Best Club Players Not To Play For Meath

Interesting thread. i might be showing my age but Mick O'Dowd who later went on to manage us was one hell of a club player. i remember him coming on in a league game against Roscommon in Navan (during that spell in the early/mid '90s when even though we were good, leagues games could be a certain form of torture) and he banged in 1-1 to level a game that we were in terrible trouble in.
Roscommon got a free about 60m out in injury time and Graham Geraghty gave out the referee, who brought it in 20m upon which Roscommon stuck it over the bar to win the game with the last kick. It may have been Derek Duggan who kicked it.
Anyhow, I remember Geraghty hadn't really been taken to by Meath fans at that stage and a load of people giving out about him as we left after the game. How things were to change!

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 471 - 16/02/2021 17:08:12    2331585

Shane Horgan played Meath Minor before going rugby way. Was a big loss. Ratoath let a lot slip through their fingers who starred at underage, Ian Fitzpatrick gone to international 7s, Shane clayton and Glen Reilly gone to success in Dublin and elsewhere. Others went to succeed in a variety of sports . A few slipped across the border from other clubs too.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 03/03/2021 19:19:33    2333460

Replying To Ashrules:  "Shane Horgan played Meath Minor before going rugby way. Was a big loss. Ratoath let a lot slip through their fingers who starred at underage, Ian Fitzpatrick gone to international 7s, Shane clayton and Glen Reilly gone to success in Dublin and elsewhere. Others went to succeed in a variety of sports . A few slipped across the border from other clubs too."
You are anti Ratoath and you are starting to embarrass yourself

Why are you singling out YOUR own club

Every club in the country have players who choose other sports or other clubs for what ever reason
On your logic
Des Ferguson could be the best player not to play for meath
Ratoath is no different from all other clubs players/parents make decisions and good luck to them

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 04/03/2021 08:02:48    2333479

Would Michael Deegan be one that could be mentioned. Played underage with Meath and senior with D/A. Was on some of the Dublin panels that won all irelands without ever threatening to be on the teams?

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 04/03/2021 12:39:34    2333508

Replying To brian:  "Would Michael Deegan be one that could be mentioned. Played underage with Meath and senior with D/A. Was on some of the Dublin panels that won all irelands without ever threatening to be on the teams?"
Jesus. Wept.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 04/03/2021 17:08:14    2333524

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "You are anti Ratoath and you are starting to embarrass yourself

Why are you singling out YOUR own club

Every club in the country have players who choose other sports or other clubs for what ever reason
On your logic
Des Ferguson could be the best player not to play for meath
Ratoath is no different from all other clubs players/parents make decisions and good luck to them"
Actually It is a compliment to the amount of underage development that happened in Ratoath that they won back to back senior titles , And also helped develop young men that went onto success in GAA elsewhere in Ireland and abroad, Rugby , Athletics, a variety of sports including horse racing and motor racing and those who went to focus on development of Professional careers.
I take it the sore point is that some could have been retained had the running of the club been more impressive.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 04/03/2021 17:27:17    2333530

Replying To Crinigan:  "Jesus. Wept."
Have you a point other than your usual cynicism?

The lad played underage football with Meath so could be considered for it.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 04/03/2021 20:58:53    2333541

Replying To Ashrules:  "Actually It is a compliment to the amount of underage development that happened in Ratoath that they won back to back senior titles , And also helped develop young men that went onto success in GAA elsewhere in Ireland and abroad, Rugby , Athletics, a variety of sports including horse racing and motor racing and those who went to focus on development of Professional careers.
I take it the sore point is that some could have been retained had the running of the club been more impressive."
Oh now the mask has dropped
How much more impressive could the running of the club be?
Back to back senior titles
Senior hurling final (to be played)
Arguably the the most successful juvenile section in the county over the past number of years with a number of minor and under 21 successful teams
Thriving ladies section
All Ireland comogie winners
Acquired new land for further development
Large dept reduced to small amount

Pretty impressive to me

Apologies to everyone as I realise this not on topic for this forum

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 05/03/2021 06:59:03    2333552

Replying To Ashrules:  "Shane Horgan played Meath Minor before going rugby way. Was a big loss. Ratoath let a lot slip through their fingers who starred at underage, Ian Fitzpatrick gone to international 7s, Shane clayton and Glen Reilly gone to success in Dublin and elsewhere. Others went to succeed in a variety of sports . A few slipped across the border from other clubs too."
Horgan was from Bellewstown.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 510 - 05/03/2021 08:02:03    2333554

Replying To brian:  "Have you a point other than your usual cynicism?

The lad played underage football with Meath so could be considered for it."
Don't think Deegan was anything special. Good free taker but not spectacular from play. Not a huge loss imo

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 05/03/2021 12:16:21    2333573

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Oh now the mask has dropped
How much more impressive could the running of the club be?
Back to back senior titles
Senior hurling final (to be played)
Arguably the the most successful juvenile section in the county over the past number of years with a number of minor and under 21 successful teams
Thriving ladies section
All Ireland comogie winners
Acquired new land for further development
Large dept reduced to small amount

Pretty impressive to me

Apologies to everyone as I realise this not on topic for this forum"
And the players achieved all this without some great players who left the club . The potential in Ratoath was collossal. Because they originated from a small junior club there is not an administration backboned by senior players who know how to run a senior club. Who on the committee would have a cv that would impress a long established senior club?. Not only that but the one impressive former player they had was shafted because those in charge did not understand his modus operandi. Which was based on experience in Jim Gavins background team. Of course he was not in line with their thinking.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 08/03/2021 11:48:49    2333693

Replying To Ashrules:  "And the players achieved all this without some great players who left the club . The potential in Ratoath was collossal. Because they originated from a small junior club there is not an administration backboned by senior players who know how to run a senior club. Who on the committee would have a cv that would impress a long established senior club?. Not only that but the one impressive former player they had was shafted because those in charge did not understand his modus operandi. Which was based on experience in Jim Gavins background team. Of course he was not in line with their thinking."
Not getting into this again out of respect for all others on forum sick of hearing this
You need to move on and get over yourself

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 08/03/2021 20:47:24    2333735

Replying To brian:  "Have you a point other than your usual cynicism?

