Replying To Ulsterman: "It was like the Donegal v Kerry 2014 All Ireland final all over again. Donegal put in a phenomenal performance against Dublin in the semi final that year but just couldn't do the same against Kerry in the final. Mentally they thought that they would take Kerry but it didn't happen. Mayo were brilliant against Dublin and psychologically they probably thought Tyrone was a formality. When Tyrone came at them mentally, physically and skill wise Mayo just didn't have the answers." I think momentum coming into the final favoured Tyrone Ulsterman, but the one thing I worried about before the throw-in was the number of Mayo players with their eyes closed during the ceremonials, zoning out trying to control the nerves. Not one Tyrone player was showing the same signs of anxiety. When Mayo made their decent start I thought they had it under control, but they were very passive in letting Tyrone get the next three points, as if they felt it was ok to go point for point for the first half once they hadn't been torpedoed by an early goal. They should have kept going for Tyrone early on and not allowed them to get into the driver's seat. Once the goals went in (and the first was the usual facile concession Mayo always seem to suffer in finals) to quote Pat Gilroy, a lot of players started to behave like startled earwigs. They put lots of energy into trying to wrest things back, with Lee Keegan and Stephen Coen outstanding, but they had to take risks and Tyrone very astutely exploited these to keep the scoreboard ticking and the game under their control.
There are learnings, but the trouble with some of the lessons is that they're ones May have been taught before. We just seem to be very slow on the uptake.
There's an analogy for where Mayo are at in the world of geology and it's the mineral hardness Mohs Scale. The hardest stone in the scale is diamond and the softest is talc. The second hardest stones are the corundrum group of which ruby and sapphire are the ones people most know. The difference in hardness between diamond and ruby/sapphire (first and second) is greater than the difference between ruby/sapphire and talc (second and last). When it comes to the All Ireland Mayo are ruby/sapphire, so hard and pure quality, but the gap to becoming diamond (AI winners) is a vast leap. The only way to get there is to persist and Mayo will persist.
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 12/09/2021 19:34:39
2021 AI ends the same way as many others, so called big players go missing. You won't win an AI when your half forward line contributes nothing all day but all 3 stay on until walsh is eventually subbed with 10 minutes left. O'Shea a nice guy but shouldn't have started and not up to county standard. I appreciate good players have off days but sub them and get new players on who might make a difference, don't stay and hope. Midfielders were poor, no change there either until Flynn was brought in ironically to replace o' hora who was playing well. Management has to take responsibility for this.
Watch the 2 goals and Hennelly should have done better for both, 1st one high ball in, mullins and mcshane going for it and hennelly runs outs behind both and stops but never goes for the ball, little flick by mcshane and the ball is in the net....goalie either stays on his line or goes for it and takes ball and man. 2nd goal, mullin who is backtracking but ready to intercept limiting the options for the incoming forward the closer he gets to goal, hennelly rushes past him towards forward who flicks across for McCurry to palm into empty net, why not stay on the line and let mullin stop him or anticipate the ball been flicked across towards mccurry.
Sentiment and loyalty to certain players is the main reason we lost, and that's not fair on other players and us supporters
1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 93 - 13/09/2021 01:02:14
And what keeps the lifeblood of the GAA flowing is that Mayo and their fans, for all the heartache and disappointment they endure, keep coming back year after year after year. So long as the spirit and desire within Mayo flickers the future of Gaelic Games is assured. Without sounding patronising that is a great legacy.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 13/09/2021 04:05:04
Hard luck Mayo. A tremendous achievement in its own right to take the Dubs and make the final with a rebuilt team but such a pity not to get over the line - Tyrone aren't all that but they did enough. Another topic but linked - Hope ye hold on to Oisin Mullin by hook or by crook, the AFL are a shower of …., we GAA people put close to two decades of hard work into coaching and developing our young players , volunteering, guiding, driving thousands of miles collectively, washing jerseys, running with lads up hills in rain and hailstones and then Tadhg Kennelly and other AFL scouts pick up the phone and make the offer. You can't blame fellas for wanting to go but clubs and counties need something for that immense effort in preparing lads like that for another code to just come and lift them without so much as a thank you.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1091 - 13/09/2021 13:39:38
Im a Leitrim man. It's so tough on ye to go from elation to despair on an annual basis. The whole country wanted ye to win. I'd safely say it was the greatest support ever for one county from counties that were not playing.
