GAA Funding And Fairness

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Obviously Usernames post was too detailed for you to grasp , went way over your head !"
Why don't you explain it to us poor vacuous folk?

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 285 - 05/12/2020 21:07:22    2318810

Replying To Advancedmark:  "You can think what you like. Your anger is your own I want no part of it. You have my compassion."
Anger? I'm laughing at the utter ridiculousness of it.

Thank you for your compassion however, always appreciate a bit of compassion.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/12/2020 21:22:16    2318821

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Much of that funding was for getting more people playing, not on registered players. People still don't get that there are big chunks of Dublin with no GAA clubs especially on the southside. The GAA correctly identified that Leinster rugby were growing massively - going into primary schools and non traditional rugby areas and also soccer were taking over in many areas too. They wanted to promote GAA in these areas to combat this. They were very successful and drove a huge rise in playing numbers. Now Dublins pick of players is enormous. The rise of Dublin also coincided with the decline of the two dominant teams in Ireland (Kerry & Tyrone) and the end of a golden period of Leinster football in the 00s. The imbalance definitely needs to be addressed but running down the Dublin players doesn't do this. Funding allows structures and facilities to be put in place which is important but it can't kick a point. If other counties can't see this, they will never catch up."
Hes not running down dublin players. Hes speaking on bernard Brogan piece in the times. And right beside his article was another one proving him wrong.

no nasty comment was directed towards brogan simply that what he said was incorrect on on the same page in the same paper was an article proving him wrong. Brogan gets paid to write these article. It's not running him down to disagree with him nor did the person say brogan wasnt a good footballer (most people who disagree with the funding Dublin receives will fully admit that the players are talented)

A board was set up to save dublin football that wasnt struggling. That is unfair. Why isnt there one set up in Galway where soccer and rugby in particular are luring kids away from the GAA?

Because theres no need we're a division 1 team that on a good day could put it up to most division 1 teams but if you use the logic the dubs seem to to justify this board as not unfair then Gakway need a board right now

Another thing Dublin has is jobs...they are going to lose very few people looking for employment. Leitrim will. Under kevin walsh ian burke and johnny Duane were able to train in dublin once a week where they worked and had to make a 2 hour journey to train in Galway twice a week

Not in Dublin GAAs control it's just a bonus of being the capital city. It is along with the high population another reason that Dublin GAA never needed saving kids had other interests big deal

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 05/12/2020 21:24:54    2318824

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Hahaha, Username goes to ground after making a total tool of himself and Advancedmark shows up to carry on the good fight. How predictable, and utterly pathetic."
It's an interesting comparison nonetheless

I'd counter any argument that suggests Dublin's success is down to GDF

I provided plenty of evidence to show Dublin produced brilliant players without it, that have all contributed hugely to the success seen across the 10s. They simply wouldn't have what they did without the players that hace no relation to GDF whatsoever.

Dublin currently are not as talented a side as they once were and the players coming through are not like for like apart from maybe Con.

It's helped that their nearest rivals have regressed and are rebuilding

I'm telling you lads, Dubs are playing a style of football that's really not been seen before. They figured out the blanket and have perfected a system off the back of it that no one can match. A few have got very close and despite it all should have beaten Dublin. The players brought in are fitting into a style of play rather than replacing the level of talent like for like. That's simply not the case..

Remember when no one could figure out the blanket.. that's the logic that needs to be applied now to Dublins style

Not sure what you call it. It's not far off total football. I've never seen such a balanced style of play delivered in such a cohesive manner

I agree though. . Croke Park is an advantage and the Leinster Council needs to do the right thing there and that will largely address Dublin being taken out of Croke Park

I also think the Spring Series should be looked at.

