Thanks For The Memories Biggy

Graham "biggy" Reilly has announced his retirement from inter county football. The last Meath player to be playing with a Leinster medal. (One of only 2 non dubs ) he was sublime, often getting a rough time from other teams to nullify his impact. Thanks for the memories and enjoy retirement.
You owe us nothing, you gave it all.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/01/2021 14:55:58    2325942

Ah RD, you're auld favourite, fair play to you mind, you stuck by him. Good luck to the lad!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 04/01/2021 16:35:41    2325962

Replying To realdub:  "Ah RD, you're auld favourite, fair play to you mind, you stuck by him. Good luck to the lad!"
Ahh he gave that excitement when he got on the ball that few do. He gave me and Meath supporters a fantastic time in many games. As you said all the best to him, I know he is doing coaching badges so maybe one day he will send out a Meath team at some level.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/01/2021 16:54:20    2325966

I thought he had already retired , more like an official retirement. He wasn't part of the Meath panel last year. A good half forward.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 04/01/2021 17:13:12    2325970

Bigger players also gone in the last few days, David Clarke And Donnie Vaughan and Donie Shine in Roscommon; three fabulous players who gave so much to their counties..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 04/01/2021 17:26:25    2325975

Replying To FoolsGold:  "I thought he had already retired , more like an official retirement. He wasn't part of the Meath panel last year. A good half forward."
No had taken a year out to try and regain fitness. Was hoping to return this year. But just didn't feel he could offer more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/01/2021 17:28:55    2325978

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Bigger players also gone in the last few days, David Clarke And Donnie Vaughan and Donie Shine in Roscommon; three fabulous players who gave so much to their counties.."
Well then start a thread about them players. Don't try to disrespect one player by saying this was bigger players than them nonsense.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/01/2021 17:31:11    2325979

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well then start a thread about them players. Don't try to disrespect one player by saying this was bigger players than them nonsense."
Biggy players is your headline.. thought that Meath lad retired two years ago..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 04/01/2021 19:09:25    2326003

Great servent to Meath over the years and a decent enough player who always seemed to run out of steam in games. Like all the other lads who retired recently, hope it all goes well for them

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 04/01/2021 21:01:35    2326028

Biggy was quite a good player for Meath down the years, very much a player who divided opinion but offered a lot to the county set up.

bluegossun (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 04/01/2021 21:13:18    2326029

Great player he was and pulled Meath through a good few games with his scoring prowess.Good that he's putting back into the game with coaching etc.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 04/01/2021 21:29:32    2326031

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Biggy players is your headline.. thought that Meath lad retired two years ago.."
Nope he did not. He played in super 8 s v Donegal. Took a year out due to injury, hoping to make a recovery. Didn't happen. Show some respect to a fantastic player who gave up his youth and upto now for gaa. Pathetic

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/01/2021 23:07:52    2326051

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Biggy players is your headline.. thought that Meath lad retired two years ago.."
It's biggy not bigger. As in his nickname since he was 12, all anyone in team or management ever called him same as supporters, did you not know that ??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/01/2021 12:35:08    2326094

Big Tom Parsons retire from Mayo.
Now that's a big player and had a great career with Mayo winning numerous provincial medals..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 05/01/2021 12:52:37    2326103

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Big Tom Parsons retire from Mayo.
Now that's a big player and had a great career with Mayo winning numerous provincial medals.."
Bigger than Biggy?
For Meath supporters, who'd you take, Beggy or Biggy?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2031 - 05/01/2021 17:26:53    2326142

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Big Tom Parsons retire from Mayo.
Now that's a big player and had a great career with Mayo winning numerous provincial medals.."
Tom Parsons is big alright, 6'3", big big Sligo man who played for Mayo.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2736 - 05/01/2021 17:40:53    2326150

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Bigger than Biggy?
For Meath supporters, who'd you take, Beggy or Biggy?"
Beggy and its not even close

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 05/01/2021 17:56:34    2326154

Replying To royaldunne:  "Graham "biggy" Reilly has announced his retirement from inter county football. The last Meath player to be playing with a Leinster medal. (One of only 2 non dubs ) he was sublime, often getting a rough time from other teams to nullify his impact. Thanks for the memories and enjoy retirement.
You owe us nothing, you gave it all."
All the best Biggy. You gave long service.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1333 - 05/01/2021 18:10:47    2326158

Anybody else wonder what got under the skins of these galway yokes ? Very bitter. Perhaps they should stick to the stick.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/01/2021 23:15:08    2326221

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anybody else wonder what got under the skins of these galway yokes ? Very bitter. Perhaps they should stick to the stick."
Another big player goes today.. Seamie O Shea
Numerous provincial medals.. A biggie indeed

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 06/01/2021 10:25:14    2326247