Leinster Football

Replying To Cbar:  "I think what you are saying is right, getting to D1, playing the big teams should be the priority. But ultimately, getting to D1 to play the big teams is to prepare a team for Championship and making progress there.

In Leinster, even if you are a D1 team (such as Meath were) not only are you not going to win a Provincial, you are going to get hammered trying. That's why I am asking the question - are Laois (and others) able to keep teams together or is it a constant rebuilding exercise because you can't keep players motivated where there is no real reward.

The only difference I see between Meath and say Mayo or Ross is that Mayo and Ross can see progress being made - we won Connacht this year, that showed progress, something to work on. Meath don't have that - if they keep the Dublin defeat to less than 10 pts it's not a bad year and that's not much of a motivation.

And I would have agreed with you re Provincials - but I don't anymore. The most that the vast majority of teams aim for is a Provincial crown . If we don't have that we are all chasing 1 prize which is not achievable for 31 counties right now....if we didn't have the Provincials, the AI might be like the current Leinster championship"
In the last 12 years, outside of Dublin, Kildare were the only Leinster county to maintain Division 1 status for more than 1 year.

I have pointed this out in another thread, that the current league structure has been a catalyst for differences in standards, most obviously in Leinster. Dublin have played at division 1 since 2009 with no other Leinster county sustaining that status for any prolonged period. Dublin have had a higher standard of games to prepare for the championship as a result.

This effect has become more profound with each passing year since the current leage structure was introduced in 2008. For example, up until 2012 (maybe even 2013), Kildare, Meath & Wexford were putting it up to Dublin in Leinster. With each passing year that these teams played in lower divisions & Dublin in division 1, the gap has widened.

For all the provincial championships to flourish, I believe the league needs to go to 16 teams in division 1 (8 in 1A & 8 in 1B). This will get more teams playing at a higher standard. In the case of Leinster, if any county wants to challenge Dublin, they need to get to division 1. At the moment, this is a jump too far, epitomised by Meath this year.

Manners5 (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 21/12/2020 20:44:49    2325233

Thought this was the right thread to post this on ?

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/there-is-nothing-to-be-gained-from-division-or-in-depicting-dublin-as-a-problem-leinster-gaa-chairman-pat-teehan-40011848.html

Interview from Irish Independent this morning with Pat Teehan the Leinster chairman, re future of Leinster football.

Sounds like he's toeing the party line of our National Association leader ??....so if Dublins success is in no way attributed to financial investment or any other advantages they enjoy, then it looks like a lot of Leinster Counties Volunteers will be needing to pull their socks up and work as hard some of those 'super' Dublin volunteers... as one or two of the Dublin posters on here might say " nothing to see here, move on " !!

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 26/01/2021 11:59:39    2328985

Replying To Black+Blue:  "Thought this was the right thread to post this on ?

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/there-is-nothing-to-be-gained-from-division-or-in-depicting-dublin-as-a-problem-leinster-gaa-chairman-pat-teehan-40011848.html

Interview from Irish Independent this morning with Pat Teehan the Leinster chairman, re future of Leinster football.

Sounds like he's toeing the party line of our National Association leader ??....so if Dublins success is in no way attributed to financial investment or any other advantages they enjoy, then it looks like a lot of Leinster Counties Volunteers will be needing to pull their socks up and work as hard some of those 'super' Dublin volunteers... as one or two of the Dublin posters on here might say " nothing to see here, move on " !!"
And... he wrote in his speech that he favours 3 nights a week and a game as the preferred schedule for county teams plus limit on the panel size and on the officials/coaches.
That focus f an agreed number of nights training might help lengthen the actual career of county players and add to their personal enjoyment of their commitment.
Currently one woukd have to ask, are managers always keen to promote enjoyment or is their main focus on winning... the answer lies in the latter and this has had a detrimental effect on players joining panels, retiring easrlier than they want or deciding, no, I dont want and am not going to commit to that level of 'enjoyment'.
Perhaps Teehans entire speech should be the focus for discussion as he has the experience of many years involvement from a number perspectives and is looking to maintain a better outlook for players and the games.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 26/01/2021 12:44:33    2328991