Now this message may have to be broken into three messages because of the length of it.
Touch of humour to start.. This is a piece I put together on THUR last. This may be inappropriate timing and if you think it is I apologise.
Message from the Taoiseach.
I'm Charlie Haughey. I was born in Castlebar. Now I am in heaven afar. My friend, was Ben Dunne, He treated me like his son. I'm in a room with God. both of us praying Sam Maguire will on Saturday night be in Mayo sod. God penned a note asking for success for Charlie's home. Yeats is here. He converted it to a poem. God then sent it to the big chief in Rome. When with God I wear fine attire and everybody does admire. Ben Dunne told his staff to thank Charlie for his intentions for Mayo Dunne said he's a friend my mind iwill always keep. God's said on the letter, please let Sam climb the reek. It's 51 years since Sam touched Mayo sand. But on Saturday night it will be beside Grainne on her island land.
On 11th Sept 2021 These will all be shouting for Mayo. Every President, Prime minister, Pope, King, Queen, Jews, Catholic, Protestant, Sheikh, Hindu, Muslim, Atheist, cat, dog, sheep both ram and ewe, horse, jennet, foal, heifers, bulls speaking of bulls the big fat man from North Korea who's doctor said support Mayo and no more will you have Gonorrhea. Doctor said I know the virgin Mary was in Knock, Mayo folk can do everything except miracles and get rid of your constant diarrhoea. Come on Mayo. Saturday bring Sam home.
Now seriously I hear alot of criticism of the Mayo team. They come back every year and will come again. Think of this panel who commence physical training and challenge matches in the dark of winter in hailstones and sleet weather which you wouldn't put a snipe out. Then they have league games in Timbuktu and elsewhere. The panel members are workers, fathers, husbands and students. Please would social media give up on their derogatory comments on the Mayo team. Year after year in Sept national media write them off after the final, however credit to the panel and management who have the panel instilled with positive psychology or they wouldn't be bothered
MAYO WILL BRING SAM HOME IN THE HOT TOO DISTANT FUTURE. ITS TOUGH STAY POSITIVE.
leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 13/09/2021 15:14:22
Replying To togoutlads: "Hard luck Mayo. A tremendous achievement in its own right to take the Dubs and make the final with a rebuilt team but such a pity not to get over the line - Tyrone aren't all that but they did enough. Another topic but linked - Hope ye hold on to Oisin Mullin by hook or by crook, the AFL are a shower of …., we GAA people put close to two decades of hard work into coaching and developing our young players , volunteering, guiding, driving thousands of miles collectively, washing jerseys, running with lads up hills in rain and hailstones and then Tadhg Kennelly and other AFL scouts pick up the phone and make the offer. You can't blame fellas for wanting to go but clubs and counties need something for that immense effort in preparing lads like that for another code to just come and lift them without so much as a thank you." As with Cathal McShane and Clifford someone needs to break open the piggy bank or they are gone
club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 13/09/2021 15:22:23
Replying To 1951andwaiting: "2021 AI ends the same way as many others, so called big players go missing. You won't win an AI when your half forward line contributes nothing all day but all 3 stay on until walsh is eventually subbed with 10 minutes left. O'Shea a nice guy but shouldn't have started and not up to county standard. I appreciate good players have off days but sub them and get new players on who might make a difference, don't stay and hope. Midfielders were poor, no change there either until Flynn was brought in ironically to replace o' hora who was playing well. Management has to take responsibility for this.
