Dublin Senior Football Team

Replying To Crinigan:  "You wonder how Covid cases could still remain so high after such a long lockdown ... and then you see that there are people with character such as yours in this country. Hopefully you get what you deserve."
I can see this guy saying they putting Nano bots in the vaccine for bill gates to control us.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/04/2021 19:12:24    2336049

Replying To Crinigan:  "Spot on.

The GAA community as a whole have come out of this COVID situation appallingly over the past year, the nadir being the All Ireland Champions blatantly breaking the rules only hours after an explicit reminder not to.

GAA players are not elite athletes."
Mr Crinigan, in my local park today I saw young lads kicking a ball around. Should I take photos, bring them to the Indo and report them. LOL

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 05/04/2021 19:18:58    2336050

Replying To Crinigan:  "You wonder how Covid cases could still remain so high after such a long lockdown ... and then you see that there are people with character such as yours in this country. Hopefully you get what you deserve."
Mr Crinigan, how are the British opening up their economy this month. If Covid is so bad. Where are the vaccines. Answer is they got their people vaccinated, while our government dithered. Also I saw a photo online of M.Martin at a Cork boxing club function indoors, no mask. Any opinions?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 05/04/2021 19:20:46    2336052

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Well said and of course just time time last year Italian nurses were literally choosing who to save and who to let die. A horrendous unimaginable situation, I'm not sure how they could ever be right again.

I hate when people compare the dublin lads to young lads kicking a ball with friends on a green or park. It was an organised county session on a gaa pitch. Men and women all over the country have worked tirelessly to keep their club grounds safe and prevent gatherings. Fenton and co have just made their jobs a hell of a lot harder"
I saw a photo and video online of Taoiseach M. Martin at a Cork boxing club do at Christmas, no mask. And told others at function to take mask off. What should we make of this breaking of Covid rules than? Suspensions? Resignation? LOL

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 05/04/2021 19:23:09    2336054

Replying To Saynothing:  "Big bad Covid, by all means respect it, but there are more life threatening diseases than Covid out there and people have to live with them. I like yourself would be disappointed if county teams weren't training when other sports are."
I wonder when are they going to make the draw for the Ulster Championship? hope we at least avoid Tyrone in the first round this year,
Cavan must be the team to beat this year, they'll be riding high after their big win last year.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 05/04/2021 19:30:01    2336055

Replying To oso:  "No jimbo it's not just irresponsible, it was breaking the rules and it was conceited and calculated at 7am.

As a frontline Doctor all through all of this I am sick of listening to self serving GAA "personalities" trying to influence things and call the shots. What the likes of Oisin McConville for instance says about this is irrelevant, its self serving and he is totally irrelevant on this matter.

Dessie Farrell is in a position of responsibility, he has seen what has gone before and the suspensions handed down to Down and Cork. The Dublin County board will also have known about this, Dessie didn't organise this on his own. Everyone involved should resign, end off. Its inexcusable. If myself of any of my professional colleagues behaved in such a manner we'd be the subject of a severe professional conduct investigate and medical defence unions would be involved.

Guys let's get a perspective on this, the GAA is an amateur organisation and these guys are trying to dress themselves up as 'elite' athletes and expect to be treated differently as a result. If they wanted to excel at a sport and be considered 'elite' then they should have chosen a professional sport, not one where the opportunities available to them and the potential they can reach are ultimately determined by the post code they were born in. None of these guys are 'elite' so let's treat them like every other grass roots GAA player.

The very people pedalling this nonsense and trying to excuse it are the parasites of the GAA. Ex players still trying to be relevant and make some form of living in monetary gains off the back of their playing career.

There is no excuse and anything other than resignation from all involved is an embarassment!!"
Everybody rants about how unfair it is the way Dublin are treated in general i. e. money population home advantage etc so now because it suits the narrative people are looking to punish Dublin more severely than others caught doing exactly the same thing. I don't recall anybody looking for the Cork or Down managers to resign so why Dessie and as for the Cork lady golf captain, I think she has embarrassed herself considering her own county was also caught breaking the rules

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 05/04/2021 19:31:37    2336056

GAA HQ very quite on Dublin Team Training disaster, when are they meeting and what action should they take.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 05/04/2021 20:04:11    2336058

