Should The Fisted Goal Be Abolished.?

Replying To avonali:  "Look Mesamis, if Dublin kicked those goals at close range yesterday you'd have clowns arguing that only shots from 10metres out ought to be counted as goals."
And if Mayo had scored a similar goal to win you'd be the first, in your own words, clown to come on here to complain about it.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 21/12/2020 09:27:34    2324957

Replying To gatha:  "I think it should be abolished. In Hurling you have to score with the hurl why is football different. I would say it is harder to score with a hurl then your foot when you are being challenged."
You can score with foot in hurling too.

As far as I know you can actually slap/fist the sliotar to the net as long as it comes to you from another player.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 21/12/2020 09:29:33    2324960

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "I agree. The name of the game is "Football". All scores, points and goals, should result from kicked balls."
So would you also be abolishing scores with the head in Association Football, touchdowns in American Football, and tries in Rugby Football??

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 21/12/2020 09:45:08    2324968

Can people not make a valid point without others thinking they are getting at their team. This post is just a topic on a view on the palmed goal. Dublin got two goals the last day by the hand. Now whether we like it or not both goals were within the rules and legit. However we can all have a view that has nothing to do with those goals. It's a general view. My view is í don't like palmed goals but I have no problem with the fisted goals.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 21/12/2020 10:04:15    2324983

Replying To football first:  "So would you also be abolishing scores with the head in Association Football, touchdowns in American Football, and tries in Rugby Football??"
Abolishing heading the ball in soccer might happen.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 21/12/2020 10:26:26    2324995

Is it a coincidence that in the year when very few got to see games but we see them from all angles on television, then overanalysed, often by clueless gobshi+es, trolling on Social media and overexposed to 'entertainment' on Netflix, Amazon, Disney etc, that we find gaelic football less 'entertaining' than before? For years there are posts here finding faults and some are proposing solutions but it's been like an epidemic in the second half of 2020 on Hoganstand. Big difference to watching a game on TV and the buzz of being there. For me television will never replicate the hard hits to get the crowd going, the anguish and ecstacy when the keeper makes a match winning save or the boos from supporters telling their team to stop kicking ball laterally and to take the game to the opposition. A lot of us are cranky this year so we're probably finding faults in a bit more than gaelic football. A lot of armchair virologist, doctors, and politicians on Facebook offering their expertise. Watching games on telly is grand but it'll never ever beat being there. The GAA have done a remarkable job to have clubs active at underage, to have intercounty camogie, hurling, Ladies and mens football go ahead through all these restrictions and should be very proud of themselves. Please God crowds will be back soon and we'll have a different view but still strive to improve the game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 21/12/2020 11:07:36    2325013

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Is it a coincidence that in the year when very few got to see games but we see them from all angles on television, then overanalysed, often by clueless gobshi+es, trolling on Social media and overexposed to 'entertainment' on Netflix, Amazon, Disney etc, that we find gaelic football less 'entertaining' than before? For years there are posts here finding faults and some are proposing solutions but it's been like an epidemic in the second half of 2020 on Hoganstand. Big difference to watching a game on TV and the buzz of being there. For me television will never replicate the hard hits to get the crowd going, the anguish and ecstacy when the keeper makes a match winning save or the boos from supporters telling their team to stop kicking ball laterally and to take the game to the opposition. A lot of us are cranky this year so we're probably finding faults in a bit more than gaelic football. A lot of armchair virologist, doctors, and politicians on Facebook offering their expertise. Watching games on telly is grand but it'll never ever beat being there. The GAA have done a remarkable job to have clubs active at underage, to have intercounty camogie, hurling, Ladies and mens football go ahead through all these restrictions and should be very proud of themselves. Please God crowds will be back soon and we'll have a different view but still strive to improve the game."
How many games have you been to where a team is playing over and back probing for an opening in the blanket defence. . .only for a clueless idiot screaming at them to "let it in" to the 5'7" corner forward who's double or triple marked!?

Nothing beats being there but that's one thing I certainly didn't miss this year!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 21/12/2020 11:31:05    2325020

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Is it a coincidence that in the year when very few got to see games but we see them from all angles on television, then overanalysed, often by clueless gobshi+es, trolling on Social media and overexposed to 'entertainment' on Netflix, Amazon, Disney etc, that we find gaelic football less 'entertaining' than before? For years there are posts here finding faults and some are proposing solutions but it's been like an epidemic in the second half of 2020 on Hoganstand. Big difference to watching a game on TV and the buzz of being there. For me television will never replicate the hard hits to get the crowd going, the anguish and ecstacy when the keeper makes a match winning save or the boos from supporters telling their team to stop kicking ball laterally and to take the game to the opposition. A lot of us are cranky this year so we're probably finding faults in a bit more than gaelic football. A lot of armchair virologist, doctors, and politicians on Facebook offering their expertise. Watching games on telly is grand but it'll never ever beat being there. The GAA have done a remarkable job to have clubs active at underage, to have intercounty camogie, hurling, Ladies and mens football go ahead through all these restrictions and should be very proud of themselves. Please God crowds will be back soon and we'll have a different view but still strive to improve the game."
Amen to that. Well done to the GAA at all levels for providing games in this trying year, and for completing the All Ireland series, despite the many obstacles this year.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 21/12/2020 11:34:15    2325022

