NFL Div 1 2021

Replying To Rosfan:  "Only 5 points less than the beating by mayo in the 2013 connacht chamoionship"
It was 5 points more than we lost to mayo

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 15/05/2021 20:46:32    2342108

Wouldn't be to disheartened if I was Galway, think they are a coming team, super players and super players coming through.

Anyone who has lived through periods of success will tell it often starts with a few wallops when you are behind g development.

That Kerry side has been together for a 3/4 years at this stage, well established and had a long painful winter with a point to prove. They will be delighted to get the year started.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2021 10:17:35    2342239

Replying To royaldunne:  "Who was /is the manager of the all conquering Galway club ??"
You are thinking about the Corofin management team of Kevin O'Brien, David Morris, Michael Comer, Joe Canny and Stephen Rochford before he went to Mayo and Donegal.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 16/05/2021 13:35:47    2342311

watching Dublin and Ros game- scary to see how far Dublin are ahead of the rest. Granted Ros are not one of the top teams or anywhere near it but they are usually hard beaten in the Hyde but Dublin beat them today in second if not first gear, while missing a good few regulars.

One shudders to think what would happen if they met in Croke Park on a good surface with Dublin's full team at full tilt. It would be embarrassing. Really the GAA need to do something about the imbalance in teams. It is unfair on the smaller counties like us and Roscommon.

Hats off to the Roscommon lads who did try really hard and kept it somewhat respectable. Woudl question why something wasn't done with Cormac Costello who played havoc- why was there no plan put in place to counteract him?? Ros management should ponder on that.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 16/05/2021 15:21:36    2342354

Replying To tonguey:  "watching Dublin and Ros game- scary to see how far Dublin are ahead of the rest. Granted Ros are not one of the top teams or anywhere near it but they are usually hard beaten in the Hyde but Dublin beat them today in second if not first gear, while missing a good few regulars.

One shudders to think what would happen if they met in Croke Park on a good surface with Dublin's full team at full tilt. It would be embarrassing. Really the GAA need to do something about the imbalance in teams. It is unfair on the smaller counties like us and Roscommon.

Hats off to the Roscommon lads who did try really hard and kept it somewhat respectable. Woudl question why something wasn't done with Cormac Costello who played havoc- why was there no plan put in place to counteract him?? Ros management should ponder on that."
Dublin are not ahead of that Kerry team

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/05/2021 15:36:16    2342360

Replying To superbluedub:  "Dublin are not ahead of that Kerry team"
I think they are or will be come championship time. Kerry have David Clifford who's brilliant but they're still short at the back and over reliant on David Moran in midfield. He'll be 33 next month and he's had his share of injuries. Nothing mattered about Kerry yesterday because Galway were that bad but I have to disagree with Ciaran Whelan about Dublin. I don't think they'll be beaten in this year's championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 16/05/2021 16:20:49    2342380

Lol. They're miles ahead of the pick of the best of the rest.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 16/05/2021 16:22:12    2342381

Who ye trying to fool?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 16/05/2021 16:35:43    2342386

Replying To GDL:  "You are thinking about the Corofin management team of Kevin O'Brien, David Morris, Michael Comer, Joe Canny and Stephen Rochford before he went to Mayo and Donegal."
That's the one. Why not look towards them ?? That team were very very good.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2021 18:53:04    2342470

Bit of craic is the only way to describe the return to action of those raised on Song and Stories down the Hyde.

Was a sticky oul game as many of the new rules came into play. Was a bit ridiculous in all honesty as the ref blew everything, seemed a bit confused himself on application, the game was the big looser with very little flow due to the stop start nature.

Roscommon as you would expect, sticky, tough, experienced and competitive. Cunningham really is a Wiley manager. Roscommon put in a tough balanced performance with a good tough defensive structure but also some breaking at pace on the counter, with excellent point execution, we looked particularly porous through the central channel in a few of the quarters. Fully expect Roscommon to be competitive for Connacht this year.

As for De Du6s, thankfully we blooded a few, as I was worried by the expierence in the advertised team. Lahiff came in for Cooper, with Jamsie going back to 5, Shiel coming in for Comerford, my man Sean McMahon coming in for Fitzy, while Dara Mullin came in for Seanie Bugler.

