Division 3 North 2021

Still in a state of shock tbh, it's an astonishing state of affairs that the same group of players can win an Ulster title and then a few months later drag Cavan to the depths of division 4.

This is unprecedented in our history as a football county and no doubt the goodwill generated by the Ulster title win has quickly evaporated.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 12/06/2021 18:58:41    2349895

The talk all spring that D3 was lobsided with the 4 stronger sides in D3 North which was more competitive than D3 South. So far Derry won their semi final but both Cavan and Fermanagh beaten D3 South opposition. Teams playing in D3 South peaking at right time

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 12/06/2021 19:44:16    2349914

Maybe the reaction on this forum is a reflection of Cavan's attitude today. It seems that Cavan thought they only had to turn up. Maybe ye should show teams more respect!! Yes, we have been in the doldrums for a number of years but there is a lot of work going on at underage level. Win or lose today, I was hoping that we put it up to Cavan and see what they were made of - Cavan seemed shell shocked that we didn't just roll over at the Ulster champions feet. Too often we give teams too much respect and are beaten before we go on the field. Hopefully this is beginning to change. Cavan are a good side otherwise they would not be ulster champions but maybe they lack confidence due to three consecutive relegations.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1911 - 12/06/2021 19:57:55    2349925

That's true. They played like they only had to turn up which Is a poor attitude.
Cavan had a big win again the odds last year but it covered up the cracks. Relegated in Division 2, scrapped past Antrim, 2 great comebacks against Monaghan and down. A big performance against Donegal who were already planning for Dublin

Fair play to Wicklow. a well coached team with a classy players like Deveraux, Jackson,Quinn and Seanie Furlong.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 12/06/2021 20:25:42    2349938

Replying To FoolsGold:  "That's true. They played like they only had to turn up which Is a poor attitude.
Cavan had a big win again the odds last year but it covered up the cracks. Relegated in Division 2, scrapped past Antrim, 2 great comebacks against Monaghan and down. A big performance against Donegal who were already planning for Dublin

Fair play to Wicklow. a well coached team with a classy players like Deveraux, Jackson,Quinn and Seanie Furlong."
I do think that Cavan caught Donegal in the Ulster final and may not be as strong as some pundits think. Having said that, I don't think Cavan are a division 4 team by any means. They came through a tough side of the draw to get to the Ulster final which was no mean feat, so there is talent there. It is the mental side they seem to have problems which their manager needs to address. Best of luck in your Ulster defence. I hope it will be a successful defence.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1911 - 12/06/2021 21:06:52    2349964

I may live in Louth but I am Cavan Through and Through. This Team gave us all a priceless lift in 2020 and their courage was a credit to them, all of the Cavan people living around the country walked ten feet tall and last year will never be forgotten. It is clear from looking at Cavan in the league last year and again this year that they were shellshocked during certain games in the league campaign when things did not go as they EXPECTED. It was as if many (not all) of the players just felt they would overhaul the opposition by staying in 3rd gear and grinding it out, I say this about the players but I also very much say this about the management. This complacency gives well trained opposition hope and you are always going to get caught out somewhere along the line.. Wicklow, Louth, Antrim etc... They are good Teams with good players and if you do not go out to play them with a 100% attitude you will be beaten, next years league opposition will be no different...The Team is simply NOT being prepared correctly for the dogfight that is the National League and sadly this is down mainly to the management who's job it is to get the Teams attitude right. Anyway, its done now so let's go again and get stuck into Tyrone.

midlouther (Louth) - Posts: 6 - 12/06/2021 22:28:32    2350009

Are we the best team in Ulster or the worst team? Confused. Terrible result.

Views (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 13/06/2021 08:33:35    2350067

Yesterday, along with other games this year proves last year was a fluke, and we are no where at that level. It's time county board invest heavily in school coaching. Starting with junior and senior infants and get them playing early. Big populations in Cavan, kings court, ballyduff etc and need to get all demographics playing GAA. Get huge numbers playing and you will eventually have a chance to be consistent. Invest in a top quality person to oversee coaching with long term strategic plan.