The lad played underage football with Meath so could be considered for it."
Did Deegan ever play underage with Meath?
He was playing for Dublin against Meath at u16 in the Gerry Reilly tournament. Nearly sure he wasn't part of any Meath panel before that.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 08/03/2021 21:51:48    2333738

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Did Deegan ever play underage with Meath?
He was playing for Dublin against Meath at u16 in the Gerry Reilly tournament. Nearly sure he wasn't part of any Meath panel before that."
As far as i remember and open to correction of course, but do believe Deegan played minor for Meath before leaving Donaghmore/ Ashbourne and joining up with Na Fianna in 2017. Although i had a look and google says he played minor and u21 for the Dubs.

Anyways a player that slipped away in my opinion but you'd understand his reasons to not commit to Meath.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 09/03/2021 12:24:06    2333760

Replying To brian:  "As far as i remember and open to correction of course, but do believe Deegan played minor for Meath before leaving Donaghmore/ Ashbourne and joining up with Na Fianna in 2017. Although i had a look and google says he played minor and u21 for the Dubs.

Anyways a player that slipped away in my opinion but you'd understand his reasons to not commit to Meath."
What were his reasons?

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 09/03/2021 17:41:02    2333779

Replying To brian:  "As far as i remember and open to correction of course, but do believe Deegan played minor for Meath before leaving Donaghmore/ Ashbourne and joining up with Na Fianna in 2017. Although i had a look and google says he played minor and u21 for the Dubs.

Anyways a player that slipped away in my opinion but you'd understand his reasons to not commit to Meath."
Are you in fact Michael Deegan himself? Why otherwise would you put him in bracket of greatest ever club players to never play for Meath?

He's a Dub playing occasionally for a club team in Meath, having not made the grade on the Dublin club scene (couldn't get in the Ballymun team). Fair play to him, I hope he's enjoying his football but he's not the first cousin of a senior intercounty footballer. Astonishing that you would mention him here tbh.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 10/03/2021 11:55:47    2333804

Replying To Crinigan:  "Are you in fact Michael Deegan himself? Why otherwise would you put him in bracket of greatest ever club players to never play for Meath?

He's a Dub playing occasionally for a club team in Meath, having not made the grade on the Dublin club scene (couldn't get in the Ballymun team). Fair play to him, I hope he's enjoying his football but he's not the first cousin of a senior intercounty footballer. Astonishing that you would mention him here tbh."
Would you ever stop being such a miserable old whinge bag.

Not the first cousin of an intercounty player despite having all ireland medals in his back pocket and being involved with the greatest county team of all time.

Something you'll never achieve for sure

The lad was born and raised in Meath and played with Donaghmore Ashbourne until he was in his early 20's i believe.

Show's your own ignorance to not realise that he never played with Ballymun and he in fact transferred to Na Fianna. His father played for Erin's Isle.

Your ignorance is staggering, so before you tell anyone how astonishing something is maybe go and do a bit of fact checking because you've been made look like the idiot you portray.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 11/03/2021 12:29:13    2333894

Replying To Borderroyal:  "What were his reasons?"
His father played in and won an all ireland with the Dubs in 1995 and had a long club career with Erin's Isle. He played with the Dubs up through underage and had more chance of success and winning something with them in the last 10 years. Benefits of being involved with that team of jobs etc.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 11/03/2021 12:33:19    2333895

Replying To brian:  "His father played in and won an all ireland with the Dubs in 1995 and had a long club career with Erin's Isle. He played with the Dubs up through underage and had more chance of success and winning something with them in the last 10 years. Benefits of being involved with that team of jobs etc."
Ok so he transferred to ashbourne.after underage finished or he played underage in meath and county with dublin.??

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 11/03/2021 17:58:10    2333912

Replying To brian:  "Would you ever stop being such a miserable old whinge bag.

Not the first cousin of an intercounty player despite having all ireland medals in his back pocket and being involved with the greatest county team of all time.

Something you'll never achieve for sure

The lad was born and raised in Meath and played with Donaghmore Ashbourne until he was in his early 20's i believe.

Show's your own ignorance to not realise that he never played with Ballymun and he in fact transferred to Na Fianna. His father played for Erin's Isle.

Your ignorance is staggering, so before you tell anyone how astonishing something is maybe go and do a bit of fact checking because you've been made look like the idiot you portray."
Can you tell us Michael when did you win an All Ireland medal?

I couldn't care less which Dublin club he/you played for, point is you/he came back with his tale between his legs. Can you name one good game he played for Ashbourne in club championship ? I must have missed these great performances too!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 11/03/2021 18:12:03    2333913