Dublin V Cavan

Replying To kiloughter:  "In fairness Royal while ye in Leinster feel the wrath of the Dubs more than most no Leinster team are top 8. IMO there is the Dubs, then about 6 or 7 teams a good bit back based on an averaging of results over the last few yrs (Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Galway, Ros and one or two more). Meath next tier with a few more. While we all know that the GAA have an issue I don't think yourselves are up to the list I have suggested in terms of development, potential etc. Look I would love to go back to the good old days of Dublin Meath titanic clashes but we are light yrs from that. Apart from today and once by Ros in a super 8 game when Ros were out all other non Leinster teams have kept the Dubs to single digits in championship in recent yrs. Not that I would be blowing about this but it is too simplistic to for the narrative in recent weeks suggesting that Dublin would hammer their way through any other province. Yes they would win but the facts indicate tighter margins."
Whereas I do agree, do you think the regression of Leinster counties can be attributed to Dublin's dominance in Leinster?
I can only imagine that it must be far easier to have a psyched up "this is our year to push on" mentality, if you're from a county that has a chance of winning a championship.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 05/12/2020 20:28:50    2318761

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Cavan tried hard and never gave up but a few tiers below Dublin. In a year where Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone were gone early with no back door or Super 8, the championship has a very ominous feeling, more so than other years. If Mayo win tomorrow we can only hope for a decent final."
Spot on.

Proper analysis versus knee jerk comments

Imagine what Kilkenny would have done to a team with a similar league position to Cavan found themselves in this year when Kilkenny were being talked about as the greatest team ever to play Gaelic Games

It's not a normal year at all and fecking fair play to Cavan winning Ulster

An incredible achievement

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/12/2020 20:29:27    2318762

Replying To jimbodub:  "Or address that they were playing a Div 3 side

Imagine what Kilkenny would have done a few years ago to a Hurling side several places below them in an AI final

There's only really 3 or 4 sides that can beat Dublin

Cavan isn't one of them"
Absolute rubbish and pure ignorance to call us a division 3 side.

We have operated in division 1 for 2 out of the last 4 seasons and if you haven't noticed by now Mickey Graham is a championship manager and has placed little emphasis on the league.

That Cavan team we have this year is one of the best i have seen in my lifetime and are no absolutely way a division 3 side which we will prove next year.

We have beaten division one teams in Ulster and our conditioning is right up there with the best of them

Stop trying to hide from the fact that your team are destroying the AMATEUR game that we love.

Dublin will always be respected but will never be loved.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 05/12/2020 20:29:30    2318763

Really enjoyed the Cavan performance in shot taking they hit some really lovely points.

Advancedmark (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 05/12/2020 20:30:24    2318766

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Sad to see the patting of the head type comments on social media and on rte coverage towards a proud football county like Cavan. Is this how we want the game of football to go. I personally think the game is in big trouble now and it may be too late to save it. They need to get rid of the forward mark and bring in a rule that once the ball goes into the attacking 45 the attacking team can't kick it back out the field."
I would agree. Cavan took the field as Ulster champions this evening. They were not there to be patronized. I can tell you, while the eventers will be happy taking platitudes, the real Cavan football people will be sick tonight. Losing a semi final by 15 points hurts.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 05/12/2020 20:32:48    2318770

Replying To superbluedub:  "So you were not around for the Kerry 8 All Irelands in 10 years ?"
Around where?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 05/12/2020 20:33:55    2318771