Sounds like he's toeing the party line of our National Association leader ??....so if Dublins success is in no way attributed to financial investment or any other advantages they enjoy, then it looks like a lot of Leinster Counties Volunteers will be needing to pull their socks up and work as hard some of those 'super' Dublin volunteers... as one or two of the Dublin posters on here might say " nothing to see here, move on " !!"
Not too sure what you expected him to say. He could have tried to be popular with his fellow Offaly folk and said slash Dublin GDF numbers, deny 2/3rds of the capital's population permission to join their local GAA club, have Dublin play all of their games in Semple Stadium, split the DCB in 4. All of these would be unprecedented measures in the context of the serial successes of other great teams in the past like Kilkenny hurlers (72 Leinsters) or Kerry footballers (81 Munsters). I must have missed the rebellions in Leinster and Munster over these serial winners. No doubt Dublin can generate more funds and have a nice population pool to draw upon but they must be doing something right. Would the outcome in Leinster but any different if Mayo or Kerry played there for the past 9 years? I doubt it. I think the big disappointment in Leinster has been the regression of Kildare and Meath. Why are Kildare and Meath so far off the level of Dublin but not only Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Donegal, Galway? The answer to that question cannot be Dublin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/01/2021 13:07:22    2328996

Replying To Joxer:  "Cork beat Kerry due to appalling decisions on the sideline and terrible conditions. If they had their tactics right then Kerry would have strolled to their 82nd title and I think 8 in a row. Tipp proved how poor Cork are. It would have been 11 in a row for Kerry only for Cork had the audacity to interrupt the annual procession in 2012. Is that a competitive province? I don't think so. In Connaught, predictably, Mayo took their 47th title. They continue to be a cut above the rest and although Galway offer some resistance in this two horse race competition, Mayo continue to be a step ahead of them. Ulster is competitive with Donegal, Tyrone, Cavan, Monaghan and next year Armagh I think, probably all operating about the same level. The provincial competitions are gone now with Kerry, Mayo and Dublin operating at a higher level than anyone in their provinces and a layer above anyone at national level. This year was Kerry's but they blew it on the line."
There's always reasons why teams lose though, bottom line is kerry lost fair avd square and the lads who beat them lost the final.
Connacht has had three different winners the last 4 years and whatever you might think about mayos dominance I'd be pretty disappointed if galway don't win it next year tbh,,
Ulster is competitive as we all know.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1712 - 26/01/2021 13:21:21    2329002

Replying To Joxer:  "Not too sure what you expected him to say. He could have tried to be popular with his fellow Offaly folk and said slash Dublin GDF numbers, deny 2/3rds of the capital's population permission to join their local GAA club, have Dublin play all of their games in Semple Stadium, split the DCB in 4. All of these would be unprecedented measures in the context of the serial successes of other great teams in the past like Kilkenny hurlers (72 Leinsters) or Kerry footballers (81 Munsters). I must have missed the rebellions in Leinster and Munster over these serial winners. No doubt Dublin can generate more funds and have a nice population pool to draw upon but they must be doing something right. Would the outcome in Leinster but any different if Mayo or Kerry played there for the past 9 years? I doubt it. I think the big disappointment in Leinster has been the regression of Kildare and Meath. Why are Kildare and Meath so far off the level of Dublin but not only Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Donegal, Galway? The answer to that question cannot be Dublin."
As has been stated many times, Kilkenny or Kerry dont or didnt have the population/home venue/lack of travel etc etc advantages that Dublin have..so there at least was the possibility that the chasing pack might catch up....Im not saying he should have said change all or any of the above BUT any competition where 1 team has won 15 of the previous 16 titles should have a broader analysis from the person in charge than "The rest will just have to try harder "...it's hardly helpful or encouraging to those Counties that you mention are struggling and falling behind badly.

