Cillian O'connor POTY

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "2015 v Dublin. Philly Mcmahon held him scoreless and scored a point himself. Gooch scored in all other finals he played 04 05 06 07 08 09 and 11.."
Sound, forgot bout that one. Kerry were shocking that day.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 26/02/2021 21:30:49    2332850

Replying To TheUsername:  "It's a mans (except for women's games) game as far as I'm concerned, if you give lumps, you have to be able to take them and if you fall the wrong side of the ref take the consequences on the chin. Everyone's at it and if you have ambitions to win all Ireland's you need it. Personally I'd hate to GAA go the way of soccer, slight contact and fall to the ground as if a sniper was in the stand.

Punditry doesn't help and magnifying stuff from all angles in SLO mo, then jump up on a moral high horse, when said pundit was as gamey as they come.

Some lads just get a reputation. I remember speaking to an opposition fan on a train coming back from a match, they were telling me Diarmuid Connolly was a filthy player, I challenged them to name one instance of on the field foul play that wasn't pricked, they couldn't. Dermo had a big weakness for getting rolled and reacting, but instigating foul playi I never saw, not once.

Those reputations are out there though, Cillian has it, I know he got a lot of negative feedback from Dubs for the foul and nature of it that led to his sending off in the semi in 19, that will stick. I think it's why young David out Killarney direction needs to reign in the temperament a bit, no doubt he gets battered, but if he doesn't learn not to react he will go the way of Dermo and Cillian reputation wise. You compare him to young Sean O Shea in the first game of the 19 final. He made a professional foul out in the corner in the dying mins to give away an impossible free, it was cynical but worthwhile for his team when they were in the ropes. Sean won't be labbled for that, but young David will be if he keeps going bald headed after umpires like he did in the league this year.

It's a funny old game."
It's a funny old game for sure, Connolly got black carded for taking Gavin Crowley out of it in an off the ball incident in the league final of 2017.

Crowley was only on the field about 90 seconds when he went to join in with a kerry attack and Connolly for no reason takes him down from behind, Connolly remarked in an interview afterwards that it was a rush of blood moment but that he didn't consider himself a cynical player.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/02/2021 21:39:01    2332851

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "2015 v Dublin. Philly Mcmahon held him scoreless and scored a point himself. Gooch scored in all other finals he played 04 05 06 07 08 09 and 11.."
Gooch played in 2002 as well.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 26/02/2021 21:46:04    2332852

Cooper didn't score from play against Cork in 2009 either.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 26/02/2021 21:49:34    2332853

Replying To MesAmis:  "Gooch played in 2002 as well."
Yeah, I think he got two from play that day though

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 26/02/2021 21:58:03    2332857

Replying To MesAmis:  "Cooper didn't score from play against Cork in 2009 either."
Oh right Mesamis. I did nt realise that. Well that's two finals so he was scoreless in. Alot if great forwards gave been held scoreless in finals from play but Spillane was nt. Now the record books will show he did nt score in 81 final but he was badly injured so they just brough him on a sub with a few mins to go for nostalgia when the game was over. He only came on at galf time in 82 cos of the injury but he did score.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 26/02/2021 22:03:21    2332860

Replying To Galway9801:  "Yeah, I think he got two from play that day though"
Yeah almost certain he clipped a couple from play in 02.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 26/02/2021 22:12:19    2332862

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh right Mesamis. I did nt realise that. Well that's two finals so he was scoreless in. Alot if great forwards gave been held scoreless in finals from play but Spillane was nt. Now the record books will show he did nt score in 81 final but he was badly injured so they just brough him on a sub with a few mins to go for nostalgia when the game was over. He only came on at galf time in 82 cos of the injury but he did score."
Some record from Spillane alright.

In 09 Tommy Walsh was the man up front for Kerry if I remember right.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 26/02/2021 22:14:57    2332863

Replying To Galway9801:  "Yeah, I think he got two from play that day though"
You are correct Galway

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 26/02/2021 22:50:58    2332866

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's a funny old game for sure, Connolly got black carded for taking Gavin Crowley out of it in an off the ball incident in the league final of 2017.

Crowley was only on the field about 90 seconds when he went to join in with a kerry attack and Connolly for no reason takes him down from behind, Connolly remarked in an interview afterwards that it was a rush of blood moment but that he didn't consider himself a cynical player."
Do you have a link to this interview ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/02/2021 22:51:59    2332867

Replying To MesAmis:  "Gooch played in 2002 as well."
Anthony Lynch was a fantastic defender and he did a good job on Gooch that day although Gooch got a few frees off him which he converted himself.

Gooch was top scorer in the 09 championship although we went the backdoor route that year and rolled over some earwigs along the way to the final so that helped his final tally.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2021 07:52:41    2332871

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Anthony Lynch was a fantastic defender and he did a good job on Gooch that day although Gooch got a few frees off him which he converted himself.

Gooch was top scorer in the 09 championship although we went the backdoor route that year and rolled over some earwigs along the way to the final so that helped his final tally."
Gooch was well able to do that to be fair.

