How Many More All Irelands For This Limerick Team?

What a lot of people are forgetting is that a lot of the McManus money was used to set up the academy..this is where almost every senior panelist last Sunday came from..it then involved getting the proper people involved in the coaching..it also needed a huge buy in from parents,lets remember its only 10 years since players were on strike here..the academe is still going well and if limerick can get 3 or 4 players every year they are going to be at latter stages of senior hurling c/ship in next 5 to 10 years..other counties from what I'm hearing are now getting under age set ups going but unlucky for them limerick have a head start..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2231 - 15/12/2020 10:50:11    2322542

Interesting thread; one thing Pat Gilroy got right in his analyis of the GAA county boards is not the amount of money each have but how it's spent.

Look at Dublin footballers and Limerick hurlers strength and conditioning; it's clear money is being spent on those teams. But it's only the start of the story, McManus's money was pumped into Limerick GAA well over a decade ago; look at their underage success. This shows where most of that money was spent - underage structures and not wasted as other counties waste their money on preparing the senior inter county team and forgetting how it could be spent to improve the whole GAA set up.

Even if McManus stopped every penny of his money going into Limerick GAA today; the structures Limerick GAA people have set up with that money will ensure they remain at the top for the next 10 years. They're an exceptional team and have the best hurling structures in the country; they'll dominate hurling in the 20's.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 15/12/2020 11:03:04    2322549

Replying To sam1884:  "Interesting thread; one thing Pat Gilroy got right in his analyis of the GAA county boards is not the amount of money each have but how it's spent.

Look at Dublin footballers and Limerick hurlers strength and conditioning; it's clear money is being spent on those teams. But it's only the start of the story, McManus's money was pumped into Limerick GAA well over a decade ago; look at their underage success. This shows where most of that money was spent - underage structures and not wasted as other counties waste their money on preparing the senior inter county team and forgetting how it could be spent to improve the whole GAA set up.

Even if McManus stopped every penny of his money going into Limerick GAA today; the structures Limerick GAA people have set up with that money will ensure they remain at the top for the next 10 years. They're an exceptional team and have the best hurling structures in the country; they'll dominate hurling in the 20's."
I see my Sarsfields here in Galway have appointed Anthony Daly as manager.
I've nothing against Dalo at all but is it wise to be forking out money on these guys,, like you mentioned above,, instead of looking for a quick fix,, could the Sars have not spent that money on underage management, coaching, gear, maybe use it to bring the under age teams to Galway matches together etc. ? It's where I'd rather see it go.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1731 - 15/12/2020 11:16:32    2322556

No need for me to add that this is a good Limerick team. However lets keep things in perspective about how good they are. Cork (who in my opinion are one of the worst Cork teams I can remember apart from 1996) drew with Limerick in Pairc Ui Chaoimh in the 2018 Munster Championship round robin. Threw away the All-Ireland Semi-Final 2018 (draw in normal time), beat Limerick in the league and championship in 2019. The gap between the top teams in hurling is very marginal so no Limerick won't dominate. As for saying Limerick's success is down to JP, Ard Scoil Ris have a a say in the Harty Cup over the past decade and the Limerick clubs have been strong enough also. Limerick have finally got their reward especially considering the gallant teams in 94 and 96 that were probably good enough to win 3 or 4 All-Ireland's. Last year people were wondering who would stop Tipp after the All-Ireland.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 15/12/2020 12:04:17    2322570

Replying To galwayford:  "Limerick is not a natural hurling county. For a long time the GAA has played second or third fiddle in the city and county. I hope that Cork, Galway, and Tipp will catch them. Well done to Limerick. A good coaching team has made "average hurlers" into winners."
Look at the changes Kiely was able to make when four first choice full line men got injured. and how forwards were able to switch back and fit in seemlessly to defensive positions- average hurlers my arse.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 15/12/2020 12:11:27    2322573

