the winner of that match the league champions.

Regardless, my point is in relation to Kerry's All-Ireland contention. One All-Ireland since 2009, if they don't win this year it will equal their most barren period ever will it not? No win against Dublin in 12 years. I'm not really sure if those close defeats you've referenced hold much currency really. When compared with their historical All-Ireland record, the past decade or so has been stark viewing. Despite the media hype, Kerry have fallen back into the chasing pack massively.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 03/07/2021 16:33:43    2355648

Replying To greatpoint:  "I'm not massaging any figures Mick, I specified that I was only counting league seasons where a final was played. This is how they would have finished if there was no pandemic. If Dublin and Kerry do play later on in the season, I think it's fair enough to judge the winner of that match the league champions.

Regardless, my point is in relation to Kerry's All-Ireland contention. One All-Ireland since 2009, if they don't win this year it will equal their most barren period ever will it not? No win against Dublin in 12 years. I'm not really sure if those close defeats you've referenced hold much currency really. When compared with their historical All-Ireland record, the past decade or so has been stark viewing. Despite the media hype, Kerry have fallen back into the chasing pack massively."
Again of course you have your opinion and entitled to it but sure your still picking and choosing. The fact is Kerry have won 3 leagues since 17.Also Kerry biggest run without winning an all ireland was 11 years. So if they don't win this year it won't be their worst run yet. Also you are going through a period where Dublin have been majestic but the stats would show that Kerry are the most successful team after Dublin since 09.Kerry would have been rated much lower during their 11 year barren period..Most of their defeats have come against Dublin but as I say you ré entitled to your own view.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 03/07/2021 19:40:54    2355720

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Do well to find a Roscommon supporter as deluded as ye Donegal lads. Without a doubt ye would beat us but we know where we are. You guys think your something but either **** the pants or aren't good enough last few years.but likes of yourself are talking about a showdown against Dublin regularly. Ffs ye haven't been good enough to get far enough to face them and you would be hammered if ye did. Take Murphy out of Donegal and its an extremely average side with multiple overrated players."
Your last comment is off the mark but can I just say that the majority of Donegal people don't spend their days chatting like a few on here so don't represent anything but a small minority of Donegal GAA fans.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/07/2021 09:08:10    2355892

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Again of course you have your opinion and entitled to it but sure your still picking and choosing. The fact is Kerry have won 3 leagues since 17.Also Kerry biggest run without winning an all ireland was 11 years. So if they don't win this year it won't be their worst run yet. Also you are going through a period where Dublin have been majestic but the stats would show that Kerry are the most successful team after Dublin since 09.Kerry would have been rated much lower during their 11 year barren period..Most of their defeats have come against Dublin but as I say you ré entitled to your own view."
I think you're missing the point Mick. Go back and read the first post of mine that you replied to.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 04/07/2021 13:37:54    2355979

1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.
2. Mayo Until this season is over Mayo rightly deserve the No 2 spot.

3. Kerry Just about deserve the No. 3 spot.
4. Donegal. Either them or Kerry
5. Monaghan Why not.?
6. Galway Should they get to Connaught final, they are in bonus territory.

7. Armagh. Up 1
8. Kildare. Convincing win against Offaly
9. Westmeath. At their ease against Laois
10. Meath. The Jury is out.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2909 - 05/07/2021 23:07:32    2356794

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Do well to find a Roscommon supporter as deluded as ye Donegal lads. Without a doubt ye would beat us but we know where we are. You guys think your something but either **** the pants or aren't good enough last few years.but likes of yourself are talking about a showdown against Dublin regularly. Ffs ye haven't been good enough to get far enough to face them and you would be hammered if ye did. Take Murphy out of Donegal and its an extremely average side with multiple overrated players."
Without a doubt we would beat youse yes. We wouldn't just beat youse but we would hockey youse like every other Division 1 team in Ireland.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 06/07/2021 09:49:35    2356836

Replying To supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1
10. Meath. The Jury is out."
Not going great but surely Tyrone are in the top 10

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 06/07/2021 10:21:32    2356852

Replying To sourmilk93:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1
Not going great but surely Tyrone are in the top 10"
I thought about that but where do you slot them in, Kildare had a convincing win, Westmeath won at their ease, so the only slot left was at 10, Meath just about shade it with their stout performance against Longford. Tyrone are out this week so we'll have another look, there's a bit to go yet and anything can happen.

