All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To Box13:  "Mayo already have a high end forward in Darren McHale, unfortunately Horan opted to not to use him."
Is this same Coen who hit two wides and fumbled a crucial interception in his brief cameo yesterday?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/12/2020 17:42:39    2324688

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Controversial but are the dubs then overrated? Their 6 in a row has been won in one of the worst periods for Gaelic football. For example, every county bar Dubs, Mayo and maybe Clare and Carlow had better teams from 2005 to 2014. The likes of Kerry, Cork, Donegal, Tyrone Meath Kildare Galway had significantly better teams during this period than they have produced recently.

There are big gaps starting to appear throughout the country, not just with Dublin. For example, Meath hit 7.14 in aughrim, which was one of the toughest places to go 10 years ago. The reason for these gaps are differences in standard of training, not talent or skill. This idea that all counties are putting in equal effort is nonsense.

With regards Mayo, they are brilliant to watch a great county but they are so frustrating. Conceding the first goal and scoring 3 points immediately after, sums them up over the last 10 years. Just happened to watch recently the 1996 final the drawn game, that was the worst collapse of them all. They had that game in the bag."
I'm not sure how you've included Galway in your list of counties that had significantly better teams from 2005 to 2014, than now. We're the complete opposite.
That was one of the worst periods of Galway football and we had some awful defeats. We've thankfully improved in the last 4 or 5 years and are far more competitive now.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 20/12/2020 17:52:26    2324694

Replying To republicofcloone:  "I have great respect for Meath. But I think your county board has been asleep at the wheel for many years. Navan is a shambles, you expect to play in Croke Park constantly and that breeds a certain laziness. I'm comparing it to my own county which had huge funding drives to create a centre of excellence and improve facilities in Pairc Sean.
And I hope Meath can come back and be the force they were btw."
No one is saying the county board of the past has done things properly, actually they made a total balls up of everything. I don't think there is one supporter who would say otherwise. But the pitch in navan is perhaps the best in country and I include Croke park in that. We also have full permission for a all seater stadium, the start date for works was may. Don't think anyone can be blamed for it not going ahead. The funding is there for it so don't know where u think we haven't funded. Also the centre of excellence we built is a template for every other county , and we did a lot of fundraising for it. So not sure where you going with that. My point is Dublin get €270 per registered player , Meath get approximately €19. Yet we are expected and degraded by many other counties for not competing with Dublin . Do you not think Meath should get €270 per registered player too?? A level playing field is all ANY county in Leinster is asking for.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/12/2020 18:01:30    2324703

Congratulations to both Dublin men's & ladies teams but the truth is I don't give a toss anymore.
The GAA has created a monster & I for one am devoting my time, energy & support to my local club.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/12/2020 18:04:14    2324705

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I'm not sure how you've included Galway in your list of counties that had significantly better teams from 2005 to 2014, than now. We're the complete opposite.
That was one of the worst periods of Galway football and we had some awful defeats. We've thankfully improved in the last 4 or 5 years and are far more competitive now."
I wouldn't agree. Sure Gary Sice is still there and hes nearly 40.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 20/12/2020 18:05:49    2324706

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Controversial but are the dubs then overrated? Their 6 in a row has been won in one of the worst periods for Gaelic football. For example, every county bar Dubs, Mayo and maybe Clare and Carlow had better teams from 2005 to 2014. The likes of Kerry, Cork, Donegal, Tyrone Meath Kildare Galway had significantly better teams during this period than they have produced recently.

There are big gaps starting to appear throughout the country, not just with Dublin. For example, Meath hit 7.14 in aughrim, which was one of the toughest places to go 10 years ago. The reason for these gaps are differences in standard of training, not talent or skill. This idea that all counties are putting in equal effort is nonsense.

With regards Mayo, they are brilliant to watch a great county but they are so frustrating. Conceding the first goal and scoring 3 points immediately after, sums them up over the last 10 years. Just happened to watch recently the 1996 final the drawn game, that was the worst collapse of them all. They had that game in the bag."
In fairness to go from winning 2 all Irelands in 30+ years to winning 8 in 10 (probably 9 in 11) and winning 10 Leinsters in a row can't be just put down to a slight dip in standards elsewhere.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 20/12/2020 18:12:34    2324713

Kildare bet much if this Mayo lot in the championship in 2018.

We are probably 20 points poorer than dubs.

Dublin 100 per cent were in second gear yesterday.

Who cares about intercounty anymore? Genuine question. Results are a given before a ball is kicked in Leinster. Ulster teams are nowhere near the Dubs and Connaught / Munster are irrelevant also.

The answer isn't to give up but i'm not sure of the drive is there anymore for Kildares Meath and Mayos to close the gap.

