Kilkenny V Waterford

Magnificent second half performance of disciplined and accurate hurling and deserved winners... TJ the only Kilkenny man able to stand up to the Deise !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 28/11/2020 19:38:57    2316254

I been saying it for the last 3 years . Kilkenny are a one trick pony with TJ Reed. It is great to see Waterford in All Ireland final. No matter who wins tomorrow Waterford will be hard bet. Delighted for Waterford they have fantastic supporters

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 28/11/2020 19:39:21    2316255

Replying To daytona11:  "4 mins to add on. Crazy. Where did that come from."
It came from gaa refs constantly favouring the traditional counties in matches.I"m a neutral but I 'd be interested in the free count.Kilkenny seemed to get frees far more easily than Waterford.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 28/11/2020 19:42:49    2316257

Well done to Waterford. Very poor first half but they righted those wrongs in a big way. It seemed like they won every high ball in 2nd half. Kk very poor in the 2nd half. Letting leads slip seems to be an Achilles heel for this new team. Very unlike KK teams,to not kick on after being 9pts up. Fair play to the Deise they outfought KK in the 2nd half and its a thoroughly deserved win. Now go on and win the All-ireland.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 118 - 28/11/2020 19:45:57    2316261

Wow well done Waterford, when Gleeson plays like that nobody is as good and nobody can mark him.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 28/11/2020 19:46:28    2316263

Lord above! What a win! Fair play to the Deise. An absolute treat to watch a battle like that on a long winter's night.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 905 - 28/11/2020 19:47:08    2316264

Huge win,well done..my god what was said at half time?backs were outstanding and matched kk physically..Bennett and ossie were real leaders when needed..fair play to Horgan in doing a great job as ref,left it be physical and played advantage rule..Waterford will be very hard to beat now in final..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2224 - 28/11/2020 19:47:28    2316265

Congratulations to Waterford, on turning around a game, that looked beyond them in the first half.
But for a few misdirected balls late on, the margin might have been more. Go on now and win the final.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 28/11/2020 19:53:25    2316267

Fagan fella caught some ball in second half, they'll take beaten

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/11/2020 19:58:26    2316272

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Huge win,well done..my god what was said at half time?backs were outstanding and matched kk physically..Bennett and ossie were real leaders when needed..fair play to Horgan in doing a great job as ref,left it be physical and played advantage rule..Waterford will be very hard to beat now in final.."
Congratulations to all the team and management- absolutely brilliant win especially after the bad luck ye had over the past two years.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4338 - 28/11/2020 19:59:15    2316273

That was some display in the second half!! Bennet and Gleason really stood up! What about Tadgh de Burca's late point...inspirational. Delighted for Waterford. If they play like that in the. final they could win it!!!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 28/11/2020 20:03:03    2316275

Congrats to Waterford the better team won. Cahill is fantastic He laid down the law in January with certain players and they responded. He instilled a direct style of hurling which the players seem to love. Stopped that defensive stagnant style they were playing for a couple of years. He has real ball winners and they are doing just that. I wonder if Tipp aren't sorry they didn't give him the job last year. Good luck to Waterford in the final.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 28/11/2020 20:16:23    2316278

Replying To endgame:  "It came from gaa refs constantly favouring the traditional counties in matches.I"m a neutral but I 'd be interested in the free count.Kilkenny seemed to get frees far more easily than Waterford."
I am going to rant. I never blame refs and always defend them even against my own team but that was absolutely scandalous. In the first quarter every time a Kilkenny player got bottled up he gave a free. If he applied the same to Jamie Barron he would have 10 frees on his own. Once Kilkenny got well ahead he began to give the odd one to us at the wrong end of the field. Guess what he started again when it got down to two points. One in particular Ryan threw up the ball and caught it again, got challenged and a free to Kilkenny. Look I have the greatest respect for Kilkenny and hate making our win about refereeing but if we had got pipped it would be a sore point for ever more.
Looking forward to tomorrow and hopefully we can put it up to the winners.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 28/11/2020 20:18:28    2316279