Replying To galwayford:  "I saw a photo and video online of Taoiseach M. Martin at a Cork boxing club do at Christmas, no mask. And told others at function to take mask off. What should we make of this breaking of Covid rules than? Suspensions? Resignation? LOL"
Yes ha ha that would be slightly on the extreme side alright. I would never have had much respect for Michael Martin anyway. I haven't seen the video but it wouldn't surprise me

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 317 - 05/04/2021 20:15:36    2336059

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Yes ha ha that would be slightly on the extreme side alright. I would never have had much respect for Michael Martin anyway. I haven't seen the video but it wouldn't surprise me"
I respect M.Martin our Taoiseach, and he was just attending a function as part of his job. Ok. No problem. And Dubs should not have had early morning training session. And Mr Dessie Farrell probably deserved his punishment. It was not front page news though.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 05/04/2021 20:39:05    2336062

Replying To galwayford:  "Mr Crinigan, how are the British opening up their economy this month. If Covid is so bad. Where are the vaccines. Answer is they got their people vaccinated, while our government dithered. Also I saw a photo online of M.Martin at a Cork boxing club function indoors, no mask. Any opinions?"
The European Commission dithered, they were responsible for the procurement of vaccines for every country in the EU. They messed up and they will never be forgiven for it.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 05/04/2021 20:43:55    2336063

Replying To superbluedub:  "Whole team should be suspended , happy now -:)"
No I don't think that would be helpful- why would you suspend the whole team when only a few of them were there?? That would be silly. But my point is why did they suspend a person who was not there and not suspend the people who were there??

In my opinion if Dublin County Board were serious about this they would have suspended all the participants of the training session, not some cop out of suspending the manager- he won't be much loss anyway.

Another poster said that it is the same as Cork and Down- no it is not I am afraid. This is because they were dealt with by the GAA not their own county board. Dublin's county board are trying to send out the message that they are taking this really seriously by suspending a person that was not even there and will be no loss to the thing anyway but did not suspend the people who were there!! Surely you can see that is just being silly billy and they are fooling nobody.

They certainly won't cod me- I am onto them.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 05/04/2021 21:02:43    2336067

Irish Times: 05-04-2021:
"Of the 232,164 cases of Covid-19 recorded in the State up to March 24th this year, 262 were as a result of outdoor transmission, representing 0.1 per cent of the total."

1/1000 cases reported in Ireland so far have been linked to outdoor transmission, of which fewer than 135 have been linked to sport.

Now, by all means, continue calling those of us who recon there's nothing wrong with young lads around the country having non-contact kick arounds outdoors "murderers, covid-deniers, disrespectful to the frontline" etc.. but you might want to take a look at the suicide numbers around the country, or ask an unemployed young fella how his mental health is before you do.

We're the dubs out of order? Yes, They're the standard bearers for the country. Is the severity of their actions being blown way out proportion? Absolutely.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 05/04/2021 21:05:18    2336068

Replying To Crinigan:  "You comparing young lads to the best and most looked up team in the country after they were explicitly told less than 12 hours earlier not to train by the GAA.

I'm sure you've to get into some ridiculous costume before you march out of step with a row of SF clowns at some drug dealing terrorists funeral so I'll leave you to it."
I am not a member of S.F. Regarding dressing up well I see Loyalists out rioting on the streets attacking Policemen and women. Is this something you ahem condone, o I forgot, you would rather follow young men having a kick about in a GAA club.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 05/04/2021 21:36:07    2336074

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I wonder when are they going to make the draw for the Ulster Championship? hope we at least avoid Tyrone in the first round this year,
Cavan must be the team to beat this year, they'll be riding high after their big win last year."
Cavan would be the team to avoid alright, hopefully no slip ups this year, one game at a time.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 05/04/2021 21:54:06    2336076

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Irish Times: 05-04-2021:
"Of the 232,164 cases of Covid-19 recorded in the State up to March 24th this year, 262 were as a result of outdoor transmission, representing 0.1 per cent of the total."

1/1000 cases reported in Ireland so far have been linked to outdoor transmission, of which fewer than 135 have been linked to sport.

Now, by all means, continue calling those of us who recon there's nothing wrong with young lads around the country having non-contact kick arounds outdoors "murderers, covid-deniers, disrespectful to the frontline" etc.. but you might want to take a look at the suicide numbers around the country, or ask an unemployed young fella how his mental health is before you do.

