If Cavan Beat Dublin. What Shock Equates?

Replying To cavanman47:  ""Donegal by whatever they want"

"Donegal will win this pulling up"

"He (McMenamin) won't be needed on Sunday but he will for the semi final"

"Cavan haven't a hope in hell of beating this Donegal team"

"End of the road for Cavan"

"Let's face it, Cavan are lucky to even be in the final"

Just a small sample of what was written on this message board 2 weeks ago. Keep it coming lads!"
World of difference between Dublin and Donegal. That isn't Donegal 2012.

Most Dublin players are going for 6 all irelands in a row.

Nothing to convince me ye can put up performances like Mayo peak years or Kerry drawn final last year.

Sorry I think ye're down the pack with Laois, Westmeath and Meath. Not near Mayo or Kerry at their best.

Ye're well managed and have admirable attitude, but won't be enough to keep the beating under 11/12 points.

Again I HOPE I'm wrong.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 04/12/2020 18:11:15    2318278

P.s. I'm messing and slagging a bit re. Cavan. I know a good few Cavan people. Really good people. I played college football with Ronan Carolan and you won't meet a nicer gent. I know how passionate ye are about football.

I just fear your optimism may be shattered like the Leinster teams. They are full of manly players who gave it their solid best, Laois, Longford, Offaly, Kildare, Meath etc over the past 10 years.

At least Cavan have no baggage. I hope that's a plus.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 04/12/2020 18:17:01    2318280

Ok fair enough, yis are right we'll be beat by 40 points.

I have to say I'm surprised how begrudging the Kildare posters in particular are being. Can't see the basis for it?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 04/12/2020 18:34:42    2318286

Replying To lilylanger:  "Donegal are not Dublin."
Cavan aren't Kildare

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 04/12/2020 18:35:44    2318287

If Cavan win tomorrow, yes,it will be a shock. However, they are Ulster champions and have come through some tough tests.
Dublin will be favourites but if you are a provincial champion it's not like you are an unknown.
It would be considered a shock them winning Ulster and Tipperary's win in Munster would be considered a huge shock also so let's not get carried away with this talk of outrageous shocks. Unlikely and yes a shock but it's not like they haven't a hope in hell.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/12/2020 19:37:36    2318306

Replying To CC2020:  "Cavan 16/1 to beat Dublin.

What shock in Gaelic games, or any sport for that matter, would equate to Cavan beating the Dubs?

Kerry hurlers beating Waterford in 1993? Mullinaghta beating Kilmacud Crokes in 2018? Interesting given the Mickey Graham's involvement."
Not a sport but a Cavan win tomorrow would be an equal shock to the Cavan team bus taking their return journey route home through the M50 toll booth.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 04/12/2020 19:49:52    2318311

Replying To Breffni40:  "Cavan aren't Kildare"
Or Cork even!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 04/12/2020 20:01:57    2318318

Great news report on the schools up in Cavan. all decked out in blue, kids wearing the colours and making banners, fair play to the kids, great to see.

Now to destroy their dreams...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/12/2020 20:08:51    2318326

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Not a sport but a Cavan win tomorrow would be an equal shock to the Cavan team bus taking their return journey route home through the M50 toll booth."
That would be pretty unlikely considering we live in Cavan and not wicklow or wexford. Clap clap

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 04/12/2020 20:24:45    2318331

Why do you think you are better than Kildare?

Very similar profile. Ye have 5 All Irelands pre 1952, they have 4 from early in the Association years. Revival for Cavan 1997, Kildare 1998.

Kildare reached a few all ireland quarters and a semi 2009-2013. They have achieved more in championship over the past 10 years and are usually in a higher division. Kildare would have won Leinsters in the years mentioned without Dublin. Munster, Ulster and Connacht are alllucky in that they don't have to face Dublin in their province.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 04/12/2020 20:39:39    2318334

Very true.

We beat you only 6 weeks ago as ye were relegated to Division 3 of the National League.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 04/12/2020 21:02:41    2318340

Replying To CC2020:  "Why do you think you are better than Kildare?

Very similar profile. Ye have 5 All Irelands pre 1952, they have 4 from early in the Association years. Revival for Cavan 1997, Kildare 1998.