Nip and tuck early doors, trading points, a penalty 25 mins in saw De Dubs pull ahead and tacked over a few consecutively to go in with a healthy lead. Really it was the Cormac Costello show, with Fenton looking imperious and Jamsie, just being the brilliant human Swiss Army knife everywhere he is, what a line breaker. Paddy Small caused a fair bit carnage with his turn of pace and power. Notable mentions for Dara Mullin who looked silky and very composed. Lahiff had some nice phases but can drift in and out. Sean McMahon did well enough, but needs to grow into this level. Overall though, despite our whole advertised extra training Dublin were well off peak, Kilkennny, King Con, Murch, all showing heavy legs, though to be fair the game was more like rugby for stopping and starting then a football game so hard to build any steam.

Roscommon dominated the first quarter of the second half, as the Dubs eyed the coach up the road. As Roscommon got to about 4-5 points in it, the Du6s started to play again and tacked over another few. Seemed content enough to kick pass over the Roscommon press which to be fair got some joy. A missed penalty by Cormac in there, and a few goal chances scuffed. Kilkenny and Scully in particular started to dictate and with a healthy lead restored the Dubs emptied the bench brought on the Basquel Brothers, McHugh and POCB. Philly and Fitzy came on for the craic to.

What a monster POCB is he had some great phases defensively, lads bouncing of him and his long arms reaching around lads to rob the ball from behind. I think he's one of the biggest lads I've seen play, he's huge. I wonder does he have the atlethisim for this Dublin team, but he is intriguing and could offer another dimension. He's a monster.

Still enough time for Kilkenny to own the last 10 mins hitting a few and enough time for Cormac to sky his third penalty, he did it on purpose in my opinion, it was that type of game, where it seemed all a bit of craic. Ref ruined the game in my opinion, very whistle happy for both teams, so was very stop start and hard for either team to get a head of steam up. On this showing the new rules seem to be undermining the spectacle. Even if they suit us, three penalties today, though the last was very fortunate, which is why I think Cormac took the point. Must say the defence played a lot better in the last quarter.

Overall, despite our day in the dock, we look way off it, lovely to see some of the young lads come through and a decent day for mins in the legs. But wel take the good from the game, look at what we can improve and go again. Not one for the purists today but a bit of craic after a long break. Roscommon value for a score to win Connacht.

Something about this league doesn't feel right, feels a bit like a preaseason blitz. Though ref didn't help today, very stop start game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2021 19:08:32    2342479

Replying To TheUsername:  "Bit of craic is the only way to describe the return to action of those raised on Song and Stories down the Hyde.

Was a sticky oul game as many of the new rules came into play. Was a bit ridiculous in all honesty as the ref blew everything, seemed a bit confused himself on application, the game was the big looser with very little flow due to the stop start nature.

Roscommon as you would expect, sticky, tough, experienced and competitive. Cunningham really is a Wiley manager. Roscommon put in a tough balanced performance with a good tough defensive structure but also some breaking at pace on the counter, with excellent point execution, we looked particularly porous through the central channel in a few of the quarters. Fully expect Roscommon to be competitive for Connacht this year.

As for De Du6s, thankfully we blooded a few, as I was worried by the expierence in the advertised team. Lahiff came in for Cooper, with Jamsie going back to 5, Shiel coming in for Comerford, my man Sean McMahon coming in for Fitzy, while Dara Mullin came in for Seanie Bugler.

Nip and tuck early doors, trading points, a penalty 25 mins in saw De Dubs pull ahead and tacked over a few consecutively to go in with a healthy lead. Really it was the Cormac Costello show, with Fenton looking imperious and Jamsie, just being the brilliant human Swiss Army knife everywhere he is, what a line breaker. Paddy Small caused a fair bit carnage with his turn of pace and power. Notable mentions for Dara Mullin who looked silky and very composed. Lahiff had some nice phases but can drift in and out. Sean McMahon did well enough, but needs to grow into this level. Overall though, despite our whole advertised extra training Dublin were well off peak, Kilkennny, King Con, Murch, all showing heavy legs, though to be fair the game was more like rugby for stopping and starting then a football game so hard to build any steam.