Some comeback by the Deise. On the cusp of ending a 61 year famine. No county deserves it more in fairness for the quality of player they produce.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 28/11/2020 20:21:59    2316281

Well done Waterford. Its great to see them playing proper hurling again. They are too talented for the restricted game plan that the likes of Davy fits and Derek McGrath imposed on them. Welcome back to hurling.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 28/11/2020 20:25:16    2316284

Replying To Canuck:  "I am going to rant. I never blame refs and always defend them even against my own team but that was absolutely scandalous. In the first quarter every time a Kilkenny player got bottled up he gave a free. If he applied the same to Jamie Barron he would have 10 frees on his own. Once Kilkenny got well ahead he began to give the odd one to us at the wrong end of the field. Guess what he started again when it got down to two points. One in particular Ryan threw up the ball and caught it again, got challenged and a free to Kilkenny. Look I have the greatest respect for Kilkenny and hate making our win about refereeing but if we had got pipped it would be a sore point for ever more.
Looking forward to tomorrow and hopefully we can put it up to the winners."
Not a rant.The ref visibly and clearly favoured Kilkenny in that match.Waterford were good enough to win anyway and fair play to them.When are the gaa going to do something about their refs constantly favouring the traditional counties in decisions.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 28/11/2020 20:34:19    2316290

They will always be there or thereabouts but Kilkenny have certainly been part of the pack for 4 or 5 years now and in my opinion have been criminally overrated in the media due to the manager and TJ who turned 33 earlier this month, he can't go on forever either.

That 3rd quarter from Waterford was stunning, Lyons was outstanding all game with the Stephen Bennett, Gleeson, Hutchinson and De Burca to the fore after shaky starts. Cahill's stock has risen incredibly this championship and rightly so done an amazing job.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 28/11/2020 20:43:30    2316296

Replying To Canuck:  "I am going to rant. I never blame refs and always defend them even against my own team but that was absolutely scandalous. In the first quarter every time a Kilkenny player got bottled up he gave a free. If he applied the same to Jamie Barron he would have 10 frees on his own. Once Kilkenny got well ahead he began to give the odd one to us at the wrong end of the field. Guess what he started again when it got down to two points. One in particular Ryan threw up the ball and caught it again, got challenged and a free to Kilkenny. Look I have the greatest respect for Kilkenny and hate making our win about refereeing but if we had got pipped it would be a sore point for ever more.
First of all well done on a supper performance.
Secondly while I was delighted for one Tipp man I was ashamed of the other. He done absolutely everything to hand that game to kk. I don't know if he and Cahill has some rivalry or what but that was a disgrace. None more so that the last quarter when Kk got 3 of the softest frees in a row I've ever seen.
Embarrassing stuff.

However let's not take a away from a huge performance and Waterford will have the country behind them from here on in. Bennett is probably the most unorthodox skilful hurler I've seen and he's been doing it for years and finally seems to have the injuries behind him. I'd imagine a lot of people in Waterford would have questioned Cahill when he laid down his marker at the start but they must love him now!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/11/2020 20:45:15    2316298

I watched it as a neutral and I couldn't believe the decisions given by the referee in the 1st half against Waterford,but nothing was going to stop them Waterford boys in the 2nd half,well done lads great win.......

Fkd12 (Louth) - Posts: 149 - 28/11/2020 20:47:08    2316299

Congratulations to Waterford,that was hurling at its best,they were unable to come to terms or match the KK intensity in the first half,ran into trouble and made a lot of errors.Well done to their management team,they righted all the wrongs in the second half and served up a treat of skilful hurling.They outran,outthought,outfoght and outskilled KK completely in the second half.
Not wishing to take away from Waterfords fantastic win but have KK/Brian Cody become too reliant on intensity and not sufficient skilful players coming through?
Hats off to Waterford,ye gave me a fabulous winters evening,ye are a delightful team to watch in full flow.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 28/11/2020 20:51:17    2316301