Views (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 13/06/2021 08:40:58    2350070

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I'm seething here. But some perspective please, it's the league and he won an Ulster 7 months ago. Let's see what happens against Tyrone. But jeez we look so far off the pace. Should be winning these games blindfolded"
surely the league should have been priority this year. We would always have been up against it v Tyrone.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 13/06/2021 09:12:34    2350077

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I do think that Cavan caught Donegal in the Ulster final and may not be as strong as some pundits think. Having said that, I don't think Cavan are a division 4 team by any means. They came through a tough side of the draw to get to the Ulster final which was no mean feat, so there is talent there. It is the mental side they seem to have problems which their manager needs to address. Best of luck in your Ulster defence. I hope it will be a successful defence."
Cavan are probably not a division 4 team but that's where they will be operating from next season… A proper 7 game league season might have seen them get enough points to stay up and but for Longford conceding a stoppage time point they might even be playing in division 2 in 2022… I am not trying to make excuses as I have often posted that this side are not near as good as some posters think as you say.. but you are wrong when saying we were in the tougher side of the draw in Ulster last year… we were in the handy side which is why we were in the last 2 Ulster finals… Donegal had us beaten in 10 minutes in 2019 and took us for granted last year and got caught….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1933 - 13/06/2021 09:52:40    2350092

Replying To Views:  "Are we the best team in Ulster or the worst team? Confused. Terrible result."
If Antrim beat Waterford, there will only be one Ulster team in D4 next year.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 13/06/2021 10:44:51    2350112

We are where we probably belonged for a number of years. All the excuse making and nonsense on these forums does not cover up the fact we are a bottom 8 team. The dreamers on here need to realise 1952 is almost 70 years ago. Time to come down off our high horse and accept the world has passed us by. The best we can hope for is to get back to and remain a Division 2 team. Looking at the shambolic club football scene in our county,it will be a struggle to reach and remain a Div. 2 team consistently. Compare our club football to Tyrone,Monaghan or even Fermanagh and it is very easy to understand why we will compete with the Waterfords,Leitrims and Wexfords next season. Our "water" has found it's level.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 13/06/2021 10:50:12    2350114

I still feel sick to my stomach waking up this morning. A major root and branch review is needed after this season which will end next month after the Tyrone game.
I think there are a combination of factors which has led to our demise since last December.
1. The new players that have entered the squad are not good enough and have weakened things overall
2. The more seasoned players have regressed a lot and some went hiding yesterday when we needed them most
3. Lack of emphasis on underage. We seemed happy with our lot after the 4 under 21 titles. it is now 7 years since an underage title. The players coming through are a far inferior standard of player to what has gone before them. In addition, they have no experience of winning.

That being said, the book stops with management. They sent out that team so undercooked and underprepared yesterday. There was not even a resemblance of a game plan from what I could see. It was like we had never seen a packed defense before.
After last year I taught Mickey was the man long term to take this team forward but after yesterday there are huge question marks. Good management teams should be able to get consistent performances from a group of players, not just ad-hoc championship performances. They certainly should be shrewd enough to get us over the line against Wicklow. At the end of the day league tables don't lie. The best teams have always been in division 1 and the worst in division 4. We are there because we deserve to be there.
If management left in July would they leave a Cavan team in a better position than how they found it? We are now an ageing division 4 team with no forwards and a lack of quality players coming through. Last year papered over the cracks, I think the helicopter view of Cavan football does not look as pretty.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 13/06/2021 10:50:31    2350115

Unfortunately we have missed the boat. A great chance to build on the Ulster win last year and get some players in we that haven't come in but we didn't. I said it before Mickey was a lucky manager and eventually your luck runs out. We are clueless on the field and off it. Persisting with the same players that aren't doing it. Ulster was s great win last year but it was a fluke. Anyone who didn't realize this is deluded. It was Great but unfortunately the players and management bought into the hype and forgot you have improve every year and work harder but we just didn't do it

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 13/06/2021 10:59:53    2350119

Replying To s goldrick:  "surely the league should have been priority this year. We would always have been up against it v Tyrone."
This is as bad as it gets. This overshadows last years Ulster Champio nship win. We are where we deserve to be. To be honest we got lucky last year. Got out of jail against Monaghan thanks to Banty. Scrapped past Antrim. Pathetic against Down in First half. And Donegal took their eye of the ball against us in the Final. This day has been coming. . Wicklow were never going to roll over. Physically we were out of our depth. It wasnt a day to play those younger smaller players. Horses for courses. Suppose the only way is up. Terry could be on his way home?

