Where Do We Go From Here?

So after the knee jerk reactions to the loss to Dublin, I think it's fair to say we shouldn't use them as a barometer for next year. After they basically played around and hammered Cavan too.
Get promoted must be our main and unfortunately only goal, unless the super 8s are back.
We HAVE to get back into division one. It's probably andys last year if we are promoted then he will have done his job. After that we will need I believe a management team that can take us to the next level, who they may be I honestly have no idea. I don't see any obvious contenders from within Meath, the one I thought would lead us one day, (Graham) must concentrate on his health. But we move on this year and get promotion, I honestly believe if we fail in that it would set us back years.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/12/2020 20:05:39    2319449

Replying To royaldunne:  "So after the knee jerk reactions to the loss to Dublin, I think it's fair to say we shouldn't use them as a barometer for next year. After they basically played around and hammered Cavan too.
Get promoted must be our main and unfortunately only goal, unless the super 8s are back.
We HAVE to get back into division one. It's probably andys last year if we are promoted then he will have done his job. After that we will need I believe a management team that can take us to the next level, who they may be I honestly have no idea. I don't see any obvious contenders from within Meath, the one I thought would lead us one day, (Graham) must concentrate on his health. But we move on this year and get promotion, I honestly believe if we fail in that it would set us back years.
Hon the royal"
Not sure if the match of Dublin v Cavan changes a whole lot. Granted Dublin ran out easy winners, Cavan had a go and the margin was 5pts at half time. We we done after 8 mins with the body language and manner of defeat particularly disappointing. We were also relegated without a win and have not moved on at all in last few years. As mentioned before, we beat Carlow, Laois and Clare to make super 8's.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 06/12/2020 22:12:03    2319536

Replying To winatallcost:  "Not sure if the match of Dublin v Cavan changes a whole lot. Granted Dublin ran out easy winners, Cavan had a go and the margin was 5pts at half time. We we done after 8 mins with the body language and manner of defeat particularly disappointing. We were also relegated without a win and have not moved on at all in last few years. As mentioned before, we beat Carlow, Laois and Clare to make super 8's."
I see Royal dunne saying the dubs played with cavan. While both teams were well beaten in the end it was chalk and cheese imo. Those cavan lads could walk out of Croke Park Saturday with their heads held high, which is a far cry from the meath lads.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 07/12/2020 13:36:33    2319753

We are not far away from anyone else with the exception of Dublin. We played really poorly against them and they played very well. Going into a game knowing that have to take every opportunity to have any chance put huge pressure on us and we didnt cope at all. The key problem our goalkeeping situation. It is such a crucial position in the modern game. Our kickout options are so easy to counter. Cavans keeper was able to kick the ball over the press, and find men. ours was kick it to the edge of the D and try and work it through Dublin whom had set. We are years from beating Dublin but if we can resolve the Keeper situation we can make progress.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 07/12/2020 14:32:51    2319776

Replying To Ed2010:  "I see Royal dunne saying the dubs played with cavan. While both teams were well beaten in the end it was chalk and cheese imo. Those cavan lads could walk out of Croke Park Saturday with their heads held high, which is a far cry from the meath lads."
I see you haven't got a clue. If any lad walked out with their heads held high after a 15 point hammering I'd take the head off them. Cop on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/12/2020 16:02:16    2319816

Replying To longroadback:  "We are not far away from anyone else with the exception of Dublin. We played really poorly against them and they played very well. Going into a game knowing that have to take every opportunity to have any chance put huge pressure on us and we didnt cope at all. The key problem our goalkeeping situation. It is such a crucial position in the modern game. Our kickout options are so easy to counter. Cavans keeper was able to kick the ball over the press, and find men. ours was kick it to the edge of the D and try and work it through Dublin whom had set. We are years from beating Dublin but if we can resolve the Keeper situation we can make progress."
Of course we not. We are better than Cavan or tipp. Buts sure don't say that to some on here. No one is near Dublin that is a fact we all have to learn to live with.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/12/2020 16:03:37    2319818

Replying To royaldunne:  "Of course we not. We are better than Cavan or tipp. Buts sure don't say that to some on here. No one is near Dublin that is a fact we all have to learn to live with."
How do you know we are better than Cavan or Tipp? We would have beaten either in championship this year? I am not so sure.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 07/12/2020 16:16:48    2319831

Replying To royaldunne:  "I see you haven't got a clue. If any lad walked out with their heads held high after a 15 point hammering I'd take the head off them. Cop on."
They gave it their best shot and aside from a few turnovers they played really well. So therefore they can be proud of their performance imo. Can you say the same about meath?