Replying To football first:  "So would you also be abolishing scores with the head in Association Football, touchdowns in American Football, and tries in Rugby Football??"
Headed goals in soccer should be banned, on 2 grounds: (1) concussion / dementia / legal challenges by players; (2) always a sign of a poor team if that is all they rely on - reliant on set pieces and some big lad dropping the head on it. Get rid of it.

American football and rugby are primarily handball games anyway, most American "footballers" couldn't kick snow off a rope, and even in Rugby it's left to kicking specialists. I was in Dallas cowboys stadium once with a load of American footballers; we all had a go at kicking their ball over their posts (the Y shaped yokes with no goal). Everyone from Europe, to a man (mix of soccer, GAA and Rugby backgrounds), could hit the American football ball straight and true. But most of the American lads were so bad at kicking their ball that I initially thought they were drunk. One lad missed the ball altogether, and fell. Others hit it sideways. One guy stubbed his toe. It's just not something US people do naturally. Of course, when it came to throwing their ball, they obliterated us - they could throw the thing like a missile for 50 yards, whereas all the Europeans were pure rubbish at the long throws. Horses for courses.

In Gaelic, I have no issues (obviously) with catching the ball or fist passing it. I'm OK with a proper hand pass, but all I can say is that handpassing now looks more like throwing to me, half the time. I thought Dublin's second goal was well done, so I'd be less annoyed about retaning a fisted score, as several have noted. But I cannot stand palmed in / hand-passed scores. There's *no skill involved in the final touch*. Foot, you can slice it and get it badly wrong, so a great test of skill. Even the fist has a bit of uncertainty. But this palming business, spare me. Agree also with forward mark - get rid.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/12/2020 11:39:47    2325025

I will agree being at a match is better then tv. However the way football is played today is very hard to watch. I am a neutral as far as any football team. I have to say the entertainment factor over the las few years has gone way down. There are only a handful of games that I would say were worth even watching over the last few years. Some of the semi-finals were ridiculous recently. I loved to watch Dublin and Meath, Kerry and Cork, Mayo and Galway and nearly any Ulster championship matches in the past. Now I will always put the games on and usually after 10 mins. I will know if it is going to be worth watching or not. I don't know what the answer is but there is a real problem out there.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 21/12/2020 11:44:14    2325026

It isn't just this year the problem has arisen though. Dublin have played this negative keep ball and back pass game since 2011. Other teams have copied them or tried to. Dublin fans will then blame Tyrone for the 'blanket defence' game of the mid 00's for adopting this type of play. I would argue the game was a far better spectacle back then compared to now or last year. The All Ireland final usually ends up being exciting enough, and that wipes the memory of people who sat through weekends of absolute muck through the summer. The excitement in the game of football which was always the long high speculative kick into the forward lines with a 50/50 chance for defender/attacker to gain control is what a lot of people want to see. Not basketball, or rugby league. But you are right about being at games, the excitement of being there can't be replaced...even if being from Leitrim you know it most likely won't be a positive result!

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 21/12/2020 12:04:35    2325034

Replying To GalwaysFinest:  "You might tell your colleagues about using the foot..... why should the fisted goal be abolished? it takes skill to open a team up like that and teamwork and unselfishness to work a palmed goal. A fisted goal is a great skill in the game too. It adds excitement, something Gaelic football definitely requires"
They aren't my colleagues. Why should the fisted goal be kept? You haven't provided a good reason for keeping it. All goals and points should be scored with the foot. Handling the ball should be limited to passing and catching. Catching a high ball and scoring with the foot requires a lot more skill and is actually exciting to watch.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 21/12/2020 12:48:43    2325052

Fisted goal and point should be abolished. I hate watching it, a corner back with no feet who spends the majority of his game holding and pulling the guy he's marking finds himself on the end of a move and hadn't the capability of kicking it over the bar as pace can fist it over. If youre not good enough to kick scores in a game of "football" you're not good enough. Doing away with the fisted goal also would change the whole emphasis on attacking play. Plus good goalkeepers should get the credit they deserve for narrowing angles and shot stopping rather than having the ball popped over their head for some rushing in to just fist it home.

oso (Antrim) - Posts: 168 - 22/12/2020 10:06:01    2325328

Sure let's go the whole hog and abolish the hand pass as well. All passes and shots must only be with the foot. :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/12/2020 12:54:58    2325371