The GAA And Taking The Knee.

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "What a weird way to bring Dublin into a topic."
I'm also curious how anyone can say that Dublin will "definitely" do it, despite it being over a year since the trend started and Dublin haven't done it once?

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 11/06/2021 13:51:00    2349587

Id rather see the GAA do something practical towards combating racism as opposed to just blindly following a gesture or slogan that isn't really achieving much. I get the idea is about awareness but at this stage I think most people are aware of the stand against racism. What I'd ask is, is that it? It all seems very box ticking, lip service type of stuff towards racism.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 11/06/2021 13:54:24    2349588

Replying To skillet:  "When the king of England first heard the Hallelujah chorus in Handel's Messiah he was so moved by religious sentiment that he bowed his head and stood up..
When all of the nobility etc saw this, they then stood up and everyone else in the theatre had to follow. Since then it's become part of the performance that everyone stands during the Chorus..
Doesn't matter what you believe or think. You HAVE to stand up.

Same thing is starting to happen with this taking the knee craic.

If you don't want to or have issue with it you're just a racist. The whole BLM ideology is Marxism dressed up as anti-racism. It's an excuse to pull down statues, burn Churches and harass anyone you disagree with.. Its puerile nonsense. But people are so terrified of speaking out against it because they'll be shredded.

Hating someone because of the colour of their skin or ethnic background is ignorant stupidity.
It would be great to see children of all backgrounds get involved in the GAA but don't want to think that the only way that will happen is by following this s****..
I know someone who reads this is going to disagree with me but its my legitimate opinion.. I believe strongly that taking the Knee is associated with a lot more wrong than right.. I'd hate to see it start in the GAA.."
Do you mind me asking why do you think BLM is Marxism dressed up as anti-racism? Or are you buying what those against it have tried to tarnish it by? That's the first step in shooting down a movement, tarnish it, turn people against it. For some reason, people are turning on what is a genuine anti racist movement by believing what those against it want you to. Have some involved in BLM acted badly? Of course they have, but the majority of it as a whole is in peaceful anti racist movement. Don't buy the other side.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 11/06/2021 13:55:53    2349590

What happened to Ireland of the welcomes? Just be friendly to all and don't distinguish between races, religions, sexual preferences, abilities, disabilities and whatever other terms that seem to spring up each week to identify different groups. I hate the term 'woke'. It puts an image in my head of some narcissist on Facebook posting Black Lives Matter photos thinking that white policemen will stop abusing black people. Cynically I think the bending the knee and hitching your wagon to BLM can be great PR for companies like Sky Sports and BT.

No bending the knee, bend the back to be more inclusive in the GAA. And if people don't want to be included be friendly to them too.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 11/06/2021 14:36:11    2349599

The ones who are not on the receiving end of racism always like to water down its existence and try to find holes in the attempt of those who fight it. I wonder how us Irish felt about the signs in New York in the the 30's. "No Irish need apply" and some times " No dirty Irish need apply ". The message was we did not belong there. The same message is given to the African American's today. Legislation been passed all over the place to stop them from voting. The difference between them and us is we went there to avoid poverty. They were kidnapped in their country and dragged there. The only think being asked of us whether it is the knee or some thing else is to show solidarity with another oppressed people. Oppression is some thing we should know all about as it it is not so long in our rear view mirror. In fact our fellow country men women in THE 6 counties would question the rear view mirror.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 11/06/2021 14:54:04    2349602

Believe what you will, but if your stance is that you'll leave the organisation or never attend a game again if they started making anti-racism gestures before a game, you'd ought to take a long hard look at yourself.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 11/06/2021 14:57:37    2349604

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Do you mind me asking why do you think BLM is Marxism dressed up as anti-racism? Or are you buying what those against it have tried to tarnish it by? That's the first step in shooting down a movement, tarnish it, turn people against it. For some reason, people are turning on what is a genuine anti racist movement by believing what those against it want you to. Have some involved in BLM acted badly? Of course they have, but the majority of it as a whole is in peaceful anti racist movement. Don't buy the other side."
Promoting anti racism is the main thing here and surely most important. Making GAA open to all people is the ideal. However thinking BLM movement is not a political movement is folly. It totally is and it has an ideology that goes far beyond equality for all races.
I think the GAA should create its own anti racism campaign. It has always been said that politics should not be mixed with sport and especially the GAA.
I think you will find that there are problems now in England with this. People do not agree with the BLM movement and it is causing issues at grounds. Course, some will be racists, but many will have other reasons to not support it. It is actually creating more division than harmony.
I think the GAA should do better here and create its own movement. Really promote games for all races and drive racism out of the sport. Don't fall blindly into the same trap that soccer did.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 11/06/2021 14:58:06    2349605

