Gambling Advertisements

I see where the GAA and GPA are working together to control gambling advertisements. Living in the U.S. I can attest this is a must. Gambling has and will always go on in every sport throughout the world. In the U.S. they tried to keep it out of sports as long as I can remember. One of the greatest baseball players of all time, Pete Rose has been banned from the Hall of Fame because he bet on baseball when he managed a team. However, money rules and in the last year or so all sports have welcomed gambling sites in. When you watch any game, throughout the game they offer you chances to bet on anything you could think of. Who will score first. how many points or goals will be scored in each quarter, period or half will a golfer par, birdie or bogey any particular hole. Apparently with the technology today you can bet directly from your phone or computer. All this is doing is making more money for these billion dollar teams and unfortunately drawing young people into something many won't be able to handle and making it easier for people who already have a problem to make their problem worse. I wish the GAA and GPA luck and over time hope they do not give in to lure of big money from these sites.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 18/02/2021 12:43:52    2331848

I really think these betting companies are the scourge of modern society. Fair play to the GAA.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 18/02/2021 13:15:57    2331857

Good luck to them but if they think it will make any difference then they really are living in cloud cuckoo land. Betting companies couldn't care less what a small fish like the GAA do. They're nothing to them.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 18/02/2021 15:07:01    2331885

Replying To gatha:  "I see where the GAA and GPA are working together to control gambling advertisements. Living in the U.S. I can attest this is a must. Gambling has and will always go on in every sport throughout the world. In the U.S. they tried to keep it out of sports as long as I can remember. One of the greatest baseball players of all time, Pete Rose has been banned from the Hall of Fame because he bet on baseball when he managed a team. However, money rules and in the last year or so all sports have welcomed gambling sites in. When you watch any game, throughout the game they offer you chances to bet on anything you could think of. Who will score first. how many points or goals will be scored in each quarter, period or half will a golfer par, birdie or bogey any particular hole. Apparently with the technology today you can bet directly from your phone or computer. All this is doing is making more money for these billion dollar teams and unfortunately drawing young people into something many won't be able to handle and making it easier for people who already have a problem to make their problem worse. I wish the GAA and GPA luck and over time hope they do not give in to lure of big money from these sites."
Young lads now can't watch eve a game of soccer without betting. I see it myself in our own club after games, lads sitting up at the bar, phones out betting on sports.

I like to bet myself but it's like everything else...moderation tho..the odd horse. But I could and often do go 6 weeks without placing a bet.

Your in the US but I think some US states though are nuts in tackling this....prohibition does not work. In NYC there are zero betting shops but loads bet under the counter...with cash usually going to organized crime through your local bookie.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 18/02/2021 15:21:20    2331886

Replying To gatha:  "I see where the GAA and GPA are working together to control gambling advertisements. Living in the U.S. I can attest this is a must. Gambling has and will always go on in every sport throughout the world. In the U.S. they tried to keep it out of sports as long as I can remember. One of the greatest baseball players of all time, Pete Rose has been banned from the Hall of Fame because he bet on baseball when he managed a team. However, money rules and in the last year or so all sports have welcomed gambling sites in. When you watch any game, throughout the game they offer you chances to bet on anything you could think of. Who will score first. how many points or goals will be scored in each quarter, period or half will a golfer par, birdie or bogey any particular hole. Apparently with the technology today you can bet directly from your phone or computer. All this is doing is making more money for these billion dollar teams and unfortunately drawing young people into something many won't be able to handle and making it easier for people who already have a problem to make their problem worse. I wish the GAA and GPA luck and over time hope they do not give in to lure of big money from these sites."
Great post. I've noticed the same thing and it maddens me. While I'm watching an NBA game a team called timeout and when the commercials came on two of them were gambling advertisements! I'm not the type that calls for "banning" things I disagree with or don't utilize but I really see a bad end to this. I hope I'm wrong.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2126 - 18/02/2021 15:27:05    2331887