We're the dubs out of order? Yes, They're the standard bearers for the country. Is the severity of their actions being blown way out proportion? Absolutely."
Well obviously the numbers will be low when hardly any outdoor sports were taking place and coupled with that do you think respondents would be truthful if they were breaking the law. No doubt it's safer outdoors but i'd take those figures with a pinch of salt.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/04/2021 21:59:50    2336077

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Everybody rants about how unfair it is the way Dublin are treated in general i. e. money population home advantage etc so now because it suits the narrative people are looking to punish Dublin more severely than others caught doing exactly the same thing. I don't recall anybody looking for the Cork or Down managers to resign so why Dessie and as for the Cork lady golf captain, I think she has embarrassed herself considering her own county was also caught breaking the rules"
But they werent doing the same thing. Gaa was still classed as elite at the time. Furthermore we hadnt seen what covid could do if it got a head of steam up yet when those incidents happened. There was little incidence of the new variant and what that brought to that table. By April we had gotten a rude awakening, but dublin still chose to suit themselves even with the benefit of hindsight. Furthermore, for the guy to get the tip off and be waiting there with the camera - it is fairly clear that it wasnt a one off also.

HardCase (USA) - Posts: 64 - 05/04/2021 22:13:53    2336079

Replying To tonguey:  "No I don't think that would be helpful- why would you suspend the whole team when only a few of them were there?? That would be silly. But my point is why did they suspend a person who was not there and not suspend the people who were there??

In my opinion if Dublin County Board were serious about this they would have suspended all the participants of the training session, not some cop out of suspending the manager- he won't be much loss anyway.

Another poster said that it is the same as Cork and Down- no it is not I am afraid. This is because they were dealt with by the GAA not their own county board. Dublin's county board are trying to send out the message that they are taking this really seriously by suspending a person that was not even there and will be no loss to the thing anyway but did not suspend the people who were there!! Surely you can see that is just being silly billy and they are fooling nobody.

They certainly won't cod me- I am onto them."
The GAA is currently investigating this, even have a committee working as we speak. Why was Dessie Farrell suspended? He's the man responsible and thats not the end of it. Precedent was set with Cork and Down and the very same punishments will have to apply. Dublin County board is free to punish whom it wants for wrong doing, GAA has to apply punishments fairly and evenly what was good for other two counties will be fine for Dublin.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 05/04/2021 22:14:36    2336080

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Irish Times: 05-04-2021:

We're the dubs out of order? Yes, They're the standard bearers for the country. Is the severity of their actions being blown way out proportion? Absolutely."
I think you & many others are missing the point. It isn't about risk necessarily. It's about leadership & citizenship - nothing more, nothing less. It's about being part of & representing community - community is what has made the GAA & what has made these players the deserved role models that they are. And they let themselves down, their families & clubs & communities & the national GAA collective down. To some it may be seen as irrelevant & a misdemeanor but to those of us who love & admire this team & the GAA, it is seriously disappointing.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 05/04/2021 22:36:31    2336086

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Well obviously the numbers will be low when hardly any outdoor sports were taking place and coupled with that do you think respondents would be truthful if they were breaking the law. No doubt it's safer outdoors but i'd take those figures with a pinch of salt."
I think every study in every country that has been done on the subject has come to the conclusion that outdoor transmission is alot less likely than indoor transmission. Even in a rugby scrum, which is the most prolonged contact in any contact sport, the contact is alot less than 15 minutes. The number of outbreaks following a positive test in the the numerous outdoor team sports that were let play during the pandemic, namely baseball, American football, soccer, rugby, cricket, golf, and hurling and football last summer, was very small. All of them in this country were traced back to aftermatch "celebrations" rather than the actual field of play. The games should certainly be allowed at this stage there is no medical evidence to say otherwise.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11825 - 06/04/2021 08:51:24    2336094

Replying To Viking66:  "I think every study in every country that has been done on the subject has come to the conclusion that outdoor transmission is alot less likely than indoor transmission. Even in a rugby scrum, which is the most prolonged contact in any contact sport, the contact is alot less than 15 minutes. The number of outbreaks following a positive test in the the numerous outdoor team sports that were let play during the pandemic, namely baseball, American football, soccer, rugby, cricket, golf, and hurling and football last summer, was very small. All of them in this country were traced back to aftermatch "celebrations" rather than the actual field of play. The games should certainly be allowed at this stage there is no medical evidence to say otherwise."
Absolutely, and they will go ahead, leagues will start at the latter end of May.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 06/04/2021 10:44:49    2336101