Even Mayo last night. I don't think it hurt as much as other years. They knew it was going to be serious longshot for them to win. Even with the Dubs underperforming they didnt really look like losing.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/12/2020 18:13:54    2324717

Replying To Joxer:  "A lot of bitter people stating that football is finished after a game that finished 16 scores to 15 scores. Incredible begrudgery."
Plus supporters from your neighbouring countries hoping Mayo would be beat by 20 points to take the bad look of their own performance.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 20/12/2020 18:41:57    2324732

Replying To daytona11:  "Kildare bet much if this Mayo lot in the championship in 2018.

We are probably 20 points poorer than dubs.

Dublin 100 per cent were in second gear yesterday.

Who cares about intercounty anymore? Genuine question. Results are a given before a ball is kicked in Leinster. Ulster teams are nowhere near the Dubs and Connaught / Munster are irrelevant also.

The answer isn't to give up but i'm not sure of the drive is there anymore for Kildares Meath and Mayos to close the gap.

Even Mayo last night. I don't think it hurt as much as other years. They knew it was going to be serious longshot for them to win. Even with the Dubs underperforming they didnt really look like losing."
Connacht is grand , half the teams in it can potentially win it,, avd the final was competitive in fairness.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 20/12/2020 18:43:29    2324733

Replying To Gleebo:  "Is this same Coen who hit two wides and fumbled a crucial interception in his brief cameo yesterday?"
That poster was clearly referring to the Knockmore footballer who played well for them this year.
If your comment is anything to go by, it looks like there is one other person in Mayo who appears to know less about him than James Horan.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 20/12/2020 18:56:14    2324740

Replying To cavanman47:  "That's an accurate enough post.

But it does highlight the issue.

The first few paragraphs paint a rosy picture, that all is OK and the championship will become competitive again.

But the last paragraph is the grim reality. It will take a semi-professional setup to come anywhere near competing with Dublin. Now Kerry have plenty of backing, we know that. Mayo do too, and Tyrone. But they can't hold a candle to what Dublin have in terms of resources. So any closing of the gap is going to be a 1 off IMO.

Andy Moran predicted last week that Dublin will win about 3 of every 4 all irelands for the foreseeable future and a kerry, mayo etc might hope to catch them once every 4 or 5 years in a 1-off game. That's the reality we're facing. The game is in serious trouble."
Whinging, why don't you try and improve Cavan. Kerry still have 37 titles and Dublin have 30. Dubs runners up 13 times, Kerry runners up 23.
So still a gap to close for the Dubs.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 20/12/2020 18:59:33    2324743

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I agree with you about all the begrudgery against Dublin, I'm fed up of it myself but I take a different view of it than most from outside Dublin it seems, this talk of breaking Dublin up etc it's nonsense in my opinion,
Dublin have a fantastic talented bunch of well coached players and they fully deserve their 6 in a row,
I'd take issue with you though saying about other counties not having the talent to take on Dublin, I believe Donegal have the players capable of beating this Dublin team if things went well for us on the day, so do Kerry and Tyrone are coming strong again, not sure where Galway are at, things didn't go well for them after the long lay off, I think Mayo are really in transition and if Kerry hadn't fluffed their lines against Cork it would have been a Dublin v Kerry final yesterday and you might not have your 6 in a row so handy.
Apart from the funding/population gripes the major advantages Dublin have is of course playing all their games in Croker, someone said Cluxton has played 115 times or something like that for Dublin and 100 of those were in Croke Park, now tell me that's not a massive advantage, if we were paying 80 or 90% of our games in Mac Cumhaill park we'd be winning a lot more of them."
Agree with that. Maybe if Dublin played more out of Croke Park it would be 1 less thing for people to whinge about. Saying that Croke Parks where I like watching them.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 20/12/2020 19:07:54    2324751

Replying To 97Cavans:  "I wouldn't agree. Sure Gary Sice is still there and hes nearly 40."
That's your argument for saying Galway were significantly better from 2005 to 2014, compared to the last 5 years?
You'll have to do a lot better than that. Sice was brought back into the panel this year, for a bit of experience after having played very well for Corofin the previous few years. He's hardly a mainstay.
Between 2005 and 2014 we spent a lot of our time in Division 2 and weren't near to getting out of it. We're now a Division 1 team and have been competing at the top-end of it, since we got back there.
As for the championship, we were knocked out by Antrim, Wexford and Westmeath amongst others between 2005 and 2014. We also took a few bad trimmings from Mayo. We won only 2 Connacht titles in those 10 years. We've won that many since 2016 and have been far more competitive against Mayo.
Whatever about other teams, Galway don't fit your argument on this point. We're definitely in a better place now than back then.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 20/12/2020 19:28:55    2324762

Replying To galwayford:  "Whinging, why don't you try and improve Cavan. Kerry still have 37 titles and Dublin have 30. Dubs runners up 13 times, Kerry runners up 23.
So still a gap to close for the Dubs."
Why has the fact I'm from Cavan got anything to do with it??