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Promoting anti racism is the main thing here and surely most important. Making GAA open to all people is the ideal. However thinking BLM movement is not a political movement is folly. It totally is and it has an ideology that goes far beyond equality for all races.
I think the GAA should create its own anti racism campaign. It has always been said that politics should not be mixed with sport and especially the GAA.
I think you will find that there are problems now in England with this. People do not agree with the BLM movement and it is causing issues at grounds. Course, some will be racists, but many will have other reasons to not support it. It is actually creating more division than harmony.
I think the GAA should do better here and create its own movement. Really promote games for all races and drive racism out of the sport. Don't fall blindly into the same trap that soccer did."
Oh I agree and I say as much further up the comments. We need far more than a gesture, we need actions. People have experienced racism on our pitches, and we need to tackle that now, rather than when something explodes later down the line. I was just questioning the BLM line above, as some are getting very confused on what it actually is about, and that's where that confusion is coming from. Sport and politics will always go hand in hand, and repeatedly saying they don't mix is a fallacy. People only say this when it's a particular issue that they don't like

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 11/06/2021 15:03:49    2349611

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What happened to Ireland of the welcomes? Just be friendly to all and don't distinguish between races, religions, sexual preferences, abilities, disabilities and whatever other terms that seem to spring up each week to identify different groups. I hate the term 'woke'. It puts an image in my head of some narcissist on Facebook posting Black Lives Matter photos thinking that white policemen will stop abusing black people. Cynically I think the bending the knee and hitching your wagon to BLM can be great PR for companies like Sky Sports and BT.

No bending the knee, bend the back to be more inclusive in the GAA. And if people don't want to be included be friendly to them too."
Absolutely, bend the back not the knee, you're either a racist or you're not.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 11/06/2021 15:44:48    2349619

All it takes is a simple banner flown at every match which promotes inclusiveness. No need to ape other sports. Everyone is welcome at out games. Just tell them that.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 11/06/2021 15:45:08    2349620

This craic of taking the knee is virtue signalling to appease the social justice warriors of this world, I would be against it starting in the GAA. There is no need of it to come into the GAA, there is little to no problem with racism in the GAA bar 1 or 2 isolated incidents. Jason Sherlock, the O'hAalpín's, Zach Moradi and Boidu Sayeh were all welcomed into the GAA and others will be too in future.

The message of Black lives matter I have no problem with but Black lives matters the organisation i would have my reservations about them and their goals and where their funding comes from. No doubt there is a few bad apples in the police force in the USA but also people would want to realise what they have to deal with on a continuous basis. I have visited the USA 4 times, I tell you what, walk around Seattle, Miami, New York and Minneapolis after dark and see what the police departments in these cities have to contend with, you won't too quick to "Defund the Police". American issues it seems have become all our issues, let them deal with them and sort themselves out. We have our own problems at this side of the Atlantic to worry about.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 11/06/2021 16:11:52    2349623

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Promoting anti racism is the main thing here and surely most important. Making GAA open to all people is the ideal. However thinking BLM movement is not a political movement is folly. It totally is and it has an ideology that goes far beyond equality for all races.
I think the GAA should do better here and create its own movement. Really promote games for all races and drive racism out of the sport. Don't fall blindly into the same trap that soccer did."
I think you've made a great point. There are far better ways to deal with the issue of racism than this gesture, which let's be honest has lost most of its intended impact. There are ignorant people in every part of the world, more of them in some places than others, but there isn't a corner on this planet where people don't experience some type of discrimination. We have plenty of ignorant people in this country, but the vast majority of people are very decent. People who will also challenge any type of abuse that they see. We're quite a moderate country politically too.
Discrimination should always be highlighted and tackled. Creating division is certainly not a way to do this. I heard racist abuse from an individual at an intercounty GAA match a couple of years ago. He was dealt with very quickly by everyone sitting near him and he kept his mouth shut for the rest of the match after that.
The GAA prides itself on being an organisation where everyone feels welcome. It's up to every member, supporter and player to ensure that this is the case.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 11/06/2021 16:45:00    2349631

Lets way up what is political and not ? Passing legislation in black communities to make difficult to vote and including making it an offence to give a drink of water to some one in line up. What colour are those people who says BLM is only a political movement ? What cause of injustice ever to succeed did not become a political football ? Should the oppressed not exercise there rights because it has a political wing ? Lets not start slinging mud at others just because we are now accepted and the imperial oppressor has been partially beaten off.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 11/06/2021 17:33:12    2349635

Replying To Canuck:  "The ones who are not on the receiving end of racism always like to water down its existence and try to find holes in the attempt of those who fight it. I wonder how us Irish felt about the signs in New York in the the 30's. "No Irish need apply" and some times " No dirty Irish need apply ". The message was we did not belong there. The same message is given to the African American's today. Legislation been passed all over the place to stop them from voting. The difference between them and us is we went there to avoid poverty. They were kidnapped in their country and dragged there. The only think being asked of us whether it is the knee or some thing else is to show solidarity with another oppressed people. Oppression is some thing we should know all about as it it is not so long in our rear view mirror. In fact our fellow country men women in THE 6 counties would question the rear view mirror."
Do you have any evidence at all that as you say, the same message is being given to African-Americans today?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 11/06/2021 17:35:57    2349636

Completely agree. When this whole movement started and a few young GAA players came out to say that they had received racial abuse of some kind, it needs to be zero tolerance.