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 07/12/2020 16:43:21    2319850

Whatever about Tipp, I wouldn't be at all confident in a game vs. Cavan. They are a spirited, dogged, and intensely likeable side, and they play with high quality variety in their game, unlike many other sides. They are also a uniquely big team. I'd safely assume we would struggle as we did in Breffni Park two years back in the league as 1) we will not win kickouts and will frequently have to restart from deep 2) we will find it difficult to play our off-the-shoulder game through the middle, 3) we won't have an answer to their target players through the centre of the pitch and 4) our primary strike runners will be snuffed out as the best teams frequently do to us, leaving us stultefied and rudderless and forcing our team to work overtime to even get into scoring positions. Also in relation to Cavan vs. Dublin; the manner of their defeat was different to the manner of Meath's defeat. 15 points or otherwise. Cavan never gave up, they played till the final whistle and their fundamentals never gave way under the intensity of their opposition. Ours did. The Meath team folded like origami.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 07/12/2020 17:00:13    2319860

Replying To winatallcost:  "How do you know we are better than Cavan or Tipp? We would have beaten either in championship this year? I am not so sure."
Both Cavan and Tipp deserve great credit, there is nothing to suggest that we would have beaten either, apart from good kickout strategy, they both had excellent fielders throughout field, so could play either long or short game. Their spirit combined with no fear of opposition and playing with a never say die attitude was to be admired,these are the very values Meath once prided ourselves on.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 07/12/2020 18:32:37    2319908

Replying To seadog54:  "Both Cavan and Tipp deserve great credit, there is nothing to suggest that we would have beaten either, apart from good kickout strategy, they both had excellent fielders throughout field, so could play either long or short game. Their spirit combined with no fear of opposition and playing with a never say die attitude was to be admired,these are the very values Meath once prided ourselves on."
Cavan were well beaten in last year's Ulster final by Donegal, lost a few key players and turned it around this year by beating Donegal in this year's final. They play a nice brand of football and all credit to them. They beat two division one teams this year whereas Meath only drew with one. They left everything on the pitch last Saturday and no doubt if they get a cut at Dublin again next year, they will close that gap somewhat. They absolutely can hold their heads up high after Saturday night, fair play to them. If RD popped out of fantasyland for a minute, he might see real achievement but I think we all know the answer to that.

round_ball_99 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 07/12/2020 19:47:48    2319953

Cavan had a great year, they can be proud of. A great football county. Great football supporters. Winning Ulster was great for Cavan. Only there second Ulster title in 50 years. The way they fought back v Down and Monaghan showed good heart and great character. Big strong team backboned by the 5 under 21 Ulster winning teams.

Fair play to them. But they arent the Tyrone team of 00s or Down team of 90s, this could be it for this Cavan team, I hope not, but history shows this could be a one off. Also I think there performance v Dublin is been hyped into something here its not. It seems to be out of line with rest of the GAA world thought.

The Star newspaper Headline for the match was "Breffinis Capital Punishment" The article said after bright start for Cavan, after first 20 mins Dublin were cruising to victory. The article said the " The Dubs were whistling to victory" it was that easy for them.
RTE website headline on the match said "Dublin beat Cavan at a canter to reach another final" the RTE website said "Dublin eased past Cavan to reach an eighth All-Ireland SFC final in ten years". "But after a bright start, the Ulster champions were always gasping for air against a Dublin side".
Dublinlive website headline was "Dubs secure sixth All-Ireland Final place after easing to win over Ulster champs"
The Irish Times headline for the match was "Dublin pick Cavan off with precision and turn it into a procession by the end"
the artice said "Brian Fenton, Ciarán Kilkenny and Con O'Callaghan run the show at Croke Park" and also said The dubs "turned the Cavan carriage back into a pumpkin and Cavan's year ended with a whimper, They were ushered towards their demise by one of those displays where Brian Fenton, Ciarán Kilkenny and Con O'Callaghan look like they're playing a couple of years overage"
The Hogan Stand headline said "Dubs brush Breffni men aside" and also said "Without being anywhere near their best, the Leinster champions cantered through to the novel 2020 Sam Maguire Cup decider,"