Those two calls will significantly reduce game time in HQ compared to the way it currently sits

That should be done.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/12/2020 21:26:14    2318825

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The Leinster football Championship is dead in the water and the All Ireland is going the same way. Dublin haven't even broken sweat against Cavan and they're 10 up already. It's an absolute farce but Croke Park will continue to bury its head. When the crowds come back there's enough income in Dublin and the hurling to keep the GAA hierarchy happy. They won't change the current set up. We will all be patronisingly told to keep the chins up and work harder as the top brass p*ss themselves laughing at us."
The Leinster championship is dead in the water when the players leave minor level, not before that, because whatever is happening in Dublin after that level is the issue here
Dublin are out of this years Leinster minor championship having been beaten by 11 points by Meath, for the previous 5 years they only reached the final twice winning it just once in 2017. Meath have a much better record at minor level over that period. They last won the all ireland minor title in 2013 (I think)
When players are brought into the set up at the next level, U 20 and senior, they are brought into a more professional system, hence why they are so far ahead of everyone else. That is not to say other counties don't t have a similar professional approach, it's just that theirs is better, whether that is a result of funding or whatever I don't know but the GAA have to ensure funding to all other counties to provide for a level playing field. Just because a team, any team, is defined as amateur does not mean it does not behave as a professional outfit, there seems to be no will within the association to wake up to that fact. Indeed in this case the it is obvious that it is {semi} professionals v amateurs
The Leinster championship is not dead, the amateur game is dead

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 05/12/2020 21:28:34    2318828

Ha, Ha Ha. A terrible beauty born, in here I see.

So the counter argument to my point works on the balance that 5 year olds up were coached up by an injection of funds by the Irish Sports Council. So essentially anyone under 25. You just about get Con, Howard, Murch, P, Small, Basquel, Bugler, and that vintage.

I think the argument works on the basis that GDF certainly the ISC grant goes toward coaching, it doesn't it goes toward participation. The club element do coach, but that relies on lads going to the club.

I'd know the backroads of a lot of the lads and not to go into personal detail, Con comes from GAA lineage family steeped in at he's a legacy player, Howard GAA was his second sport, Rugby his first he spent much of his adolescence in the Leinster Rugby academy, doesn't it show. Murch is from a GAA stronghold of the City, Smalls are renowned family in Ballymun GAA history. Bugler is a legacy his distant family have played. Basquels are a GAA family steeped in Mayo footballing lineage. All these lads were always going to be club and GAA players.

People can make their own minds up. I'm pretty certain, no one arguing the toss knows what goes on in the ground here in Dublin more then me. I actually think a big question for the GAA is the ISP grant money well spent. I'm not sure it has increased participation levels that much in the county. The figures are stark, there are touching 1.4mill people in Dublin, 39k are registered to play GAA, that is shockingly bad. I wouldn't be of the opinion at all that Dublin and the GAA have been successful in growing participation in Dublin.

So why are Dublin so successful? Two reasons in my opinion, the Dublin club element of funding their own development programmes has led to real innovation and development. It's created a baseline stat dare to p,ah Senior Club football in Dublin. Dublin club football is played at a massively high standard and the development of players at club level is huge. The second biggest contribution is the development of the game on the south side and an end to the historical north vs Southside political stuff we saw for years - for example Crokes won club All Ireland's in the 90s but couldn't get a look in with Dublin.

So for me I'd query the effectiveness of ISC grant as participation really hasn't improved that much, but the club facet of the development self funded has been wonderful.

But largely we still relying on lads I mention above who were always going to be GAA players.

I'll be interested in this decade, I think it's will be in the next five years when we start to see whether ISC grant and improved participation really starts to impact and players come through. We have a very specific approach to under age county we do well at U 20, but are brutal at anything under - despite all the non existent coaching money we are supposed to be getting.

Advancedmsrk. ;D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/12/2020 21:37:08    2318839

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Much of that funding was for getting more people playing, not on registered players. People still don't get that there are big chunks of Dublin with no GAA clubs especially on the southside. The GAA correctly identified that Leinster rugby were growing massively - going into primary schools and non traditional rugby areas and also soccer were taking over in many areas too. They wanted to promote GAA in these areas to combat this. They were very successful and drove a huge rise in playing numbers. Now Dublins pick of players is enormous. The rise of Dublin also coincided with the decline of the two dominant teams in Ireland (Kerry & Tyrone) and the end of a golden period of Leinster football in the 00s. The imbalance definitely needs to be addressed but running down the Dublin players doesn't do this. Funding allows structures and facilities to be put in place which is important but it can't kick a point. If other counties can't see this, they will never catch up."
The registered players stuff is unfortunately what's being written about by people that should really know better but seemingly don't.

Sort of a head scratcher that one..

