Dream Team Of Pundits

Who would be on your dream team of TV pundits for the new season?

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 26/04/2021 22:20:51    2338868

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Who would be on your dream team of TV pundits for the new season?"
Oisin McConville, Peter Canavan and Joe Brolly. Anyone but the RTE panel. Sean Cavanagh, Pat Spillane, Tomas o Se are particularly poor especially on the highlights programme.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 27/04/2021 09:52:55    2338885

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Who would be on your dream team of TV pundits for the new season?"
or vice versa topic...who would not be on it. Dessie Dolan, Colm says the same stuff all the time O Rourke, Pat trying to be funy but failing Spillane, Tomás O Sé etc etc

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 27/04/2021 09:58:17    2338889

For me I'd like to see Tony Davis, Anthony Tohill, Dara ó Cinnéide.

Mcstay can be moody and a bit dour but he knows his stuff.

Time to get rid of fellas like plámás O'sé and no allirelands Ciarán wheelan and Dessie Dolan, also its time to retire Des Cahill and And Ger Canning.

Is there any new lads coming through?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/04/2021 10:22:57    2338894

Great topic JohnO.

Kieran Donaghy, Aaron Kernan, Tom Parsons.

Micheál Donoghue, Tommy Walsh, Shane McGrath.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 27/04/2021 10:43:12    2338896

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "For me I'd like to see Tony Davis, Anthony Tohill, Dara ó Cinnéide.

Mcstay can be moody and a bit dour but he knows his stuff.

Time to get rid of fellas like plámás O'sé and no allirelands Ciarán wheelan and Dessie Dolan, also its time to retire Des Cahill and And Ger Canning.

Is there any new lads coming through?"
Think we need more pro Dublin analysts on it!!!

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 27/04/2021 10:47:25    2338897

Get rid of Dessie Dolan, he's too fond of Dublin in my opinion and it shows in his punditry. Anyone who finally mentions Dublin's negative style of play would have my vote to be a dream pundit. But they are afraid to say it on rte.

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 27/04/2021 10:48:38    2338899

Replying To leitrimguy1985:  "Get rid of Dessie Dolan, he's too fond of Dublin in my opinion and it shows in his punditry. Anyone who finally mentions Dublin's negative style of play would have my vote to be a dream pundit. But they are afraid to say it on rte."
I agree with you. Dessie Dolan calling Dublin players by first names is stomach churning- like he is friends with them. Now maybe he is, assume he is when he does that and that is his perogative. But he certainly should not be on when they are playing in that case as there can be no objectivity if this is the case and RTE should step in but we all know that won't happen.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 27/04/2021 11:00:39    2338902

Replying To leitrimguy1985:  "Get rid of Dessie Dolan, he's too fond of Dublin in my opinion and it shows in his punditry. Anyone who finally mentions Dublin's negative style of play would have my vote to be a dream pundit. But they are afraid to say it on rte."
do ye have tvs in leitrim ?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 27/04/2021 11:03:09    2338903

McGuinness, Canavan and Star did a decent job together last year. They were lightyears ahead of RTE for insight, tactics and a bit of enthusiasm which seems to be in short supply on RTE. Some good chemistry between them too. Thats the trio I'd like to see as the future of GAA coverage if possible.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/04/2021 11:07:22    2338904

They're not doing too bad for a team with a 'negative style of play'. It's about winning games not entertaining the TV audience

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 27/04/2021 11:10:56    2338906

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "do ye have tvs in leitrim ?"
No need for that now- what age are you?? Grow up

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 27/04/2021 11:13:38    2338907

Replying To thegadfly:  "Oisin McConville, Peter Canavan and Joe Brolly. Anyone but the RTE panel. Sean Cavanagh, Pat Spillane, Tomas o Se are particularly poor especially on the highlights programme."
And I'd also have Willy Hegarty, the commentator for Shannonside And Northern Sound. He's priceless.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 27/04/2021 11:14:27    2338908

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They're not doing too bad for a team with a 'negative style of play'. It's about winning games not entertaining the TV audience"
Agree with you here 100%. definitely not about entertaining people- all about winning.

Nonetheless, I think the point he was making was that Dublin certainly do engage in negative football and the dark arts. There is no question about that.

However you would think that listening to RTE it is always and ever only football played in the correct way with no negativity at all whereas if other teams do it they are instantly criticised. Same analysis should be applied to all counties irrespective of who they are or what they have won. That is what objectivity is but as we know that is in very short supply in this country. Everyone seems to have an agenda.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 27/04/2021 11:17:54    2338910

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "do ye have tvs in leitrim ?"
what is a tvs? That's a tv channel I haven't heard of?

