The Hyping Of Kerry Starts - Mcstay Has His Say

Oh they won't be liking that sort of noise down in the Kingdom ;)

The yerra brigade will already be dusting off the type cast stuff.

McStay with his annual copy and paste article attached below, kick starting the hype around this Kerry team and management but sure without a ball being kicked McStay has given it his best guesstimate anyway. Sure why not!

Although he's probably spot on in fairness to him, sure as he said himself, Kerry were the in-form team going into the championship before their silly antics against an average team, played with one eye on Dublin and thus exposing an awkward and ill fitting defensive mindset.

They wouldn't have liked that down south. Not one bit. The pressure is very much on Keane this year. He's not been forgiven at all for the above, anymore of that and they'll be shouting for his head very quickly indeed. Last chance saloon..

It looks like it'll be up to Kerry representing the rural fight to stop the all conquering Dubs according to McStay.

Let's be honest. Zero pressure on the Dubs. All they are after is adding to their supremacy and history defining exploits. You wouldn't be shocked if a bit of complacency finally sets in. Although 7 finals in a row without a single loss would be another GAA record that would be nice to own outright.

Looking forward to it all and may the best team win. If McStay's forecast is correct then so be it.

https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/316488

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/04/2021 12:49:10    2337161

I'll grab the popcorn for this article guys....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/04/2021 13:12:46    2337164

Replying To jimbodub:  "Oh they won't be liking that sort of noise down in the Kingdom ;)

The yerra brigade will already be dusting off the type cast stuff.

McStay with his annual copy and paste article attached below, kick starting the hype around this Kerry team and management but sure without a ball being kicked McStay has given it his best guesstimate anyway. Sure why not!

Although he's probably spot on in fairness to him, sure as he said himself, Kerry were the in-form team going into the championship before their silly antics against an average team, played with one eye on Dublin and thus exposing an awkward and ill fitting defensive mindset.

They wouldn't have liked that down south. Not one bit. The pressure is very much on Keane this year. He's not been forgiven at all for the above, anymore of that and they'll be shouting for his head very quickly indeed. Last chance saloon..

It looks like it'll be up to Kerry representing the rural fight to stop the all conquering Dubs according to McStay.

Let's be honest. Zero pressure on the Dubs. All they are after is adding to their supremacy and history defining exploits. You wouldn't be shocked if a bit of complacency finally sets in. Although 7 finals in a row without a single loss would be another GAA record that would be nice to own outright.

Looking forward to it all and may the best team win. If McStay's forecast is correct then so be it.

https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/316488"
Alright Jimbo. McStay just giving his opinion and while he did say Kerry were the form team going into last year's championship he did not say Kerry had one eye on Dublin. That's a narrative that came from a few posters here. McStay also stated before the Cork game that while he expected Kerry to win he would nt be shocked to see Cork win either and tbh alot of Kerry people while disappointed were nt that shoched either. His reasons for tipping Kerry is that he says he saw no real improvement in Dublin last year. Now while I agree with him on that point it is through no fault of their own. Dublin beat what was in front of them and got their business done perfectly. However I think even most Dubs would agree that they got an easy path last year. The only 3 contenders Kerry Donegal and Tyrone all were ko D making it an easier ride. Mayo the only big team are not the Mayo of old and had just been relegated. I would give Kerry a good chance this year but for me Dublin still the favourites and I'm sure they are with the bookies too. Its Leinster v Connaught this year so I would expect Dublin to be in the all ireland final and imo only Kerry Done ál or Tyrone are capable of beating Dublin in championship football at the moment. Maybe I'm upsetting Galway and Mayo supporters but that's my honest view. Dublin still the number one team but and if they win again fair play to them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 14/04/2021 13:15:59    2337165

I don't see what the big deal is. Kerry are traditionally Dublin's biggest rivals and whilst Dublin have deservedly held the upper hand in the last decade I think it's only a matter of time before the wheel turns again. It might not be this year but would you put your house on that? I wouldn't. If any team has the tools to dethrone Dublin in a one off championship match it's Kerry. They almost managed it in 2019. They'll be itching to lay the memories of 2020 to rest.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 14/04/2021 14:00:48    2337169

The irony of starting a thread about Kerry being hyped up when you're doing it yourself.

Is someone annoyed that he's not talking about Dublin?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 14/04/2021 15:15:39    2337183

Folks that work with rte and various other media outlets have to hype up the football competition even though they and everyone else knows its a foregone conclusion and a dead duck at the same time. They don't want to lose viewers. I'll say one thing for K McStay though, he walked the walk and actually went managing a team and didn't stay pontificating about how bad so and so is like some of the rest of the long term pundits on telifis eireann who are too cosy to get into inter county management.

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 14/04/2021 15:37:32    2337186

There is no basis to be hyping up Kerry or anybody else for that matter until the games start again and we see what kind of form teams and players are in. Predicting anything at this stage is just filling column inches for the sake of it.

Looking at the Kerry panel there are a lot of question marks for me in terms of personnel, defence and midfield in particular is not convincing, and you'd have to have concerns about the sideline after that poor showing in 2020. I don't see how anybody could be looking at them right now as champions in waiting.

If they happen to meet Dublin along the way they will be up against a better and more mobile middle eight. Very hard to overcome that regardless of how good you are elsewhere. Anything is possible though, I could certainly see a way that they could be very good if a few things go right.

