Division 3 North 2021

Replying To macca999:  "Yet to see a score awarded for lifting a weight, sprinting 100metres in 10 seconds or eating seeds 365 days a year.

Thats problem with football these days, not enough FOOTball training."
Fair enough, that must explain all the medals Fermanagh have won over the years. If you are not fit you have no chance of realising your potential. But hey, if I'm wrong you can surely list me 10 players that regularly play for their county, kick lots of scores but don't bother with the auld gym and runs at all.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/05/2021 18:35:40    2343177

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "Should Cavan, Fermanagh and Derry all Finish on 4 points is it score difference that decides what teams go to the Semi Finals and which team goes to relegation semi final?"
Yes, if more than 2 teams finish on the same points it comes down to score difference.

Big win needed on Saturday. And hope for a Fermanagh win but I fancy Derry to beat them.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/05/2021 19:26:22    2343195

Replying To fredflint:  "Fair enough, that must explain all the medals Fermanagh have won over the years. If you are not fit you have no chance of realising your potential. But hey, if I'm wrong you can surely list me 10 players that regularly play for their county, kick lots of scores but don't bother with the auld gym and runs at all."
Colin Corkery, Bomber Liston, Vinnie Murphy, Geoffrey McGonagle, Francie Bellew, Ciaran McDonald they didnt live in gym so they never realised their potential then??, their medal cabinets and regard in GAA forklore would disagree!

There is a balance, the over paid coaches are creating athletes not footballers, hence zero creativity or attacking flair! Players afraid to express attacking skills as stats man will crucify them at HT. The well paid coaches just want more sessions as means more pay. Why do you think players retiring earlier from inter county?? Lack of enjoyment.

Fitness is required, no argument but not to the extreme levels that being enforced to the detriment of the skills which is evident in games?

Fredflint, Id pick Quigley ahead of Usain Bolt for our next game, the scoreboard doesnt record sprints!

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 19/05/2021 12:52:48    2343326

Replying To macca999:  "Colin Corkery, Bomber Liston, Vinnie Murphy, Geoffrey McGonagle, Francie Bellew, Ciaran McDonald they didnt live in gym so they never realised their potential then??, their medal cabinets and regard in GAA forklore would disagree!

There is a balance, the over paid coaches are creating athletes not footballers, hence zero creativity or attacking flair! Players afraid to express attacking skills as stats man will crucify them at HT. The well paid coaches just want more sessions as means more pay. Why do you think players retiring earlier from inter county?? Lack of enjoyment.

Fitness is required, no argument but not to the extreme levels that being enforced to the detriment of the skills which is evident in games?

Fredflint, Id pick Quigley ahead of Usain Bolt for our next game, the scoreboard doesnt record sprints!"
The first 3 from a long gone era where everyone was the same as them. McGonagle, not so sure how many medals he won, damn all I would say. A talented dual player but in the end let down by lack of mobility. Bellew and McDonald were built like tanks if you ever met them you'd know that. None of those players would finish a game in todays championship I am betting.

Your points about players not being given license to express themselves is fair and true but the bottom line is you need to be fit to play sport no matter how much talent you have. Fitness to the determent of skill work is not something I am calling for - you need both to succeed. So being a great skilled footballer but refusing to do the running is not a fit for any serious sports team.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/05/2021 15:23:58    2343392

Replying To fredflint:  "The first 3 from a long gone era where everyone was the same as them. McGonagle, not so sure how many medals he won, damn all I would say. A talented dual player but in the end let down by lack of mobility. Bellew and McDonald were built like tanks if you ever met them you'd know that. None of those players would finish a game in todays championship I am betting.

Your points about players not being given license to express themselves is fair and true but the bottom line is you need to be fit to play sport no matter how much talent you have. Fitness to the determent of skill work is not something I am calling for - you need both to succeed. So being a great skilled footballer but refusing to do the running is not a fit for any serious sports team."
A balance is needed but problem is too much emphasis on athletes and not footballers. It is good to see a player like that still about.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 19/05/2021 22:43:29    2343512

Replying To fredflint:  "The first 3 from a long gone era where everyone was the same as them. McGonagle, not so sure how many medals he won, damn all I would say. A talented dual player but in the end let down by lack of mobility. Bellew and McDonald were built like tanks if you ever met them you'd know that. None of those players would finish a game in todays championship I am betting.

