Kerry V Galway

Replying To sligo joe:  "I absolutely agree it was a vital score/free, just making the point that the traditional Kerry way, from Mick O'Dwyer to Pat Spillane has been to disregard the league and league performances with tut tuts and disparaging comments, glad to see that some Kerrymen appreciate the league now!"
Sure it's all anyone outside of dublin have left now since the championship is a dead duck.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/05/2021 16:22:15    2343708

Replying To TheUsername:  "I'd actually prefer Deano, woefully underrated as a player. One of the very best. From open and closed play."
Well sure that's your own view Username and fair play but for me Fenton or Con would be better players. Agree Dean an excellent player and class place kicker but it's all about opinions.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 20/05/2021 16:34:43    2343711

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Well sure that's your own view Username and fair play but for me Fenton or Con would be better players. Agree Dean an excellent player and class place kicker but it's all about opinions."
Best performance by any Dublin player over this decade of success was Deano in the first game against Kerry in 19 in my opinion, absolute leadership, Cahonas, attitude and determination carried Dublin to the replay and no five in a row without him. I find it hard to think of a greater performance. The more I watch that game back the greater it becomes in the cold light. One of the greatest on a great team.

As you say all opinions mind.

In a weird way I think place kickers don't get the recognition they deserve as players, because they are place kickers if that makes sense.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/05/2021 18:16:29    2343740

Replying To TheUsername:  "Best performance by any Dublin player over this decade of success was Deano in the first game against Kerry in 19 in my opinion, absolute leadership, Cahonas, attitude and determination carried Dublin to the replay and no five in a row without him. I find it hard to think of a greater performance. The more I watch that game back the greater it becomes in the cold light. One of the greatest on a great team.

In a weird way I think place kickers don't get the recognition they deserve as players, because they are place kickers if that makes sense."
Very hard to pick who the best player is in the current Dublin team,Rock is vital to Dublin and one of my fav players, the lad is pure class on and off the field, very hard to pick between him and Fenton and Con,
the time Rock kept his cool and landed that free against Mayo in the 2017 final despite Keegan throwing his gps at him while taking the free, he never even mentioned it after, he was so focused on what he was doing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nMXhSMdf4o

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2758 - 20/05/2021 20:24:24    2343764

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Very hard to pick who the best player is in the current Dublin team,Rock is vital to Dublin and one of my fav players, the lad is pure class on and off the field, very hard to pick between him and Fenton and Con,
the time Rock kept his cool and landed that free against Mayo in the 2017 final despite Keegan throwing his gps at him while taking the free, he never even mentioned it after, he was so focused on what he was doing.

Rock" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nMXhSMdf4o"
Rock is a good honest player, compared to the likes of Michael Murphy, chalk and cheese.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/05/2021 21:24:02    2343773

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Very hard to pick who the best player is in the current Dublin team,Rock is vital to Dublin and one of my fav players, the lad is pure class on and off the field, very hard to pick between him and Fenton and Con,

That's" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nMXhSMdf4o"
That's the thing when you talk about greatness everyone has a different metric a chara.

When you actually think about clutch moments, when the pressure is on, when you want a player to stand up when trophies are on the table, Rock is one of the greatest, not just once either, year in year out.

It's your definition of greatness really. Take Clifford in this thread, many are describing him as great, not running the lad down, he has incredible physical attributes and a good skill set, he's a big talent and is developing, but as someone said above he has questions to answer at the top table when trophies are on it. He may well answer them, he's on his own journey, but I always feel the lad should be left alone without the hype to develop in peace and get the support on and off the pitch he needs to be the player he could be. Ultimately he's a lad that is doing grand, developing and trying to fulfil his massive talent. I do think some of the other Kerry lads are understated because of the hype, Sean being one, I like the cut of Killian Spillane as well the lad has a bit of the character, determination and leadership some one like Deano has and that needs support and nurturing,.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/05/2021 22:24:12    2343783

Replying To gunman:  "On the question of soccer skills on the GAA field who do you think will be the first to do the skip while taking a penalty like Fernandes or even a headed goal which would be better than those horrible palmed goals.On a serious note I don't think scores with the hand or fist should be allowed."
Paudie Clifford scored a header for UCC 2 or 3 years ago in the Sigerson.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 959 - 20/05/2021 22:36:01    2343785

Replying To TheUsername:  "Best performance by any Dublin player over this decade of success was Deano in the first game against Kerry in 19 in my opinion, absolute leadership, Cahonas, attitude and determination carried Dublin to the replay and no five in a row without him. I find it hard to think of a greater performance. The more I watch that game back the greater it becomes in the cold light. One of the greatest on a great team.