They will need a change of approach from what we saw last year, I was surprised and somewhat disillusioned with the tactics employed throughout the league and on in to the defeat against Cork. Hopefully lesson learned and we see a more balance game plan going forward.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 14/04/2021 15:39:59    2337188

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "There is no basis to be hyping up Kerry or anybody else for that matter until the games start again and we see what kind of form teams and players are in. Predicting anything at this stage is just filling column inches for the sake of it.

Looking at the Kerry panel there are a lot of question marks for me in terms of personnel, defence and midfield in particular is not convincing, and you'd have to have concerns about the sideline after that poor showing in 2020. I don't see how anybody could be looking at them right now as champions in waiting.

If they happen to meet Dublin along the way they will be up against a better and more mobile middle eight. Very hard to overcome that regardless of how good you are elsewhere. Anything is possible though, I could certainly see a way that they could be very good if a few things go right.

They will need a change of approach from what we saw last year, I was surprised and somewhat disillusioned with the tactics employed throughout the league and on in to the defeat against Cork. Hopefully lesson learned and we see a more balance game plan going forward."
It's hard to look beyond Du6lin for Sam. If we'd a regular season, with back door, etc., I believe that Kerry might take Da Dubs. However, the short season and their extra earlier training sessions, have things weighed in Dublin's favor. Still if any team can stop the magnificent 7, I think that it will be Kerry.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 14/04/2021 16:03:37    2337192

Replying To oneoff:  "The irony of starting a thread about Kerry being hyped up when you're doing it yourself.

Is someone annoyed that he's not talking about Dublin?"
Bang on the money.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 14/04/2021 16:09:23    2337194

its another dud type of championship, Dublin v Kerry would be a 50/50 game as I see things right now.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 14/04/2021 22:34:42    2337242

Replying To realdub:  "its another dud type of championship, Dublin v Kerry would be a 50/50 game as I see things right now."
Another dub type championship?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/04/2021 00:13:59    2337250

dubs should be delighted he's hyping up kerry, kerry for all their success at minor level haven't added one title yet at either u20 or u21 grade in the last 6 -7 years so there may be a drop rate or lack of development in alot of these lads (more than maybe the average, I don't know) granted because of ridiculous rules the likes of clifford and o'sé skipped that grade and may well have been the difference in silverware.

Dubs will still be favourites by virtue of the fact that isn't any team capable in leinster of mounting any sort of a meaningful challenge to them and any games that are important will be played at home in croke park even if no one can attend

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 15/04/2021 10:18:53    2337261

The dubs seem to get fierce annoyed at anyone tipping or talking up another team. As said above, they should be delighted the spotlight is on someone else.

I get the feeling they just want everyone to praise them and say nobody else has a chance....all hail the mighty dubs.

And Dublin are indeed a mighty team, the best ever I've seen but they aren't unbeatable. No team is. If nobody can believe they cant be beaten what's the point? They will be beaten at some stage.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 15/04/2021 17:13:26    2337324

Replying To yew_tree:  "The dubs seem to get fierce annoyed at anyone tipping or talking up another team. As said above, they should be delighted the spotlight is on someone else.

I get the feeling they just want everyone to praise them and say nobody else has a chance....all hail the mighty dubs.

And Dublin are indeed a mighty team, the best ever I've seen but they aren't unbeatable. No team is. If nobody can believe they cant be beaten what's the point? They will be beaten at some stage."
People forget that the Dublin team that won last year is different to the team that won in 2015.Dublin are still a very good team but some of those players that were there in 15 were pure class and very hard to replace. How do you replace Connolly and Flynn and the Brogans without regressing a little.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/04/2021 18:38:05    2337330

I was just looking at match programmes and it's frightening the talent that Dublin don't have now that they had a couple of years ago. Darren Daly and Jack McCaffery in the backs along with Cian ó Sullivan and Eric Lowndes who did nt play last year. What about a midfield with Denis Bastick and MD McAuley. What about a forward line of 10.Paul Flynn. 11.Alan Brogan. 12.Dermo Connolly. 13.Paul Mannion 14.Eoghan Ó Gara. 15.Bernard Brogan with Paddy Andrews as a sub. All great servants to Dublin and Big losses.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/04/2021 18:59:25    2337332

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Another dub type championship?"
Only if Kerry underperform, again :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 15/04/2021 19:43:13    2337336

Replying To yew_tree:  "The dubs seem to get fierce annoyed at anyone tipping or talking up another team. As said above, they should be delighted the spotlight is on someone else.

And Dublin are indeed a mighty team, the best ever I've seen but they aren't unbeatable. No team is. If nobody can believe they cant be beaten what's the point? They will be beaten at some stage."
Where do you see this "fierce annoyance". Everyone entitled to their opinion, others entitled to disagree, McStay's suggestion that Dublin may have regressed and that Kerry are the coming team would not be evidence based in my opinion but I'm not fierce annoyed.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 15/04/2021 19:49:42    2337337

Can set your watch to this to be honest.

Fancy Galway myself.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/04/2021 20:00:44    2337339

Mmmm! Not your normal type of post under this username.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/04/2021 20:10:48    2337341

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Another dub type championship?"
Only if Kerry underperform, again :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 15/04/2021 20:37:21    2337345