Your points about players not being given license to express themselves is fair and true but the bottom line is you need to be fit to play sport no matter how much talent you have. Fitness to the determent of skill work is not something I am calling for - you need both to succeed. So being a great skilled footballer but refusing to do the running is not a fit for any serious sports team."
The gooch & peter canavan never lifted too many weights or came first in too many bleep tests.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1684 - 20/05/2021 04:48:53    2343531

Replying To tom84:  "A balance is needed but problem is too much emphasis on athletes and not footballers. It is good to see a player like that still about."
A poor performance last weekend, but c'mon - too much emphasis on athletes and not great footballers. The same group of lads just won an Ulster title, and have been putting in a huge effort of the field during a time when they couldn't be together to focus on the football. They put in a huge effort and did what they could do to improve overall rather than sitting around doing nothing or losing any gains they made last year. By no means defending the performance on Saturday night but c'mon, the best 35/40 footballers are in on the panel bar maybe one or two who have no interest or away travelling.

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 20/05/2021 11:34:01    2343572

Replying To patman92:  "A poor performance last weekend, but c'mon - too much emphasis on athletes and not great footballers. The same group of lads just won an Ulster title, and have been putting in a huge effort of the field during a time when they couldn't be together to focus on the football. They put in a huge effort and did what they could do to improve overall rather than sitting around doing nothing or losing any gains they made last year. By no means defending the performance on Saturday night but c'mon, the best 35/40 footballers are in on the panel bar maybe one or two who have no interest or away travelling."
I'm not running down any player on the panel it takes some commitment to play county football.and they are good footballers you don't win Ulster without good players.
I think football in general not just Cavan have lost that Colin corkery or Benny Coulter type players who can't run for miles but are natural footballers.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 20/05/2021 15:30:31    2343685

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "The gooch & peter canavan never lifted too many weights or came first in too many bleep tests."
2 of the most gifted men to ever kick a ball.

Who in Cavan do you suggest Mickey picks to perform the role for us that those 2 did for their respective counties?

I wonder how many of ye complaining about strength and conditioning are the same folk who complained a few years ago that our forwards were too small or that we didn't have the physicality to compete with Tyrone or Donegal.

David Clifford and Con O'Callaghan are probably the 2 most gifted footballers in the country. Look at the physique of both men. Then come into the real world. The game has moved on. Oh, and both are an absolute joy to watch.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 20/05/2021 21:56:02    2343779

Replying To cavanman47:  "2 of the most gifted men to ever kick a ball.

Who in Cavan do you suggest Mickey picks to perform the role for us that those 2 did for their respective counties?

I wonder how many of ye complaining about strength and conditioning are the same folk who complained a few years ago that our forwards were too small or that we didn't have the physicality to compete with Tyrone or Donegal.

David Clifford and Con O'Callaghan are probably the 2 most gifted footballers in the country. Look at the physique of both men. Then come into the real world. The game has moved on. Oh, and both are an absolute joy to watch."
Barry Reilly of kingscourt is a prime example of a natural footballer and was arguably player of the club championship.
The size of forward is not the the problem it's the right forward.
We have a young team couple of new additions in so time is needed to bed in.
The full forward line last year wàs a weak spot so we need to build on it. Not much time to get things right with this pandemic but we should see signs of what we want to do

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 20/05/2021 23:23:56    2343798

Replying To tom84:  "I'm not running down any player on the panel it takes some commitment to play county football.and they are good footballers you don't win Ulster without good players.
I think football in general not just Cavan have lost that Colin corkery or Benny Coulter type players who can't run for miles but are natural footballers."
Now Corkery was one type of player but Benny Coulter was not that type of lad. Big strong fit fella who was lethal at midfield or full forward. Best players that are interested in playing for Cavan are on the panel. I am sure there are some fine talents that are propping up a sibin bar somewhere and slobbering about how football has changed for the worst but we will just have to do without those great players.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 21/05/2021 08:51:48    2343808

Replying To tom84:  "Barry Reilly of kingscourt is a prime example of a natural footballer and was arguably player of the club championship.
The size of forward is not the the problem it's the right forward.
We have a young team couple of new additions in so time is needed to bed in.
The full forward line last year wàs a weak spot so we need to build on it. Not much time to get things right with this pandemic but we should see signs of what we want to do"
Barry has been on the panel twice and to the best of my knowledge has not made himself available this year or for the last 2 or 3. McVitty is another who we're missing and who's best position is in the inside forward line IMO.

