All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To cavanman47:  "Kerry were excellent in the 00s. (A far cry from the Kerry who drew with Dublin last year, but that's for the "greatest ever team" argument, not this one).

Tyrone had their measure back then tho.

Why? Because it was 2 excellent teams who were starting from an even footing and reaching a very similar level of excellence.

Today, Dublin are not starting from the same base as the 31 other counties. So a Dublin with their house in order will always have an advantage over the rest.

Kerry fell back into the pack.
Tyrone fell back into the pack.
Kilkenny in hurling fell back into the pack.

But money is ensuring, that so long as Dublin don't completely self sabotage themselves across the board, they will never be allowed to fall back onto an even standing with the rest."
You do know that Dublin players are humans. They bleed, they cry, they laugh. They go out and train. They lift weights. Kick balls.....

The same as other humans from other counties. They just seem to be better than other counties.

Paddy Christie coached all of Dublin's Ballymun panelists since 2011. He coached them all underage. He is not a paid coach. So good coaching by a volunteer has helped Dublin there.

All of the other clubs have volunteers coaching their teams.

This coaching argument is absolute nonsense. None of the Dublin clubs have paid coaches doing drills and pinging balls. Its all parents and usually players that have finished their playing days coaching underage teams.

This idea that Kilmacud have 4 paid S&C coaches coaching the u11's Rocky 4 style.

Dublin do push coaching in primary schools and resource the nursery's in clubs etc.

But paid coaches aren't doing SAQ drills with the u13's in clubs.

Imagine looking up to your heroes, practicing and getting rewarded for it. Imagine your parents coaching your underage team, and most like culchies that moved here for work. Imagine them making your age group better by coaching them for free.

Thats whats bugging people. Dublin are just talented. Get over it!

Insulting to the volunteers that coach these kids in their free time. Very sad to see.

Dublin will lose. You can all rejoice then.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 20/12/2020 23:37:01    2324917

Replying To JayP:  "You do know that Dublin players are humans. They bleed, they cry, they laugh. They go out and train. They lift weights. Kick balls.....

The same as other humans from other counties. They just seem to be better than other counties.

Paddy Christie coached all of Dublin's Ballymun panelists since 2011. He coached them all underage. He is not a paid coach. So good coaching by a volunteer has helped Dublin there.

This coaching argument is absolute nonsense. None of the Dublin clubs have paid coaches doing drills and pinging balls. Its all parents and usually players that have finished their playing days coaching underage teams.

This idea that Kilmacud have 4 paid S&C coaches coaching the u11's Rocky 4 style.

Dublin do push coaching in primary schools and resource the nursery's in clubs etc.

Imagine looking up to your heroes, practicing and getting rewarded for it. Imagine your parents coaching your underage team, and most like culchies that moved here for work. Imagine them making your age group better by coaching them for free.

Insulting to the volunteers that coach these kids in their free time. Very sad to see.

Dublin will lose. You can all rejoice then."
Volunteers coach underage teams in every county.

Current and former players coach underage (and adult) teams in every county.

1000s of people give their time to the GAA with zero remuneration in every county.

That is to be applauded. . .in every county.

"Insulting to these volunteers that coach these kids in their free time. Very sad to see".

You are spot on. But its only 1 of us who's doing that insulting and it isn't me!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 21/12/2020 09:43:39    2324967

Replying To JayP:  "You do know that Dublin players are humans. They bleed, they cry, they laugh. They go out and train. They lift weights. Kick balls.....

Dublin will lose. You can all rejoice then."
Keep hearing this argument about Dublin and their Volunteers it actually turns my stomach at this stage.

But if Dublin has such good "Volunteers" that are seemingly on a different level to the rest of us clowns down the county who give up our free time to coach kids. Why do Dublin need so many GPO's if they have Volunteers that Dublin are so proud of they insult the rest of us who give our free time to developing kids.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 21/12/2020 11:32:34    2325021

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Keep hearing this argument about Dublin and their Volunteers it actually turns my stomach at this stage.

But if Dublin has such good "Volunteers" that are seemingly on a different level to the rest of us clowns down the county who give up our free time to coach kids. Why do Dublin need so many GPO's if they have Volunteers that Dublin are so proud of they insult the rest of us who give our free time to developing kids."
It was the gall to say the rest of the country is disrespecting Dublin's volunteers which really impressed me!

