Kevin Cassidy On Laochra Gael

Replying To FootblockREF:  "McGuiness overreacted which wasn't rare for him. Didn't he refuse to do the press conference after the 2012 All Ireland Final because Declan Bogue was in the room and it was still about the book written in the previous year? Also he accused Stephen Gollogy of a dirty challenge in the 2013 Ulster Final when he simply wanted the ball more.
Cassidy comes off well in the programme. The revelation that he was asked back in 2012 damages McGuinness' credibility. McGee's don't come off great but in fairness they were in a very difficult situation."
I wouldn't say that about the McGees they were in a no win situation

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 09/01/2021 14:41:42    2326790

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Was a great player. Probably more popular outside his county than within it. The lack of former teammates from club and county who didn't take part in the programme tells a story."
Yeah I think you right there re popularity, probably the reverse for McGuinness, popular in Donegal less so outside. No matter the issues you do have to recognise his strenght of character.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 09/01/2021 14:53:23    2326791

He should have discussed the book with McGuinnes. It wasn't like he was retired when he was doing the book. McGuinnes asked him back a few months later, maybe reflected more over it, but he had a right to be annoyed at the time
Cassidy was a top player though, as good off either foot,. Strong as a bull

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 09/01/2021 15:11:55    2326795

Replying To eoghan6688:  "Need to bring back foreign films on a Friday night though, used to love watching all this unique films in my teens in a dark bedroom.

Also, they could do with putting more programmes in the graveyard shift, rather than showing France 24 as much as they do"
Am I dreaming or did TG4 use to show eurosport through the night 1 time?

I used to come home from the pub and fall asleep watching tour de Italia or snooker.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/01/2021 17:24:08    2326799

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Am I dreaming or did TG4 use to show eurosport through the night 1 time?

I used to come home from the pub and fall asleep watching tour de Italia or snooker."
Spot on there, I remember they showed the Feile once too during summer one year.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 09/01/2021 18:15:50    2326805

McGuinness got the AI and that'll mean he can say he is justified in what he done.
Donegal folk love him I'm sure but he's a grating sort of a character from what I've seen of him.
Cassidy, I don't know how he's received overall in Donegal but he seems like the kind of a fella who would be hard to manage and could go on a bit of a solo run as he did I suppose with the book. Dacent enough lad I'd say though.
Difficult spot for some of the other boys on the team I'd say. Great show though. Well done to TG4.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 09/01/2021 18:19:49    2326807

Oh Christ K'boy that's a blast from the past, nothing worse than trying to stop the room from spinning and Sumo Wrestling on the background

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 09/01/2021 18:35:46    2326808

Replying To arock:  "Spot on there, I remember they showed the Feile once too during summer one year."
Did they show the féile ? They show Comórtas peile na Gaeltachta and That's a great competition also the club rugby.

In fairness TG4 deserves great praise.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/01/2021 18:40:46    2326809

Replying To catch22:  "McGuinness got the AI and that'll mean he can say he is justified in what he done.
Donegal folk love him I'm sure but he's a grating sort of a character from what I've seen of him.
Cassidy, I don't know how he's received overall in Donegal but he seems like the kind of a fella who would be hard to manage and could go on a bit of a solo run as he did I suppose with the book. Dacent enough lad I'd say though.
Difficult spot for some of the other boys on the team I'd say. Great show though. Well done to TG4."
See this is what baffles me from people looking in on the outside. McGuinness changed the whole mindset of Donegal from underage to senior and their way of doing things had improved no end. But people see him as annoying or OTT despite not knowing him. But the same people see Cassidy as sound for no particular reason.

