Division 3 North 2021

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "When I say that they came through the tough side of the draw, I mean that they beat two division 1 teams in Monaghan and Donegal which is no mean feat. I understand the frustration from cavan supporters - wicklow supporters have been frustrated alot since mick o'dwyer left in 2012. Some have given up the ghost before yesterday. We have gone back to basics at underage with a good minor team a couple of years back who beat Dublin. We need to find some more young players if we want to stay in division 3 and push on. We hope that yesterday's result might encourage some players that refuse to play for the county to rejoin. It is not easy to make progress unless you are dublin or kerry."
Respect has to be earned lad, wicklow have spent decades between div 3 and div 4. They lost 3/3 in opening games. Cavan have been in div1 for 2 seasons in recent times and are ulster champions. We should be beating Wicklow any day of the week and that's not to insult wicklow, its just a fact. We were 1/10 with bookies yesterday. But favourites need to turn up, respect their opponents and play the game with intensity. We didn't and a hungrier Wicklow won and deservedly so.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 13/06/2021 14:16:36    2350191

Lots of hysteria here. I'd say we'll get over it. Not the first time we underestimated an opponent and paid the price. Fair play to Wicklow for reminding us to pay respect to the team in front of you and good luck to them.

It's a different year where the margins are very tight between promotion and resignation. A bit of humility might not do us any harm in the long term. I'll reserve judgement until after the Tyrone game.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 13/06/2021 14:46:26    2350203

Replying To ondforty:  "Lots of hysteria here. I'd say we'll get over it. Not the first time we underestimated an opponent and paid the price. Fair play to Wicklow for reminding us to pay respect to the team in front of you and good luck to them.

It's a different year where the margins are very tight between promotion and resignation. A bit of humility might not do us any harm in the long term. I'll reserve judgement until after the Tyrone game."
This is not some "we lost a game we should have won".

This is three successive relegations. This is division 4 football for the first time ever. This is being locked out of competing for Sam Maguire for 2 years at least. This is seeing our county dragged to a new uprecedented low.

Sorry, but this is not something that can simply be dismissed as "ah sure it might do us good".

This is a travesty for a proud county and someone needs to take the blame. Fast.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 13/06/2021 15:00:01    2350207

Its Tipperary who will be joining Cavan in D4 next season. Promotion will be very tight with Cavan/Tipperary/Sligo and possibly Leitrim in the hunt.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 13/06/2021 17:31:56    2350300

Replying To ondforty:  "Lots of hysteria here. I'd say we'll get over it. Not the first time we underestimated an opponent and paid the price. Fair play to Wicklow for reminding us to pay respect to the team in front of you and good luck to them.

It's a different year where the margins are very tight between promotion and resignation. A bit of humility might not do us any harm in the long term. I'll reserve judgement until after the Tyrone game."
Lads we are where we are and the future starts from where we are so despite the soreness lets get on with it. AM still behind the blues - l know no other way and l am too old to change.
Declankillann

declankillann (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 13/06/2021 17:39:26    2350307

Replying To Wicklowman:  "Lovely comments on here. Even a bad Cavan team shouldn't be losing to Wicklow.... The likes of Wicklow...

Well anyone who actually saw the match would know Wicklow were in fact the better team. So the better team won. We have beaten you before by the way, 2009 under Micko. 2010 we somehow contrived to losing to a 13 man Cavan in Breffni Park after being 7 points up!!

We have some lovely footballers coming through if you care to be respectful enough to remember their names. Man of the Match yesterday was Kevin Quinn, nephew of all All Star, Club All Ireland winner and legend, Kevin O'Brien. On the way we have Matthew Ging and current corner forward, Eoin Darcy who got us the penalty yesterday. These lads are terrific footballers. I for one am glad for their progression that they will play Division 3 football again next year."
Yes Wicklowman It was the stand in management that were at fault there Micko was standing back at the dug out and the selectors decided to put three men on S Johnson and allowed Cavan half back line and midfield to dominate the play. The extra men should have been placed in midfield and know way was Cavan going to pull back 7 points like they did due to bad on the line leaders. Flannigan Cahill Clarke had a field day.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 13/06/2021 19:35:28    2350407

I still get a shiver down my spine when I think back to that summers evening in Breffni park. Down to 13 men and 7 points down at half time. Johnston was absolutely electric that night. He scored a point from near enough the end line, one of the finest I have seen kicked.