It's this misinformation that is getting the most noise, for flip sake we even had RTE Prime time copy and pasting the same stuff.

I just don't take it seriously at all as their point of reference just isn't right.

An awful lot of the funding has been spent on getting little girls into the games across both codes too. You never see that addressed.

The numbers in this demographic need to be properly examined. What I can see on the ground is a game changing and unprecedented pickup for female participation across Dublin and that takes a sizeable % of the allocated funds.

This funding isn't just for young boys and any figure being applied really needs to take that fact into consideration.

There's a distinct lack of understanding at play and inaccuracies are unfortunately getting published

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/12/2020 21:45:50    2318847

if Dublin was apparently struggling then that clearly all other leinster counties are struggling why isnt there a board for them

Do you not think meath and kildare are struggling to keep lads interested in the GAA

Why is it that now the leinster counties dont need the help that Dublin was given they just need to get on with it and reach Dublins standards

Dublin got extra help when it wasnt needed. Other counties need the help and it's not been given, the heads are in the sand

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 05/12/2020 22:14:45    2318868

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha, Ha Ha. A terrible beauty born, in here I see.

So the counter argument to my point works on the balance that 5 year olds up were coached up by an injection of funds by the Irish Sports Council. So essentially anyone under 25. You just about get Con, Howard, Murch, P, Small, Basquel, Bugler, and that vintage.

I think the argument works on the basis that GDF certainly the ISC grant goes toward coaching, it doesn't it goes toward participation. The club element do coach, but that relies on lads going to the club.

I'd know the backroads of a lot of the lads and not to go into personal detail, Con comes from GAA lineage family steeped in at he's a legacy player, Howard GAA was his second sport, Rugby his first he spent much of his adolescence in the Leinster Rugby academy, doesn't it show. Murch is from a GAA stronghold of the City, Smalls are renowned family in Ballymun GAA history. Bugler is a legacy his distant family have played. Basquels are a GAA family steeped in Mayo footballing lineage. All these lads were always going to be club and GAA players.

People can make their own minds up. I'm pretty certain, no one arguing the toss knows what goes on in the ground here in Dublin more then me. I actually think a big question for the GAA is the ISP grant money well spent. I'm not sure it has increased participation levels that much in the county. The figures are stark, there are touching 1.4mill people in Dublin, 39k are registered to play GAA, that is shockingly bad. I wouldn't be of the opinion at all that Dublin and the GAA have been successful in growing participation in Dublin.

So why are Dublin so successful? Two reasons in my opinion, the Dublin club element of funding their own development programmes has led to real innovation and development. It's created a baseline stat dare to p,ah Senior Club football in Dublin. Dublin club football is played at a massively high standard and the development of players at club level is huge. The second biggest contribution is the development of the game on the south side and an end to the historical north vs Southside political stuff we saw for years - for example Crokes won club All Ireland's in the 90s but couldn't get a look in with Dublin.

So for me I'd query the effectiveness of ISC grant as participation really hasn't improved that much, but the club facet of the development self funded has been wonderful.

But largely we still relying on lads I mention above who were always going to be GAA players.

I'll be interested in this decade, I think it's will be in the next five years when we start to see whether ISC grant and improved participation really starts to impact and players come through. We have a very specific approach to under age county we do well at U 20, but are brutal at anything under - despite all the non existent coaching money we are supposed to be getting.

Advancedmsrk. ;D"
Good post Username

Only thing I'd counter is that the participation rate seen in girls/young women has absolutely sky rocketed

It's proved massively successful

It's chalk and cheese to the Dublin I grew up in across the 80's and 90's.

I'd like to see an in depth look at the level of pickup across that particular demographic which again is something never really discussed at all and there's a lot of the funding gone into making that happen.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/12/2020 22:24:07    2318875

Replying To jimbodub:  "The registered players stuff is unfortunately what's being written about by people that should really know better but seemingly don't.

It's this misinformation that is getting the most noise, for flip sake we even had RTE Prime time copy and pasting the same stuff.

I just don't take it seriously at all as their point of reference just isn't right.

An awful lot of the funding has been spent on getting little girls into the games across both codes too. You never see that addressed.

The numbers in this demographic need to be properly examined. What I can see on the ground is a game changing and unprecedented pickup for female participation across Dublin and that takes a sizeable % of the allocated funds.