Cassidy has had his fair share of bother off the pitch including one incident that made the papers. But hey he is sound and McGuinness is grating. I know you didn't mean to make it sound as you did but I am really baffled at some of the opinions on the two men.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 09/01/2021 19:31:44    2326816

The clip of jim being interviewed and cass nearby was awkward.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 09/01/2021 20:42:13    2326823

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Oh Christ K'boy that's a blast from the past, nothing worse than trying to stop the room from spinning and Sumo Wrestling on the background"
Feck was that sumo wrestling horse? I just thought that I collapsed outside the chipper :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/01/2021 20:46:45    2326825

Replying To TheFlaker:  "See this is what baffles me from people looking in on the outside. McGuinness changed the whole mindset of Donegal from underage to senior and their way of doing things had improved no end. But people see him as annoying or OTT despite not knowing him. But the same people see Cassidy as sound for no particular reason.

Cassidy has had his fair share of bother off the pitch including one incident that made the papers. But hey he is sound and McGuinness is grating. I know you didn't mean to make it sound as you did but I am really baffled at some of the opinions on the two men."
Guessing flaker your looking for a donegal fans reply, and that's just the point you won't get many, at the time all this happened between Jim and Kevin we as a whole could genuinely feel we were on the cusp of something huge, so whatever Jim said there's was no questioning, remember we hadn't won the A I in 20 yrs and like yourselfs where hungry. Without a doubt Kevin was huge for us esp in 11 but he was hard to handle, most quality guys are. There was only going to be one voice in the changing room and that was Jim and I don't know if you've picked up on the program but Kevin was starting to do his own thing, so there's more to it than the book. The saga between the two caused huge rifts up here and there was many's a deep arguments outside of the said group so can't imagine what was going on inside the group. Now Kevin did get the offer to come back into the fold but he definitely knew the rules by that stage and with him being free spirited it wasn't going to work.
Remember the 2 of them were team mates, warriors against each other in club and certainly drinking buddies way before Jim took the main job, so I'm sure feelings were deep at that meeting and two proud men, well you fill in the cracks yourself.
I totally enjoyed the program the other night cause it gave us all up here and certainly the lads themselves a sort off clearing the air and closure.
Both men gave us great yrs of joy and nobody up here will say or hear nothing bad against them.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 09/01/2021 21:08:30    2326832

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Feck was that sumo wrestling horse? I just thought that I collapsed outside the chipper :-)"
Jez K'boy many's a night I spent queuing outside the Hillgrove to the mobile chopper van ... god looking back on it and then wander out further west to the digs on the Milltown road roundabout .. the blast of sea air would sober the head off ya....

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 09/01/2021 21:22:35    2326833

That's interesting Tyrlon.
In a sense winning justifies everything whereas if you had to lose the '12 final then I'm sure jim would have got criticism.
I think we got a sense of cass when singing on the stage.
Maybe the mcgees could have brokered a reconciliation was another thought that I had.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 09/01/2021 21:37:37    2326834

Replying To Tyrion:  "Guessing flaker your looking for a donegal fans reply, and that's just the point you won't get many, at the time all this happened between Jim and Kevin we as a whole could genuinely feel we were on the cusp of something huge, so whatever Jim said there's was no questioning, remember we hadn't won the A I in 20 yrs and like yourselfs where hungry. Without a doubt Kevin was huge for us esp in 11 but he was hard to handle, most quality guys are. There was only going to be one voice in the changing room and that was Jim and I don't know if you've picked up on the program but Kevin was starting to do his own thing, so there's more to it than the book. The saga between the two caused huge rifts up here and there was many's a deep arguments outside of the said group so can't imagine what was going on inside the group. Now Kevin did get the offer to come back into the fold but he definitely knew the rules by that stage and with him being free spirited it wasn't going to work.
Remember the 2 of them were team mates, warriors against each other in club and certainly drinking buddies way before Jim took the main job, so I'm sure feelings were deep at that meeting and two proud men, well you fill in the cracks yourself.
I totally enjoyed the program the other night cause it gave us all up here and certainly the lads themselves a sort off clearing the air and closure.
Both men gave us great yrs of joy and nobody up here will say or hear nothing bad against them."
Thanks for that Tyrion. I must say I enjoyed the programme as all laochra Gael programmes. I felt sorry for both Jim and Kevin. Both great servant to Donegal and hope at a future time both can have a drink together again.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 09/01/2021 22:24:36    2326838

