If Cavan Beat Dublin. What Shock Equates?

This is the year for shocks, I think we are going to end up with the same 2 in the final as 100 years ago, Tipp v Dublin, just have a notion that Mayo will be beaten.
if I was betting on it it would be a Mayo v Dublin final with the Dubs to win it comfortably.
you could have got 20/1 on Cavan at one stage, that's massive odds in a 3 horse race, I can't see them getting close to Dublin but if Dublin are a bit cold and underestimate them it could be closer than a lot of us think.
Hope it's a entertaining game anyway to pass a winters evening, no one wants to see it being over by half time.
Good luck to Cavan.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2752 - 04/12/2020 22:18:16    2318362

Replying To CC2020:  "Cavan 16/1 to beat Dublin.

What shock in Gaelic games, or any sport for that matter, would equate to Cavan beating the Dubs?

Kerry hurlers beating Waterford in 1993? Mullinaghta beating Kilmacud Crokes in 2018? Interesting given the Mickey Graham's involvement."
Japan beating South Africa in 2015 rugby world cup.
Iceland beating England in 2016 euro's.
Ireland beating Italy USA 94.
Leicester city winning the premier league.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 04/12/2020 22:23:45    2318363

Replying To CC2020:  "It's close enough to the mighty ducks :D

Your post reminds me of a Joe Dooley quote about Kilkenny pre 2000 All Ireland. 'Kilkenny men are just the same as ourselves 2 legs, 2 arms, a head and a body'. Offaly haven't beaten us since 1998.

When professional teams tear into the all blacks they do so on an equal basis. Cavan won't be tomorrow. One are pro in all but name. Their players have 5/6 years of conditioning and training on Cavan. Yes All county teams go to the gym, but there's a big difference in the programmes."
Very disrespectful reply. Football players in every county bar yours are engaging in training plans designed by competent individuals. Cavan have a core of lads who have been training hard for near a decade. Not one of them is lacking in physical conditioning.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 04/12/2020 22:24:44    2318364

Replying To CC2020:  "It's close enough to the mighty ducks :D

Your post reminds me of a Joe Dooley quote about Kilkenny pre 2000 All Ireland. 'Kilkenny men are just the same as ourselves 2 legs, 2 arms, a head and a body'. Offaly haven't beaten us since 1998.

When professional teams tear into the all blacks they do so on an equal basis. Cavan won't be tomorrow. One are pro in all but name. Their players have 5/6 years of conditioning and training on Cavan. Yes All county teams go to the gym, but there's a big difference in the programmes."
Very disrespectful reply. Football players in every county bar yours are engaging in training plans designed by competent individuals. Cavan have a core of lads who have been training hard for near a decade. Not one of them is lacking in physical conditioning.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 04/12/2020 22:25:04    2318365

Replying To CC2020:  "There are 10 years in a decade.. Unless ye measure time differently up there.

Ii said the last 10 years. They beat Meath in the quarters in 2010 though. The Leinster champions."
You said 2009-2013

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 04/12/2020 23:01:51    2318374

Am expecting an enormous effort from Cavan tomorrow,Cavan have a can do attitude and will go about the game with intelligent effort,hope they give it a right rattle,the game of football needs a great game.Best of luck Cavan...its 15 against 15.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 04/12/2020 23:32:28    2318382

Replying To Breffni40:  "Ok fair enough, yis are right we'll be beat by 40 points.

I have to say I'm surprised how begrudging the Kildare posters in particular are being. Can't see the basis for it?"
Must be the seanie Johnston affair.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 04/12/2020 23:56:04    2318385

Roscommon hurlers beating Wexford in the 1984 Centenary Cup championship was right up there as a huge shock. That was a prestigious competition in a special year for the GAA. Cork beat us by 12 points in the next round which was a decent enough result.