Allrevvedup (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 13/06/2021 11:11:23    2350122

Replying To s goldrick:  "surely the league should have been priority this year. We would always have been up against it v Tyrone."
This is as bad as it gets. This overshadows last years Ulster Champio nship win. We are where we deserve to be. To be honest we got lucky last year. Got out of jail against Monaghan thanks to Banty. Scrapped past Antrim. Pathetic against Down in First half. And Donegal took their eye of the ball against us in the Final. This day has been coming. . Wicklow were never going to roll over. Physically we were out of our depth. It wasnt a day to play those younger smaller players. Horses for courses. Suppose the only way is up. Terry could be on his way home?

Allrevvedup (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 13/06/2021 11:31:41    2350133

Lovely comments on here. Even a bad Cavan team shouldn't be losing to Wicklow.... The likes of Wicklow..etc.

Well anyone who actually saw the match would know Wicklow were in fact the better team. So the better team won. We have beaten you before by the way, 2009 under Micko. 2010 we somehow contrived to losing to a 13 man Cavan in Breffni Park after being 7 points up!!

We have some lovely footballers coming through if you care to be respectful enough to remember their names. Man of the Match yesterday was Kevin Quinn, nephew of all All Star, Club All Ireland winner and legend, Kevin O'Brien. On the way we have Matthew Ging and current corner forward, Eoin Darcy who got us the penalty yesterday. These lads are terrific footballers. I for one am glad for their progression that they will play Division 3 football again next year.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 13/06/2021 11:36:41    2350136

Lovely comments on here. Even a bad Cavan team shouldn't be losing to Wicklow.... The likes of Wicklow..etc.

Well anyone who actually saw the match would know Wicklow were in fact the better team. So the better team won. We have beaten you before by the way, 2009 under Micko. 2010 we somehow contrived to losing to a 13 man Cavan in Breffni Park after being 7 points up!!

We have some lovely footballers coming through if you care to be respectful enough to remember their names. Man of the Match yesterday was Kevin Quinn, nephew of all All Star, Club All Ireland winner and legend, Kevin O'Brien. On the way we have Matthew Ging and current corner forward, Eoin Darcy who got us the penalty yesterday. These lads are terrific footballers. I for one am glad for their progression that they will play Division 3 football again next year.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 13/06/2021 11:36:44    2350137

Lovely comments on here. Even a bad Cavan team shouldn't be losing to Wicklow.... The likes of Wicklow...

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 13/06/2021 11:49:39    2350139

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Cavan are probably not a division 4 team but that's where they will be operating from next season… A proper 7 game league season might have seen them get enough points to stay up and but for Longford conceding a stoppage time point they might even be playing in division 2 in 2022… I am not trying to make excuses as I have often posted that this side are not near as good as some posters think as you say.. but you are wrong when saying we were in the tougher side of the draw in Ulster last year… we were in the handy side which is why we were in the last 2 Ulster finals… Donegal had us beaten in 10 minutes in 2019 and took us for granted last year and got caught…."
When I say that they came through the tough side of the draw, I mean that they beat two division 1 teams in Monaghan and Donegal which is no mean feat. I understand the frustration from cavan supporters - wicklow supporters have been frustrated alot since mick o'dwyer left in 2012. Some have given up the ghost before yesterday. We have gone back to basics at underage with a good minor team a couple of years back who beat Dublin. We need to find some more young players if we want to stay in division 3 and push on. We hope that yesterday's result might encourage some players that refuse to play for the county to rejoin. It is not easy to make progress unless you are dublin or kerry.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1911 - 13/06/2021 12:03:04    2350142