Kildare reached a few all ireland quarters and a semi 2009-2013. They have achieved more in championship over the past 10 years and are usually in a higher division. Kildare would have won Leinsters in the years mentioned without Dublin. Munster, Ulster and Connacht are alllucky in that they don't have to face Dublin in their province."
Dublin didn't win it in 2010. Did kildare?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 04/12/2020 21:08:21    2318342

Kildare reached a few all ireland quarters and a semi 2009-2013. They have achieved more in championship over the past 10 years and are usually in a higher division. Kildare would have won Leinsters in the years mentioned without Dublin. Munster, Ulster and Connacht are alllucky in that they don't have to face Dublin in their province."
We're in the All-Ireland Semi-Final. They're not.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 04/12/2020 21:23:34    2318344

I'm so against historical data being used to measure how good a team can be now. What difference does Kildare's 1928 all ireland make to anything now? None.
Cavan's 2020 team should hold themselves to no other standard than they themselves believe they're capable of... if they do that then I hope however tomorrow goes, they'll be happy and proud of their achievements, because they have achieved a huge amount this year.
I don't think Kildare people are being begrudging by saying Dublin aren't Donegal. They're really not. They're a vicious animal ready to attack whatever moves. Likewise, Cavan and Kildare are pretty similar. It was only a few short weeks ago Kildare beat Cavan in the league. As much as I wish it wasn't true, I think anyone from Kildare condemning Cavan to a grizzly fate tomorrow is just being realistic, although I desperately wish for it not to turn out that way.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 04/12/2020 21:27:04    2318346

Replying To cavanman47:  "Dublin didn't win it in 2010. Did kildare?"
There are 10 years in a decade.. Unless ye measure time differently up there.

Ii said the last 10 years. They beat Meath in the quarters in 2010 though. The Leinster champions.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 04/12/2020 21:27:40    2318347

Replying To jimbodub:  "Great news report on the schools up in Cavan. all decked out in blue, kids wearing the colours and making banners, fair play to the kids, great to see.

Now to destroy their dreams..."
If it was the Dublin of Lyons, Carr or Pillar, absolutely Cavan could and actually probably would beat ye as those were flakey Dublin teams who believed the hype but...

This Dublin team don't take any opposition for granted. Every team is studied and respected but ultimately Dublin then go out and destroy 95% of the opposition they play because they have better players and are absolutely ruthless.

That's said it's sport and every now and then the perceived impossible happens...but no it won't happen tomorrow in my opinion.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 04/12/2020 21:36:08    2318348

At this point in time National League is irrelevant. League is always different than championship and especially in a knockout. Of the 4 teams left only one is in Division 1. On Cavan's chances of beating Dublin! only two teams have an opportunity to beat Dublin and Cavan is one of those teams. You always have a chance when you are still in a competition, so I wish Cavan the best of luck tomorrow.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 04/12/2020 21:38:58    2318349

I know that they aren't looking, but It would be great if the Cavan players could see this rubbish. Yes Dublin are firm favourites. They've won 5 in a row and have a squad of great players. Greatest shock in history! Get lost. These Dublin players aren't machines or drugged up supermen. No wonder teams lie down and let the dubs trample them in their path. Its time for teams to treat matches against them the way teams treat a match against the All blacks. Tear into them like maniacs and make it a war zone. Here's hoping for such a battle tomorrow. Shock yes but it's hardly the mighty ducks vs the Soviet union!!

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 04/12/2020 21:44:13    2318350

Replying To yew_tree:  "If it was the Dublin of Lyons, Carr or Pillar, absolutely Cavan could and actually probably would beat ye as those were flakey Dublin teams who believed the hype but...

This Dublin team don't take any opposition for granted. Every team is studied and respected but ultimately Dublin then go out and destroy 95% of the opposition they play because they have better players and are absolutely ruthless.

That's said it's sport and every now and then the perceived impossible happens...but no it won't happen tomorrow in my opinion."
Nail on the head re. Dublin post Gilroy.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 04/12/2020 21:50:37    2318352

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I know that they aren't looking, but It would be great if the Cavan players could see this rubbish. Yes Dublin are firm favourites. They've won 5 in a row and have a squad of great players. Greatest shock in history! Get lost. These Dublin players aren't machines or drugged up supermen. No wonder teams lie down and let the dubs trample them in their path. Its time for teams to treat matches against them the way teams treat a match against the All blacks. Tear into them like maniacs and make it a war zone. Here's hoping for such a battle tomorrow. Shock yes but it's hardly the mighty ducks vs the Soviet union!!"
It's close enough to the mighty ducks :D

Your post reminds me of a Joe Dooley quote about Kilkenny pre 2000 All Ireland. 'Kilkenny men are just the same as ourselves 2 legs, 2 arms, a head and a body'. Offaly haven't beaten us since 1998.

When professional teams tear into the all blacks they do so on an equal basis. Cavan won't be tomorrow. One are pro in all but name. Their players have 5/6 years of conditioning and training on Cavan. Yes All county teams go to the gym, but there's a big difference in the programmes.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 04/12/2020 21:56:38    2318356