In fairness he ran the show 8 years later in the Qualifiers also, albeit in a different role. The best of luck against Tyrone, I feel yesterday might be a huge shot in the arm for key players to stand up and be counted the next day out.

You will come straight back up from the basement maybe with a better knowledge of who is worth their salt in the panel.

JohnnyBlaze (Wicklow) - Posts: 52 - 13/06/2021 20:37:21    2350467

Replying To fredflint:  "Respect has to be earned lad, wicklow have spent decades between div 3 and div 4. They lost 3/3 in opening games. Cavan have been in div1 for 2 seasons in recent times and are ulster champions. We should be beating Wicklow any day of the week and that's not to insult wicklow, its just a fact. We were 1/10 with bookies yesterday. But favourites need to turn up, respect their opponents and play the game with intensity. We didn't and a hungrier Wicklow won and deservedly so."
Take a reality check any team operating out of division 4 has no right to think they should be beating Wicklow or anyone else any day of the week. You might find it a lot harder than you think to climb out of the basement division.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 13/06/2021 22:11:56    2350532

Replying To dubarra:  "Take a reality check any team operating out of division 4 has no right to think they should be beating Wicklow or anyone else any day of the week. You might find it a lot harder than you think to climb out of the basement division."
We wouldn't know, never been there before but as wicklow has spent half their history down there I'll take your word for it. I'm sorry but if this cavan team played to anywhere near their best they should be beating Wicklow. Our performance was a disgrace on Saturday and Wicklow gave everything they had and deserved the win. Now we must pay the price for what we've allowed happen.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 13/06/2021 22:57:32    2350560

Replying To dubarra:  "Take a reality check any team operating out of division 4 has no right to think they should be beating Wicklow or anyone else any day of the week. You might find it a lot harder than you think to climb out of the basement division."
Most would fancy there chances tbf.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 13/06/2021 23:15:09    2350569

Came over for a look after chatting to a few Cavan folk yesterday. I find the hysteria very amusing. The house isn't burning down from where I'm standing. If Cavan apply themselves as they can they should saunter out of Division 4 next year. I'd imagine plenty of challenges against Ulster opposition over the winter will have ye in great nick. Waterford, Carlow, Sligo, Wexford, London and us (unfortunately) won't cause ye much stress whatever about Tipp. It will bring on many of your younger panellists, providing ye don't get dragged down to the level of football and beaten with experience.

A more imminent danger I can see is the blue mob turning on Mickey Graham if a vengeful Tyrone decide to make a point after their hammering yesterday. Cavan would find their league campaign that bit tougher by putting that promotion pressure on a new management team. I'd hope Cavan stick with him regardless of how the Tyrone game goes. (Which won't be a blowout I feel, irregardless of result)

I've heard people saying this was a possibility after two successive relegations, no small measure of luck in winning Ulster last year (which I don't agree with as we had similar luck when getting promoted in 2019, you need it from time to time) and losing a player of Holla Brady's stature last week but using this tumble into Division 4 as a rope to drag all the ills (or perceived ills) of Cavan GAA to the surface is nonsense.

If this was a 7 game campaign I've no doubt Cavan would've picked up enough points to stay up in the remaining four games, and whike there'd be disappointment at not kicking on and bouncing straight back up this panic stations mentality certainly wouldn't be as prevalent as it is now.

As it is, ye were well beaten by a Derry team training like hell this last 12 months and he's and shoulders ahead of every other team in the division, beat Longford with ease and got caught on the hop by Fermanagh who can do that to any team when they're organised as they seem to be under Ricey.

Not exactly shameful reading, despite what some Cavan fans might think. Maybe the body politic of Cavan supporters feel like ye are better than the results ye've gotten to date shows and that the Ulster win last year conferred some divine superiority on ye but as others have said, when it came to it yesterday Wicklow were the better team.

For a team that's had Cavan's success and played high up the divisions in recent years I'd be far more annoyed about being in the Tailteann Cup next year (unless ye win Ulster from ye're current position which in fairness even the most ardent blue would concede is highly improbable), but Division 4 aside I would have had Cavan as a top 16 team most years.

