A New (Wick) Low

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "He will be gone after this year's Championship….. he is not the 1st manager to lead us to an Ulster title but he is the 1st to lead us into Division 4 which is totally unacceptable…. No manager in history could or should survive 3 relegations in a row…. Winning Ulster was brilliant but there is no way anyone can say Graham has made progress by landing the County in basement football…. I have no doubt we can put it up to Tyrone but our football is not in a good place at present"
OK! get rid of Graham, what genius have you lined up to replace him and where has he been hiding in the last thirty
years?
Declankillann.

declankillann (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 29/06/2021 17:55:03    2354685

Replying To fredflint:  "Yes, mickey Graham is not the 1st man to win an ulster title with Cavan

We had
Mickie Graham 2020 (9 months ago)
Martin McHugh 1997 (24 years ago)
Mick Higgins 1969 (52 years ago)

So in half a century that's your not so long list"
You've hit the nail on the head there Fred. 2 titles in 25 years and 3 in half a century. That is our lot. Relegation to D4 should not be shock. We are where we are. Cannot really say we are a championship team with the record above. We have to start the journey in D4 next year and hope to actually compete for SAM. We need to reach D2

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3101 - 29/06/2021 19:49:23    2354719

Hard to see how he can stay on if we loose to Tyrone …. Others before him walked the plank but they they never delivered Cavan to the depths of division 4… If he somehow turns things around and beats Tyrone he would probably survive…. He made life difficult for himself by not putting everything into getting back to division 2….. especially when he knew his opponents in the 1st round of the Championship…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 29/06/2021 22:36:09    2354771

Unfortunately I am used to my county landing in Div 4. When was the last time you lads went to Div 4. I know many of you feel it tactical to focus on the championship but do you really believe that? I find it difficult to fathom

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 01/07/2021 23:33:53    2355287

Replying To Jack L:  "Fluke or no fluke. Winning the Ulster title meant nothing against Wicklow. Wicklow survived in D3 and made a humble exit from the championship yesterday.
Winning an Ulster title last year and will not be competing for SAM next year unless they somehow reach an Ulster final/
FACT"
"and will not be competing for SAM next year unless they somehow reach an Ulster final/"

This is not a fact.
every County gets a chance initially to compete for Sam. It is only when they get beaten that the split arises between the back door and Tailteann.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 02/07/2021 07:32:10    2355312

Mickey Graham should be given a chance regardless of the Tyrone result, he has earned that after last year. However I think his coaching staff arent up to it. Everyone should be in on merit and personal agendas or politics shouldn't be a factor when it comes to county squads.

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 277 - 02/07/2021 11:49:38    2355361

Replying To BreffniBlue:  "Mickey Graham should be given a chance regardless of the Tyrone result, he has earned that after last year. However I think his coaching staff arent up to it. Everyone should be in on merit and personal agendas or politics shouldn't be a factor when it comes to county squads."
Whats to be gained by removing this manager ?? I agree the training personal have to take a lot of the blame for what happened and those player's that think they are above learning anything NEW.
Let him where he is, replace all the back-room team and start afresh for 2022.
Getting a new manager would be a dream for many potential managers for the only way is up from here on.
I judge the quality of the training staff by the way they respect the County pitch. As it stands the pitch is a disgrace so draw your own conclusion from my post towards these people.
I hope they beat Tyrone next week-end but thats a huge ask to be honest no matter a win will be good for the Cavan Blue supporters.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 04/07/2021 11:06:21    2355940

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Whats to be gained by removing this manager ?? I agree the training personal have to take a lot of the blame for what happened and those player's that think they are above learning anything NEW.
Let him where he is, replace all the back-room team and start afresh for 2022.
Getting a new manager would be a dream for many potential managers for the only way is up from here on.
I judge the quality of the training staff by the way they respect the County pitch. As it stands the pitch is a disgrace so draw your own conclusion from my post towards these people.
I hope they beat Tyrone next week-end but thats a huge ask to be honest no matter a win will be good for the Cavan Blue supporters."
Does the manager not pick his back room staff and instruct them on what is required?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 04/07/2021 17:12:21    2356056

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Unfortunately I am used to my county landing in Div 4. When was the last time you lads went to Div 4. I know many of you feel it tactical to focus on the championship but do you really believe that? I find it difficult to fathom"
Cavan have actually NEVER played in div 4 so this is indeed a new low and anyone who thinks we have a hope in hell of competing against the likes of Tyrone in Ulster is diluded.
before last years ulster campaign we had tough league matches with Roscommon and Kildare.
this year will be coming in off the back of Wicklow , Derry,
Longford and Fermanagh.
next year it will be Leitrim,Waterford, London etc. We need to concentrate all our efforts on the league these next few years and on climbing back up the divisions. Only when we reach div 1 again should we be having asperations of winning Ulster.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 04/07/2021 20:26:22    2356214