Nobody is doing that.

Every club in the country has numerous volunteers giving up their free time to coach teams, wash jerseys, cut the grass, hang the nets, the list goes on. It is the very essence of what the GAA is about.

The rhetoric of recent weeks - that the volunteers in Roscommon or Cavan or Kerry or Down aren't doing as good a job as their counterparts in Dublin is scandalous!

We all know there are plenty of volunteer coaches in Dublin. Fair play to them. That's not the argument here at all.

We all know too, however, that money has helped Dublin. And they get more money than everyone else. And it has done very little for their junior clubs. But it has brought their Senior clubs, and more to the point their senior county team, on in leaps and bounds. .to the point where no amount of volunteering in other counties will close the gap. And that is what is going to kill the game if something doesn't change.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 21/12/2020 12:10:10    2325038

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Keep hearing this argument about Dublin and their Volunteers it actually turns my stomach at this stage.

But if Dublin has such good "Volunteers" that are seemingly on a different level to the rest of us clowns down the county who give up our free time to coach kids. Why do Dublin need so many GPO's if they have Volunteers that Dublin are so proud of they insult the rest of us who give our free time to developing kids."
When the Dubs say money had nothing to do with their successes and it's suggested, if that's the case, to give the money back so that it can be distributed fairly to other counties, they suddenly go silent on the issue!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 21/12/2020 12:12:36    2325039

I'll keep it simple - well done Dublin

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 21/12/2020 12:56:34    2325057

Replying To cavanman47:  "It was the gall to say the rest of the country is disrespecting Dublin's volunteers which really impressed me!

Nobody is doing that.

Every club in the country has numerous volunteers giving up their free time to coach teams, wash jerseys, cut the grass, hang the nets, the list goes on. It is the very essence of what the GAA is about.

The rhetoric of recent weeks - that the volunteers in Roscommon or Cavan or Kerry or Down aren't doing as good a job as their counterparts in Dublin is scandalous!

We all know there are plenty of volunteer coaches in Dublin. Fair play to them. That's not the argument here at all.

We all know too, however, that money has helped Dublin. And they get more money than everyone else. And it has done very little for their junior clubs. But it has brought their Senior clubs, and more to the point their senior county team, on in leaps and bounds. .to the point where no amount of volunteering in other counties will close the gap. And that is what is going to kill the game if something doesn't change."
Lets address a few issues here....

On the "gall" comment.....I respect every volunteer. I gave the example of Paddy Christie with Ballymun, brought two underage teams through the club from u10's to minor. 6 of the current Dublin team played under him coaching. He didn't get paid to do that. He is one of the thousands of volunteers have mentored/continue to mentor teams in Dublin. I never said volunteers weren't doing a good job anywhere else. I just said its through their hard work they've produced good players. Same as Kerry in the noughties etc etc. But these things are cyclic.

Many of the underage teams are coached by people that moved to Dublin for work etc. They settled here, and are playing a huge role in the development of underage players for their adopted clubs. They county reaps the rewards for this good coaching.

Development Grants are spent on developing things. Game Promotion Grants are spent on promoting things. Yes its true the GAA have pumped money into these things. But they are not a guarantee of success. Games promotion doesn't necessarily equal success on the pitch. As Dublin has expanded its population outwards in the county the GAA have had to spend money promoting the games in these new population centres. I don't know what people expect the GAA to do. They are damned if they do and damned if they don't.

Actually, I would argue with anybody that unless money is spent promoting sport (any sport) and community projects by every sporting organisation and community group, we could see ghettoization in Dublin. So I would urge the GAA to spend more and develop more infrastructure in West Dublin and North County Dublin to promote the games in areas where the GAA is not a strong presence as it could be.

The trends in the GAA reflect whats going on in society. Why are so many people in Dublin? The GAA will have to react to the trends going on in society and plan accordingly.

On, Dublin fans go quiet on the funding. I never have. I argue with all the disciples of Ewan MacKenna. But I also work from 7 to 5, so I'm not available to answer instantly!!!