Replying To Bon:  "I really think these betting companies are the scourge of modern society. Fair play to the GAA."
To be fair to the GAA they led the way in getting rid of alcohol in sponsorship, and they have done the same with gambling. I am sure it has cost them a fair few quid but in both cases it was the right thing to do. I hope I'm wrong but it looks like more and more people have turned to gambling during the past year to try overcome their boredom, there will be sad consequences to that in the years ahead.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/02/2021 15:51:42    2331893

I think the rapid advances we've seen in technology over the last ten years has gone hand in hand with the growth of gambling and associated problems. Traditional bookmaker shops have been overtaken by online presences. The emergence of cloud technology has allowed the big betting companies to ramp up in scale massively and at a much lower cost than your traditional bricks and mortar betting shop approach. Couple this with the era of the smartphone and you have a perfect cocktail of ingredients to facilitate a massive societal problem.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 18/02/2021 16:20:25    2331899

I am totally unique among my circle of friends.
I have never placed a bet.
When we go to the pub, they are looking at their phone to bet on first goal scorer, etc.
I have no interest, it adds nothing to my enjoyment of the game.
Then the following week, the lads are complaining they have no money! FFS stop giving it to Paddy Power then!

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 18/02/2021 16:29:52    2331900

Its about time the bookies were given some sort of legislation to live up to. With the online markets they now dominate, they can monitor betting trends of their punters far better than ever before. But when punters are winning that's when the bookies are closing their accounts down or restricting them to £2 limits per bet. They are currently in a position were they don't need to explain why they can't accept a punters bet if they decide not to. Basically, all they're interested in is taking money from the mug punter who always loses and ban anyone that is clever or lucky enough to win big. They hand out 20 to life jail sentences to mobsters for less than this!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 18/02/2021 16:40:45    2331903

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I am totally unique among my circle of friends.
I have never placed a bet.
When we go to the pub, they are looking at their phone to bet on first goal scorer, etc.
I have no interest, it adds nothing to my enjoyment of the game.
Then the following week, the lads are complaining they have no money! FFS stop giving it to Paddy Power then!"
Good for you. I'm the same as far as betting goes. I might buy a Super Bowl box or go in half with someone or buy a Lottery Ticket when it gets sky high but I've stopped even these things now. This year no Super Bowl Boxes or Lottery. Just some Bitcoin/Crypto stuff.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2126 - 18/02/2021 18:45:26    2331923

Hopefully with Brexit - Virgin Media and Sky will eventually stop piping rubbish UK Betting Ads, Dodgy Loan Companies (one with an APR of 79%), UK Insurance Schemes, when they realise no one in Ireland can purchase or use their services. Also the Ads for Saving the Siberian Tiger, Elephant, Giraffe, Lion, Donkeys, Monkeys, Whales, Penguins etc Not to mention sending money contributions to Oxfam to save lives in Yemen even though the UK is actually supporting the fighting. These useless ads get worse when watching sport. But it is really nice to see the GAA banning Betting companies but with online betting and apps its pretty pointless. I just wish Comreg would rid the airwaves of what is really UK Pyramid schemes.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 18/02/2021 19:12:25    2331927

Replying To yew_tree:  "Young lads now can't watch eve a game of soccer without betting. I see it myself in our own club after games, lads sitting up at the bar, phones out betting on sports.

I like to bet myself but it's like everything else...moderation tho..the odd horse. But I could and often do go 6 weeks without placing a bet.

