Congrats to Mayo considering that they had to play against the All Ireland champions gaasport (Longford) - Posts: 31 - 15/08/2021 20:39:22 2371691 Link 1 |
Delighted for Mayo hope ye go all the way now clooney (Clare) - Posts: 996 - 16/08/2021 09:41:54 2371841 Link 1 |
Fair play to ye. It's no mean achievement to lose one of the best sharpshooters in the game, see your manager have to bench your misfiring captain and have to fix an appalling first half record with respect to securing your own kickout and avoiding soft turnovers of possession and still have the grit to win the game in the end. If ye can be more consistent then I can't see the other two stopping ye. Finals are what they are though. You often lose the ones you should win and win the ones you should lose. I hope that my crowd get there to test our luck against yeres. plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/08/2021 12:18:09 2371926 Link 1 |
Just popping by to say congrats lads! A terrific win, and great to see the Dubs humbled by a Connacht team! festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 16/08/2021 17:54:47 2372102 Link 2 |
Thanks Festy! Sheer will to win was a huge part of it, with the team mixing the bad and ugly before eventually finding a gear. Kerry will be a hungrier opponent in the final - I can't see how Tyrone will overcome their circumstances even with the latest extra week. Not great for Mayo's momentum having to hang around for what's now an extra two weeks before the final. Will be a chance for some injuries and fitness issues to improve, but this might be working out better for Kerry assuming they do get some sort of game from Tyrone. Dethroning the Dubs has been done by Mayo before but it's no more than a stepping stone now. Kerry in a final has always been the ultimate test for Mayo, so if they win it'll be the hardest way. I'd say a good lot of Kerry supporters already think title 38 is pretty much in the bag if they just match Mayo's intensity. Weeks to ponder...
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 17/08/2021 12:01:06 2372319 Link 0 |
Would agree with that, Pericles. Underneath the plámas, a lot of Kerry fans don't rate us at all. Certainly, there was a definite edge to them whenever we met them in 2018/19, especially down in Killarney and I think the two previous defeats to us really hurt them. If we are to beat them, we have to start the game better than against Galway or Dublin. Kerry will not let us back into the game if we allow them to build a big lead on us (no disrepect to our Tyrone friends here, but I can't see them winning given their Covid issues). The other thing is that we need to get the defensive match-ups right, the Cliffords, Gavin White et al. can rack up a huge score if we allow them too much space. Ideally, we would also score at least one goal, as I think they will get a goal if we play them. We didn't threaten one against the Dubs and indeed could have conceded one or two if McCarthy and Basquel had their shooting boots on. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/08/2021 16:31:13 2372468 Link 0 |
"Sheer will" you say, or as my dear old departed dad used to say "Mayo are dangerous because they're too thick to know when they're beaten" :) What I find remarkable is how only a year or so ago there was a lot of fairly understandable talk about how it was the end of an era for Mayo as your team advanced in years, but look at the wealth of young talent on that panel! Incredible. And surely the psychological edge ye'll get from this win will bring the team on in leaps and bounds over the next 12 months regardless of what happens in the remainder of this championship. Ye're a force, and no mistake. Now stick it to whoever ye face in the final and let's put an end to all this waiting. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 17/08/2021 17:51:36 2372485 Link 0 |
Why would they rate us Gleebo? Mayo were a Div 2 side in 2021 and Kerry have already met two Div 2 sides in Munster beating a decent Clare by 17 points before demolishing Cork by 22. If we play just one half of football against them there won't be any need for extra time. They also know who they'll be playing and as much as I don't see Tyrone upsetting things JH will still need to keep the Ulstermen in his plans until Kerry confirm their place in the final. Assuming Kerry do get there, they'll be the first team Mayo will have encountered who aren't operating under a cloud and whose form has been impeccable all year. They're the team to beat and we shouldn't forget that. If I was JH I'd build in a week's complete break to keep the panel fresh, avoid potential training injuries and shorten the focus. 3 weeks run in is long enough... 4 risks mental fatigue and injury. We were only supposed to have 2 until Tyrone became the covid hotspot of these islands (according to Sky News last night). Whoever we meet will have the benefit of a game at full throttle just 2 weeks before the final... Mayo could get lost in those two extra weeks. I trust JH and the coaches will get this right so Mayo don't turn up for the final only half-switched on and mentally jaded. Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/08/2021 16:01:37 2372780 Link 0 |
Hi folks, comhghairdeas mór daoibh for Saturday, a mighty comeback and brill performance. Horan is some operator. From a Donegal POV I was wondering as we have a plethora of young talent but seemingly can't get ourselves to those big games, or over the line once we get there - when I look at the young fellas that have been introduced to Mayo over the past 2 years and are already deciding All-Ireland semi-finals, I really look on with envy. Fair play to yous and all the best for the final, as I mentioned on the main forum, not that yous need extra "warnings" or anything like that when it comes to going in to an All Ireland final, but when we were the last ones to beat the Dubs and the excitement and joy from that brilliant semi-final victory is tainted for myself now as we didn't finish the job and win Sam. I hope yous go on and do it. Ádh mór! JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/08/2021 17:40:26 2372815 Link 2 |
