The Hyping Of Kerry Starts - Mcstay Has His Say

I'm not at all annoyed that McStay has chosen to hype up Kerry. I'm all for it

Why do you think I started the thread but to further highlight it :)

Strange how you would think any differently

Keep it up Kev.. blow some dust off a few previous efforts while you're at it ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 15/04/2021 21:11:49    2337347

I think Kerry and Tyrone could have the beating of Dublin this year, but that game won't come till the final the way the draw is, can't see Dublin having a serious test in Leinster and whoever wins Connacht, likely Mayo imo will not bother them too much either,
It's going to be great regardless to have some Gaelic football back again, maybe some spectators allowed back in Croker for the semi's and the final if vaccines roll out ok.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 15/04/2021 21:16:39    2337349

Replying To realdub:  "Only if Kerry underperform, again :D"
So are you saying it's up to Kerry to save football? I get ya ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/04/2021 22:44:18    2337365

Replying To catch22:  "Mmmm! Not your normal type of post under this username."
Anything else to add? If your suggesting Ive posted under the wrong username then your wrong. I don't have the time or patience to be debating here with multiple accounts.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 16/04/2021 09:48:38    2337376

Replying To sligo joe:  "Where do you see this "fierce annoyance". Everyone entitled to their opinion, others entitled to disagree, McStay's suggestion that Dublin may have regressed and that Kerry are the coming team would not be evidence based in my opinion but I'm not fierce annoyed."
Check out Subkin fans pages and you'll see what I mean. Any slight deviation or questioning of Dublin and it's open war fare.

I don't think Dublin have regressed but they may have levelled off. It's now up to everyone else to try and beat them.

Kerry are capable. Donegal have much promise but need to do something this year. Tyrone under new management will be interesting and can match anyone. Mayo are rebuilding and then you have Galway who have the talent but need to make a mark. Dublin obviously still the strong favs but I wouldn't be shocked if they are beaten. We live in strange times.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 16/04/2021 09:53:52    2337378

Replying To yew_tree:  "Anything else to add? If your suggesting Ive posted under the wrong username then your wrong. I don't have the time or patience to be debating here with multiple accounts."
Oh I'd say you're far too busy alright. Like everyone else over the last year.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/04/2021 12:22:49    2337388

I don't see where McStay's logic is coming from. Don't get me wrong, Kerry will always be a contender especially now as there are so few top class teams who can perform to a certain level on a consistent basis (outside Dublin I mean). I think Dublin have levelled off in terms of their performances and I don't believe that they have players with the talent of Connolly, Brogan, McCaffrey etc. Kerry couldn't beat Dublin in 2019 playing for 35 minutes with an extra man, the same Kerry team that lost to an average Cork side in 2020 so I don't see where there is evidence that Kerry are the team like to beat Dublin and put them above Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal and maybe Galway. Talent is one thing but there is much more and it is the 'much more' that Kerry need to prove themselves to be adapt at especially if they are going to beat Dublin and win an All Ireland.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1908 - 16/04/2021 14:07:20    2337393

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So are you saying it's up to Kerry to save football? I get ya ;-)"
No, we already did that by showing the blanket the door, but Kerry should be in with a big shout this year, we can't win forever :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 16/04/2021 14:09:54    2337394

Replying To realdub:  "No, we already did that by showing the blanket the door, but Kerry should be in with a big shout this year, we can't win forever :D"
I don't know about us winning this year realdub, sure dublin have probably a couple of months of a head start training wise on Kerry Tyrone Donegal Mayo and Galway, it's going to be very hard for 1 of our teams to beat ye at the best of times not to mind ye having another advantage on us all what with ye cheating and breaking the training ban.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/04/2021 15:19:03    2337408

Replying To yew_tree:  "Check out Subkin fans pages and you'll see what I mean. Any slight deviation or questioning of Dublin and it's open war fare.

I don't think Dublin have regressed but they may have levelled off. It's now up to everyone else to try and beat them.

Kerry are capable. Donegal have much promise but need to do something this year. Tyrone under new management will be interesting and can match anyone. Mayo are rebuilding and then you have Galway who have the talent but need to make a mark. Dublin obviously still the strong favs but I wouldn't be shocked if they are beaten. We live in strange times."
Fair enough, I'm just going by HS posts. I am however very much waiting to be convinced by this Kerry team. A few diamonds on the Kerry team for sure but I also believe they have a few "passengers" starting, players who would not make the first 15 in a number of counties. Also they seem to me to be struggling with the loss of their pre-ordained winners mantle, the Kerry psyche is most comfortable when they are out front, chasing pack behind, to me they maybe need to acknowledge the gap between themselves and the Dubs before they can close it.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 673 - 16/04/2021 15:39:59    2337411

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't know about us winning this year realdub, sure dublin have probably a couple of months of a head start training wise on Kerry Tyrone Donegal Mayo and Galway, it's going to be very hard for 1 of our teams to beat ye at the best of times not to mind ye having another advantage on us all what with ye cheating and breaking the training ban."
Yeh the Kerry lads haven't kicked a ball since the Cork game fair play to them.
I'd have no problem if they banned us for this year's championship, I have limited interest, a passing distraction if you will.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 16/04/2021 15:49:22    2337412