Roscommon dominated the first quarter of the second half, as the Dubs eyed the coach up the road. As Roscommon got to about 4-5 points in it, the Du6s started to play again and tacked over another few. Seemed content enough to kick pass over the Roscommon press which to be fair got some joy. A missed penalty by Cormac in there, and a few goal chances scuffed. Kilkenny and Scully in particular started to dictate and with a healthy lead restored the Dubs emptied the bench brought on the Basquel Brothers, McHugh and POCB. Philly and Fitzy came on for the craic to.

What a monster POCB is he had some great phases defensively, lads bouncing of him and his long arms reaching around lads to rob the ball from behind. I think he's one of the biggest lads I've seen play, he's huge. I wonder does he have the atlethisim for this Dublin team, but he is intriguing and could offer another dimension. He's a monster.

Still enough time for Kilkenny to own the last 10 mins hitting a few and enough time for Cormac to sky his third penalty, he did it on purpose in my opinion, it was that type of game, where it seemed all a bit of craic. Ref ruined the game in my opinion, very whistle happy for both teams, so was very stop start and hard for either team to get a head of steam up. On this showing the new rules seem to be undermining the spectacle. Even if they suit us, three penalties today, though the last was very fortunate, which is why I think Cormac took the point. Must say the defence played a lot better in the last quarter.

Overall, despite our day in the dock, we look way off it, lovely to see some of the young lads come through and a decent day for mins in the legs. But wel take the good from the game, look at what we can improve and go again. Not one for the purists today but a bit of craic after a long break. Roscommon value for a score to win Connacht.

Something about this league doesn't feel right, feels a bit like a preaseason blitz. Though ref didn't help today, very stop start game."
Ref was extremely poor today. Hopefully it was lack of match practice for him and that he is normally at a better standard. If not and that's his norm he shouldn't be reffing games. Ruined the game today. What ever about the penos he was giving frees for nothing and sometimes when the whistle went I had to wait to see which way he was given the free.
Dubs full value for the the win and had zero impact on the result just ruined its spectacle

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 16/05/2021 21:17:37    2342556

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Ref was extremely poor today. Hopefully it was lack of match practice for him and that he is normally at a better standard. If not and that's his norm he shouldn't be reffing games. Ruined the game today. What ever about the penos he was giving frees for nothing and sometimes when the whistle went I had to wait to see which way he was given the free.
Dubs full value for the the win and had zero impact on the result just ruined its spectacle"
Felt exactly the same, every single contact by either team was a free, it got ridiculous, it was impossible to turnover a ball, really impossible. It was like AFL or Rugby with the stop start nature.

Like you - I didn't know what he was giving decisions for or for who, I wouldn't be one to moan about the ref and he didn't favour either side, he just kept stopping the game unnecessarily, killing any momentum and the spectacle.. It ruined the game which is a massive pity as Roscommon gave us a good run for our money in our last game down the Hyde.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2021 21:46:51    2342568

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Ref was extremely poor today. Hopefully it was lack of match practice for him and that he is normally at a better standard. If not and that's his norm he shouldn't be reffing games. Ruined the game today. What ever about the penos he was giving frees for nothing and sometimes when the whistle went I had to wait to see which way he was given the free.
Dubs full value for the the win and had zero impact on the result just ruined its spectacle"
Agreed with that sourmilk93
Ref had a mare, 2 of the 3 penalties where rediculous .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/05/2021 22:36:21    2342591

Replying To lilylanger:  "Who ye trying to fool?"
Actually not trying to fool anyone , I truly believe Kerry have the beating of Dublin and will win the All Ireland this year , but sure it's all about opinions .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/05/2021 22:41:38    2342592

Over the weekend I watched a Div 4, Div 3 and a few Div 1 games. If there ever an example competition structures need to be set up so teams around one's level play each other this weekend proved it.

The Louth v Antrim was one of the best games I watched; two teams who won't win All Ireland's but putting on a competitive game of football; also enjoyed Fermanagh's performance in Div 3.