Watch the 2 goals and Hennelly should have done better for both, 1st one high ball in, mullins and mcshane going for it and hennelly runs outs behind both and stops but never goes for the ball, little flick by mcshane and the ball is in the net....goalie either stays on his line or goes for it and takes ball and man. 2nd goal, mullin who is backtracking but ready to intercept limiting the options for the incoming forward the closer he gets to goal, hennelly rushes past him towards forward who flicks across for McCurry to palm into empty net, why not stay on the line and let mullin stop him or anticipate the ball been flicked across towards mccurry.
Sentiment and loyalty to certain players is the main reason we lost, and that's not fair on other players and us supporters" I've been critical of Rob H in the past and preferred Clarke when he was there, but I think the key factor for the first goal was how far the back (Oisin Mullin, I think) was off McShane. When Mullin got to McShane he had to turn because he'd lost the flight of the ball. Agree Rob should probably have stayed on the goal line, but initially it looked like Oisin wasn't going to make contact at all so Rob started to come and ended up stranded. Had Mullin not got there McShane would have caught the ball and in that situation smothering the shot would have been Hennelly's best chance of a save and that was the split-second judgement he was making.
Second one happened very fast and I don't think any keeper would have done much different without the benefit of a replay. The back who was tracking McCurry also broke off also trying to cut the ball out, so exact same error.
90% of all goals conceded are saveable with the benefit of hindsight. The unstoppable shot is truly a rarity and positioning is generally where keepers get caught. Rob has his strengths and was having a good season (fav for All-Star before Saturday), but he's had issues with high balls lobbed in and the fact that the first goal was another one means it has to be looked at from the point of view of the other options in the panel. Maybe Clarke could be persuaded to come back? We'll have to see who gets picked come the league.
I didn't agree with some of the players picked to start, but the team did actually create enough chances to win or at least to force the issue with Tyrone. When they didn't convert in the first half there was a nagging feeling as a supporter that the game was Tyrone's to blow. Even a good 10 minute spell when things clicked could have turned the result, but it didn't materialise and no one can argue that the worthier side didn't win.
I had huge faith in the sideline going into this game, but the persistence with some players (mainly half-forwards) who clearly weren't having a good day contrasted totally with the Dublin game. I can't explain that one. Struggling players are never going to substitute themselves.
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/09/2021 16:30:17
Replying To club51: "As with Cathal McShane and Clifford someone needs to break open the piggy bank or they are gone" Fully agree. The Dubs retrieved Ciaran Kilkenny a decade ago too while our previous generation lost out with Hanley departing never to return, just slightly earlier I know. Surely that's not another mistake which is going to be repeated?
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/09/2021 16:54:01
Replying To Pericles: "Fully agree. The Dubs retrieved Ciaran Kilkenny a decade ago too while our previous generation lost out with Hanley departing never to return, just slightly earlier I know. Surely that's not another mistake which is going to be repeated?" I'm not sure the situations are that similar, really. Dublin is the economic capital of the country and so they're probably better set to find their players good quality jobs if needed. Can't imagine working in Allergan or Coca-Cola is very enticing if the alternative is playing pro sport in Oz. That said, the Co. Board should make the effort, but they're so cack-handed in everything they do that they'd probably persuade him to go.
Would disagree with you on the goalie issue, to my mind, Robbie has conceded a soft goal in every All-Ireland final he's played, time to blood a replacement. Am scratching my head as to why Rory Byrne hasn't gotten more of a run?
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2021 19:46:11
Replying To Gleebo: "I'm not sure the situations are that similar, really. Dublin is the economic capital of the country and so they're probably better set to find their players good quality jobs if needed. Can't imagine working in Allergan or Coca-Cola is very enticing if the alternative is playing pro sport in Oz. That said, the Co. Board should make the effort, but they're so cack-handed in everything they do that they'd probably persuade him to go.
Would disagree with you on the goalie issue, to my mind, Robbie has conceded a soft goal in every All-Ireland final he's played, time to blood a replacement. Am scratching my head as to why Rory Byrne hasn't gotten more of a run?" I wasn't really thinking that the job would need to physically be in Mayo Gleebo... agree the options would be a bit limited there. The greater acceptability of distance working has opened up a whole new vista... job in Dublin or wherever with time split between Mayo and there.