Replying To s goldrick:  "Cavan have actually NEVER played in div 4 so this is indeed a new low and anyone who thinks we have a hope in hell of competing against the likes of Tyrone in Ulster is diluded.
before last years ulster campaign we had tough league matches with Roscommon and Kildare.
Longford and Fermanagh.
next year it will be Leitrim,Waterford, London etc. We need to concentrate all our efforts on the league these next few years and on climbing back up the divisions. Only when we reach div 1 again should we be having asperations of winning Ulster."
I would agree with that S goldrick 100%…, in fact Cavan should have totally concentrated on the league this season but didn't and ended up in division 4….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 04/07/2021 21:41:05    2356268

Replying To s goldrick:  "Cavan have actually NEVER played in div 4 so this is indeed a new low and anyone who thinks we have a hope in hell of competing against the likes of Tyrone in Ulster is diluded.
Longford and Fermanagh.
next year it will be Leitrim,Waterford, London etc. We need to concentrate all our efforts on the league these next few years and on climbing back up the divisions. Only when we reach div 1 again should we be having asperations of winning Ulster."
I would agree with that S goldrick 100%…, in fact Cavan should have totally concentrated on the league this season but didn't and ended up in division 4….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 04/07/2021 22:01:24    2356279

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "Does the manager not pick his back room staff and instruct them on what is required?"
I cannot answer that question to be honest ????

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/07/2021 13:19:10    2356520

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I would agree with that S goldrick 100%…, in fact Cavan should have totally concentrated on the league this season but didn't and ended up in division 4…."
If Cavan concentrated 100% on league, got promoted and then got thumped in 1st Rd of ulster I really do wonder would you be on here telling us all it was a great season, mission accomplished?? I seriously doubt it. In fact I'd say you'd be here saying we should be focusing on the championship!

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 05/07/2021 19:18:50    2356696

Longford and Fermanagh.
We weren't in Div 1 on the last occasion we won the Ulster Championship.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 05/07/2021 21:14:50    2356740

Replying To fredflint:  "If Cavan concentrated 100% on league, got promoted and then got thumped in 1st Rd of ulster I really do wonder would you be on here telling us all it was a great season, mission accomplished?? I seriously doubt it. In fact I'd say you'd be here saying we should be focusing on the championship!"
it'd be better than not concentrating on the league and still getting thumped in 1st round of ulster

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 05/07/2021 22:31:56    2356785

Replying To fredflint:  "If Cavan concentrated 100% on league, got promoted and then got thumped in 1st Rd of ulster I really do wonder would you be on here telling us all it was a great season, mission accomplished?? I seriously doubt it. In fact I'd say you'd be here saying we should be focusing on the championship!"
No I wouldn't….. staying at a good league level is vital to have any sort of chance of been competitive in the Championship….I don't think we are capable of surviving in division 1 but division 2 is the level we should try to maintain…. Mickey taking us to division 3 got mostly overlooked because of our great Ulster win but overseeing a Ulster champions drop to division 4 is nothing short of embarrassing…..!! As I said when he saw the draw Mickey should have totally concentrated on getting back to division 2 as now anything short of retaining the Ulster title will be seen as complete failure on his behalf….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 05/07/2021 23:39:35    2356800

John L Noone

Tomsmith here from Cavan Gaels ,,, ie Cavan greatest club in past 40 years..

John you are alittle negative in giving out stats like 3 Ulsters in 50 years courtesty of a great result in 2020 by Mickie
Graham.and another by Martin Mc Hugh and Mick Higgins.
Well I can tell you that we went over to New York in 1947 and beat the mighty Kerry in that famous field up on Broadway.
It was done against the odd Kerry being on a roll but Cavanstood up and when men were asked to be counted men were counted..
We may be down in Div 4 but get Divisional teams going ,, get any new talent that is out there and we will be on aroll again..
All posters please stop being negative ...... I remember the Gaels loosing a few games one after another a years ago, and the negative stuff had a severe effect on the team..

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 06/07/2021 00:42:19    2356809

Replying To ondforty:  "We weren't in Div 1 on the last occasion we won the Ulster Championship."
well OK then Div 2 at least .

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/07/2021 18:19:39    2357073

Replying To ondforty:  "We weren't in Div 1 on the last occasion we won the Ulster Championship."
Cant really judge last year. It was a freak result against Donegal who had one eye on the Dubs in semi final. Amazing Cavan have only won one match since that day last November.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3101 - 07/07/2021 20:58:30    2357522

Hint - You can be good at both.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 10/07/2021 16:04:27    2358296