Since the game, because the margin of the hammering was so large, even The Sunday Gmae had to talk about Dublins finance and dominance. Most Cavan supporters were delighted with year, but semi final was tough losss. It was one of Cavan worst defeats ever in Croke Park, and one heaviest defeats an Ulster team had had at All Ireland semi final ever and one biggest margin of defeat team has had All Ireland semi final in last 20 years. The last time I remeber a team was beaten by 15 points in All Ireland semi final was Meath v kerry 2001. When team gets beatings by 15 points and game is over after 55 mins, its always seen as hammering. Meath had similar performance last year. Cavan kept Dubs to 5 point lead in first half. Meath kept Dubs to 4 point lead at half time last year. Dubs pulled away after 55min in both games and defeated Meath by 16 last year and Cavan by 15 thi year. If Meath was seen as hammering last year, surely Cavan should be seen as an hammering this yeat. ok Cavan scored more in the first half. Well in 2016 Meath were 3 points behind Dublin at half time with score 0-11 Dublin 0-8 Meath. And Meath lost by 10 points in 2016 to Dulbin. It was called a hammering, a bad defeat for Meath. Cavans was a bigger defeat by 5 points on Sat. Cavan started brightly like Meath in 2016 or 2013, but the game was over by 55 min and they suffered a record defeat of 15 points. To make it into some sort of great performance, doesnt make sense. Ulster final was a brillant performance by Cavan but saturday was hammering, thats what the general consensus nationwide in the media is and even Cavan supporters are very disappointed of the defeat. No county would see a 15 point defeat in All Ireland semi final as some sort of great performance,

Regards Cavan, there is very little between Cavan and Meath. They have played many challenge games in last 3 years and I think Meath have won a few of those challenge games. Both at the same level, Cavan hate Meath so if they see Meath jersey they up there game, but if they played ten times Meath would win 5 Cavan would win 5. Both are top 12 teams who have failed to stay in div 1. Remeber Cavan are in div 3 next year. So it will take, 2 more years at least to get up to div 1. ALso history is against Cavan. This could be highpoint for this Cavan team. Any time a county has ended a provicial drought, decades of no provicial sucess they have failed to build on it in football.

1992 Clare won first football Munster Champ first time in over 60 years, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint
1993 Leitrim won football Connacht Champ for first time in over 60 years, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint
1997 Cavan won football Ulster Champ for first time in 30 years, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint
2003 Laois won football leinster Champ for first time in over 60 years, the team did get to two leinster final in 2004 and 2005 but never won anything after, that was highpoint in 2003
2004 Westmeath won football leinster Champ for first time ever, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint
2007 Sligo won football Connacht Champ for first time in 30 years, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint

When team break a famine, a provicial famine going on decades it very hard to build on that. The only one that comes to memory was kildare in 98 they won in 2000. But they had greatest manager of all time and 2000 was that was the only year Kildare built on 98. They declined after 2000. I wish Cavan all the best. But Donegal and Tyrone will be very difficult to beat next year and Armagh in div 1 should get a bounce from that. It will be very hard to win Ulster and Donegal and Tyrone probaly look better all round contenders in next 2 to 3 years. It would be great if Cavan suceed, but it will be difficult.

Meaths performance v Dublin needs to be ringfenced. If they just hammered us, fair enough, but Dubs do this to everyone, they hammer and humilate every team even the top teams. Dubs beat Cork by 13 last year, Roscommon the Connacht champions by 22 and Mayo by 10 in semis last year. They defeated Cavan by 15 in the semis this year and Tyrone by 12 in semis 3 years ago. Just look at the above results. The Dubs do this to everyone. The key is can we beat Monaghan, Galway or Mayo. And then Kerry Donegal or Tyrone. Losing 1 point to Mayo and 2 points to Galway and 3 to kerry this year and drawing to Monaghan this year and losing by 2 points twice to Donegal last year and 1 point to Tyrone in 2018 shows we are very close. We need to break into top 8 get back to div 1 and beat Monaghans and Galways. Thats are aim. And if do that in next 2 year, then think about taking on Dubs. We are years behind Dubs, But beating Monaghan or Galway or Mayo or Donegal will be tough but not impossible. Thats our aim. That what we are aiming for.

