Kilkenny V Waterford

Replying To Canuck:  "I am going to rant. I never blame refs and always defend them even against my own team but that was absolutely scandalous. In the first quarter every time a Kilkenny player got bottled up he gave a free. If he applied the same to Jamie Barron he would have 10 frees on his own. Once Kilkenny got well ahead he began to give the odd one to us at the wrong end of the field. Guess what he started again when it got down to two points. One in particular Ryan threw up the ball and caught it again, got challenged and a free to Kilkenny. Look I have the greatest respect for Kilkenny and hate making our win about refereeing but if we had got pipped it would be a sore point for ever more.
Looking forward to tomorrow and hopefully we can put it up to the winners."
Canuck I have great time for your opinions some I agree with others I don't. Enjoy the well deserved win today don't worry about the ref. You have a great day coming up look forward not backwards. Relish that Cahill has you playing real hurling not that gimmick stuff McGrath had you playing. Write about Gleeson playing the way he suppose to play, how Bennett took the game by the scruff of the neck when it needed to be done. I hope you win it now Cahill will bring everyone back to earth this week and it should be a great All Ireland. One note as a Kilkenny man I was proud to see our lads taking a few belts and not rolling around on the ground trying to get someone a card. Very sporting match no dirt and played by 30-40 real men. Good luck to Waterford.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 28/11/2020 20:52:53    2316302

Delighted for Waterford. Liam Cahill and his team have really turned things around. Full credit to players, some outstanding performances. I thought the ref was poor and very one sided. Job not done yet.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 28/11/2020 20:59:36    2316304

Kilkenny again faded badly in the second half and Waterford grew into the game and deserved their win. Kilkenny were almost caught by Dublin when they faded badly in their clash and this is something you wouldn't associate with them.
TJ Reid though for me is up there in any discussion about greatest hurlers and right up there with Shefflin and DJ. If only he had the players along side him to back him up.
Well done Waterford and good luck in the final.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/11/2020 21:10:54    2316309

Replying To gatha:  "Canuck I have great time for your opinions some I agree with others I don't. Enjoy the well deserved win today don't worry about the ref. You have a great day coming up look forward not backwards. Relish that Cahill has you playing real hurling not that gimmick stuff McGrath had you playing. Write about Gleeson playing the way he suppose to play, how Bennett took the game by the scruff of the neck when it needed to be done. I hope you win it now Cahill will bring everyone back to earth this week and it should be a great All Ireland. One note as a Kilkenny man I was proud to see our lads taking a few belts and not rolling around on the ground trying to get someone a card. Very sporting match no dirt and played by 30-40 real men. Good luck to Waterford."
In fairness ye did get the rub of the green officiating wise....

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 28/11/2020 21:15:00    2316310

Well done Waterford...what a second half. Would be a fitting end to the year if they were to win the Liam McCarty.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 28/11/2020 21:17:18    2316312

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Huge win,well done..my god what was said at half time?backs were outstanding and matched kk physically..Bennett and ossie were real leaders when needed..fair play to Horgan in doing a great job as ref,left it be physical and played advantage rule..Waterford will be very hard to beat now in final.."
Horgan was awful. The game being so good and Waterford being fantastic saved him. He missed a blatant yellow on Hutchinsons marker. He gave Kilkenny some exceptionally soft frees in the first half. He missed over carries in the second ,about 3 from Waterford. He gave Kilkenny 6 or 7 more frees and then he missed a few shocking fouls.Nothing will take from the day. Thank God for Waterford .

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 28/11/2020 22:08:26    2316329

Replying To catch22:  "Kilkenny again faded badly in the second half and Waterford grew into the game and deserved their win. Kilkenny were almost caught by Dublin when they faded badly in their clash and this is something you wouldn't associate with them.
TJ Reid though for me is up there in any discussion about greatest hurlers and right up there with Shefflin and DJ. If only he had the players along side him to back him up.
Well done Waterford and good luck in the final."
TJ Reid is one of the best Kilkenny players I seen, I rate him ahead of Shefflin without hesitation, one little thing for such a great player, he won a number of frees this evening by he himself, grabbing his marker and pulling him in on top himself and of course all go to ground the referee (whom I thought gave Kilkenny a few very questionable frees) gives the free to the forward...he does it very discreetly but he has too much skill to be at that lark...people will say "more luck to him, clever play" its not fair play in my and most people minds....he cut a very dejected figure this evening, and off the top of my head not knowing his age, have a hunch he might be pondering his future..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 28/11/2020 22:25:20    2316334