Replying To gahfan:  "That's interesting Tyrlon.
In a sense winning justifies everything whereas if you had to lose the '12 final then I'm sure jim would have got criticism.
I think we got a sense of cass when singing on the stage.
Maybe the mcgees could have brokered a reconciliation was another thought that I had."
Gahfan I'll more than likely get ostracized from fellow Donies, as I said earlier everyone could feel we were on the cusp of something special, the whole county could sence it and couldn't wait for the the next season.
The two mcgees actually three of them then would have played plenty at the stage and where on the wrong side on many a hiding, ( remember eamon only actually got back into the fold as a sub for the Kildare game for say misdemeanors), so they would of been in a terrible awkward situation as well, but fair play to them they stuck with the panel and we as a county were better for it, but could you imagine what it must of been like for them to play club again. And your right if we had to of lost against Mayo there wudnt be much chat about Jim now. All fine margins even in that final in 12 we were dead on our feet in the last 10 mins but held out for glory.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 09/01/2021 23:58:15    2326843

Replying To FootblockREF:  "McGuiness overreacted which wasn't rare for him. Didn't he refuse to do the press conference after the 2012 All Ireland Final because Declan Bogue was in the room and it was still about the book written in the previous year? Also he accused Stephen Gollogy of a dirty challenge in the 2013 Ulster Final when he simply wanted the ball more.
Cassidy comes off well in the programme. The revelation that he was asked back in 2012 damages McGuinness' credibility. McGee's don't come off great but in fairness they were in a very difficult situation."
The timing of the book was most unfortunate for all within the Donegal set up. It's author was one of the very few to penetrate inside Donegal's famous defensive shield of 2011/12 . Would have thought a journalist might have had a duty of care to his subject , especially one likely to boost sales of the book. Always thought it odd that McGuinness was kept in the dark while some other Ulster county managers were made aware that one of their panel was giving exclusive cooperation to a sports writer during the championship season.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 10/01/2021 00:01:51    2326844

Replying To Tyrion:  "Guessing flaker your looking for a donegal fans reply, and that's just the point you won't get many, at the time all this happened between Jim and Kevin we as a whole could genuinely feel we were on the cusp of something huge, so whatever Jim said there's was no questioning, remember we hadn't won the A I in 20 yrs and like yourselfs where hungry. Without a doubt Kevin was huge for us esp in 11 but he was hard to handle, most quality guys are. There was only going to be one voice in the changing room and that was Jim and I don't know if you've picked up on the program but Kevin was starting to do his own thing, so there's more to it than the book. The saga between the two caused huge rifts up here and there was many's a deep arguments outside of the said group so can't imagine what was going on inside the group. Now Kevin did get the offer to come back into the fold but he definitely knew the rules by that stage and with him being free spirited it wasn't going to work.
Both men gave us great yrs of joy and nobody up here will say or hear nothing bad against them."
Is there any chance that Jim saw the book as an opportunity to make an example of Cassidy?
Exert his authority to the rest of the group,, eliminate indiscipline etc.
I'm not a manager and I'm sure even shall details are important but from what I gather Cassidy just went through some warm up routines with the author,, hardly a sacking offense.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 10/01/2021 00:45:08    2326845

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Thanks for that Tyrion. I must say I enjoyed the programme as all laochra Gael programmes. I felt sorry for both Jim and Kevin. Both great servant to Donegal and hope at a future time both can have a drink together again."
Why did you feel sorry for Jim?
He ended up winning the all Ireland, and as for his relationship with Cassidy,, he doesn't strike me as the type of guy who worries about sentiment.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 10/01/2021 00:48:43    2326846

Replying To Galway9801:  "Why did you feel sorry for Jim?
He ended up winning the all Ireland, and as for his relationship with Cassidy,, he doesn't strike me as the type of guy who worries about sentiment."
I always felt Jim cared alot about his players and might feel guilty over the Cassidy affair. He did ask him back in fairness before the championship began.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 10/01/2021 07:39:59    2326853