Meath lost by 1 point to Mayo and 3 to kerry this year. Meath are not beating top teams, but Mayo, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone, Monaghan, Donegal have struggled to beat Meath recently. Meath lost by 1 point to Mayo in spring, Meath were ahead at 69th min until Mayo goal won the game. Marc O S e said Meath should have beaten kerry in killarney in spring, Meath were the better team. Meath were riddled with injuries in all these games. With 12 first team players missing v Mayo Galway and kerry.

2018 Meath lost by 1 point to Tyrone in championship
2019 Meath lost by 2 points to Donegal in Ballyboefey (a game Meath dominated til 63rd min until freak goal)
2019 Meath lost by 2 points to Donegal in league final. Meath were much better team in first half with 5 up at half time.
2020 Meath lost by 1 point to Mayo
2020 Meath lost by 2 points to Galway
2020 Meath lost by 3 points to kerry
2020 Meath lost by 4 points to Dublin
2020 Meath drew with Monaghan

Yes Meath are not beating top teams, but Meath are going toe to toe for 70 seconds and top teams are struggling to beat a very young team with so many 19 and 20 and 21 year olds., Meath have one youngest teams in the country( 10 players played v Dublin in league and championship who were 21 are under). Meath lost all those games in injury time. I have 8 competitive games since 2017 v best teams in the country where Meath lost by 1 or 2 points or drew and went the full 70s mins with Tyrone, Donegal 3 times, Monaghan, Mayo, Galway and 3 point lost to kerry this year where Pat Spillane and Marc O Se said Meath should have won. Maybe Meath will fade away and not get over the line. but with this young team lets see if we can get over the line v Monaghan Galway Mayo and Tyrone in next 2 years. We might not. But we are not a million miles away from beating Monahgnan Mayo or Galway.

We need to put Dubs to one side. Dubs hammer and humilate everyone. Meath are no different, even the top teams the Dubs have hammered. The finals have been tight. Finals in gaelic football tend to be tight. But there is much more to a season then a final, in league and championship in league games, league semi finals and league finals and q finals and super 8s and semi finals in the championship the Dubs have heavily beaten, hammered and even humiliated the top teams in the country outside leinster for years. Dubs have totally dominated gaelic football nationally recently with 12 national titles in a decade which includes 7 All Ireland titles in 9 years and 5 national league div 1 titles in 6 years. They have gone on the longest unprecedent winning run in football history with unprecedented 40 game unbeaten run in championship, far ahead of anything put together at senior inter-county level ever before. Of the 21 major trophies open to Jim Galvin, All-Ireland, provincial and league, the Dub won 18 of them. Under Galvin that breaks down as six All Irelands, seven Leinsters and five leagues. To win all them Dubs had to beat teams outside Leinster. And on many occasions they heavily defeated teams outside leinster also. Dublin are totally dominating gaelic football nationwide also not just Leinster. And they have heavily beaten all the top teams since they started totally dominating football. Examples below of games v oppostion outside leinster. Remeber all these games are v div 1 teams in that year, or teams in All Ireland q final, super 8s, semi final stage. Dubs hammered us , they hammer all teams in leinster by 16 to 22 points recently. But they have also hammered all the top teams recently also. Here are the results below.

Summary of Games
2011 Dublin beat Tyrone by 7 points
2012 Dublin beat Armagh by 16 points
2012 Dublin beat Donegal by 9 points
2013 Dublin beat Kerry by 7 points
2014 Dublin beat Cork by 7 points
2014 Dulbin beat Derry by 15 points
2015 Dublin beat Monaghan by 13 points
2015 Dublin beat Cork by 11 points
2015 Dublin beat Fermanagh by 8 points
2015 Dublin beat Mayo by 7 points
2016 Dublin beat Cork by 10 points
2016 Dublin beat Donegal by 10 points
2016 Dublin beat Kerry by 11 points
2017 Dublin beat Mayo by 12 points
2017 Dublin beat Roscommon by 22 points
2017 Dublin beat Monaghan by 10 points
2017 Dublin beat Tyrone by 12 points
2018 Dublin beat Kerry by 12 points
2018 Dublin beat Roscommon by 14 points
2018 Dublin beat Galway by 8 points
2019 Dublin beat Galway by 11 points
2019 Dublin beat Mayo by 8 points
2019 Dublin beat Cork by 13 points
2019 Dublin beat Roscommon by 18 points
2019 Dublin beat Mayo by 10 points

There has been many 5 or 6 points wins over Mayo, Donegal and Galway also. I left out defeats under 7 points.
Here are the games again listen above but just in more detail interms of ]fixutre