This funding isn't just for young boys and any figure being applied really needs to take that fact into consideration.

There's a distinct lack of understanding at play and inaccuracies are unfortunately getting published"
Yes we know that it's not just for boys. What we would like is more of the pie!! We know ye have the structures, the coaches, the developmental things in place. Most of that has been done by gaa giving inordinate amounts of money to it that was generated by all of the counties. So we are generating money to overly and unfairly fund the promotion of GAA in one county. Why should we do that?? Why are we not getting a larger proportion of the funds? The GAA spotted that Rugby was taking over in areas of Dublin and acted. So why have they not acted now when they see the complete imbalance and inequality they have created. Why are they not saying oh to balance this up let's fund the other counties to even quarter of what Dublin get?!? And the argument is thrown out that they wanted to develop GAA in Dublin!! So why not plough money into hurling in Carlow? Or hurling in Laois? Or hurling in Wicklow? Or football in leitrim? Or football in Waterford??these arguments just don't stand up to scrutiny.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 05/12/2020 22:25:52    2318876

Replying To jimbodub:  "The registered players stuff is unfortunately what's being written about by people that should really know better but seemingly don't.

There's a distinct lack of understanding at play and inaccuracies are unfortunately getting published"
Yes we know that it's not just for boys. What we would like is more of the pie!! We know ye have the structures, the coaches, the developmental things in place. Most of that has been done by gaa giving inordinate amounts of money to it that was generated by all of the counties. So we are generating money to overly and unfairly fund the promotion of GAA in one county. Why should we do that?? Why are we not getting a larger proportion of the funds? The GAA spotted that Rugby was taking over in areas of Dublin and acted. So why have they not acted now when they see the complete imbalance and inequality they have created. Why are they not saying oh to balance this up let's fund the other counties to even quarter of what Dublin get?!? And the argument is thrown out that they wanted to develop GAA in Dublin!! So why not plough money into hurling in Carlow? Or hurling in Laois? Or hurling in Wicklow? Or football in leitrim? Or football in Waterford??these arguments just don't stand up to scrutiny.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 05/12/2020 22:25:56    2318877

Yes Dublin should be commended for facilitating games for girls, unlike those awful backwards culchies. For the love of god Jim would you talk a bit of sense.

Fair enough you don't agree that the money is that effective in preparing players for the senior Dublin footballers but at the very least it does play a role in driving participation and creating pathways for the most talented young players. The money shakes the tree so to speak. Not even the people involved in putting the Dublin funding package together first day deny that it was all designed ultimately to improve the performance of the Dublin football team. Bertie Ahern has made comments to that effect and Liam O'Neill was speaking about it recently also.

Where Dublin set themselves apart entirely is after minor when the players reach U21/U20 stage. I'd love to know the finer details of what they are doing at that level and how it compares to other counties in terms of programmes and costs. It may not actually be that much money in the grand scheme of things but when you compare it to other counties and the resources they have I think you'd have some interesting findings.

You will never get those figures because they are buried in the accounts, aggregated with other team preparation costs. Anybody on here that tells you they know the details is bluffing as far as I am concerned.

I am sensing sentiments shift big time in recent weeks and people outside the capital are getting disillusioned with the whole thing. I think it'll come to a head in the next couple of years unless Dublin fall away, which is very unlikely.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/12/2020 22:35:38    2318883

Replying To galwayfball:  "if Dublin was apparently struggling then that clearly all other leinster counties are struggling why isnt there a board for them

Do you not think meath and kildare are struggling to keep lads interested in the GAA

Why is it that now the leinster counties dont need the help that Dublin was given they just need to get on with it and reach Dublins standards

Dublin got extra help when it wasnt needed. Other counties need the help and it's not been given, the heads are in the sand"
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/15m-gaa-funding-boost-for-east-leinster-project-34934104.html

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/12/2020 22:40:13    2318886

Advancedmsrk. ;D"
You say someone spent lot of time in Leinster academy? What do you mean by that?
Sorry. Brian Howard didnt spend any time in Leinster academy. He was in fintans and played i think with suttonians. He was involved in the metro u16s in the shane horgan cup. That is about 2/3 years before anyone would be academy or even sub academy.
Of those living in Dublin how many play GAA outside of Dublin in home counties?
So its a lot more than 39k actually playing.
I would argue Dublin have done a lot of great work to help get people playing gaa