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 27/04/2021 11:18:52    2338911

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They're not doing too bad for a team with a 'negative style of play'. It's about winning games not entertaining the TV audience"
Well that's it, it worked for Tyrone in the mid 00's yet rte pundits were quick to hop on their style of play constantly, you never hear a similar peep out of the same pundits actually that are still there about Dublin and their backpassing.

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 27/04/2021 11:19:58    2338912

Replying To leitrimguy1985:  "Well that's it, it worked for Tyrone in the mid 00's yet rte pundits were quick to hop on their style of play constantly, you never hear a similar peep out of the same pundits actually that are still there about Dublin and their backpassing."
Tyrone had a great team, some class footballers and played some great football too. They dabbled in the dark arts like a lot of team but the winning teams do it when at the most effective times. Pat Spillane was getting in ahead of the clickbaiting generation with the puke football tag. It's the ultimate compliment to a team who's won that opposition pundits starting picking holes in their style of play. A bad news story always sells more papers than a good news story.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 27/04/2021 11:48:46    2338919

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Tyrone had a great team, some class footballers and played some great football too. They dabbled in the dark arts like a lot of team but the winning teams do it when at the most effective times. Pat Spillane was getting in ahead of the clickbaiting generation with the puke football tag. It's the ultimate compliment to a team who's won that opposition pundits starting picking holes in their style of play. A bad news story always sells more papers than a good news story."
My point is they are afraid to say it about Dublin, remember Jim Gavin barred rte from a press thing after a game. They plamas that Dublin team completely in a biased way that is no good for balanced punditry as they dont want to lose access to their cash cow, they are completely compromised in this. And I mentioned that here and got smart alec responses for highlighting it. Can nobody else see the amount of time the ball goes backwards when Dublin play. Yet rte pundits would say this is clever play as opposed to negative. I don't understand it at all. The only reason I can see is some of the ones that are there years are afraid to open their mouths least they go the way of Mr Brolly out the doras.

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 27/04/2021 11:55:15    2338921

Replying To leitrimguy1985:  "My point is they are afraid to say it about Dublin, remember Jim Gavin barred rte from a press thing after a game. They plamas that Dublin team completely in a biased way that is no good for balanced punditry as they dont want to lose access to their cash cow, they are completely compromised in this. And I mentioned that here and got smart alec responses for highlighting it. Can nobody else see the amount of time the ball goes backwards when Dublin play. Yet rte pundits would say this is clever play as opposed to negative. I don't understand it at all. The only reason I can see is some of the ones that are there years are afraid to open their mouths least they go the way of Mr Brolly out the doras."
Do you not see how often it goes forward?

Hence the huge scores they rack up

Dublin play a system that renders the blanket useless and have perfected it now because they play against such so often.. practically every game

So well why run into swarm tackles? it's exactly what the blanket wants, to get you to over commit, be impatient and then be countered at pace.

If the opposition team didn't have 14 behind the ball Dublin wouldn't play the way they do, but everyone is to cautious amd conservative to play any other way because they'll get torn up...

By all means setup man v man.. but it's not going to happen, so Dublin will continue to play what's in front of them and continue to counter such with a tried, tested, perfected system.

Dublin can play anyway you want but it's the opposition that dictates that.

I'm sure you'd love to watch Dublin run into traps but best of luck with that. It's not going to happen. when Dublin have such a massive advantage in being tactically superior... it's beyond stupid to suggest otherwise.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/04/2021 12:56:33    2338927

Replying To jimbodub:  "Do you not see how often it goes forward?

Hence the huge scores they rack up

Dublin play a system that renders the blanket useless and have perfected it now because they play against such so often.. practically every game

So well why run into swarm tackles? it's exactly what the blanket wants, to get you to over commit, be impatient and then be countered at pace.

If the opposition team didn't have 14 behind the ball Dublin wouldn't play the way they do, but everyone is to cautious amd conservative to play any other way because they'll get torn up...

By all means setup man v man.. but it's not going to happen, so Dublin will continue to play what's in front of them and continue to counter such with a tried, tested, perfected system.

Dublin can play anyway you want but it's the opposition that dictates that.

I'm sure you'd love to watch Dublin run into traps but best of luck with that. It's not going to happen. when Dublin have such a massive advantage in being tactically superior... it's beyond stupid to suggest otherwise."
They aren't tactically superior, they are tactically negative. Passing the ball amongst your own team mates on your own 45 yard line isn't positive football no matter how you spin it.

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 27/04/2021 13:07:25    2338928