Dublin beat Tyrone by 7 points 2011 Champ Q Final
Dublin beat Armagh by 16 points 2012 League
Dublin beat Donegal by 9 points 2012 league
Dublin beat Kerry by 7 points 2013 Champ Semi final
Dublin beat Cork by 7 points 2014 League semi final
Dulbin beat Derry by 15 points 2014 League Final
Dublin beat Monaghan by 13 points 2015 League
Dublin beat Cork by 11 points 2015 league final
Dublin beat Fermanagh by 8 points 2015 Champ Q final
Dublin beat Mayo by 7 points 2015 Champ Semi final
Dublin beat Cork by 10 points 2016 League
Dublin beat Donegal by 10 points 2016 League semi final
Dublin beat Kerry by 11 points in 2016 L League Final
Dublin beat Mayo by 12 points in 2017 League
Dublin beat Roscommon by 22 points 2017 League
Dublin beat Monaghan by 10 points 2017 Champ Q Final
Dublin beat Tyrone by 12 points 2017 Champ Semi final
Dublin beat Kerry by 12 points 2018 League
Dublin beat Roscommon by 14 points 2018 Champ Q Final Super 8s
Dublin beat Galway by 8 points 2018 Champ Semi Final
Dublin beat Galway by 11 points 2019 League
Dublin beat Mayo by 8 points 2019 league
Dublin beat Cork by 13 points 2019 Champ Q Final Super 8s
Dublin beat Roscommon by 18 points 2019 Champ Q Final Super 8s
Dublin beat Mayo by 10 points Champ Semi final

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/12/2020 05:55:19    2320081

Replying To Ed2010:  "They gave it their best shot and aside from a few turnovers they played really well. So therefore they can be proud of their performance imo. Can you say the same about meath?"
Also worth mentioning it was with a lad playing who never would've gotten a look in for Meath because of where he's from and another few lads who when introduced to the cavan panel originally would've been playing with small junior clubs.
There are many players over the years from smaller clubs in Meath who never gotten a look in but if given the same training and opportunity to play with lads of equal ability around them would've brought some of that doggedness and drive that's lacking from Meath teams over the past few years.
Think there's a few on the Meath panel that have been there too long and haven't contributed too much, yet have been assured of their places on the panel. Very few of them would make the Cavan team let alone Dublin team imo.
Having lads from small forgotten clubs on the county team provides inspiration for younger generations on top of it all and would overtime help strengthen the Meath club championship. Granted the fitness levels and pace of the game would be different but any lad that has the ability would thrive to prove himself within a county setup.
In the meantime, a regional team championship that was given resources and seen as an opportunity to play for your county would help unlock a lot of hidden talent in the county! It has to be taken seriously though!
Whatever happens, its important that people support all players that don the Meath Jersey. No one goes out to have an off day, however unfortunately for some it seems they only get one chanc to do so!
These forums should be to share opinions but to encourage and not to slate lads.(especially new lads after one poor game) Wishing next years panel a prosperous year. Onwards and upwards!

Thebantersauras (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 08/12/2020 17:26:56    2320351

Replying To Thebantersauras:  "Also worth mentioning it was with a lad playing who never would've gotten a look in for Meath because of where he's from and another few lads who when introduced to the cavan panel originally would've been playing with small junior clubs.
There are many players over the years from smaller clubs in Meath who never gotten a look in but if given the same training and opportunity to play with lads of equal ability around them would've brought some of that doggedness and drive that's lacking from Meath teams over the past few years.
Think there's a few on the Meath panel that have been there too long and haven't contributed too much, yet have been assured of their places on the panel. Very few of them would make the Cavan team let alone Dublin team imo.
Having lads from small forgotten clubs on the county team provides inspiration for younger generations on top of it all and would overtime help strengthen the Meath club championship. Granted the fitness levels and pace of the game would be different but any lad that has the ability would thrive to prove himself within a county setup.
In the meantime, a regional team championship that was given resources and seen as an opportunity to play for your county would help unlock a lot of hidden talent in the county! It has to be taken seriously though!
Whatever happens, its important that people support all players that don the Meath Jersey. No one goes out to have an off day, however unfortunately for some it seems they only get one chanc to do so!
These forums should be to share opinions but to encourage and not to slate lads.(especially new lads after one poor game) Wishing next years panel a prosperous year. Onwards and upwards!"
Very well said. A great post.