Replying To Galway9801:  "I see my Sarsfields here in Galway have appointed Anthony Daly as manager.
I've nothing against Dalo at all but is it wise to be forking out money on these guys,, like you mentioned above,, instead of looking for a quick fix,, could the Sars have not spent that money on underage management, coaching, gear, maybe use it to bring the under age teams to Galway matches together etc. ? It's where I'd rather see it go."
Read that this morning. Hes a great manager, was a great player, and travelling costs and expenses shouldn't be too much. Another consideration is that with him as manager, and the national profile he has, if the people organising the finances of your club are on the ball they should be able to get more sponsorship for the club, especially commercial sponsorship, which should offset what he is costing. This could then be spent on what you need. He might encourage more young lads in your parish to hurl for your club or keep at it also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12089 - 15/12/2020 12:13:34    2322575

Replying To Galway9801:  "I see my Sarsfields here in Galway have appointed Anthony Daly as manager.
I've nothing against Dalo at all but is it wise to be forking out money on these guys,, like you mentioned above,, instead of looking for a quick fix,, could the Sars have not spent that money on underage management, coaching, gear, maybe use it to bring the under age teams to Galway matches together etc. ? It's where I'd rather see it go."
Read that this morning. Hes a great manager, was a great player, and travelling costs and expenses shouldn't be too much. Another consideration is that with him as manager, and the national profile he has, if the people organising the finances of your club are on the ball they should be able to get more sponsorship for the club, especially commercial sponsorship, which should offset what he is costing. This could then be spent on what you need. He might encourage more young lads in your parish to hurl for your club or keep at it also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12089 - 15/12/2020 12:14:04    2322576

Replying To The_Bull:  "No need for me to add that this is a good Limerick team. However lets keep things in perspective about how good they are. Cork (who in my opinion are one of the worst Cork teams I can remember apart from 1996) drew with Limerick in Pairc Ui Chaoimh in the 2018 Munster Championship round robin. Threw away the All-Ireland Semi-Final 2018 (draw in normal time), beat Limerick in the league and championship in 2019. The gap between the top teams in hurling is very marginal so no Limerick won't dominate. As for saying Limerick's success is down to JP, Ard Scoil Ris have a a say in the Harty Cup over the past decade and the Limerick clubs have been strong enough also. Limerick have finally got their reward especially considering the gallant teams in 94 and 96 that were probably good enough to win 3 or 4 All-Ireland's. Last year people were wondering who would stop Tipp after the All-Ireland."
In fairness though Limerick have kicked on into fifth gear since and then after that snapped into over drive. Cork have gone into reverse. With the number of clubs and size of the county despite football that is surprising. Even more surprising that ye have not corrected course. I am sure it will be corrected and then look out. Hell knows no fury worse than a wounded Cork.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 15/12/2020 15:50:06    2322664

Replying To perfect10:  "i worked in a bar in limerick for a few years,and while rugby is indeed important i think even then it was and it has always been a hurling first county.
rugby will never hold a place in the hearts of limerick people like gaa does."
Thats not true. I wouldnt put Hurling over Rugby in Limerick city. Its always been a dual city ..rugby and hurling and soccer like other cities.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 15/12/2020 16:17:21    2322669

Spot on there from THE_BULL

The final plays on people's minds and makes them think things that are not based on reality. In hurling you're only ever 70 minutes away from coming back down to earth. When Kilkenny won the 08 final, remember Jim from Wexford's class 'Gods or what' post saying the Cats could do six in a row?

It didn't materialise.

To answer the question I think one more would be a good reflection of the efforts that have gone in, but I can't see any three or four in a row from anyone. The top 8 are just too competitive. After Cork's under 20's blowing us away in extra time last Saturday and the recent retirement of older panel members I think they will be stronger in 21. Tipperary struggle the year after winning a title so I'd expect a lot more from them too. Kilkenny put us to the sword last year and are well capable of making it to a final. Waterford will strengthen. Galway are strong and with a second season under a new manager should progress. Wexford if they get things together could be a huge threat.

I don't see any domination on the horizon.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 15/12/2020 17:48:37    2322686

Replying To Donegalman:  "It is a great achievement, but you really have to ask yourself would Limerick have won a single all Ireland hurling championship never mind two of them in 3 years, without McManus. I am not so sure."
Limerick were winning All Irelands long before JP was even born.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 15/12/2020 18:17:46    2322690

They'll keep winning as long as the McManus money is there.
AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 549 - 13/12/2020 17:23:35
McManus has been giving money for years and it wasnt a factor then and it certainly isnt now.