As you probably are aware of by now, I wouldn't be a fan of Dublin giving up any funding. Its needed for the above reasons and more. Should other counties get funded better....yeah definitely.

The top county teams are funded well enough to compete with each other. Dublin just have better players at the moment. If Dublin had lost 3 All Ireland finals this wouldn't even be an issue. Look at Kerrys 8 All Irelands in 11 years. Check out their average winning margin! It was higher than Dublins current average winning margin since 2011.

Relax, we'll get beaten lads. You'll all be happy again. But the incessant whining.....PLEASE STOP IT.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 21/12/2020 18:07:04    2325166

Replying To JayP:  "Lets address a few issues here....

On the "gall" comment.....I respect every volunteer. I gave the example of Paddy Christie with Ballymun, brought two underage teams through the club from u10's to minor. 6 of the current Dublin team played under him coaching. He didn't get paid to do that. He is one of the thousands of volunteers have mentored/continue to mentor teams in Dublin. I never said volunteers weren't doing a good job anywhere else. I just said its through their hard work they've produced good players. Same as Kerry in the noughties etc etc. But these things are cyclic.

Many of the underage teams are coached by people that moved to Dublin for work etc. They settled here, and are playing a huge role in the development of underage players for their adopted clubs. They county reaps the rewards for this good coaching.

Development Grants are spent on developing things. Game Promotion Grants are spent on promoting things. Yes its true the GAA have pumped money into these things. But they are not a guarantee of success. Games promotion doesn't necessarily equal success on the pitch. As Dublin has expanded its population outwards in the county the GAA have had to spend money promoting the games in these new population centres. I don't know what people expect the GAA to do. They are damned if they do and damned if they don't.

Actually, I would argue with anybody that unless money is spent promoting sport (any sport) and community projects by every sporting organisation and community group, we could see ghettoization in Dublin. So I would urge the GAA to spend more and develop more infrastructure in West Dublin and North County Dublin to promote the games in areas where the GAA is not a strong presence as it could be.

The trends in the GAA reflect whats going on in society. Why are so many people in Dublin? The GAA will have to react to the trends going on in society and plan accordingly.

On, Dublin fans go quiet on the funding. I never have. I argue with all the disciples of Ewan MacKenna. But I also work from 7 to 5, so I'm not available to answer instantly!!!

As you probably are aware of by now, I wouldn't be a fan of Dublin giving up any funding. Its needed for the above reasons and more. Should other counties get funded better....yeah definitely.

The top county teams are funded well enough to compete with each other. Dublin just have better players at the moment. If Dublin had lost 3 All Ireland finals this wouldn't even be an issue. Look at Kerrys 8 All Irelands in 11 years. Check out their average winning margin! It was higher than Dublins current average winning margin since 2011.

Relax, we'll get beaten lads. You'll all be happy again. But the incessant whining.....PLEASE STOP IT."
Good piece JayP, lots of truth there. Maybe 2021 will see a changing of the guard. All empires, and champions, fall eventually, as we can see from history. Enjoy the success.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 21/12/2020 18:28:11    2325178

Replying To Galway9801:  "In fairness to go from winning 2 all Irelands in 30+ years to winning 8 in 10 (probably 9 in 11) and winning 10 Leinsters in a row can't be just put down to a slight dip in standards elsewhere."
I'll reply to you here seeing as the other thread is closed seemingly. I didn't post the comparison you refer to and the eejits here that allowed it be posted are the ones you should be complaining to if you feel so strongly about it.
Did you do that ?
No I bet not.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/12/2020 18:42:59    2325187

Replying To JayP:  "Lets address a few issues here....