Ironically the biggest problem facing the GAA could be how far Dublin and Kerry are pushing ahead. For all the talk of Dublin; it's clear Kerry are throwing significant resources at it, and are ready to step up and challenge Dublin in my opinion; and the Cork result last season will become impossible in the next year or two. The hammering given to Galway could become more common over the next couple of years.

The GAA can talk about super 8, secondary competitions etc but I'll make a prediction now; no team outside of Dublin and Kerry will win an All Ireland in the next decade at least; Kerry have to make that breakthrough to stop it being all Dublin but I think we're getting closer to that time.

Beyond the very top; football is in a very healthly state if the GAA can get the right competition structures.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 17/05/2021 07:57:07    2342634

Replying To TheUsername:  "Felt exactly the same, every single contact by either team was a free, it got ridiculous, it was impossible to turnover a ball, really impossible. It was like AFL or Rugby with the stop start nature.

Like you - I didn't know what he was giving decisions for or for who, I wouldn't be one to moan about the ref and he didn't favour either side, he just kept stopping the game unnecessarily, killing any momentum and the spectacle.. It ruined the game which is a massive pity as Roscommon gave us a good run for our money in our last game down the Hyde."
Roscommon seem to have regressed further under Anthony Cunnyham. They usually do not capitulate like that and let us be frank here- yesterday the gulf in class, organisation, attitude etc was embarrassing. But cast your minds back to the Connacht game last year against Mayo would you- another tame surrender. I am sure the Roscommon supporters are worried about this particulat trend especially in the Hyde.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 17/05/2021 11:49:03    2342718

I thought the ref had a pretty game in the Dublin Roscormon game. I thought he let it out with good authority and so forth. The ref usually gets the blame by the defeated team when their own shortcomings must be adrest. Roscommon need to kick it more i think, i think i counted tennnnnn times they lost possession needlessly in my opinion.

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 17/05/2021 12:01:49    2342725

Replying To the_creeler:  "I thought the ref had a pretty game in the Dublin Roscormon game. I thought he let it out with good authority and so forth. The ref usually gets the blame by the defeated team when their own shortcomings must be adrest. Roscommon need to kick it more i think, i think i counted tennnnnn times they lost possession needlessly in my opinion."
It had nothing to do with result. Ref stopping game every few seconds probably helped Roscommon in slowing the game down and as a result score was closer. If you genuinely think the ref done a good job yesterday you have a different opinion on what football is to myself. As I said above he was probably lacking match practice due to lack of football same as players were. I hope he was just unfit and was blowing everything to give himself a breather or else he just is not a top level official
The job refs have to do is near impossible at the best of times, they were struggling last few years with a low standard across the board yet the gaa add ridiculous extra rules every year it's gone beyond madness.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 17/05/2021 12:28:27    2342737

I also see the Anthony Cunnyham was complaining about the new rules and so forth- would he have been complaining if they had got the penalties? I doubt so. Same with John Kiely in Limerick. Very poor sportmanship from both guys. Good hurling men but let themselves down with that type of thing. I wish they would desist.

Maybe the ref wanted to slow it down to even up the game a bit as it was so one sided.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 17/05/2021 12:42:02    2342746

Replying To sourmilk93:  "It had nothing to do with result. Ref stopping game every few seconds probably helped Roscommon in slowing the game down and as a result score was closer. If you genuinely think the ref done a good job yesterday you have a different opinion on what football is to myself. As I said above he was probably lacking match practice due to lack of football same as players were. I hope he was just unfit and was blowing everything to give himself a breather or else he just is not a top level official
The job refs have to do is near impossible at the best of times, they were struggling last few years with a low standard across the board yet the gaa add ridiculous extra rules every year it's gone beyond madness."
Well look the conditions weren't great for the football and different refs have different methods of refereeing a game. I thought he did a grand job of it at the time. I think refs would have to meet a fitness test before the start of any competition. Could be having difficulties getting purchase on the soft damp soil perhaps and that would have made his job harder.

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 17/05/2021 13:18:22    2342763