Just another "look over there" reply from another bootlicker.

Cavan weren't any closer to winning Sam in the 00s than we are now, but when we played Tyrone (didn't meet Kerry), we knew it was 15 v 15 and all things were equal before throw-in.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 20/12/2020 19:38:12    2324768

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's your argument for saying Galway were significantly better from 2005 to 2014, compared to the last 5 years?
You'll have to do a lot better than that. Sice was brought back into the panel this year, for a bit of experience after having played very well for Corofin the previous few years. He's hardly a mainstay.
Between 2005 and 2014 we spent a lot of our time in Division 2 and weren't near to getting out of it. We're now a Division 1 team and have been competing at the top-end of it, since we got back there.
As for the championship, we were knocked out by Antrim, Wexford and Westmeath amongst others between 2005 and 2014. We also took a few bad trimmings from Mayo. We won only 2 Connacht titles in those 10 years. We've won that many since 2016 and have been far more competitive against Mayo.
Whatever about other teams, Galway don't fit your argument on this point. We're definitely in a better place now than back then."
I love Galway football and always have , I remember ye nearly took us in 08 in the monsoon quarter final, Meehan put on a serious display that day.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/12/2020 20:08:32    2324789

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's your argument for saying Galway were significantly better from 2005 to 2014, compared to the last 5 years?
Whatever about other teams, Galway don't fit your argument on this point. We're definitely in a better place now than back then."
Ah yeah fair enough it's not that important. But you've also taking some bad beatings in the championship since 2015, Off the top of my head Donegal Tipp Roscommon Mayo Kerry Dublin all in that time. I was at the famous Galway Kerry game in 2008 in croke park, it was one of the best games I was ever at. Meehan Armstrong Sice Bergin Hanley matthew Clancy and Joyce obviously were all class acts on their day

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 20/12/2020 20:28:27    2324805

Replying To Galway9801:  "Connacht is grand , half the teams in it can potentially win it,, avd the final was competitive in fairness."
Connacht is grand, Munster is grand, Ulster is grand, Leinster is Dublins.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 20/12/2020 21:02:37    2324820

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I love Galway football and always have , I remember ye nearly took us in 08 in the monsoon quarter final, Meehan put on a serious display that day."
I was at that game too. That was about as good as it got for us during that period. Meehan was outstanding alright and gave Marc Ó Sé fits. Bergin's punched goal kept us in it, but we faded out in the last 10 minutes.
Another memory from that game is Declan O'Sullivan soloing through the heart of our defence and smashing a shot off the crossbar. It would have been some goal.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 20/12/2020 21:13:55    2324827

Dubs are missing the message. The present Dublin team are a great set of lads great footballers the best in the country by a mile and very grounded and level headed and congratulations to them on their achievements but the gap between them and the rest of the challengers is now huge so much so that if they were not so conservative they would hammer any team in the country bar maybe kerry who will probably beat them once every 5 years or so going forward. Dublins style i feel has changed for the worse in the past few years before Donegal ambushed them in 2013 they played wonderful attacking football with very little back passing possessive no risk football that they have now adapted. This style required a professional level of fitness that few only full time teams can reach and if teams try to copy them with this style we may be heading into a new black death of no risk no hopefull shots no kick passing unless there is a 90% chance of success. this is not the direction i would like to see the gaa heading in.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 20/12/2020 23:02:58    2324896

Replying To JayP:  "So when Kerry were winning in the noughties like that, the game wasn't in serious trouble?

When KK were dominating the hurling, it was because they were just wristy hurlers?

The major issue here is that people don't like Dublin winning. Cutting Dublin's funding etc etc is only a plan to get Kerry and Mayo back in the mix winning again. It does very little to promote GAA in more unsuccessful counties with less resources.

Lets call a spade a spade here. Kerry, Tyrone, Mayo and Donegal have the resources to fund a team capable of taking on the Dubs. Unfortunately for them, they just don't have the talent to beat the Dubs. All the moaning just highlights the Dubs are supremely talented.

I can tell you right now Pat Spillane and Kevin McStay couldn't give a flying duck about the Clare or LeItrim footballers. They want things changed so their counties can win. As I said above, Pat Spillane didn't care about one sided games or annual cake walks when Kerry were winning in the noughties. They were just super talented and had it "in their blood" etc.

Face up to it, the Dubs are just very good. The teams are just not quite as talented as them at the moment. This will eventually pass. Dublin will lose eventually and someone else will come along."
Nonsense. Donegal can't even get their Centre of Excellence (a mere few floodlit fields with a gym, training hall and few changing rooms) finished after years of fundraising. Tell you what though, about 35% of the population comes from Inishowen and the Finn Valkey which I'd guess has given about 20 players to the County over my 30 years following them - we didn't go bleating to Central Council for a cash injection to increase the rate of participation there.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 20/12/2020 23:15:59    2324905