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2909 - 06/07/2021 11:08:31    2356867

Replying To greatpoint:  "I think you're missing the point Mick. Go back and read the first post of mine that you replied to."
I just read it again great point and you clearly state Kerry have fallen of a cliff in terms of contention as an all ireland contender. Again I say that's your opinion
However I would say Kerry are a top contender and if not the number one contender to Dublin there are definately in the top 3 or 4 at worst.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 06/07/2021 11:25:51    2356876

Replying To supersub15:  "
Replying To sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1
I thought about that but where do you slot them in, Kildare had a convincing win, Westmeath won at their ease, so the only slot left was at 10, Meath just about shade it with their stout performance against Longford. Tyrone are out this week so we'll have another look, there's a bit to go yet and anything can happen.

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone."]4/5 Very little between them and Donegal. They have a better team than Donegal and i expect Tyrone to get the better of them once they start getting settled under new management.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 06/07/2021 11:33:35    2356884

Replying To supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone."]4/5 Very little between them and Donegal. They have a better team than Donegal and i expect Tyrone to get the better of them once they start getting settled under new management."]That's reasonable, I conveniently have a question mark after Monaghan anyway, we'll see soon enough.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2909 - 06/07/2021 11:45:24    2356890

Replying To supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone."]4/5 Very little between them and Donegal. They have a better team than Donegal and i expect Tyrone to get the better of them once they start getting settled under new management."]You could write what you know about football on the back of a stamp.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 06/07/2021 12:13:17    2356905

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1
west meath 9 ??

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/07/2021 16:47:49    2358102

Replying To meath1977:  "

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1
west meath 9 ??"
For the moment.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2909 - 09/07/2021 17:21:00    2358108

Replying To supersub15:  "
Replying To sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone."]4/5 Very little between them and Donegal. They have a better team than Donegal and i expect Tyrone to get the better of them once they start getting settled under new management."]That's reasonable, I conveniently have a question mark after Monaghan anyway, we'll see soon enough."]They absolutely don't have a better team that Donegal.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 09/07/2021 21:16:49    2358159

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone."]4/5 Very little between them and Donegal. They have a better team than Donegal and i expect Tyrone to get the better of them once they start getting settled under new management."]That's reasonable, I conveniently have a question mark after Monaghan anyway, we'll see soon enough."]They absolutely don't have a better team that Donegal."]Well done on the win today and the comeback. Phenomenal point to win it. I still stand by my statement that I think Tyrone have better team. Taught Donegal were poor again today against weak opposition and just got over the line. Best of luck for rest of the year and would gladly be proved wrong but will need a massive improvement on today's performance

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 11/07/2021 18:16:39    2358708

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone."]4/5 Very little between them and Donegal. They have a better team than Donegal and i expect Tyrone to get the better of them once they start getting settled under new management."]That's reasonable, I conveniently have a question mark after Monaghan anyway, we'll see soon enough."]They absolutely don't have a better team that Donegal."]Ahem

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 18/07/2021 15:34:44    2361059

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone."]4/5 Very little between them and Donegal. They have a better team than Donegal and i expect Tyrone to get the better of them once they start getting settled under new management."]That's reasonable, I conveniently have a question mark after Monaghan anyway, we'll see soon enough."]They absolutely don't have a better team that Donegal."]Ahem"]After the Donegal match I have the rankings as:

1, Kerry
2. Dublin
3. Tyrone/Monaghan
4. Mayo
5. Donegal/Armagh
6.Galway
7. Roscommon
8. Meath
9. Kildare
10. Derry

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 18/07/2021 16:03:00    2361091

Replying To Ronan1989:  "
Replying To sourmilk93:  "[quote=Donegal_abroad:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=sourmilk93:  "[quote=supersub15:  "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

5. Monaghan Why not.?

7. Armagh. Up 1

PS Where would you slot in Tyrone."]4/5 Very little between them and Donegal. They have a better team than Donegal and i expect Tyrone to get the better of them once they start getting settled under new management."]That's reasonable, I conveniently have a question mark after Monaghan anyway, we'll see soon enough."]They absolutely don't have a better team that Donegal."]Ahem"]After the Donegal match I have the rankings as:

1, Kerry
2. Dublin
3. Tyrone/Monaghan
4. Mayo
5. Donegal/Armagh
6.Galway
7. Roscommon
8. Meath
9. Kildare
10. Derry"]Replying To Donegal_abroad: "[quote=supersub15: "[quote=sourmilk93: "[quote=supersub15: "[quote=sourmilk93: "[quote=supersub15: "1. Dublin Rightly deserve the No. 1 spot self-explanatory.

4. Monaghan. (For the moment)
5. Galway. A couple of points better than Kildare..
6. Kildare . Beat an excellent Westmeath side, went 2 goals up but were almost pipped at the post.
7. Cork The Jury is still out.
8. Meath.

1 - 8 Active.

9. Armagh.
10. Westmeath

9 - 10 Inactive.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2909 - 18/07/2021 16:45:56    2361104

Here are the top 8 in my assessment.

No. 1 Dublin and Kerry jointly
2. Mayo
3. Tyrone