Limerick is not a natural hurling county. For a long time the GAA has played second or third fiddle in the city and county. I hope that Cork, Galway, and Tipp will catch them. Well done to Limerick. A good coaching team has made "average hurlers" into winners.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 13/12/2020 17:28:38
Very bitter and whats a natural hurling county anyway?

Are they not? I think they have more All Ireland's than Galway, Clare, Wexford etc....they have always had a very large passionate support base too.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 10378 - 13/12/2020 17:35:35
all counties support is passionate. not sure what that has to do with anything.

i worked in a bar in limerick for a few years,and while rugby is indeed important i think even then it was and it has always been a hurling first county.
rugby will never hold a place in the hearts of limerick people like gaa does.
perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3888 - 13/12/2020 18:38:12
not so sure about that. numbers following rugby especially the marquee teams be it the schools, top clubs and provincial side show its a rugby city.

It is a great achievement, but you really have to ask yourself would Limerick have won a single all Ireland hurling championship never mind two of them in 3 years, without McManus. I am not so sure.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3781 - 15/12/2020 10:21:28
most certainly would.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3513 - 15/12/2020 18:23:03    2322691

Replying To perfect10:  "i worked in a bar in limerick for a few years,and while rugby is indeed important i think even then it was and it has always been a hurling first county.
rugby will never hold a place in the hearts of limerick people like gaa does."
Probably 50/50 between hurling and rugby, it depends on the area of the city or what school a person went to. I played rugby with old crescent and alot of my rugby teammates and coachs had no interest in GAA. Junior soccer in Limerick is very popular too and I would to see senior soccer sorted out in the city i missed my Friday evening trips to the marketsfield.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 15/12/2020 19:10:31    2322703

Replying To Donegalman:  "It is a great achievement, but you really have to ask yourself would Limerick have won a single all Ireland hurling championship never mind two of them in 3 years, without McManus. I am not so sure."
Yes I think the same

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2229 - 15/12/2020 20:08:34    2322726

Replying To katser:  "Yes I think the same"
Gee, really.
What a surprise

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1067 - 15/12/2020 20:41:30    2322734

The pull them down brigade are in full voice. By the time a ball is hit next year it should be at fever pitch.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 15/12/2020 21:20:04    2322749

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Limerick were winning All Irelands long before JP was even born."
Yeah I know. 1940 was the last one before McManus was born. then 1973 when he was alive. Then 2 in 3 years 45 years later.

It still begs the question though.

Fair play if the money was pumped into under age structures. Time will tell if Waterford, Clare etc start to do the same dramatic tearing up of the form book. But they will need to take a long hard look at what Limerick did over the past decade if they are going to have any chance of doing it themselves.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 15/12/2020 23:32:54    2322783

Replying To galwayford:  "Limerick is not a natural hurling county. For a long time the GAA has played second or third fiddle in the city and county. I hope that Cork, Galway, and Tipp will catch them. Well done to Limerick. A good coaching team has made "average hurlers" into winners."
Jayaus Galwayford as a Galway man I'm embarrassed by that post. Limerick have now got nine All Irelands to their name, and lets be honest they will be on at least 12 by the time this team starts to break up, while we'll still be stuck on our miserable, pathetic 5.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 16/12/2020 09:16:59    2322802

I watched a hurling match from 1999 on tv last night. The excitement of it with ground hurling, physicality, goal mouth scrambles and goals scored. If I'm around in 20 years time I don't think I'll be tuning in to a repeat of this year's hurling final. Such a boring style of hurling. Even last year's final was one sided but at least it better watch.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 16/12/2020 09:45:41    2322808

I'm thinking some of the posts being recited by galway people on this discussion are actually coming from only one person..a lot of it seems to be around sleeping and boring for an all ireland final..it's great that this limerick team are getting under the skin of some in Galway..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2231 - 16/12/2020 10:11:49    2322814