Relax, we'll get beaten lads. You'll all be happy again. But the incessant whining.....PLEASE STOP IT."
Well said but I think a lot of people outside Dublin neither know or care too much about the problems in Dublin (if truth be known care little for the problems in their own counties), they just want to see their counties win. The amount of people working in Dublin from outside Dublin is staggering, there is nothing we can do about that. But maybe with working from home, flexible working conditions, new businesses etc etc this might change. In Dublins rejuvenated Docklands there is an estimated 9,000 residents and 27,000 workers, it is essentially a sports free area. Same can be said of areas near Kilmainham, Dublin's inner city is being rejuvenated but there will be no GAA. In North dublin in Santry Demesne just off the M50 at IKEA is a vast apartment complex an estimated population of 11,000 - no sport and certainly no GAA. Even an area well known and large residential areas like Santry there is no GAA club. This is the story right across the city, Adamstown, Tyrellestown, Charlestown, Carrickmines et all, all GAA free zones, no money to develop or spare for these new areas. Any cut back on Dublin funding in the GPO area there will ultimately be a corresponding fall in participation, support and ultimately finance. And I wouldn't expect a yoke like McKenna to be providing too many answers. Judging by the responses around here ignorance seems to be bliss.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 21/12/2020 18:44:46    2325189

I haven't posted since the game (busy and a bit downhearted tbh) but just want to congratulate the Dubs posters on the 6 in a row their team has delivered. Great teams do great things and the Dubs unity of purpose and attention to every detail are the true benchmark and that's just a statement of fact. I won't go into the rights or wrongs of anything about the game... these are just footnotes now and won't detract from the fact of a victory which further cements this team's place in the annals of the GAA. Enjoy whatever celebrations you can manage... the rest of the field have less than 7 months to find a way in.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 21/12/2020 19:10:44    2325201

Replying To arock:  "Well said but I think a lot of people outside Dublin neither know or care too much about the problems in Dublin (if truth be known care little for the problems in their own counties), they just want to see their counties win. The amount of people working in Dublin from outside Dublin is staggering, there is nothing we can do about that. But maybe with working from home, flexible working conditions, new businesses etc etc this might change. In Dublins rejuvenated Docklands there is an estimated 9,000 residents and 27,000 workers, it is essentially a sports free area. Same can be said of areas near Kilmainham, Dublin's inner city is being rejuvenated but there will be no GAA. In North dublin in Santry Demesne just off the M50 at IKEA is a vast apartment complex an estimated population of 11,000 - no sport and certainly no GAA. Even an area well known and large residential areas like Santry there is no GAA club. This is the story right across the city, Adamstown, Tyrellestown, Charlestown, Carrickmines et all, all GAA free zones, no money to develop or spare for these new areas. Any cut back on Dublin funding in the GPO area there will ultimately be a corresponding fall in participation, support and ultimately finance. And I wouldn't expect a yoke like McKenna to be providing too many answers. Judging by the responses around here ignorance seems to be bliss."
Ah for God sake, look at all the clubs around Santry, from the top of my head I can think of Ballymun, Whitehall, Parnells, Na Fianna and St Vincent's all within a 10 min car ride. If there is a kid or adult interested in the gaa they are well catered for in Santry, and i'm not including a 20 min car ride where you would have Erin's Isle, Sylvesters, Raheny etc etc all within reach. If a child can't cycle a bicycle ten mins up the road to play with a team that isn't the rest of the country's fault.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 21/12/2020 19:12:14    2325203

"The Magnificent 7"
There's a good chance that an All Ireland version of the Magnificent 7 will be staged in Croke Park next September 2021. - - - The Crew responsible for 6 in a row is - - -
The Crew.

Dessie Farrell aka Yul Brynner
Jim Gavin aka Eli Wallach
Paul Clarke aka Steve McQueen
Pat Gilroy aka Horst Buchholz
Mick Galvin aka Charles Bronson
Shane O' Hanlon aka Robert Vaughn
Brian O' Regan aka James Coburn

The All Star Cast.

Dublin - S Cluxton; M Fitzsimons, D Byrne, J Cooper; E Murchan, J Small (0-1), R McDaid; B Fenton (0-1), J McCarthy; N Scully (0-1), C Kilkenny (0-3), S Bugler (0-1); P Small, C O'Callaghan (1-1), D Rock (1-4, 0-4f). Subs: B Howard (0-1) for S Bugler, P Mannion (0-1f) for P Small, C Basquel for J Cooper, C Costello for N Scully.