I agree about clubs in Dublin and funding of development officers themselves. If a lot of rugby clubs can do that nationwide then far more GAA clubs should be able to afford to hire one even if they had to join with 1 or 2 other neighbouring clubs.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 05/12/2020 23:12:50    2318905

Dublin are taking the whole joy out of winning. Dublin manager on 9 o clock news tonight you would think all belonging to him had just died talk about getting ready for next game doing video analysis on the match to see all the mistakes they had made. its all got too professional to clinical if they were playing newyork in the all ireland final they would be at the same crack no margin of error no stone left unturned but not much sign of any joy or craic.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 456 - 05/12/2020 23:25:50    2318918

Replying To galwayfball:  "if Dublin was apparently struggling then that clearly all other leinster counties are struggling why isnt there a board for them

Dublin got extra help when it wasnt needed. Other counties need the help and it's not been given, the heads are in the sand"
The GAA did identify the need for extra funding for the other counties in Leinster back in 2016 and they each got an additional €4.5m in funding. I'm surprised you didn't know this.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 05/12/2020 23:27:13    2318922

Advancedmsrk. ;D"
The only reason ye are poor at under 20 is that your county policy is to bring 4 to 5 teams through at under 17 minor level and give them all a chance to play for their county and they can afford to look after them with kit etc. No other county could afford to do this but it insures that they dont let any potential future stars slip through the net. this is why they are less competitive at this age group as they continually rotate the squad.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 456 - 05/12/2020 23:41:17    2318926

The rise of Dublin was directly linked to the huge increase in funding. Tyrone and kerry fell away slightly but it was made to look even worse by the dramatic rise in Dublin finances. Funding increases the training and coaching of players. How are other counties supposed to match the level of funding when the gaa are literally handing it to the dubs

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 06/12/2020 00:30:27    2318950

There has been since 2016.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/15m-gaa-funding-boost-for-east-leinster-project-34934104.html

Its worthwhile noting that both Meath and Kildare have both competed in Div 1 and the S8's in the last two years, despite the convenient boogie monster element of blaming Dublin, both counties have had opportunities to compete in Div 1 and All Ireland series away from not playing Dublin and have been comprehensively beaten out the gate.

Is the answer to throw more money at it?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/12/2020 08:58:14    2318996

Replying To jimbodub:  "Good post Username

Only thing I'd counter is that the participation rate seen in girls/young women has absolutely sky rocketed

It's proved massively successful

It's chalk and cheese to the Dublin I grew up in across the 80's and 90's.

I'd like to see an in depth look at the level of pickup across that particular demographic which again is something never really discussed at all and there's a lot of the funding gone into making that happen."
You are bang on the money Jimbo there is a huge growth in girls playing, in fact i think its probably seen the most exponential growth amongst kids, more so then boys id say. Both codes as well football and Camogie its wonderful and the girls have wonderful role models up here to. Everyone tend s to focus on Mens football but its simply just one starnd of Dublin GAA and the development work done across the codes and genders has been wonderful - has really pinched the need for more lad and facilities though.

I dont know if you ever experienced this as i know you played club too. But i would have grown up in and around the same time as you, i played football for a renown Dublin club (at the time), soccer and Rugby, in all honesty i loved football but was probably better at the other, in particular Rugby - i played that at a decent level. For me, if i togged out for the soccer or Rugby team or went training i wouldn't be picked for my football team. Thats the way it was for me growing up, so i stopped playing football and played soccer and Rugby for years going back to GAA, in my late 20's at a lesser light rural club to help a few mates out and stayed playing for years. I mention it because thats the messing that used to go on up here in Dublin, youd be praying during your Soccer or Rugby match that word wouldn't get back to your club that you played and youd get to tog out and play Football the weekend - youd nearer really know until right before the game. A lot of that messing has stopped to.

Im sure many a decent player was lost under that type of thing, those years were soccer mania with Ireland doing well and we were no slouches at Rugby later on - though Rugby wasn't as popular as it is now. But there was a real exclusion in GAA to anyone who played anything else, i think that has helped to.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/12/2020 09:15:48    2319005