In a weird way I think place kickers don't get the recognition they deserve as players, because they are place kickers if that makes sense."
Ah really? 3 points from play, I wouldn't have said it was an exceptional performance at all. I thought McCaffrey's performance the very same day was way better.

For me Kilkenny is Dublin's best and most influential player. He has everything and an incredibly intelligent player with it. If he is marked very tightly by an elite man marker he can struggle a bit to get into the game but still a class footballer.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 959 - 20/05/2021 22:39:26    2343788

Replying To TheUsername:  "That's the thing when you talk about greatness everyone has a different metric a chara.

When you actually think about clutch moments, when the pressure is on, when you want a player to stand up when trophies are on the table, Rock is one of the greatest, not just once either, year in year out.

It's your definition of greatness really. Take Clifford in this thread, many are describing him as great, not running the lad down, he has incredible physical attributes and a good skill set, he's a big talent and is developing, but as someone said above he has questions to answer at the top table when trophies are on it. He may well answer them, he's on his own journey, but I always feel the lad should be left alone without the hype to develop in peace and get the support on and off the pitch he needs to be the player he could be. Ultimately he's a lad that is doing grand, developing and trying to fulfil his massive talent. I do think some of the other Kerry lads are understated because of the hype, Sean being one, I like the cut of Killian Spillane as well the lad has a bit of the character, determination and leadership some one like Deano has and that needs support and nurturing,."
Again I'm not taking away from Rock as I think he s a great player but if you are saying Rock has shown he can do it under pressure I can't agree fully. For me a winning free is not pressure andCluxton has admitted this. I used to take frees and taking a last chance free to win a game is what you dream off
Now the real pressure is to take a last chance free. to equalise. That's the real pressure. Clifford did that albeit only a league game. Rock missed one in league final 2017 albeit it was a good distance tbf. Taking a free to win does nt take bottle. Taking one to survive does. Now I'm just stating my feelings on it as agreed by Cluxton and Peter Canavan. This is not an attack on Rock at all. Rock is a very good player and one of the best place kickers of all time but just want to give perspective.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 21/05/2021 10:24:28    2343828

Replying To Kerry15:  "Paudie Clifford scored a header for UCC 2 or 3 years ago in the Sigerson."
I have a vague recollection of a Dublin player heading a goal in a county game many years ago .Some of the Dublin posters might remember.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1060 - 21/05/2021 11:06:38    2343841

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Again I'm not taking away from Rock as I think he s a great player but if you are saying Rock has shown he can do it under pressure I can't agree fully. For me a winning free is not pressure andCluxton has admitted this. I used to take frees and taking a last chance free to win a game is what you dream off
Now the real pressure is to take a last chance free. to equalise. That's the real pressure. Clifford did that albeit only a league game. Rock missed one in league final 2017 albeit it was a good distance tbf. Taking a free to win does nt take bottle. Taking one to survive does. Now I'm just stating my feelings on it as agreed by Cluxton and Peter Canavan. This is not an attack on Rock at all. Rock is a very good player and one of the best place kickers of all time but just want to give perspective."
Maurice fitzs sideline v dublin in Thurles 20 years ago (multiple username could look it up on YouTube) where Maurice first met the dublin welcoming party and then had Tom Carr roaring into his face while he was kicking the equaliser now that was pressure, I think it was voted the best score in football a few years back.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/05/2021 11:26:28    2343848

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Again I'm not taking away from Rock as I think he s a great player but if you are saying Rock has shown he can do it under pressure I can't agree fully. For me a winning free is not pressure andCluxton has admitted this. I used to take frees and taking a last chance free to win a game is what you dream off
Now the real pressure is to take a last chance free. to equalise. That's the real pressure. Clifford did that albeit only a league game. Rock missed one in league final 2017 albeit it was a good distance tbf. Taking a free to win does nt take bottle. Taking one to survive does. Now I'm just stating my feelings on it as agreed by Cluxton and Peter Canavan. This is not an attack on Rock at all. Rock is a very good player and one of the best place kickers of all time but just want to give perspective."
Would disagree myself Mick, I was a place kicker - Rugby as opposed to football (was a better rugby player then football). I always found the pressure shooting for the win the most challenging. Different sports and positions granted, but similar pressures, I suppose it's hard to generalise and maybe an individual thing.