We handed first starts to McGovern and Lynch last weekend and both did quite well I thought.

So on the current panel, our options in the full forward line are:
Madden
TED
C Smith
McGovern
P Lynch
Martin
T Galligan
Argue
C Reilly
Pierson

There's plenty of variety there and 4 of those are new additions from last year's Ulster campaign.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 21/05/2021 09:52:42    2343816

Replying To cavanman47:  "Barry has been on the panel twice and to the best of my knowledge has not made himself available this year or for the last 2 or 3. McVitty is another who we're missing and who's best position is in the inside forward line IMO.

We handed first starts to McGovern and Lynch last weekend and both did quite well I thought.

Madden
TED
C Smith
McGovern
P Lynch
Martin
T Galligan
Argue
C Reilly
Pierson

There's plenty of variety there and 4 of those are new additions from last year's Ulster campaign."
I can only see 3 additions Patrick Lynch, Caomhin McGovern and Michael Argue who's the 4th?

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 21/05/2021 14:11:36    2343914

Replying To cavanman47:  "Barry has been on the panel twice and to the best of my knowledge has not made himself available this year or for the last 2 or 3. McVitty is another who we're missing and who's best position is in the inside forward line IMO.

Madden
TED
C Smith
McGovern
P Lynch
Martin
T Galligan
Argue
C Reilly
Pierson

There's plenty of variety there and 4 of those are new additions from last year's Ulster campaign."
Argue is better around the middle then inside.
Would like to see how lynch and caoimin Reilly inside could be useful.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 21/05/2021 16:25:22    2343961

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "I can only see 3 additions Patrick Lynch, Caomhin McGovern and Michael Argue who's the 4th?"
Caoimhin Reilly (or is he involved?). Pretty sure he's there this year.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 21/05/2021 16:57:43    2343971

Good win tonight. We didn't hit top gear but the class of the likes of Gearoid and Holla really stood out. Martin covered every blade of grass as usual and we are starting to look a bit sharper all round.

Longford are poor and won't get anything out of Fermanagh next week so we need to beat Derry. A big ask looking at their last 2 results.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 22/05/2021 21:19:14    2344310

good win allright. but tempered by the injuries to James Smith and Ciaran Brady. Some good performances from Martin Reilly, Gearoid, Conor Smith, Faulkner, Patrick Lynch did OK too as did Oisin Kiernan and James Smith until injured. I also thought that Cian Reilly did well.
as did some others . We are still not sure who our full forward line should be .

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/05/2021 21:45:29    2344320

Good win, despite not clicking just that well at times. All points to Derry next week. Hope we can raise up for it, as a win needed to keep aiming at promotion. Lot of lads have got time last two games, which is good to see. Hope the injury to Holla isn't too bad, he looked quite in distress along the sideline

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 22/05/2021 22:35:57    2344336

Overall, a poor performance again today but got the needed win. A lot of wayward shooting and a bit standoffish in defence. Longford were awful bar one or two excellent players. Impressed with Rian Brady. For Cavan, the three Killygarry men were impressive today I thought - Martin Reilly steady as always, Cian Reilly a bright light, and Conor Smith was lively who brought in. James Smith fielded some great ball before he was forced off. Hopefully the injury is not too serious. It will be interesting to see who wins the battle for the inside forward line positions. A lot of different players used over the two games.

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 22/05/2021 22:42:58    2344337

Good wi tonight to stay in contention but Longford were pretty poor... the quality of play for most of the game was poor but then again that's what it is in Division 3..... Our second half display was much better when we moved the ball forward at pace but our full forward line was woeful ... I think we will be up against it with Derry and our only hope might be if Longford could beat Fermanagh and to finish 2nd on score difference if that's what is used....?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1933 - 22/05/2021 23:06:58    2344345