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't know about us winning this year realdub, sure dublin have probably a couple of months of a head start training wise on Kerry Tyrone Donegal Mayo and Galway, it's going to be very hard for 1 of our teams to beat ye at the best of times not to mind ye having another advantage on us all what with ye cheating and breaking the training ban."
B O'S now that's cheating..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 16/04/2021 15:52:11    2337413

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I don't see where McStay's logic is coming from. Don't get me wrong, Kerry will always be a contender especially now as there are so few top class teams who can perform to a certain level on a consistent basis (outside Dublin I mean). I think Dublin have levelled off in terms of their performances and I don't believe that they have players with the talent of Connolly, Brogan, McCaffrey etc. Kerry couldn't beat Dublin in 2019 playing for 35 minutes with an extra man, the same Kerry team that lost to an average Cork side in 2020 so I don't see where there is evidence that Kerry are the team like to beat Dublin and put them above Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal and maybe Galway. Talent is one thing but there is much more and it is the 'much more' that Kerry need to prove themselves to be adapt at especially if they are going to beat Dublin and win an All Ireland."
I actually agree with having the talent and not using it. Maybe they aren't as good so as we all think they are? Clifford aside who is a monster player. I think the whole country is waiting for them to explode onto the scene....maybe it won't happen?

Kerry are regarded as the traditional superpower of Gaelic Football but maybe Dublin will overtake there Sam Maguire haul in the coming years...how many are they behind them ?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 16/04/2021 20:21:56    2337450

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I was just looking at match programmes and it's frightening the talent that Dublin don't have now that they had a couple of years ago. Darren Daly and Jack McCaffery in the backs along with Cian ó Sullivan and Eric Lowndes who did nt play last year. What about a midfield with Denis Bastick and MD McAuley. What about a forward line of 10.Paul Flynn. 11.Alan Brogan. 12.Dermo Connolly. 13.Paul Mannion 14.Eoghan Ó Gara. 15.Bernard Brogan with Paddy Andrews as a sub. All great servants to Dublin and Big losses."
Mick I would have Paddy Andrews any day of the week over O Gara,I think over the last 10yrs he was the most underrated player in the country even by some Dublin posters on here, and that's not taking anything away from Eoin O Gara he was a handful for any full back line.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 17/04/2021 07:22:52    2337471

Replying To dubarra:  "Mick I would have Paddy Andrews any day of the week over O Gara,I think over the last 10yrs he was the most underrated player in the country even by some Dublin posters on here, and that's not taking anything away from Eoin O Gara he was a handful for any full back line."
Yeah Andrews was a very good player no doubt Dubarra.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3665 - 17/04/2021 12:21:06    2337491

I think most people recognise that Dublin are now at a point where the expectations and hope that were there over the last 10 years have all been accomplished and several top drawer players have retired. There will come a point when that will take its toll and last year was certainly an opportunity lost I think for our main rivals to take advantage. Granted it was an unusual year and this year will be similar but Mayo are also in that period where they have lost some big day players and probably weren't the most likely to topple Dublin.
I don't think McStay was saying anything that a lot of followers weren't thinking and Kerry were definitely in the conversation when punters were looking at AI favourites last year. Not much has changed and they are still one of a small group that would be expected to bring the main challenge this year.The wheels came off for whatever reason in 2020 but personally I see them very likely to be there or thereabouts come August.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/04/2021 16:25:35    2337525

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I think most people recognise that Dublin are now at a point where the expectations and hope that were there over the last 10 years have all been accomplished and several top drawer players have retired. There will come a point when that will take its toll and last year was certainly an opportunity lost I think for our main rivals to take advantage. Granted it was an unusual year and this year will be similar but Mayo are also in that period where they have lost some big day players and probably weren't the most likely to topple Dublin.
I don't think McStay was saying anything that a lot of followers weren't thinking and Kerry were definitely in the conversation when punters were looking at AI favourites last year. Not much has changed and they are still one of a small group that would be expected to bring the main challenge this year.The wheels came off for whatever reason in 2020 but personally I see them very likely to be there or thereabouts come August."
I agree with more or less the jist of your post i.e Kerry are one of the main challengers. However this is not what Kevin said, he stated that it is his firm belief that Kerry "will" take Dublin's title this year, no ifs no maybes, he says Kerry will win Sam. He backs his firm belief by saying Dublin have regressed (evidence?) and Kerry are the "coming team"??? Of course Dublin's championship will at some stage come to an end, when and who will beat them and who will win the title, I don't have Kevin's firm belief in Kerry

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 673 - 17/04/2021 18:33:19    2337558

Replying To sligo joe:  "I agree with more or less the jist of your post i.e Kerry are one of the main challengers. However this is not what Kevin said, he stated that it is his firm belief that Kerry "will" take Dublin's title this year, no ifs no maybes, he says Kerry will win Sam. He backs his firm belief by saying Dublin have regressed (evidence?) and Kerry are the "coming team"??? Of course Dublin's championship will at some stage come to an end, when and who will beat them and who will win the title, I don't have Kevin's firm belief in Kerry"
I wouldn't see it as a foregone conclusion by any means that Kerry will win the AI this year so on that account I would not be as certain as McStay as you point out.
I do see them as one of only a small group of most likely to succeed though.
I'm sure others will have there own say though before the year is out. It will be great to have any GAA back after 5 months.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/04/2021 20:57:12    2337590

Wicklow v leitrim all Ireland final the final to be played in lourdes as it would be a miracle

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 18/04/2021 10:13:06    2337628