Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To oneoff:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Munster: All-Ireland Senior Football wins - 50 (Kerry (37), Cork (7), Tipp (4) & Limerick (2). Runners-up - 42

Leinster: AI Senior Football wins - 52 Dublin (30), Meath (7), Wexford (5), Kildare (4), Offaly (3) & Louth (3). Runners-up - 38"
Well lets dwell on those Leinster winners for a minute. The nearest to Dublin has only seven All Irelands- the same as Cork. Wexford last won the All Ireland over a hundred years ago and contested none since, while winning five All Ireland titles. Kildare won their last All Ireland over ninety years ago and contested two about twenty years ago. Loth has not won or appeared in a final in over sixty years and Offaly have not played in or contested a Football Final since 1982, while they have three All Irelands since. So maybe it is a Hurling province, seeing as many of the major GAA counties like Kilkenny, Offaly, Laois and Wexford all seem to put hurling first and Westmeath and Carlow are about 50/50."
Apparently you're not allowed to talk about that though...."]Do you have a link to say you are not allowed to talk about it ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/01/2021 00:04:42    2329641

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Munster football teams have contested 92 football allirelands winning 50 and losing 42.

Leinster football teams have contested 90 football allirelands winning 52 and losing 38.

So Munster teams have been in more allireland football finals than leinster teams, not bad for a supposed hurling province."
Sure isn't it easier to get to a final if you're coming out of Munster. A wonder it's not more with the stroll out of Munster when the rest are all hurling.
Jaysus , I'll have to draw pictures next.
Anyway, sure keep on with whatever makes you happy like. Everything is grand , there's no issue with the Munster championship.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/01/2021 10:43:29    2329660

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's predominantly hurling but totally unfair to label it a "hurling province".
2 of the top 4 in the football roll of honour are from munster and nemo rangers are a very successful club team,, winning multiple all Irelands
Tipp footballers have reached 2 all Ireland semis in the last 5 seasons,, beating my County along the way in 2016 (hammering us actually),, while limerick and Clare have both reached quarter finals recently too (not sure of the year).
Historically the only province that kerry would have struggled to dominate is ulster and even at that my money says kerry would have come out of ulster more often than not."
"Predominantly hurling but not a hurling province"

This discussion is pointless.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 30/01/2021 11:05:11    2329667

Replying To Breffni40:  ""Predominantly hurling but not a hurling province"

This discussion is pointless."
Yes, predominantly hurling but not a "hurling province" .
There's no contradiction there at all.
Saying its a hurling province implies there's almost no football there,which isn't true.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 30/01/2021 11:34:36    2329676

Replying To catch22:  "Sure isn't it easier to get to a final if you're coming out of Munster. A wonder it's not more with the stroll out of Munster when the rest are all hurling.
Anyway, sure keep on with whatever makes you happy like. Everything is grand , there's no issue with the Munster championship."
They're not all hurling though.
Waterford is the only munster county that even comes close to being all hurling.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 30/01/2021 11:38:56    2329677

Kerry play in a province where they are the only county that prioritises football over hurling.

That has historically been an advantage, and has played a part in their dominance of football nationally. Under the old system they could expect to be in 6/7 All-Ireland Semi finals each decade. Its not the sole reason and doesn't diminish their tremendous footballing heritage imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 30/01/2021 12:01:36    2329679

Also to add, because no one is allowed make a point what someone coming back with whataboutery etc, the rest of Leinster's poor quality has been an advantage to this current Dublin team as they've been guaranteed into the Quarter-Finals every year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 30/01/2021 12:09:59    2329682

Replying To MesAmis:  "Also to add, because no one is allowed make a point what someone coming back with whataboutery etc, the rest of Leinster's poor quality has been an advantage to this current Dublin team as they've been guaranteed into the Quarter-Finals every year."
The rest of Leinsters poor quality has been a big advantage no doubt,, I haven't heard anyone, dubs or non dubs, say otherwise,, but leinster throughout gaa history has generally been poor,, regardless of which code the counties prioritise.
Kerry if I'm not mistaken have won all Irelands on the back of winning 81 munster titles.
I'll bet had they swapped places with Dublin they would have won as many leinster titles and the dubs would not have won the same amount of munster titles.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 30/01/2021 12:35:24    2329689

Replying To MesAmis:  "Kerry play in a province where they are the only county that prioritises football over hurling.