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 26/01/2021 14:24:53    2329015

Replying To Joxer:  "Not too sure what you expected him to say. He could have tried to be popular with his fellow Offaly folk and said slash Dublin GDF numbers, deny 2/3rds of the capital's population permission to join their local GAA club, have Dublin play all of their games in Semple Stadium, split the DCB in 4. All of these would be unprecedented measures in the context of the serial successes of other great teams in the past like Kilkenny hurlers (72 Leinsters) or Kerry footballers (81 Munsters). I must have missed the rebellions in Leinster and Munster over these serial winners. No doubt Dublin can generate more funds and have a nice population pool to draw upon but they must be doing something right. Would the outcome in Leinster but any different if Mayo or Kerry played there for the past 9 years? I doubt it. I think the big disappointment in Leinster has been the regression of Kildare and Meath. Why are Kildare and Meath so far off the level of Dublin but not only Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Donegal, Galway? The answer to that question cannot be Dublin."
As has been stated many times, Kilkenny or Kerry dont or didnt have the population/home venue/lack of travel etc etc advantages that Dublin have..so there at least was the possibility that the chasing pack might catch up....Im not saying he should have said change all or any of the above BUT any competition where 1 team has won 15 of the previous 16 titles should have a broader analysis from the person in charge than "The rest will just have to try harder "...it's hardly helpful or encouraging to those Counties that you mention are struggling and falling behind badly.

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 26/01/2021 14:33:10    2329016

Replying To Black+Blue:  "As has been stated many times, Kilkenny or Kerry dont or didnt have the population/home venue/lack of travel etc etc advantages that Dublin have..so there at least was the possibility that the chasing pack might catch up....Im not saying he should have said change all or any of the above BUT any competition where 1 team has won 15 of the previous 16 titles should have a broader analysis from the person in charge than "The rest will just have to try harder "...it's hardly helpful or encouraging to those Counties that you mention are struggling and falling behind badly."
And Dublin have won those 15 of the last 16 because of a pile of factors, not just population but the fact that some years ago they saw what needed to be done, got strong people together and got a buy in from clubs to develop their games and yet... there are swathes of Dublin where GAA is not as strong as other sports.

Yes money was put in, huge amounts by clubs themselves , that people are very quick to forget about, that has ensured that their games development officers have as part of their remit, increasing the underage paying numbers.

Without that massive work over the past number of years, GAA would not be as strong and the FAI and IFRU would have become the main playing sports in the capital.

AND what would GAA people be saying then... ye failed to put in the resources to keep GAA alive in our capital !!!
I say, fair play to Dublin !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 26/01/2021 16:10:38    2329036

Your tongue is a bit brown there

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 26/01/2021 16:23:21    2329037

Replying To royaldunne:  "The one where Dublin is.
The other 3 would be the same if they played there. To say otherwise is nonsense."
RD I'm not seeing any way that the Dubs would have won 10 titles in a row in any of the other provinces. Had they played Kerry in Munster in 11 I believe Kerry would have beaten them (should have beaten them in the final except for showboating) . Mayo did beat them in 12 and would likely have done that in Connacht had they met there. Don't know about 13... but the Dubs weren't a class apart that year either. 14 they were well beaten by Donegal and I think both Kerry and Mayo would have had a 50/50 chance against them too. 15, again no great gulf which would have guaranteed any province other than Leinster. 16, Mayo were 6 points the better team the first day out and the replay could have gone either way. 17 the same, nothing much in it. 18, 19 and 20 I agree the Dubs would have won whichever province they played in but not by the same margins they swept through Leinster. So not sure if they'd have managed more than 3 or 4 in a row anywhere else.

In a few other posts in different threads you seem to have suggested that after Leinster the Dubs take their foot off the gas. You're well entitled to believe that, but I don't understand why they'd be more motivated to win Leinster than win the AI.