Replying To kiloughter:  "In fairness Royal while ye in Leinster feel the wrath of the Dubs more than most no Leinster team are top 8. IMO there is the Dubs, then about 6 or 7 teams a good bit back based on an averaging of results over the last few yrs (Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Galway, Ros and one or two more). Meath next tier with a few more. While we all know that the GAA have an issue I don't think yourselves are up to the list I have suggested in terms of development, potential etc. Look I would love to go back to the good old days of Dublin Meath titanic clashes but we are light yrs from that. Apart from today and once by Ros in a super 8 game when Ros were out all other non Leinster teams have kept the Dubs to single digits in championship in recent yrs. Not that I would be blowing about this but it is too simplistic to for the narrative in recent weeks suggesting that Dublin would hammer their way through any other province. Yes they would win but the facts indicate tighter margins."
While I agree Meath are behind, I'm pretty sure Dublin beat Cork, Roscommon and Mayo by double digits in the Championship last year. And the last time they played Galway in the championship they may not have beaten them by double digits but it was very close to it from what I remember. Pretty sure they've also beaten Monaghan by double digits and that was a very good Monaghan team. Even some of the games against Tyrone were they won by roughly 6 points never really felt close. And again they were excellent Tyrone teams. I mean the fact we're discussing a single digits losses as respectable means something is very wrong.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 05/12/2020 20:36:52    2318774

Replying To asdfg:  "Absolute rubbish and pure ignorance to call us a division 3 side.

We have operated in division 1 for 2 out of the last 4 seasons and if you haven't noticed by now Mickey Graham is a championship manager and has placed little emphasis on the league.

That Cavan team we have this year is one of the best i have seen in my lifetime and are no absolutely way a division 3 side which we will prove next year.

We have beaten division one teams in Ulster and our conditioning is right up there with the best of them

Stop trying to hide from the fact that your team are destroying the AMATEUR game that we love.

Dublin will always be respected but will never be loved."
Best Cavan team you have seen in your lifetime?
Considering they haven't won an Ulster Championship in 23 years that wouldn't be hard.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/12/2020 20:39:49    2318775

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Whereas I do agree, do you think the regression of Leinster counties can be attributed to Dublin's dominance in Leinster?
I can only imagine that it must be far easier to have a psyched up "this is our year to push on" mentality, if you're from a county that has a chance of winning a championship."
Not sure to be honest on the regression point. In 2018 your own county was going reasonably well and competitive in their super 8 group. Not sure where ye are in relation to then. I was merely working off the fact that the next best teams in Leinster unfortunately have regular hammerings from the Dubs when the best in the other provinces by and large don't get hammered albeit still end up defeated. Today was an exception.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 05/12/2020 20:47:47    2318781

Replying To sligo joe:  "You serious, Meath would win in another province
, at the minute I'd rate Meath 2nd in Leinster, 4th in Munster, 3rd in Connacht and at best 5th in Ulster."
Silly comment Sligo Joe, if Cavan can win Ulster (Cavan relegated to div. 3 this year) and Tipp (a div. 3 team) can win Munster (playing a team who also played in division 3 this year) of course Meath would have a chance in either Munster or Ulster.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 05/12/2020 20:50:27    2318784

Replying To superbluedub:  "So you were not around for the Kerry 8 All Irelands in 10 years ?"
When did Kerry win 8 All Ireland's in 10 years?

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 05/12/2020 20:50:31    2318785

Replying To HighKings:  "While I agree Meath are behind, I'm pretty sure Dublin beat Cork, Roscommon and Mayo by double digits in the Championship last year. And the last time they played Galway in the championship they may not have beaten them by double digits but it was very close to it from what I remember. Pretty sure they've also beaten Monaghan by double digits and that was a very good Monaghan team. Even some of the games against Tyrone were they won by roughly 6 points never really felt close. And again they were excellent Tyrone teams. I mean the fact we're discussing a single digits losses as respectable means something is very wrong."
I forgot about the Cork game last year and you are right whether it is double digits or single digits we have a major problem. I was really citing some of the narrative in recent weeks from other Leinster counties. Funny the one time we played this Dublin team in championship we missed a penalty late in the first half and went in at the small whistle two points behind. Things did go awol in the 3rd quarter like which happens to most teams I guess against them.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 05/12/2020 20:53:54    2318790