I only disagree with you about Rob on Saturday, but am surprised too that Rory Byrne didn't get some proper game time in 2021. Who'd be goalie now? It's a really tough pressured position, with restarts having to be immaculate and the need to be involved in general play, frees etc. Compare that with 10 years ago even, it's a total revolution of the role.
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 14/09/2021 11:06:03
Replying To Pericles: "I wasn't really thinking that the job would need to physically be in Mayo Gleebo... agree the options would be a bit limited there. The greater acceptability of distance working has opened up a whole new vista... job in Dublin or wherever with time split between Mayo and there.
I only disagree with you about Rob on Saturday, but am surprised too that Rory Byrne didn't get some proper game time in 2021. Who'd be goalie now? It's a really tough pressured position, with restarts having to be immaculate and the need to be involved in general play, frees etc. Compare that with 10 years ago even, it's a total revolution of the role." Goalkeeping requires a different skillset these days. 3 of the best keepers of the last few years Morgan, Beggan and Cluxton all play outfield for their clubs. All really good kickers of a ball and good at the basics of goalkeeping. Hard to understand how Horan hasnt given game time to another keeper. Clarke was a terrific goalkeeper in the traditional sense but his kicking was so telegraphed. Hennelly is a good keeper, good kicker but clearly has problems with judging ball flight at times. Horan would do well to find someone with all the required skills and should be looking at outfield players as possible options. Morgan was majestic on Sunday, his ball over the top in the first half was a thing of beauty.
FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 94 - 14/09/2021 12:50:55
Replying To Pericles: "I wasn't really thinking that the job would need to physically be in Mayo Gleebo... agree the options would be a bit limited there. The greater acceptability of distance working has opened up a whole new vista... job in Dublin or wherever with time split between Mayo and there.
I only disagree with you about Rob on Saturday, but am surprised too that Rory Byrne didn't get some proper game time in 2021. Who'd be goalie now? It's a really tough pressured position, with restarts having to be immaculate and the need to be involved in general play, frees etc. Compare that with 10 years ago even, it's a total revolution of the role." Tbh Pericles I would hope that in the future our panel would be mostly based in the West of Ireland. I think those long trips to Dublin and back for training must really take it out of our players, especially as they get older.
I'm inclined to believe that Covid has probably done our cohesion some good (prior to Saturday), as many of our players have probably been spared these energy-sapping commutes.
I agree that the position of goalkeeper has evolved greatly since Cluxton came along and it's almost a form of playmaker role to some extent. I still think the main function has to be to mind the house, though, and we can't afford the concession of soft goals in big games.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/09/2021 13:47:26
Replying To Gleebo: "Tbh Pericles I would hope that in the future our panel would be mostly based in the West of Ireland. I think those long trips to Dublin and back for training must really take it out of our players, especially as they get older.
I'm inclined to believe that Covid has probably done our cohesion some good (prior to Saturday), as many of our players have probably been spared these energy-sapping commutes.
I agree that the position of goalkeeper has evolved greatly since Cluxton came along and it's almost a form of playmaker role to some extent. I still think the main function has to be to mind the house, though, and we can't afford the concession of soft goals in big games." I agree with all of that Gleebo. With a younger panel (as now) it's more likely to have a large proportion in 3rd level and most courses are flexible in their use of off-campus approaches. Unlike some employers, the colleges won't be rowing back on recent flexibility because it's cost-effective with no significant downside. 100% Mayo has benefited hugely from having the panel close to home, but ultimately unless professionalism is embraced lads are going to develop careers and we'll then be back to large numbers in Dublin unless telecommuting comes to the rescue. What it must be like to be the Dubs?