I agree with posters who point to the disruption caused by large population growth, but at some point that will stabilise and Meath and Kildare will bounce back once the structures adapt to make use of all of those extra potential players.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/01/2021 17:01:26    2329043

Replying To carlowman:  "And Dublin have won those 15 of the last 16 because of a pile of factors, not just population but the fact that some years ago they saw what needed to be done, got strong people together and got a buy in from clubs to develop their games and yet... there are swathes of Dublin where GAA is not as strong as other sports.

Yes money was put in, huge amounts by clubs themselves , that people are very quick to forget about, that has ensured that their games development officers have as part of their remit, increasing the underage paying numbers.

Without that massive work over the past number of years, GAA would not be as strong and the FAI and IFRU would have become the main playing sports in the capital.

AND what would GAA people be saying then... ye failed to put in the resources to keep GAA alive in our capital !!!
I say, fair play to Dublin !"
I hope you are still saying fair play to them when they make it 19 out of 20 Leinster titles !

To be honest it doesn't really bother me who wins Leinster or how many times Dublin win it but I hope that whoever is in charge at National level in the near future is a bit more analytical in their assessment after Dublin collect 15 out of 16 All Irelands ! ...thats not hyperbole but surely a strong possibility at this stage ? ...

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 26/01/2021 17:30:58    2329046

I'm not sure what else he can say to be honest. He cannot promote a reduction in standards and as a top Leinster offical for a number of reasons cannot promote taking on Dublin GAA by championing the argument of splitting them in two.

The only way Dublin will be split is if Dublin want that; they make the decision and they alone decide the gaels of Dublin believe their should be two "counties" within the Dublin population. Anything else or a directive from the wider GAA will result in serious problems for the association in the capital; leading to bad press, negative headlines and in all likeihood a reduction in commercial potential.

In any event it's unlikely the majority in Dublin would go along with the split; either not regonising the new arrangements siding with what they see as the "Dublin team" or simply pulling Dublin teams out of inter county altogether until it's resolved.

He is right about the revenue Dublin can produce but as the capital there is little that can be done about that. Kildare and Meath in particular need assistance and a programme to drive up their standards as do the other major counties although I suspect the other "weathly counties" and there are a few aren't too far away from closing the gap nationally.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 26/01/2021 17:43:11    2329048

As a once famous man once said " you have to butter the bread before you make the sambo ! " .
... hope he's enjoying his sambo ....
I'll leave Leinster to ye Leinster lads now..best of luck

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 26/01/2021 18:53:22    2329053

Agree with some earlier posts. From a Meath point of view the huge migration of Dublin people to Meath in recent times has led to a loss of identity which is part of the reason why we are less competitive. When I was growing up the GAA and Meath was more part of kids identity. Back then Meath was mainly a rural county with 3 big local towns, Navan, Trim and Kells.
Now in many parts of Meath a huge number of kids have Dublin parents who, despite being brought up in Meath regard themselves as Dubs. Most of the Dubs who have moved into Meath don't seem to be from a GAA background. Because of this there is less of an interest in Meath and GAA in general in school among kids.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 26/01/2021 20:15:52    2329060

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Agree with some earlier posts. From a Meath point of view the huge migration of Dublin people to Meath in recent times has led to a loss of identity which is part of the reason why we are less competitive. When I was growing up the GAA and Meath was more part of kids identity. Back then Meath was mainly a rural county with 3 big local towns, Navan, Trim and Kells.
Now in many parts of Meath a huge number of kids have Dublin parents who, despite being brought up in Meath regard themselves as Dubs. Most of the Dubs who have moved into Meath don't seem to be from a GAA background. Because of this there is less of an interest in Meath and GAA in general in school among kids."
I live in a border town where the population has boomed in the last decade, these blow ins as we are referred to are made up from people from all corners of the country and further afield . The idea that its dublin people moving accross the border and ruining the meath identity in my opinion is a red herring, our club is run by a very eclectic group as a result as was my own childhood club across the border . My point is that change needs to be embraced rather than rejected because this repopulation wont be reversed.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 26/01/2021 21:05:33    2329068