Anthony Lynch was a good defender but Armagh got on fine without him in 2002.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 27/02/2021 09:45:40    2332877

Replying To superbluedub:  "Do you have a link to this interview ?"
Connolly did say it was frustration as he was the victim of a black foul offence by Jonathan Lyne a few minutes earlier. You can google it on the Irish Times by Sean Moran on "Diarmuid Connolly, :League final Black card was frustration on my part"

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 27/02/2021 10:53:06    2332878

On the Poty as some other post mentioned personalities will come into it when it's the players voting for it. Its human nature so it might be better the old way with journalists and analysists etc or have 2 awards like the soccer in England. I mean no disrespect but some players even if they were outstanding would have no chance of getting players poty due to ill feelings or whatever. I mean would Philly Mcmahon Ryan Mcmenamin Paul Galvin get poty if the players were voting for them. I doubt it somehow.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 27/02/2021 11:01:05    2332879

I can't do links and it was a written interview but if you Google Diarmuid Connolly : 'it was a rush of blood written by John Harrington it should be easy to find.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2021 11:05:52    2332880

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Connolly did say it was frustration as he was the victim of a black foul offence by Jonathan Lyne a few minutes earlier. You can google it on the Irish Times by Sean Moran on "Diarmuid Connolly, :League final Black card was frustration on my part""
We were well beat on the day as well Kerry deserved it. I was delighted to see the back of Fitzmaurice, he and Jim McGuiness were the only two i can think of who came up with a tactical masterclass to halt us between 2013 - present. Pity for Kerry it was the league, but i sweet day im sure. I know he had his critics down the south west come the end, but i think he is was a terrific manager. I think a lot of his tenure was unfortunate timing.

The points on Connolly illustrates my point, you can have one lad incensed about a foul on Crowley in 17 and or Dermo and linesman, but be cool with Sean O Shea taking a professional foul in the dying mins on game 1, 19 or young David going after the umpire during the league and be grand about it tribaly.

Overall, i dont like how lads develop these reputations, i think COC has it, Dermo had it, John Small get a card a game for being John Small and i think if a few young lads arent carful they could develop it. I think it has real world implications, i think if Dermo hadnt have got the heat he did in the media etc - i think he would have stuck around in Dublin over the last fer years. I think his story is is cautionary tale to agree. I can see with Clifford now grassrooting, they will build you up to knock you down and pounce on the first mistake. Clifford will get some grief from opposition over the next few years and over a long career, he needs not to go down the Dermo red mist route.

Truth is everyone has and need dark arts, red mist or cynicism to a degree amongst there players, she a passionate mistress is our game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/02/2021 11:21:26    2332883

Replying To MesAmis:  "Gooch was well able to do that to be fair.

Anthony Lynch was a good defender but Armagh got on fine without him in 2002."
Gooch would have done more damage if he wasn't fouled.

2002 Gooch was in his first year and he got 2 points in that years finals.

Star Donaghy has 4:06 from play in 7 finals not bad for the big fella.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2021 11:28:51    2332884

Replying To MesAmis:  "Some record from Spillane alright.

In 09 Tommy Walsh was the man up front for Kerry if I remember right."
True Mesamis. Big Tommy was outstanding that day scoring 4 points from play and had a bug impact on the game overall. He destroyed his hamstring in oz tearing it completely off the bone and came back to Ireland only half the player he left.Lost a yard of pace also after the injury. A great fielder and as strong as a bull. I heard Kieran Donaghy say once he was the most naturally strongest man he ever saw. He did nt need gym work but could lift anything. Also a very clean player even in the club scene.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 27/02/2021 11:48:51    2332887

https://www.gaa.ie/football/news/diarmuid-connolly-was-rush-blood/

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 27/02/2021 11:59:21    2332889

Replying To TheUsername:  "We were well beat on the day as well Kerry deserved it. I was delighted to see the back of Fitzmaurice, he and Jim McGuiness were the only two i can think of who came up with a tactical masterclass to halt us between 2013 - present. Pity for Kerry it was the league, but i sweet day im sure. I know he had his critics down the south west come the end, but i think he is was a terrific manager. I think a lot of his tenure was unfortunate timing.

The points on Connolly illustrates my point, you can have one lad incensed about a foul on Crowley in 17 and or Dermo and linesman, but be cool with Sean O Shea taking a professional foul in the dying mins on game 1, 19 or young David going after the umpire during the league and be grand about it tribaly.

Overall, i dont like how lads develop these reputations, i think COC has it, Dermo had it, John Small get a card a game for being John Small and i think if a few young lads arent carful they could develop it. I think it has real world implications, i think if Dermo hadnt have got the heat he did in the media etc - i think he would have stuck around in Dublin over the last fer years. I think his story is is cautionary tale to agree. I can see with Clifford now grassrooting, they will build you up to knock you down and pounce on the first mistake. Clifford will get some grief from opposition over the next few years and over a long career, he needs not to go down the Dermo red mist route.

Truth is everyone has and need dark arts, red mist or cynicism to a degree amongst there players, she a passionate mistress is our game."
I would disagree with you completely on Sean Ó Shea Username. You can say I've my Kerry hat on but if you watch it closely it's a clumsy challenge but definately not cynical. As a matter of fact Paddy Small was going down the sideline with little chance of scoring and Ó Shea was disgusted with the free as it gave a top class free taker like Rock a free shot to win game. A cynical foul like that would be to prevent a certain score not give the opposition a better chance of scoring. The foul of Tadhg Morley who was through on goal was far more cynical as it stopped a near certain goal. A cynical foul is done to gain an advantage not to give away the advantage and the Ó Shea free gave Dublin a bigger advantage. On Connolly black card in the league final v Kerry it was silly. The ball was nt even there. It was as he said himself frustration or a rush of blood. As Ive stated though a few mins earlier he was the victim of a cynical foul himself when going through. On Fitzmaurice yes he was a great planner but slow to change when things were going wrong. On the dark arts I don't think everyone needs them although the sad thing is its definately an advantage but I do think every team needs a few players that use dark arts alright.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 27/02/2021 12:40:50    2332890