Not sure that's a fair comparison on Rock Vs Clifford, I mean scoring multiple clutch points to bring home a Championship Vs a league game against a Dublin B team, they are not the same pressures at all.

All opinions mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/05/2021 13:46:28    2343905

Replying To Kerry15:  "Ah really? 3 points from play, I wouldn't have said it was an exceptional performance at all. I thought McCaffrey's performance the very same day was way better.

For me Kilkenny is Dublin's best and most influential player. He has everything and an incredibly intelligent player with it. If he is marked very tightly by an elite man marker he can struggle a bit to get into the game but still a class footballer."
Jack had a good game and is/was super. Was the Deano show though, carried Dublin into that replay.

Inspired performance!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/05/2021 13:49:45    2343908

Replying To TheUsername:  "Would disagree myself Mick, I was a place kicker - Rugby as opposed to football (was a better rugby player then football). I always found the pressure shooting for the win the most challenging. Different sports and positions granted, but similar pressures, I suppose it's hard to generalise and maybe an individual thing.

Not sure that's a fair comparison on Rock Vs Clifford, I mean scoring multiple clutch points to bring home a Championship Vs a league game against a Dublin B team, they are not the same pressures at all.

All opinions mind."
I'm not comparing Rock to Clifford really. I'm just on about pressure and in reality we all dream of taking a winning free. It's a free shot and if you miss you ré still in the game. However taking a free to equalise if you miss you feel you let your team down. Maybe you ré different but Cluxton and Canavan said same as I feel.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 21/05/2021 14:12:22    2343915

A free to draw a game is pressurised no doubt but a free to win an All Ireland more so for me.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/05/2021 14:31:59    2343923

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "A free to draw a game is pressurised no doubt but a free to win an All Ireland more so for me."
When did you last kick either ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/05/2021 14:46:54    2343926

I really think the degree of pressure involves more context than whether the kick is for a win or a draw. I believe Cluxton's winning kick 2011 had added value/pressure because the Dubs were waiting so long for Sam and Kerry would have been fancied in a replay, the feeling was this kick was Dublin's chance, unlikely to win a replay. Cluxton may have played down the pressure but his expression gives it away. Similarly if say Kerry or Mayo were to have a last kick of the game in this year's final to win Sam, pressure would be huge, they know a miss would surely be their chance gone.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 686 - 21/05/2021 15:00:36    2343931

Replying To sligo joe:  "I really think the degree of pressure involves more context than whether the kick is for a win or a draw. I believe Cluxton's winning kick 2011 had added value/pressure because the Dubs were waiting so long for Sam and Kerry would have been fancied in a replay, the feeling was this kick was Dublin's chance, unlikely to win a replay. Cluxton may have played down the pressure but his expression gives it away. Similarly if say Kerry or Mayo were to have a last kick of the game in this year's final to win Sam, pressure would be huge, they know a miss would surely be their chance gone."
The whole point of it is if you miss a free to win you have another chance. If you miss a free to level it up you lose. Its basic common sense really. Ray Cosgrove will tell you. Cluxton said himself he did nt feel that pressurised as it was a free shot and if he missed the game Dubs still had another day. He said he might have felt different if he had to save a game.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 21/05/2021 15:44:01    2343944

Replying To TheUsername:  "Would disagree myself Mick, I was a place kicker - Rugby as opposed to football (was a better rugby player then football). I always found the pressure shooting for the win the most challenging. Different sports and positions granted, but similar pressures, I suppose it's hard to generalise and maybe an individual thing.

All opinions mind."
Just on your rugby kicks Username. I don't know how many times you had a late kick but chances were that the kick was either to win or lose so pressure high but if you were level then it's a free shot. If you raking a pen and you 2 points down then of course its challenging as a miss you ré gone. As you say I suppose it's an individual thing but I know I'm in same boat as Cluxton and Canavan.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 21/05/2021 15:48:36    2343946

Question? Your team awarded penalty and your one point down. Do you go for the goal or point? Last kick of game.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 21/05/2021 15:50:04    2343947