It was brilliant to see Cavan winning Ulster last year and playing their part in lighting up winter weekends and recreating a bit of history 100 year on but one provincial championship doesn't a summer make is the lesson in all of this. That said, I think there's massive overreaction going on here.

I know for a fact I'll be looking forward to a fixture that hasn't been played enough in my lifetime either in Breffni or Carrick next spring.

I hope Cavan put in a good performance v Tyrone and hopefully beyond and that ye've a good club season.

We'll see ye next Spring.

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 13/06/2021 23:49:31    2350588

Just a minute, we have Wicklow guys coming on here telling us about the mighty footballers they have yet in the three league games they played they were trounced by a combined total of minus 17 p0ints. Hardly the stuff of world beaters. Lads just enjoy your win you deserved it on the day. What is seldom is wonderful and should be treasured.
Declankillann.

declankillann (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 14/06/2021 01:58:25    2350605

Now that it has sunk in that we are in the bottom tier of senior football, the ramifications of this demise cannot be under stated. A fair few of this team will not play at the top level (Div 1) again because even in the unlikely event of 3 successive promotions, it will be too late for G Mac, M Reilly, R Galligan, C Conroy, N Murray to name but a few - probably more. Also a lot of this team will not even play the top teams outside of Ulster (Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Galway, Kildare etc.) because we will also be in the secondary championship competition. I have seen a lot of comment that Micky is a championship manager but the league is the bread and butter and provides the foundation for championship and playing Div 4 is not going to help with that. We took our eye of the ball last year (in the league) and this year and we have paid the price. T Hyland brought us from the doldrums of Div 3 to Div 1 and laid the foundations of a decent team and built the squad using the Junior championship to keep younger players and squad players involved with the setup. He also did the hard work underage with the U21's. All that work has been undone and while winning the Ulster championship was brilliant, we should have been building on that win, not going backwards. It might have been a mistake to introduce a good few new players (granted we had injuries) but these players didn't have the mckenna cup or early rounds of the league to get experience ... I would agree with another poster that our underage teams are under performing - compare to monaghan who are winning regularly at underage level with a lower population so it points to the management structure within the county board. I now fear a sting in the tail from a sore Tyrone team after their beating on Saturday - I hope I am wrong and will continue to support as it's needed now more than ever! I hope all those cars that passed the lorry and praised the team last year after the Ulster win remember the way back to Breffni next spring ...

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 14/06/2021 11:18:42    2350689

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I do think that Cavan caught Donegal in the Ulster final and may not be as strong as some pundits think. Having said that, I don't think Cavan are a division 4 team by any means. They came through a tough side of the draw to get to the Ulster final which was no mean feat, so there is talent there. It is the mental side they seem to have problems which their manager needs to address. Best of luck in your Ulster defence. I hope it will be a successful defence."
You did to us what we did to Donegal.
Complacency is a dangerous thing and by all accounts you deserved you're win.
Hard to believe both Munster and Ulster champions will be playing division 4 football next year.
Hopefully for us ,lightning can strike twice and we can do well in the championship but I some how doubt it.
Was good while it lasted all the same.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 14/06/2021 11:28:50    2350694

Replying To Dodgy_Pass:  "Came over for a look after chatting to a few Cavan folk yesterday. I find the hysteria very amusing. The house isn't burning down from where I'm standing. If Cavan apply themselves as they can they should saunter out of Division 4 next year. I'd imagine plenty of challenges against Ulster opposition over the winter will have ye in great nick. Waterford, Carlow, Sligo, Wexford, London and us (unfortunately) won't cause ye much stress whatever about Tipp. It will bring on many of your younger panellists, providing ye don't get dragged down to the level of football and beaten with experience.

A more imminent danger I can see is the blue mob turning on Mickey Graham if a vengeful Tyrone decide to make a point after their hammering yesterday. Cavan would find their league campaign that bit tougher by putting that promotion pressure on a new management team. I'd hope Cavan stick with him regardless of how the Tyrone game goes. (Which won't be a blowout I feel, irregardless of result)

I've heard people saying this was a possibility after two successive relegations, no small measure of luck in winning Ulster last year (which I don't agree with as we had similar luck when getting promoted in 2019, you need it from time to time) and losing a player of Holla Brady's stature last week but using this tumble into Division 4 as a rope to drag all the ills (or perceived ills) of Cavan GAA to the surface is nonsense.