Replying To HighKings:  "While I agree Meath are behind, I'm pretty sure Dublin beat Cork, Roscommon and Mayo by double digits in the Championship last year. And the last time they played Galway in the championship they may not have beaten them by double digits but it was very close to it from what I remember. Pretty sure they've also beaten Monaghan by double digits and that was a very good Monaghan team. Even some of the games against Tyrone were they won by roughly 6 points never really felt close. And again they were excellent Tyrone teams. I mean the fact we're discussing a single digits losses as respectable means something is very wrong."
Yes indeed - single digits in the new target for the rest to aim for. Shod have had the Div 3 women's final in croke park today instead. I started reading the paper with about 20 minutes left.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 05/12/2020 20:55:28    2318792

Horan needs to go and funding needs to stop. 10 in a row, maybe 15 in a row is inevitable.

Sponsors will leave and players will follow. What will be left? The greatest team of all time against no teams.

waynerooney11 (Cavan) - Posts: 142 - 05/12/2020 20:56:52    2318794

Replying To catch22:  "Best Cavan team you have seen in your lifetime?
Considering they haven't won an Ulster Championship in 23 years that wouldn't be hard."
Its the best Ulster has to offer anyway.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 05/12/2020 20:57:37    2318795

Replying To jimbodub:  "Or address that they were playing a Div 3 side

Imagine what Kilkenny would have done a few years ago to a Hurling side several places below them in an AI final

There's only really 3 or 4 sides that can beat Dublin

Cavan isn't one of them"
You say there is 3 or 4 who can beat them. Only one team has in past 8 years. So no I don't believe any team can beat them this year or next or probably the following year either. The gap is horrendous and that's not good for any game. Not having a pop. The gaa have created something that is now going to get out of control. In the long run I believe Dublin will have to make a decision internally to either risk been split in two (which btw I would be totally against) or perhaps to throw a game ( I know it sounds unbelievable) but the argument that it's all the other Leinster teams faults for dubs dominance is beginning to ring hollow. And even the ulster gaels are now thinking they'd dominate Ulster too.
It's just one of those things. It is like professionals v amateurs at this stage

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/12/2020 20:58:47    2318797

Replying To asdfg:  "Absolute rubbish and pure ignorance to call us a division 3 side.

Dublin will always be respected but will never be loved."
I doubt any team is loved when they're winning constantly in fairness. It's like the AB United people when Man United were winning all around them.

The fact that the Dubs are the capital and have a lot of advantages in terms of population, funding and coaching probably exacerbates it alright.

I do admire them though, not just respect. They don't seem to have a mediocre performance anymore. They show up each and every time. They're magnificent. It would take a perfect performance from a team to take them out. The issue this year is that the only big team they'll play is possibly Mayo who were relegated from Division One. So not one Division One team. Their canter is easier than usual with no back door for other big teams. All the advantages stand out a mile in this scenario.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 05/12/2020 21:00:22    2318801

Replying To HighKings:  "John Costello might wanna have a word in Dessie's ear: "Make sure the boys keep the score relatively tight in the final, otherwise HQ might realise there actually is a huge problem!"."
Yep.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/12/2020 21:03:53    2318806

This football season is nothing but a farce, unwatchable sh-ite, GAA has nearly run its course with the Football championship. Numbers are decreasing in rural areas, Rural Clubs can't field teams, people flocking to Dublin first or second generation. Most counties can't compete with Dublin full stop. Would we even have a watchable championship now with 4 teams? Imagine straight away in 2021 just write off 25/26 counties, they will be training for 6 months for very little or nothing. Players just won't commit and I don't think you could blame them?

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 05/12/2020 21:03:54    2318807

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "I would agree. Cavan took the field as Ulster champions this evening. They were not there to be patronized. I can tell you, while the eventers will be happy taking platitudes, the real Cavan football people will be sick tonight. Losing a semi final by 15 points hurts."
I'm with you on that.

I was disappointed with our performance. We were never going to beat Dublin, nobody will, but I thought we were sloppy in possession on several occasions.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 05/12/2020 21:07:22    2318809