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 14/09/2021 16:48:29
Replying To Pericles: "I've been critical of Rob H in the past and preferred Clarke when he was there, but I think the key factor for the first goal was how far the back (Oisin Mullin, I think) was off McShane. When Mullin got to McShane he had to turn because he'd lost the flight of the ball. Agree Rob should probably have stayed on the goal line, but initially it looked like Oisin wasn't going to make contact at all so Rob started to come and ended up stranded. Had Mullin not got there McShane would have caught the ball and in that situation smothering the shot would have been Hennelly's best chance of a save and that was the split-second judgement he was making.
Second one happened very fast and I don't think any keeper would have done much different without the benefit of a replay. The back who was tracking McCurry also broke off also trying to cut the ball out, so exact same error.
90% of all goals conceded are saveable with the benefit of hindsight. The unstoppable shot is truly a rarity and positioning is generally where keepers get caught. Rob has his strengths and was having a good season (fav for All-Star before Saturday), but he's had issues with high balls lobbed in and the fact that the first goal was another one means it has to be looked at from the point of view of the other options in the panel. Maybe Clarke could be persuaded to come back? We'll have to see who gets picked come the league.
I didn't agree with some of the players picked to start, but the team did actually create enough chances to win or at least to force the issue with Tyrone. When they didn't convert in the first half there was a nagging feeling as a supporter that the game was Tyrone's to blow. Even a good 10 minute spell when things clicked could have turned the result, but it didn't materialise and no one can argue that the worthier side didn't win.
I had huge faith in the sideline going into this game, but the persistence with some players (mainly half-forwards) who clearly weren't having a good day contrasted totally with the Dublin game. I can't explain that one. Struggling players are never going to substitute themselves." We created more chances but the execution of those chances was the problem. Missed penalty, two shots dropped into Morgan's hands and 8 wides in the last 20mins. Throw in the two stupid goals conceded, That's a total collapse in any sport.
We have plenty of workman like, honest players but are still missing that extra bit of class up front. The player who will kick the ball over the bar or do something magic in those clutch moments of an all Ireland final.
Like you my faith in management has taken a serious dent again. There were players left out there the last day for a lot longer than they should have been. We are not as good as we thought we were…the last 14mins and ET v Dublin masked a lot of the issues. A serious re think is needed over the winter.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 14/09/2021 17:26:44
Replying To yew_tree: "We created more chances but the execution of those chances was the problem. Missed penalty, two shots dropped into Morgan's hands and 8 wides in the last 20mins. Throw in the two stupid goals conceded, That's a total collapse in any sport.
We have plenty of workman like, honest players but are still missing that extra bit of class up front. The player who will kick the ball over the bar or do something magic in those clutch moments of an all Ireland final.
Like you my faith in management has taken a serious dent again. There were players left out there the last day for a lot longer than they should have been. We are not as good as we thought we were…the last 14mins and ET v Dublin masked a lot of the issues. A serious re think is needed over the winter." I know there's joined up thinking going on Yew to ensure that the right sort of athletic players come through from underage, particularly u20s, but did you see how robotic our u20s were this year? When Roscommon realised they were dealing with a team playing by numbers with no flair they started to run rings around our lads and our boy's response was to keep sticking to the system... no imagination or throwing caution to the wind. They played slow build-up turgid stuff till the final whistle when Roscommon were leading by double scores. I understand the philosophy for finding players who can run an opposition into the ground, but we're in danger of going too far and having too few with natural ability of the sort we've enjoyed with Kevin Mc and Keith Higgins. I'm not saying we don't have good footballers in the panel, but I'd question what sort of team we'll have in 4 or 5 more years. The Dubs are doing the same except that because they're working off much bigger numbers of players they'll find more athletes who still have a bit of flair.
All that off my chest, I know had half the wasted chances been put away the last day Mayo would likely have won the AI and our narrative would be completely different. For a start I'd still be hungover... it's only Tuesday night!
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 15/09/2021 01:33:24
Replying To yew_tree: "We created more chances but the execution of those chances was the problem. Missed penalty, two shots dropped into Morgan's hands and 8 wides in the last 20mins. Throw in the two stupid goals conceded, That's a total collapse in any sport.