That same Roscommon team were 5 minutes away from being promoted to Div 1 in 1984 in the last round of Div 2 games only for trajectories in a couple of games to change and the sliding door closed in the wrong direction after that. Game still survives in its traditional strongholds in the south of the county but generally we are regressing.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 05/12/2020 00:23:53    2318393

I don't think we'll see fire like what Cavan will bring this evening for while. I genuinely don't think it will be enough for them but its hard not to see them leaving not having done themselves proud. From what I've seen of them anyway. Safe journey to the Cavan team, avoid any tolls, I'll get my coat...

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 05/12/2020 01:18:18    2318395

Replying To Breffni40:  "We're in the All-Ireland Semi-Final. They're not."
There's a lot of variables involved. You don't have Dublin in your province.

You really rode your luck getting to the final this year. When you had such trouble with Antrim... that's not a good sign.

You beat one team of consequence. Monaghan have lost to Fermanagh and other weaker teams early in Ulster campaigns. Donegal are a team ye played your best against.

But that Donegal game could be your all Ireland final. Cavan are going to be nervous hitting Croke Park tomorrow. It's not just another pitch. It's very new to the team. If ye overdo the physicality in a clumsy fashion, as ye have tended to do, Dublin will destroy ye when ye have black cards. Also you can't kick early nervy wides. Absolutely everything has to go right.

I hope it does. But I don't for a second believe there is a chance all will align.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 05/12/2020 01:54:59    2318396

Cavan have been an absolute credit this year and winning Ulster was their All Ireland. We all like to dream of fairy tales but in essence, they beat 2 serious players who had their eye on bigger fish and were caught in Monaghan and Donegal. No matter what way you look at it - Cavan simply don't have the players to hurt the mighty Dubs. They will be beaten some day, but unfortunately for the nuetral, it won't be tomorrow. Game over by half time for me - here's hoping we're all proved wrong and a competitive game involving the Dubs would be very welcome!

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 05/12/2020 02:18:07    2318397

I think it would be brilliant to have a end of year game after the championship is over. Between Dublin v the best 15 players in the country to make up a rest of Ireland team. It would give Dublin a proper challenge and it would give opposition players a once in a lifetime chance of getting a victory over the dubs and would also give us fans a chance to actually watch a full match involving Dublin without turning the channel or falling asleep. ( Its Its obviously a joke ) but let's face it what other team is ever going to beat Dublin at this rate. Haha wake me up when someone has please

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 05/12/2020 03:27:18    2318400

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Japan beating South Africa in 2015 rugby world cup.
Iceland beating England in 2016 euro's.
Ireland beating Italy USA 94.
Leicester city winning the premier league."
Mullinealachta, a crossroads in the middle of nowhere, winning 3 Senior Longford titles in a row and a Leinster title, overcoming the unbackable Kilmacud in the final.

Now if only we could call on the man behind that miracle. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/12/2020 09:35:47    2318418

Replying To facethepuckout:  "Roscommon hurlers beating Wexford in the 1984 Centenary Cup championship was right up there as a huge shock. That was a prestigious competition in a special year for the GAA. Cork beat us by 12 points in the next round which was a decent enough result.

That same Roscommon team were 5 minutes away from being promoted to Div 1 in 1984 in the last round of Div 2 games only for trajectories in a couple of games to change and the sliding door closed in the wrong direction after that. Game still survives in its traditional strongholds in the south of the county but generally we are regressing."
I remember those days - Roscommon had a great record at home and were unlucky to miss out on promotion to division 1. They gave a decent account of themselves against Galway in the Connacht final around the same time. Westmeath got promoted to division 1 a few years later and beat Galway at home when Galway were all-Ireland champions. Antrim had a great team from the mid 80s to the early 90s and Down and Derry were quite competitive for a while too. It would be great to see all these counties and others competing at the top level again.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 05/12/2020 10:01:15    2318422

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Not a sport but a Cavan win tomorrow would be an equal shock to the Cavan team bus taking their return journey route home through the M50 toll booth."
Safer than going through Kells and having
Meath men throwing bricks through the bus windows like 1997 eh?