I don't mean that they don't rate us at this moment in time as such (though I think that's probably accurate), I mean in general. Even a few years ago, when we had beaten them a couple of times on the spin, you could see they weren't happy at all at being perceived on the same level as us. I guess that's the legacy of the hammerings we got off them in 2004 and 2006. Anyway, back in Killarney a couple of years back they were determined to tear into us come hell or high water, which worked out for them on the day, although we had several injuries and managed to miss a penno and a few goal chances. Anyway, I wouldn't pay too much heed to divisional placings. If we get our tactics right and match their intensity, we won't be too far away, if not, it will be a struggle. We might need the four weeks to get the likes of Oisín back into contention. And two weeks may not be a huge amount of time for the winners of the other semi-final, if injuries are picked up. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2021 18:15:49 2372821 Link 0 |
Hi all, Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4467 - 18/08/2021 18:57:36 2372832 Link 3 |
I know what you mean Glebo and that feeling of Kerry superiority had been ingrained for decades. They came to depend on it to overawe opponents and it was always worth a few points until Mickey Harte's lads decided no more of that. Now Kerry can't rely on the opposition imploding and while they've always put in the work too, fair play to them, it's now largely that which will determine their success or failure. So same as ourselves though no one can say they aren't worthy of being favourites based on being further down the road and the form they've shown this year. All Mayo can do is go about our own business and be right for Sept 11th.
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/08/2021 20:13:43 2372848 Link 0 |
I agree with you that Kerry are favourites, we haven't played them in a while but they have had the better of the recent meetings and are unbeaten this year. I would have reservations about our defence if we sit off the Cliffords, O'Shea and co. like we did the Dubs in the first half the last day out. We need to put in a 70+ minute performance to be in with a shout, which is not something we have managed yet this season. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2021 11:22:05 2372981 Link 0 |
Mayo seem to be zonal in the first half and man-for-man in the second, at least that's how it looked in the games vs Galway and Dublin. It seems to be part of the overall game plan and in each case the holes dug were as much to do with Mayo missing chances, some of them quite simple. But like you I'd be very nervous of us giving the Kerry forwards that sort of space, as they'll convert chances the Dubs wouldn't take on (ones outside 30m) and make chances Galway's forward play couldn't create. If we're as poor again up front as we were in the first halves of the two previous games we could be 10+ points behind at the break. Whoever gains a foothold in midfield will win this game. I'm thinking the best role for Aidan would be to man mark (in a proper way, so not loosely) David Moran, much like he did Kieran Donaghy a few years back. Aidan won't be caught for pace or stamina in that role. He'll need to cut Moran out of possession and deprive the Kerry forwards of Moran's ability to deliver good foot passes. Any ball won by Aidan should be instantly transferred to a runner. He should stop wasting energy trying to be Jack O'Shea... he needs to do a job for the team just like Lee Keegan or Paddy Durcan have to do on occasion even if their own creative game has to be sacrificed. If we play Tyrone I can't think of any role for Aidan which won't be exploited by Tyrone. Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 19/08/2021 12:11:52 2373009 Link 0 |
I see that JH was quoted as saying that Eoghan McLoighlin was back on the exercise bike and couldn't be ruled out of contention yet for the All-Ireland. He's some bit of stuff if that's even half true. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/08/2021 06:50:42 2373242 Link 1 |
Hope Mayo can win all ireland all here in Limerick we be shouting for ye.We were level in all irelands lost(5) with ye for a few years and our neighbouring counties were saying Mayo and Limerick were simular that way.Mayo can be like Limerick if ye can just get that breakthrough win ye so much deserve ye could dominate for a few years like us Limerick73to18 (Limerick) - Posts: 1 - 20/08/2021 12:28:45 2373315 Link 3 |
Yes, we hope to be able to make the breakthrough at long last. Best of luck to Limerick in the hurling final, these days they remind me of McGregor's erstwhile maxim, "we're not here to take part: we're here to take over".
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/08/2021 13:45:05 2373351 Link 1 |
Have said several times that i would like to see nothing more than Mayo fans feel the way i felt at the final whistle in 2018 after 45 years of heartbreak. An incredible, indescribable feeling. The 90 mins in the stadium afterwards and the walk to O'Connell street was like walking on air. Truely amazing. Go do it this year.! hamstring (Limerick) - Posts: 318 - 06/09/2021 22:08:26 2378383 Link 4 |
Very best of luck at the weekend lads. Hope ye finally get to bring Sam back west. Mayo most definitely deserve it at this stage. sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1219 - 07/09/2021 11:15:55 2378464 Link 4 |
Thanks but deserves got nothing to do with it. You got to go and take it…by hook or crook. I'm hoping this is finally it.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 07/09/2021 23:56:54 2378686 Link 2 |