Like you my faith in management has taken a serious dent again. There were players left out there the last day for a lot longer than they should have been. We are not as good as we thought we were…the last 14mins and ET v Dublin masked a lot of the issues. A serious re think is needed over the winter." We badly missed Cillian in the end, it's guaranteed that he wouldn't have snatched at a few of the chances that others did. Also, how many inside marks did we win? I can't remember one the entire game but he took several against the Dubs last year.
Agreed that we're not as good as we thought, and perhaps this comes down to underage structures within the county, which need looking at. We have been very poor over the last decade, the two All-Ireland winning sides excepted (and even those had Diarmuid O'Connor and Stephen Coen in them, which probably carried them to an extent).
Management also have to take the rap for this one. We went out and played as if we had never seen Tyrone before and made all the same mistakes Kerry did, plus a few of our own. Horan has done a lot of good for Mayo football since he first arrived but I'm not convinced that he has learned anything from the previous final defeats. Tyrone had us sussed out because we play the same way all the time, and they mercilessly exploited the space we leave behind the high press through fast long balls into their full-forward line. After 20 minutes this was crying out of a sweeper to cut out the space but Horan is too stubborn to play one. Hence the two preventable goals.
Which is another thing, some players seem almost immune from deselection. Robbie has let in soft goals in every All-Ireland final he's been in, yet we persist in selecting him. Aidan's confidence looked completely shot, has never scored in an All-ireland final, yet we persist in selecting him. It probably didn't help that we were playing low ball into him, but this is another part of the problem. When has our forward play ever looked structured?
In contrast, the Tyrone lads all looked like they understood their roles. Of course, it doesn't help when you miss the four goal chances that come your way.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/09/2021 07:11:36
Replying To Gleebo: "We badly missed Cillian in the end, it's guaranteed that he wouldn't have snatched at a few of the chances that others did. Also, how many inside marks did we win? I can't remember one the entire game but he took several against the Dubs last year.
Agreed that we're not as good as we thought, and perhaps this comes down to underage structures within the county, which need looking at. We have been very poor over the last decade, the two All-Ireland winning sides excepted (and even those had Diarmuid O'Connor and Stephen Coen in them, which probably carried them to an extent).
Management also have to take the rap for this one. We went out and played as if we had never seen Tyrone before and made all the same mistakes Kerry did, plus a few of our own. Horan has done a lot of good for Mayo football since he first arrived but I'm not convinced that he has learned anything from the previous final defeats. Tyrone had us sussed out because we play the same way all the time, and they mercilessly exploited the space we leave behind the high press through fast long balls into their full-forward line. After 20 minutes this was crying out of a sweeper to cut out the space but Horan is too stubborn to play one. Hence the two preventable goals.
Which is another thing, some players seem almost immune from deselection. Robbie has let in soft goals in every All-Ireland final he's been in, yet we persist in selecting him. Aidan's confidence looked completely shot, has never scored in an All-ireland final, yet we persist in selecting him. It probably didn't help that we were playing low ball into him, but this is another part of the problem. When has our forward play ever looked structured?
In contrast, the Tyrone lads all looked like they understood their roles. Of course, it doesn't help when you miss the four goal chances that come your way." Perfectly summed up Gleebo. My sadness at Mayo's loss is trifling in comparison to yours but the whole country weeps when Mayo lose another one. I'm beginning to believe that Foxford curse which seems silly nowadays. I'm still saying next year ye will do it. Chin up, chest out lads.
JackMurphy (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 15/09/2021 10:51:11
Replying To Gleebo: "We badly missed Cillian in the end, it's guaranteed that he wouldn't have snatched at a few of the chances that others did. Also, how many inside marks did we win? I can't remember one the entire game but he took several against the Dubs last year.
In contrast, the Tyrone lads all looked like they understood their roles. Of course, it doesn't help when you miss the four goal chances that come your way." No marks taken from what I remember but I have not watched the game back . Agree Cillian was missed. We didn't need him in Connacht and truth be told it was our young legs (and some fortune) that for us over the line v Dublin who themselves were like a boxer all year just waiting for the knockout blow.