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Agree with some earlier posts. From a Meath point of view the huge migration of Dublin people to Meath in recent times has led to a loss of identity which is part of the reason why we are less competitive. When I was growing up the GAA and Meath was more part of kids identity. Back then Meath was mainly a rural county with 3 big local towns, Navan, Trim and Kells.
Now in many parts of Meath a huge number of kids have Dublin parents who, despite being brought up in Meath regard themselves as Dubs. Most of the Dubs who have moved into Meath don't seem to be from a GAA background. Because of this there is less of an interest in Meath and GAA in general in school among kids."
Well out out "to hell or Dublin"

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/01/2021 21:44:09    2329072

The whole concept of a provincial set up as they are now is flawed and has outlived its purpose. I understand that the Ulster championship is a very well balanced competition with in itself. However in Leinster every team is psychologically beaten before they even get to enter the environs of Croke Park. It is ok for all teams outside of Leinster to lambast this province saying it is a dead duck. Perhaps it is. So what do we say to all managers and counties here as they start out on another year. What is their goal realistically. They know they are going to be beaten by Dublin, some teams will face the annihilation of a 20 point defeat. They then have to listen about how one sided Leinster has become. How do we encourage younger players to play the game that we all love when their is no realistic goal to be achieved. The beatings that Dublin have handed out to all Leinster counties over the past few years has drained whatever confidence once pertained in those counties. Fair dues to Dublin, they deserve their success and they are a bunch of decent lads off the pitch as well. It is no ones fault that Leinster has become a nothing province in some peoples eyes. I come back to my first sentence where I stated the provincials are a flawed and outdated structure. The solution ? I don't know !
For us in Wicklow , it is to try and keep as many of our younger players interested in playing football for our county. Simple as !

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 26/01/2021 22:35:22    2329081

Replying To cavanman47:  "But Cork beat Kerry too. Not like it was a 1-off miracle year by just Tipp. And Limerick almost beat tipp too.

Connaught has had 3 different winners in the last 4 years.

Ulster is competitive as you say.

It's just Leinster that's not."
Is Muns exciting given the competitiveness you state ?

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2603 - 26/01/2021 23:27:34    2329088

The man is right,sure Keep the Leinster Championship as it is...NO!
He has a very simplistic answer and if it were that simple the Leinster championship would not be the dead duck it is or did he even notice.
The fear of change can be all consuming!

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 26/01/2021 23:28:28    2329089

Replying To Joxer:  "Cork beat Kerry due to appalling decisions on the sideline and terrible conditions. If they had their tactics right then Kerry would have strolled to their 82nd title and I think 8 in a row. Tipp proved how poor Cork are. It would have been 11 in a row for Kerry only for Cork had the audacity to interrupt the annual procession in 2012. Is that a competitive province? I don't think so. In Connaught, predictably, Mayo took their 47th title. They continue to be a cut above the rest and although Galway offer some resistance in this two horse race competition, Mayo continue to be a step ahead of them. Ulster is competitive with Donegal, Tyrone, Cavan, Monaghan and next year Armagh I think, probably all operating about the same level. The provincial competitions are gone now with Kerry, Mayo and Dublin operating at a higher level than anyone in their provinces and a layer above anyone at national level. This year was Kerry's but they blew it on the line."
Your comments about the Connacht SFC are way off in my opinion. Mayo won their first provincial title in five years this term in a squeaker against Galway, who should be stronger this term, once the Covid pandemic subsides. Roscommon have also won two Nestor Cups in recent seasons and have been in Division One and the Super Eights. Even London made a provincial title decider a few years back!

I think regaining the Connacht SFC would also be a major achievement, given the huge loss of experience within the panel recently. Barrett and Clarke are huge losses in particular, as few teams can easily replace their goalie and full-back at the same time. I think even the Dubs would struggle to replace Cluxton, given how pivotal he is to their pattern of play.

So in comparison to Leinster, all to play for.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/01/2021 06:00:16    2329097