Produced and directed by Dessie Farrell. - Team Manager. Dessie Farrell.
Pitch & lighting courtesy of Croke Park grounds crew.
Any similarity between Dublin and any other county with the exception of Mayo is purely coincidental.
NB. This post is not meant to be offensive in any way, please accept it as a light hearted post-match congratulatory
comment. - Mayo's time will come.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 21/12/2020 19:51:46    2325216

Replying To arock:  "Well said but I think a lot of people outside Dublin neither know or care too much about the problems in Dublin (if truth be known care little for the problems in their own counties), they just want to see their counties win. The amount of people working in Dublin from outside Dublin is staggering, there is nothing we can do about that. But maybe with working from home, flexible working conditions, new businesses etc etc this might change. In Dublins rejuvenated Docklands there is an estimated 9,000 residents and 27,000 workers, it is essentially a sports free area. Same can be said of areas near Kilmainham, Dublin's inner city is being rejuvenated but there will be no GAA. In North dublin in Santry Demesne just off the M50 at IKEA is a vast apartment complex an estimated population of 11,000 - no sport and certainly no GAA. Even an area well known and large residential areas like Santry there is no GAA club. This is the story right across the city, Adamstown, Tyrellestown, Charlestown, Carrickmines et all, all GAA free zones, no money to develop or spare for these new areas. Any cut back on Dublin funding in the GPO area there will ultimately be a corresponding fall in participation, support and ultimately finance. And I wouldn't expect a yoke like McKenna to be providing too many answers. Judging by the responses around here ignorance seems to be bliss."
Nonsense

If I look out into my back garden, there isn't a GAA field.

But there's one 2 miles away.

Same for those areas you mentioned.

Oh, and I don't have a bus going by my front door to get me there either.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 21/12/2020 19:59:53    2325220

Replying To Pericles:  "I haven't posted since the game (busy and a bit downhearted tbh) but just want to congratulate the Dubs posters on the 6 in a row their team has delivered. Great teams do great things and the Dubs unity of purpose and attention to every detail are the true benchmark and that's just a statement of fact. I won't go into the rights or wrongs of anything about the game... these are just footnotes now and won't detract from the fact of a victory which further cements this team's place in the annals of the GAA. Enjoy whatever celebrations you can manage... the rest of the field have less than 7 months to find a way in."
Nice sentiments and fair play to you.
I'm sure you are downhearted and I have been following Dublin long enough to remember the disappointment at some of the beatings we got before the current success. Ok , you can say it's nothing in comparison to what Mayo have endured but it will be all the sweeter when ye do win one.
Next year is not that far away.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/12/2020 20:49:23    2325237

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Nice sentiments and fair play to you.
I'm sure you are downhearted and I have been following Dublin long enough to remember the disappointment at some of the beatings we got before the current success. Ok , you can say it's nothing in comparison to what Mayo have endured but it will be all the sweeter when ye do win one.
Next year is not that far away."
Happy Christmas Dubh_linn... as you say, 2021 is just around the corner:)

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 21/12/2020 21:03:41    2325248

Replying To Pericles:  "Happy Christmas Dubh_linn... as you say, 2021 is just around the corner:)"
Exactly , Happy Christmas and stay safe.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/12/2020 21:13:37    2325253

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Ah for God sake, look at all the clubs around Santry, from the top of my head I can think of Ballymun, Whitehall, Parnells, Na Fianna and St Vincent's all within a 10 min car ride. If there is a kid or adult interested in the gaa they are well catered for in Santry, and i'm not including a 20 min car ride where you would have Erin's Isle, Sylvesters, Raheny etc etc all within reach. If a child can't cycle a bicycle ten mins up the road to play with a team that isn't the rest of the country's fault."
Can you name the one that is in the vicinity of Croke Park itself?

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 21/12/2020 21:33:25    2325259

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Can you name the one that is in the vicinity of Croke Park itself?"
Na Fianna is a mile up the road! Whitehall and St Vincent's about two miles away or less even. What's your point? I would consider those in the vicinity of Croke Park, wouldn't you?

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 21/12/2020 21:47:54    2325263

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Na Fianna is a mile up the road! Whitehall and St Vincent's about two miles away or less even. What's your point? I would consider those in the vicinity of Croke Park, wouldn't you?"
It's bad when a leitrim man has to tell a dub where the pitches are in Dublin!! They should really brush up on the geography of the city. I knew they didn't like going outside Dublin but thought they'd at least know within the city boundaries.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 22:00:53    2325269