That has historically been an advantage, and has played a part in their dominance of football nationally. Under the old system they could expect to be in 6/7 All-Ireland Semi finals each decade. Its not the sole reason and doesn't diminish their tremendous footballing heritage imo."
Well said and fair play MesAmis. That statement probably makes the most sense of all others.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 30/01/2021 12:43:04    2329694

Replying To catch22:  "Sure isn't it easier to get to a final if you're coming out of Munster. A wonder it's not more with the stroll out of Munster when the rest are all hurling.
Anyway, sure keep on with whatever makes you happy like. Everything is grand , there's no issue with the Munster championship."
I dont know if it's easier to win an allireland coming out of Munster I mean you still have to beat 2 best teams out of the other provinces,

But I do know it's a lot easier to win an allireland if you play all your games at home, dunlin have won 6 out of 6 and 8 out of the Last 10 not to mention their population advantages, kerry have the 4th biggest population in Munster one tenth the population of dublin.

Hi maybe we're just a dual province we're pretty good at both sports.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2021 13:01:04    2329698

Replying To Galway9801:  "Yes, predominantly hurling but not a "hurling province" .
There's no contradiction there at all.
Saying its a hurling province implies there's almost no football there,which isn't true."
That's your interpretation and not what I implied. You can see that from the rest of my posts. You don't have to tell me who's won what and when. I'm well aware thank you.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 30/01/2021 14:15:16    2329704

Replying To Breffni40:  "That's your interpretation and not what I implied. You can see that from the rest of my posts. You don't have to tell me who's won what and when. I'm well aware thank you."
You're welcome

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 30/01/2021 14:21:30    2329706

Replying To Breffni40:  "That's your interpretation and not what I implied. You can see that from the rest of my posts. You don't have to tell me who's won what and when. I'm well aware thank you."
Did you know that it's Munster teams that top the roll of honor in senior U21/U20 and Minor football?

And that it's leinster that top the roll of honor in senior and minor hurling? Munster top the roll of honor at the U21 grade of hurling.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2021 14:36:46    2329710

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Did you know that it's Munster teams that top the roll of honor in senior U21/U20 and Minor football?

And that it's leinster that top the roll of honor in senior and minor hurling? Munster top the roll of honor at the U21 grade of hurling."
Again, like I said , that's probably due to it being easier to get to the final for those Munster teams.
The evidence is there and you're pointing to it.
Keep her lit boy.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/01/2021 16:25:01    2329731

Another one bows out. Cork s Tomas Clancy steps away from inter County football aged 30 years. Enjoy retirement Tomás.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 02/02/2021 19:46:55    2330164

All the best to Tomás Clancy on his retirement at only 30 years old, and best of luck to him in the future.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/02/2021 14:24:42    2330267

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "All the best to Tomás Clancy on his retirement at only 30 years old, and best of luck to him in the future."
and a good one he was, he had a few very good years but then injury etc..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 04/02/2021 16:58:06    2330284

Paul Ryan of Dublin, has a Leinster medal and NHL medal I think, one of the best and most consistent free takers i seen in recent years when he was a regular on the team...a big loss to the Dublin panel..32 years of age..he will probably fade from memory outside of Dublin over time... an excellent hurler...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 12/02/2021 14:43:58    2331200

Another great dual player bows out today. Conal Kearney retires after great service to Dublin in both codes. A player I always enjoyed watching him play. I felt sorry he left the football before winning an all ireland but at least he won a club all ireland with Ballyboden. Wishing him all the best in retirement. A great example to kids.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 19/04/2021 19:56:07    2337914

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Another great dual player bows out today. Conal Kearney retires after great service to Dublin in both codes. A player I always enjoyed watching him play. I felt sorry he left the football before winning an all ireland but at least he won a club all ireland with Ballyboden. Wishing him all the best in retirement. A great example to kids."
Conal Keaney...what a player...oozing with class and an excellent score getter....a loss to Dublin hurling in particular as they really depended on him...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 19/04/2021 22:57:31    2337960