Your in the US but I think some US states though are nuts in tackling this....prohibition does not work. In NYC there are zero betting shops but loads bet under the counter...with cash usually going to organized crime through your local bookie."
Totally agree , some young lads are betting addicts, Paddypower and Co have a lot to answer for. Young boys working all week and blowing it on phone bets. Local shops could take the lead also, people trying to ban sweets from around the counter but scratch cards are nicely placed at the tills. Gambling is ruining young lives and fair play to the GAA. As you say , the odd flutter is totally different.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 18/02/2021 21:21:29    2331940

Tobacco, alcohol, gambling and sugar - so the promotion of popular sports drink where one bottle (single use plastic that is a disaster to recycle) 750ml size will give around 7 teaspoons of sugar is not a problem. In a thousand years time, if the world is still around they will look back on today's world as the dark ages of human health and wellbeing.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 18/02/2021 23:49:18    2331948

Gambling is just like alcohol in many ways, not much harm here or there but overindulgence can ruin lives and families, the amount of advertising you see for it now on all platforms isn't good at all.

I go to the race's in Wexford racecourse about once every couple of years id say, cant remember the last time ive bet outside of that.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/02/2021 00:18:37    2331950

Replying To wexico15:  "Gambling is just like alcohol in many ways, not much harm here or there but overindulgence can ruin lives and families, the amount of advertising you see for it now on all platforms isn't good at all.

I go to the race's in Wexford racecourse about once every couple of years id say, cant remember the last time ive bet outside of that."
It is just like alcohol with one difference. You can only drink so much alcohol before you fall down and pass out. You could gamble away every single cent you have in the click of a finger, and its far more accessible than alcohol. Paddy Parasite has an awful lot to answer for.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 19/02/2021 11:44:15    2331987

I'd recommend a book called Tony 10 by Declan Lynch. It's a Carlow post man's gambling tale of how he went from casual €2 bets to robbing his workplace in order to bet thousands on different sporting outcomes. It's an extraordinary story, particularly the bits from his wedding day in Cyprus. Absolute kamikaze stuff!

He also recalls being phoned up by Paddy Power personally offering him VIP tickets to various upmarket race meetings like Ascot and the like, because he was such a reckless high spending gambler.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 19/02/2021 16:11:04    2332032

Replying To Bon:  "It is just like alcohol with one difference. You can only drink so much alcohol before you fall down and pass out. You could gamble away every single cent you have in the click of a finger, and its far more accessible than alcohol. Paddy Parasite has an awful lot to answer for."
Can't blame PP or the likes, that's like blaming drink companies because there are so many alcoholics in Ireland. Look at your typical Irish town or city, pubs, chip shops and bookies. Have you ever heard a politician being critical of this ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 19/02/2021 18:00:07    2332042

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Can't blame PP or the likes, that's like blaming drink companies because there are so many alcoholics in Ireland. Look at your typical Irish town or city, pubs, chip shops and bookies. Have you ever heard a politician being critical of this ?"
Of course he's not going to be critical of them sure he probably owns one or all of them.
PP and the likes should be made be far more responsible instead of just telling you to gamble responsibly.
That's like telling an alcoholic to limit his intake to one short a day.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/02/2021 18:53:43    2332046

Replying To zinny:  "Tobacco, alcohol, gambling and sugar - so the promotion of popular sports drink where one bottle (single use plastic that is a disaster to recycle) 750ml size will give around 7 teaspoons of sugar is not a problem. In a thousand years time, if the world is still around they will look back on today's world as the dark ages of human health and wellbeing."
In a thousand years time the world will be still here alright. It's human beings that might not be around. The planet will flick us off like the parasites that we are and just continue. Pollution,overfishing, deforestation, fracking, mining, over production of plastic, over consumption of shite, half the world obese, the other half starving, war are just a fraction of the myriad problems we have.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 19/02/2021 20:18:32    2332063

Replying To thegadfly:  "In a thousand years time the world will be still here alright. It's human beings that might not be around. The planet will flick us off like the parasites that we are and just continue. Pollution,overfishing, deforestation, fracking, mining, over production of plastic, over consumption of shite, half the world obese, the other half starving, war are just a fraction of the myriad problems we have."
Dirty shower a hoors is right.
We are the biggest disease of all.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/02/2021 23:06:43    2332091