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 05/12/2020 10:13:11    2318428

Replying To opa01:  "Safer than going through Kells and having
Meath men throwing bricks through the bus windows like 1997 eh?"
I wouldn't worry too much about that Opa if they're anything like their countys forwards they'll miss their target anyway!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 05/12/2020 10:41:24    2318436

Replying To cavanman47:  "Mullinealachta, a crossroads in the middle of nowhere, winning 3 Senior Longford titles in a row and a Leinster title, overcoming the unbackable Kilmacud in the final.

Now if only we could call on the man behind that miracle. ."
Haha I wish ye the best of luck and I hope ye can do it. My favourite sports manager of all time is Brian Clough as he often said himself "miracles can happen" and he brought Nottingham Forrest from nothing to league and back to back European cup champions.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 05/12/2020 10:43:27    2318440

Jesus, cave, 3 days. Simple.

Oldyellar (Carlow) - Posts: 42 - 05/12/2020 10:57:50    2318446

Unfortunately there will be no shock even though we would all love Cavan to do it.
The GAA will get the TV final they hope for.
The failure to move the game to a neutral venue, especially in a year where supporters can't attend shows that the GAA & the subservient counties will allow Dublin have those extra little advantages that others don't get, such as same warm up end, same dressing room, majority of games in Croke Park, the massive gulf in funding. Ally these to the corporate sponsorship that no other county can possibly compete with & there is a major inequity.
The above distinct advantages should not detract from the fact that this Dublin team are the greatest of all time & are a joy to watch in full flow, but neither should the fact that they are a brillant football team detract from people pointing out the very obvious other advantages they enjoy.
The fact that this semi final, in a year where accommodating supporters is not an issue, was not moved out of Croke Park shows that the GAA have no intention of addressing any of these advantages, in fact with Dublin John, CEO of GPA a Dub & DG a Dublin club man, it's obvious nothing will change in the long term.
The failure of the other County Boards & county delegates at Congress to tackle this shows that nothing will change either, while these delegates are happy to be fed crumbs from the top table to enhance their own GAA ambitions rather than having the balls to stand up & rock the boat. I exclude the Donegal chairman from this, for having the courage of his convictions to challenge the status quo. I also would applaud the Mayo team that challenged the GAA by warming up at the Dublin end in 2006.
Another group that will dismiss these advantages are the TV rights companies & MSM as they are driven by profit & all their lackeys from Kerry, Derry, Meath & Dublin are only concerned about their gig & the moolah they are getting from it & will not challenge it.
Draw for dressing rooms & warm up ends, let Leinster counties play home games v the Dubs regardless of stadium capacity. Get Dublin out of Croke Park for 2 games of Super 8's. Put a cap on corporate sponsorship & distribute rest amongst smaller counties. Address the inequitable funding & start funding other counties to the same level. Address the above issues & be seen as an Association that sees equity as being a standard to strive for.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/12/2020 12:15:45    2318461

Replying To CC2020:  "There's a lot of variables involved. You don't have Dublin in your province.

You really rode your luck getting to the final this year. When you had such trouble with Antrim... that's not a good sign.

You beat one team of consequence. Monaghan have lost to Fermanagh and other weaker teams early in Ulster campaigns. Donegal are a team ye played your best against.

But that Donegal game could be your all Ireland final. Cavan are going to be nervous hitting Croke Park tomorrow. It's not just another pitch. It's very new to the team. If ye overdo the physicality in a clumsy fashion, as ye have tended to do, Dublin will destroy ye when ye have black cards. Also you can't kick early nervy wides. Absolutely everything has to go right.

I hope it does. But I don't for a second believe there is a chance all will align."
Listen, its very clear you know very little about Cavan football. I know exactly where we stand and the huge task ahead of us later on but you seem to think we're a team of chancers chasing their luck. Show some respect

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 05/12/2020 12:16:58    2318462