This is one of the reasons Meath is where it is. You have to be someone to get a shot. You have to play with certain clubs, you have to be related to a past player or such and such a fella in the county cliques, you have to be someone who will fit into the right circles and say all the right things all the time. If youre playing with a club outside these parameters, unless you're unbelievably talented, you may just forget about it. And I hate to drag up this old chestnut again but particularly if youre North West of Kells or South of Oldcastle/ Athboy. The fact that Kiernan is a stalwart on that Cavan side and exemplifies the spirit of that team is an indictment of the selection skullduggery in Meath.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 08/12/2020 17:54:49    2320362

Which players should be on the panel who are not currently there?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 08/12/2020 19:58:58    2320427

Replying To round_ball_99:  "Cavan were well beaten in last year's Ulster final by Donegal, lost a few key players and turned it around this year by beating Donegal in this year's final. They play a nice brand of football and all credit to them. They beat two division one teams this year whereas Meath only drew with one. They left everything on the pitch last Saturday and no doubt if they get a cut at Dublin again next year, they will close that gap somewhat. They absolutely can hold their heads up high after Saturday night, fair play to them. If RD popped out of fantasyland for a minute, he might see real achievement but I think we all know the answer to that."
Yeah of course they a great division 3 team.
Also we beat them in two challenges this year. We should be so proud.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/12/2020 20:10:14    2320435

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah of course they a great division 3 team.
Also we beat them in two challenges this year. We should be so proud."
It's all about the championship RD

round_ball_99 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 08/12/2020 23:10:41    2320513

Replying To bert09:  "Which players should be on the panel who are not currently there?"
Exactly......everyone goes quiet when that is asked.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 09/12/2020 06:38:08    2320532

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Cavan had a great year, they can be proud of. A great football county. Great football supporters. Winning Ulster was great for Cavan. Only there second Ulster title in 50 years. The way they fought back v Down and Monaghan showed good heart and great character. Big strong team backboned by the 5 under 21 Ulster winning teams.

Fair play to them. But they arent the Tyrone team of 00s or Down team of 90s, this could be it for this Cavan team, I hope not, but history shows this could be a one off. Also I think there performance v Dublin is been hyped into something here its not. It seems to be out of line with rest of the GAA world thought.

The Star newspaper Headline for the match was "Breffinis Capital Punishment" The article said after bright start for Cavan, after first 20 mins Dublin were cruising to victory. The article said the " The Dubs were whistling to victory" it was that easy for them.
RTE website headline on the match said "Dublin beat Cavan at a canter to reach another final" the RTE website said "Dublin eased past Cavan to reach an eighth All-Ireland SFC final in ten years". "But after a bright start, the Ulster champions were always gasping for air against a Dublin side".
Dublinlive website headline was "Dubs secure sixth All-Ireland Final place after easing to win over Ulster champs"
The Irish Times headline for the match was "Dublin pick Cavan off with precision and turn it into a procession by the end"
the artice said "Brian Fenton, Ciarán Kilkenny and Con O'Callaghan run the show at Croke Park" and also said The dubs "turned the Cavan carriage back into a pumpkin and Cavan's year ended with a whimper, They were ushered towards their demise by one of those displays where Brian Fenton, Ciarán Kilkenny and Con O'Callaghan look like they're playing a couple of years overage"
The Hogan Stand headline said "Dubs brush Breffni men aside" and also said "Without being anywhere near their best, the Leinster champions cantered through to the novel 2020 Sam Maguire Cup decider,"

Since the game, because the margin of the hammering was so large, even The Sunday Gmae had to talk about Dublins finance and dominance. Most Cavan supporters were delighted with year, but semi final was tough losss. It was one of Cavan worst defeats ever in Croke Park, and one heaviest defeats an Ulster team had had at All Ireland semi final ever and one biggest margin of defeat team has had All Ireland semi final in last 20 years. The last time I remeber a team was beaten by 15 points in All Ireland semi final was Meath v kerry 2001. When team gets beatings by 15 points and game is over after 55 mins, its always seen as hammering. Meath had similar performance last year. Cavan kept Dubs to 5 point lead in first half. Meath kept Dubs to 4 point lead at half time last year. Dubs pulled away after 55min in both games and defeated Meath by 16 last year and Cavan by 15 thi year. If Meath was seen as hammering last year, surely Cavan should be seen as an hammering this yeat. ok Cavan scored more in the first half. Well in 2016 Meath were 3 points behind Dublin at half time with score 0-11 Dublin 0-8 Meath. And Meath lost by 10 points in 2016 to Dulbin. It was called a hammering, a bad defeat for Meath. Cavans was a bigger defeat by 5 points on Sat. Cavan started brightly like Meath in 2016 or 2013, but the game was over by 55 min and they suffered a record defeat of 15 points. To make it into some sort of great performance, doesnt make sense. Ulster final was a brillant performance by Cavan but saturday was hammering, thats what the general consensus nationwide in the media is and even Cavan supporters are very disappointed of the defeat. No county would see a 15 point defeat in All Ireland semi final as some sort of great performance,