If this was a 7 game campaign I've no doubt Cavan would've picked up enough points to stay up in the remaining four games, and whike there'd be disappointment at not kicking on and bouncing straight back up this panic stations mentality certainly wouldn't be as prevalent as it is now.

As it is, ye were well beaten by a Derry team training like hell this last 12 months and he's and shoulders ahead of every other team in the division, beat Longford with ease and got caught on the hop by Fermanagh who can do that to any team when they're organised as they seem to be under Ricey.

Not exactly shameful reading, despite what some Cavan fans might think. Maybe the body politic of Cavan supporters feel like ye are better than the results ye've gotten to date shows and that the Ulster win last year conferred some divine superiority on ye but as others have said, when it came to it yesterday Wicklow were the better team.

For a team that's had Cavan's success and played high up the divisions in recent years I'd be far more annoyed about being in the Tailteann Cup next year (unless ye win Ulster from ye're current position which in fairness even the most ardent blue would concede is highly improbable), but Division 4 aside I would have had Cavan as a top 16 team most years.

It was brilliant to see Cavan winning Ulster last year and playing their part in lighting up winter weekends and recreating a bit of history 100 year on but one provincial championship doesn't a summer make is the lesson in all of this. That said, I think there's massive overreaction going on here.

I know for a fact I'll be looking forward to a fixture that hasn't been played enough in my lifetime either in Breffni or Carrick next spring.

I hope Cavan put in a good performance v Tyrone and hopefully beyond and that ye've a good club season.

We'll see ye next Spring."
An excellent post.

And a damning indictment of some posters on here that it's taken an outsider to offer some reasonable balance.

Yes, losing to Tyrone and making the unthinkable error of sacking Mickey is a genuine fear. Some people need to be very very careful what they wish for.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 14/06/2021 12:38:13    2350727

Two Ulster titles since 1969 probably tells you where Cavan football is at. History means nothing, we should be building on last year's success. The league is vitally important and we need to be competing at the top level.
Kerry scored 6-15 against Tyrone.
Even if we do manage to beat Tyrone, which is u likely ( please prove me wrong) we're still a thousand miles of the the mark.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 14/06/2021 14:14:55    2350798

Replying To declankillann:  "Just a minute, we have Wicklow guys coming on here telling us about the mighty footballers they have yet in the three league games they played they were trounced by a combined total of minus 17 p0ints. Hardly the stuff of world beaters. Lads just enjoy your win you deserved it on the day. What is seldom is wonderful and should be treasured.
Declankillann."
Where did I say Wicklow were world beaters, I'm well aware of our standing in general and your right what's seldom is wonderful, bur reading some of the comments and excuses on here you would swear Cavan were the world beaters and the likes of Wicklow have no right to be winning games like Saturday.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 14/06/2021 16:52:01    2350862

Replying To Virginia:  "Two Ulster titles since 1969 probably tells you where Cavan football is at. History means nothing, we should be building on last year's success. The league is vitally important and we need to be competing at the top level.
Kerry scored 6-15 against Tyrone.
Even if we do manage to beat Tyrone, which is u likely ( please prove me wrong) we're still a thousand miles of the the mark."
Two Ulster titles since 1969,one courtesy of Pat McEnaney and the other courtesy of his brother Seamus.......why wouldnt Wicklow be on a par with Cavan.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 14/06/2021 18:33:56    2350898

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Two Ulster titles since 1969,one courtesy of Pat McEnaney and the other courtesy of his brother Seamus.......why wouldnt Wicklow be on a par with Cavan."
This must be like xmas for you and your namesake, absolutely delighted to come in and crow at Cavans woes as it vindicates any of the guff you spout

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 15/06/2021 10:58:09    2351079

Replying To HuddHastings:  "This must be like xmas for you and your namesake, absolutely delighted to come in and crow at Cavans woes as it vindicates any of the guff you spout"
VINDICATED

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2021 21:25:20    2351271