Replying To bloodyban:  "Horgan was awful. The game being so good and Waterford being fantastic saved him. He missed a blatant yellow on Hutchinsons marker. He gave Kilkenny some exceptionally soft frees in the first half. He missed over carries in the second ,about 3 from Waterford. He gave Kilkenny 6 or 7 more frees and then he missed a few shocking fouls.Nothing will take from the day. Thank God for Waterford ."
referee was shocking I thought, in particular when Kilkenny were on top, the amount of frees he awarded to Kilkenny for rough tackling by the Waterford players, yet Kilkenny were constantly, sticking the hurl in over the shoulder of Waterford players but apparently thats not a free...Waterford won this game the hard way as a result, they were superb in second half, I am delighted for them, and while I love Limerick hurling, I dont think anyone would begrudge Waterford an All Ireland at this stage...Gleeson had an awesome second half, but is he wasted in the full forward line, he is the type of player that needs to be in the action, I would have him out the field, indeed at half time I was wondering would they ship him back to the back line such was the pressure they were under, but they came good in second half, Galway will be kicking themselves after throwing away a Leinster final...Dublin will be also kicking themselves too having come back from huge deficit to not catch Kilkenny, Kilkenny had a few big leads this year and coughed them up, but ran out of road today, no harm, let some of the lesser winners win it..........

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 28/11/2020 22:32:32    2316336

Replying To gatha:  "Canuck I have great time for your opinions some I agree with others I don't. Enjoy the well deserved win today don't worry about the ref. You have a great day coming up look forward not backwards. Relish that Cahill has you playing real hurling not that gimmick stuff McGrath had you playing. Write about Gleeson playing the way he suppose to play, how Bennett took the game by the scruff of the neck when it needed to be done. I hope you win it now Cahill will bring everyone back to earth this week and it should be a great All Ireland. One note as a Kilkenny man I was proud to see our lads taking a few belts and not rolling around on the ground trying to get someone a card. Very sporting match no dirt and played by 30-40 real men. Good luck to Waterford."
Gatha Kilkenny always play the game as should be. None of that old nonsense stuff you mentioned.Having lived there 15 years I witnessed that first hand. That is why they are the aristocrats of the sport. I will leave the referee thing alone but was never so agitated in my life.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 28/11/2020 22:47:51    2316342

I made a mistake about Horgan,what I should have said was the 2nd half he did well..he left Waterford actually tackle and be physical and when this happened Kilkenny were lost..I agree frees in first half given to killkenny were very,very soft..think it was well into first half before Waterford got a free inside kk half..I'm really delighted for ye and I'm not patroniding ye..I think ye have a good one in Liam Cahill and it was a huge mistake tipp left him go especially after all his success with minor under 20/21..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2224 - 28/11/2020 23:05:29    2316343

To be fair Gatha I've never seen a Kilkenny player stoop to that, a credit to the jersey as always.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 28/11/2020 23:18:03    2316345

Replying To Canuck:  "I am going to rant. I never blame refs and always defend them even against my own team but that was absolutely scandalous. In the first quarter every time a Kilkenny player got bottled up he gave a free. If he applied the same to Jamie Barron he would have 10 frees on his own. Once Kilkenny got well ahead he began to give the odd one to us at the wrong end of the field. Guess what he started again when it got down to two points. One in particular Ryan threw up the ball and caught it again, got challenged and a free to Kilkenny. Look I have the greatest respect for Kilkenny and hate making our win about refereeing but if we had got pipped it would be a sore point for ever more.
Looking forward to tomorrow and hopefully we can put it up to the winners."
Your absolutely right. I know Waterford were'nt helping themselves in the first half but it was clear from the opening minutes who he was favouring. Again when the match was in the balance in the third quarter and Waterford look like they needed a break none was forthcoming. A simple example Callum Lyons was pulled for over carrying even though TJ had held his hurl which was fair enough but in the very next play Eoin Cody took at least eight steps without playing the ball and no free . Kilkenny players rarely get pulled for overcarrying the ball even though they are serial offenders and they have that awful habit of running into defenders and shaking their heads to win a free . Its been going on for years and has been aided and abetted by referees. Its not anti KIlkenny thing by the way because I love watching them play and rheir never say die attitude its more the way referees always seem to give them the benefit of the doubt but dont for other teams. As an aside every free TJ took this evening he helped himself to a few extra yards and why wouldnt he says you when no one bothered to stop him