My biggest worry is the lack of a game plan. Could you see one? In terms of forward play? Tyrone have a system it's clear to see. Mayo are trilling to watch when we go on these 15-20 min all out attacking and running which can win most games BUT you get caught out eventually.
Tommy Conroy back in our own 21 at one stage…mad stuff. I know you can say we created more chances than Tyrone and didn't execute them but if it was not happening then haul them off. The row on the sideline between management didn't look good either.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 15/09/2021 11:01:38
Replying To Pericles: "I know there's joined up thinking going on Yew to ensure that the right sort of athletic players come through from underage, particularly u20s, but did you see how robotic our u20s were this year? When Roscommon realised they were dealing with a team playing by numbers with no flair they started to run rings around our lads and our boy's response was to keep sticking to the system... no imagination or throwing caution to the wind. They played slow build-up turgid stuff till the final whistle when Roscommon were leading by double scores. I understand the philosophy for finding players who can run an opposition into the ground, but we're in danger of going too far and having too few with natural ability of the sort we've enjoyed with Kevin Mc and Keith Higgins. I'm not saying we don't have good footballers in the panel, but I'd question what sort of team we'll have in 4 or 5 more years. The Dubs are doing the same except that because they're working off much bigger numbers of players they'll find more athletes who still have a bit of flair.
All that off my chest, I know had half the wasted chances been put away the last day Mayo would likely have won the AI and our narrative would be completely different. For a start I'd still be hungover... it's only Tuesday night!" Yes and the plan is indeed in place. Producing players from academy level up through the ranks. The S&C is overseen throughout by the same team. As you say though it's very robotic. The natural forward needs to be let express himself.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 15/09/2021 11:04:21
Replying To yew_tree: "No marks taken from what I remember but I have not watched the game back . Agree Cillian was missed. We didn't need him in Connacht and truth be told it was our young legs (and some fortune) that for us over the line v Dublin who themselves were like a boxer all year just waiting for the knockout blow.
My biggest worry is the lack of a game plan. Could you see one? In terms of forward play? Tyrone have a system it's clear to see. Mayo are trilling to watch when we go on these 15-20 min all out attacking and running which can win most games BUT you get caught out eventually.
Tommy Conroy back in our own 21 at one stage…mad stuff. I know you can say we created more chances than Tyrone and didn't execute them but if it was not happening then haul them off. The row on the sideline between management didn't look good either." No, I honestly couldn't. It was almost as if management believed that we'd overwhelm Tyrone through hard running when all of the evidence showed that they are very comfortable with that sort of approach.
The lack of a sweeper is a fatal flaw in Horan's philosophy. How often have we been caught for goals over the years, either through fast high balls into our full back line or being cut up by runners through the centre? Tyrone got a lot of their scores through this and a sweeper would at least have cut that long diagonal ball out. But it's like he's too stubborn to try it, even though we got closest to winning an All-Ireland with that tactic in 2016/17.
It would have to be said that we have never looked coordinated in our forward play at any point, relative to the successful counties. I don't think necessarily that Mayo players are naturally any worse at putting the ball over the bar than anyone else, but what is needed is to adopt a structured approach and to eliminate risky shooting, as Dublin have done. If we have to recruit outside the county for this, so be it.
The row on the bench looked very bad and capped off a miserable day all round. I must say that the County Board's approach to the ticket allocation was also deeply disappointing, and hard to believe that divisions would be drawn between club members and season tickets holders as it turned out.
I see a lot of Mayo fans on the blog saying that we'll be stronger next year, that the likes of Doc, Harrison and Cillian are coming back etc. and it's hard to share their optimism. There's no guarantee any one of those will return and the former two have been injured for the past two years. And the Super Eights may well be reinstated at Congress, meaning a lot harder road to the final again.
A huge opportunity missed irrespective of Tyrone's excellence on the day.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/09/2021 14:06:27