I'd be surprised if there was a GAA player that's not white in the country that hasnt received racial abuse as part of "sledging". Its not on no matter how small the comment is. Underage is the place it really needs to be addressed

If someone decides to take the knee though off with them. Their choice let's not boo them. I'd prefer if it didn't come in to the game but I will not be like the English soccer fans or American football fans. We are above that. I just don't think taking the knee will stop anyone from doing something racist if it's in them to do that in the first place.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 11/06/2021 17:44:12    2349638

I see this taking a knee like the wearing the poppy thing now, fellas are being pressurised into doing it, it's oul nonsense, I hope the GAA don't start this rubbish.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 11/06/2021 18:00:51    2349639

Replying To ecad123:  "Ireland is not a racist country so I don't see the need for this, you have to keep politics out of our games. In time I'm sure we will see more like Zak Moradi who should be an inspiration to all, the love he has for the game. So maybe he would be a good ambassador to get more foreign nationals playing. I also think most if not all people involved in the gaa have received some sort of abuse either as a player or specator, but in my view it's just passion and they really don't mean it just a heat of the moment think, as when the game is over hands are shaken and everyone is friends again. How many sports can you say that about."
Really? Lee Chin's father had to stop going to matches long ago because he could not bear to listen to the vile racist insults and abuse that Lee was routinely subjected to from the stands. Jason Sherlock has spoken about the racist crap that he had to endure all through his career. And these are the experiences of popular, high-profile inter-county stars. Imagine what it must be like for a player of colour on a rural junior club team. I can definitely say that many people in my social circle when I was growing up in the 1980s were openly racist. I was often shocked by the hateful comments out of the blue that I heard from friends and relatives. These were people that I otherwise respected and liked. I knew their words were unacceptable at the time but I lacked the assurance and self-confidence to speak out. I definitely would not hold back now in calling out racist bigotry when I hear it. Irish society is much more diverse and open-minded now than it was in the 80s but anyone who thinks racism has disappeared is deluded. Taking a knee is a minor gesture of solidarity and anyone ranting on about connections to Antifa and Marxism is spending way too much time on alt-right social media. People who claim to be anti-racist should walk the walk in their daily lives by calling out racism when they see it and supporting racialized people in their communities - ask them about their experiences and try listening with an open mind.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 11/06/2021 18:04:02    2349641

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Do you mind me asking why do you think BLM is Marxism dressed up as anti-racism? Or are you buying what those against it have tried to tarnish it by? That's the first step in shooting down a movement, tarnish it, turn people against it. For some reason, people are turning on what is a genuine anti racist movement by believing what those against it want you to. Have some involved in BLM acted badly? Of course they have, but the majority of it as a whole is in peaceful anti racist movement. Don't buy the other side."
Black Lives Matter scrubbed a page on its website this week that disparaged the "Western-prescribed nuclear family structure,"

The group, whose co-founder Patrisse Cullors has described herself and fellow co-founder Alicia Garza as "Trained Marxists " removed a page titled "What We Believe" that included its public policy positions as well as describing itself as part of the "global Black family" - a change first reported Monday by the Washington Examiner.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 11/06/2021 19:52:51    2349657

Replying To skillet:  "Black Lives Matter scrubbed a page on its website this week that disparaged the "Western-prescribed nuclear family structure,"

The group, whose co-founder Patrisse Cullors has described herself and fellow co-founder Alicia Garza as "Trained Marxists " removed a page titled "What We Believe" that included its public policy positions as well as describing itself as part of the "global Black family" - a change first reported Monday by the Washington Examiner."
https://nypost.com/2020/09/24/blm-removes-website-language-blasting-nuclear-family-structure/

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 11/06/2021 19:57:29    2349659

Replying To Midleton:  "All it takes is a simple banner flown at every match which promotes inclusiveness. No need to ape other sports. Everyone is welcome at out games. Just tell them that."
Totally agree.... The GAA has a terrible habit of following other sports while at the same time diluting all that is good in our game... It's a wonder the gobshites at the top didn't impose something like "taking the knee" at Congress to go with the stupid ban on 2 captains been allowed to lift a cup after winning a final... bonkers stuff... As Midelton simply says " include everyone ".... no need for this silly taking of the knee...

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1926 - 11/06/2021 20:18:34    2349664