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 28/11/2020 23:32:03    2316346

Never thought I'd see Kilkenny cough up a nine point lead in an All Ireland semi final. Well beaten despite a load of soft frees in the last quarter. Think Cody's time is up. Would like to see Waterford win it now.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 463 - 28/11/2020 23:44:02    2316348

13 points from frees for TJ and i am sure Waterford planned to minimise scoring opportunities from frees for TJ but what do you do when you have a ref like that.

One of the best halves of hurling played by any team that I can recall. Incredibly skillful teams out there at the moment, a golden era.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 29/11/2020 00:27:51    2316354

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I made a mistake about Horgan,what I should have said was the 2nd half he did well..he left Waterford actually tackle and be physical and when this happened Kilkenny were lost..I agree frees in first half given to killkenny were very,very soft..think it was well into first half before Waterford got a free inside kk half..I'm really delighted for ye and I'm not patroniding ye..I think ye have a good one in Liam Cahill and it was a huge mistake tipp left him go especially after all his success with minor under 20/21.."
Nothing stopping him managing Tipp down the line

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12027 - 29/11/2020 08:44:16    2316371

Replying To ZUL10:  "Well done Waterford. Its great to see them playing proper hurling again. They are too talented for the restricted game plan that the likes of Davy fits and Derek McGrath imposed on them. Welcome back to hurling."
Couldnt say they played much different a system to the way McGrath had them or Davy has us. Lots of moving the ball through the lines, short passing, running off the shoulder, swarming the opponent on the ball etc. Difference is Cahill has them playing with much more intensity and has them super fit. They have had the talent the last 5 or 6 years. After they lost the final to Galway in 2017 I was full sure they would end their drought soon. Where they were better than us last year is when they played the get out ball to Gleeson and Hutchinson inside the lads came back ahead of their man and won it which is what we couldn't do against Tipp last year in the last 10 or 15 minutes. Also think Tipp are a better team than Kilkenny at the moment too. Ordinarily I'd hope Limerick would win Liam when Wexford wouldn't but I'd be delighted for Waterford and hurling in general if they were to win it this year!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12027 - 29/11/2020 08:53:38    2316372

That second half from Waterford was manic. Played like their lives depended on it. The quality was brilliant in terms of scoring, hunting down the opposition, it was a serious team performance. Cahill's desire on the sideline was a clear indicator of a hungry group dynamic. A beautiful part of Ireland that I've spent a nice bit of time in. Hoping they finish the job now.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 29/11/2020 08:55:54    2316373

christ almight Canuck is there anything you can't complain about?
won an epic all ireland semi final and all you can do is complain about the ref?
i think you need a bit of perspective man.decisions come and go,we all see the ones that go against us.
enjoy the win and forget about the ref ffs.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 29/11/2020 09:09:13    2316377

the old dog lost, fair play to waterford, hope they win it out, that county needs it and deserve it, they have had hard times and so close with galway two years back. Would love to see them do it.

GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 29/11/2020 09:12:29    2316380

Replying To Viking66:  "Nothing stopping him managing Tipp down the line"
Exactly. I've heard a few saying it was a mistake that Tipp let Cahill go to Waterford. That's nonsense. They were hardly going to replace Liam Sheedy after he had just won the All-Ireland. What else could they do? It's actually beneficial that Cahill's getting a chance to cut his teeth in senior management elsewhere. If he does come back to manage Tipp at some stage, he'll have a lot more experience.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 29/11/2020 09:45:24    2316384