Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "This Dublin team wouldnt be jumping around against the Meath team of the 80s or Offaly team of early 70's...a row in the tunnel would mean Brian Fenton might have a great first half but would be subbed "injured" in second...its a sign of the fight gone out of football that there is almost "surprise" that there was a tunnel incident this evening, and more amazing it took the All Ireland final for there to be one, the beating Dublin gave Meath, scoring a third goal with almost last play of the game and the home and hosed, the player bundling the ball into the net should not be remembering anything else of the game...teams are too soft, the clip of the 1975 Munster football final where a Cork and Kerry player decked each other, ref pulls them up and makes them shake hands and get on with it....Dublin will continue to destroy and humiliate teams until some team decides to stand up to them..its easy be a nice sporting and "lovely team" when you are winning...people saying Brian Cody always gracious in defeat, most of the time, I seen him a few times in defeat when he wasnt so nice..nothing wrong with it, if you have no bottle you will always finish second..great Dublin team and all that but no one will lay a hand on any of their star players..."
Ask Brian tally how he got on in the tunnel in 83? I'm sure he'd have a different opinion than yours. Keep suckin them lemons.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 20/12/2020 08:59:25    2324363

Philly McMahon walking down the tunnel, head down, minding his own business, I'm sure! Lad's got a PhD in sh*t stirring. Oisin McConville at HT reckoned it showed Mayo were going to stand up to Dublin, still lost though so didn't make much difference.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/12/2020 08:59:25    2324364

Replying To Ashrules:  "If players act out of line in the heat of a match there is some excuse depending on ones viewpoint.If as suggested mc mahon got involved with players còming off while not picked to play that is common assault.The guards should have stepped in and made an arrest as you would expect if anyone outside the game attacks a player."
It looked like Higgins was the aggressor.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 20/12/2020 09:06:47    2324369

As usual rte gloss over half time incident but any other team would get 30 minutes of a bile ladder attack.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 20/12/2020 09:07:48    2324370

Watched the Sunday Game last night and as I thought the panel never even mentioned this incident.

What was worse was that Joanne actually had a joke with Philly about it.

Could you imagine an RTE presenter having a laugh with any other county player about them attacking an opponent in the tunnel on the way to the changing rooms!?

RTE's bias holds no bounds.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 20/12/2020 09:46:23    2324390

Replying To Wally:  "I for one am absolutely disgusted at the scenes at half time in the all ireland final today.

I actually feel physically sick just thinking about the behaviour of both Dublin and Mayo players involved.

Something has to be done about this and the gas needs to throw the book needs at both counties.

I don't think it is taking it too far to say that both counties should be expelled from next years championship.

I hope that all hoganstand posters will row in behind me in an act of solidarity and consistency on these issues."
I can almost taste your sarcasm

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 20/12/2020 10:07:37    2324397

Replying To Wally:  "Watched the Sunday Game last night and as I thought the panel never even mentioned this incident.

Could you imagine an RTE presenter having a laugh with any other county player about them attacking an opponent in the tunnel on the way to the changing rooms!?

RTE's bias holds no bounds."
If I'm not mistaken was it not Philly who was attacked?? Did Keith Higgins not have him by the throat??

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1916 - 20/12/2020 10:15:50    2324401

Replying To Ashrules:  "If players act out of line in the heat of a match there is some excuse depending on ones viewpoint.If as suggested mc mahon got involved with players còming off while not picked to play that is common assault.The guards should have stepped in and made an arrest as you would expect if anyone outside the game attacks a player."
The guards (your words) have enough to do with all that goes on outside football pitches and I'm not referring to handbags in a tunnel, although I do include handbag stealing and all the knife attacks around our cities and town. Folk have to get real. Now the issue of diving goes on in all matches and some players are better than others at that art along with feigning injury. In yesterdays match one player had his jersey pulled but he mysteriously raised himself off the ground with his feet higher than his head as he fell to the ground-reminded me of tag wrestling years ago! Now there should be a difference between a 'shoulder' and an 'elbow' to the chest.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/12/2020 10:21:30    2324403

Replying To Bon:  "If I'm not mistaken was it not Philly who was attacked?? Did Keith Higgins not have him by the throat??"
Yep. And AOS punched him in the head as Higgins held him. McMahon didn't raise a hand at all. Should have been a red card for O'Shea. But doesn't matter now.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 20/12/2020 10:28:13    2324410

Replying To Bon:  "If I'm not mistaken was it not Philly who was attacked?? Did Keith Higgins not have him by the throat??"
You want to see the tweet sent to Philly which he shared last night, unbelievable the depths people will go. Its only sport.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 20/12/2020 10:34:07    2324417

Oh my god I just can't get over the hatred for the dubs,it's pure and utter jealousy..as I mentioned on another day was i the only neutral hoping they'd win..we in limerick are facing the same bitterness with 2 in 3 years..ha,ha,ha I'm really enjoying this..keep winning lads..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2230 - 20/12/2020 10:52:42    2324431

Replying To arock:  "You want to see the tweet sent to Philly which he shared last night, unbelievable the depths people will go. Its only sport."
What was it about? I'm not on Twitter.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/12/2020 10:55:14    2324432

Replying To arock:  "You want to see the tweet sent to Philly which he shared last night, unbelievable the depths people will go. Its only sport."
There's no excuse for that sort of sh*te. Hope that fella on Twitter gets a visit from the law.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 20/12/2020 11:04:01    2324438

Replying To Wally:  "Watched the Sunday Game last night and as I thought the panel never even mentioned this incident.

RTE's bias holds no bounds."
Did you even watch the game? Philly didn't raise a hand. He was set upon by Higgins and O'Shea. Amazing the lengths that some clowns go to in order to attempt to sling mud at the Dubs. Must try harder bud. PS - great restraint shown by Philly when he was set upon.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/12/2020 11:34:53    2324465

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Oh my god I just can't get over the hatred for the dubs,it's pure and utter jealousy..as I mentioned on another day was i the only neutral hoping they'd win..we in limerick are facing the same bitterness with 2 in 3 years..ha,ha,ha I'm really enjoying this..keep winning lads.."
well said, and well done ye

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2848 - 20/12/2020 11:38:12    2324468

absolutely vile

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 20/12/2020 11:40:54    2324473

Replying To ulsterrules:  "As usual rte gloss over half time incident but any other team would get 30 minutes of a bile ladder attack."
yea, they let mayo away with it again without comment

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2848 - 20/12/2020 11:42:13    2324475

Utterly disgusting. I hope the evil lowlife who posted that is tracked down. and charged accordingly.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/12/2020 11:49:16    2324478

Philliy and Keith will likely call it quits this year given their age and limited playing time so they'll hardly be too bothered about punishments, they went out Zidane style. AOS is a different story though. A lengthy suspension is the last thing Mayo need for him

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 20/12/2020 12:01:21    2324490

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 20/12/2020 12:03:58    2324492