Regards Cavan, there is very little between Cavan and Meath. They have played many challenge games in last 3 years and I think Meath have won a few of those challenge games. Both at the same level, Cavan hate Meath so if they see Meath jersey they up there game, but if they played ten times Meath would win 5 Cavan would win 5. Both are top 12 teams who have failed to stay in div 1. Remeber Cavan are in div 3 next year. So it will take, 2 more years at least to get up to div 1. ALso history is against Cavan. This could be highpoint for this Cavan team. Any time a county has ended a provicial drought, decades of no provicial sucess they have failed to build on it in football.

1992 Clare won first football Munster Champ first time in over 60 years, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint
1993 Leitrim won football Connacht Champ for first time in over 60 years, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint
1997 Cavan won football Ulster Champ for first time in 30 years, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint
2003 Laois won football leinster Champ for first time in over 60 years, the team did get to two leinster final in 2004 and 2005 but never won anything after, that was highpoint in 2003
2004 Westmeath won football leinster Champ for first time ever, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint
2007 Sligo won football Connacht Champ for first time in 30 years, the team never won anything after, that was highpoint

When team break a famine, a provicial famine going on decades it very hard to build on that. The only one that comes to memory was kildare in 98 they won in 2000. But they had greatest manager of all time and 2000 was that was the only year Kildare built on 98. They declined after 2000. I wish Cavan all the best. But Donegal and Tyrone will be very difficult to beat next year and Armagh in div 1 should get a bounce from that. It will be very hard to win Ulster and Donegal and Tyrone probaly look better all round contenders in next 2 to 3 years. It would be great if Cavan suceed, but it will be difficult.

Meaths performance v Dublin needs to be ringfenced. If they just hammered us, fair enough, but Dubs do this to everyone, they hammer and humilate every team even the top teams. Dubs beat Cork by 13 last year, Roscommon the Connacht champions by 22 and Mayo by 10 in semis last year. They defeated Cavan by 15 in the semis this year and Tyrone by 12 in semis 3 years ago. Just look at the above results. The Dubs do this to everyone. The key is can we beat Monaghan, Galway or Mayo. And then Kerry Donegal or Tyrone. Losing 1 point to Mayo and 2 points to Galway and 3 to kerry this year and drawing to Monaghan this year and losing by 2 points twice to Donegal last year and 1 point to Tyrone in 2018 shows we are very close. We need to break into top 8 get back to div 1 and beat Monaghans and Galways. Thats are aim. And if do that in next 2 year, then think about taking on Dubs. We are years behind Dubs, But beating Monaghan or Galway or Mayo or Donegal will be tough but not impossible. Thats our aim. That what we are aiming for.

Meath lost by 1 point to Mayo and 3 to kerry this year. Meath are not beating top teams, but Mayo, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone, Monaghan, Donegal have struggled to beat Meath recently. Meath lost by 1 point to Mayo in spring, Meath were ahead at 69th min until Mayo goal won the game. Marc O S e said Meath should have beaten kerry in killarney in spring, Meath were the better team. Meath were riddled with injuries in all these games. With 12 first team players missing v Mayo Galway and kerry.

2018 Meath lost by 1 point to Tyrone in championship
2019 Meath lost by 2 points to Donegal in Ballyboefey (a game Meath dominated til 63rd min until freak goal)
2019 Meath lost by 2 points to Donegal in league final. Meath were much better team in first half with 5 up at half time.
2020 Meath lost by 1 point to Mayo
2020 Meath lost by 2 points to Galway
2020 Meath lost by 3 points to kerry
2020 Meath lost by 4 points to Dublin
2020 Meath drew with Monaghan

Yes Meath are not beating top teams, but Meath are going toe to toe for 70 seconds and top teams are struggling to beat a very young team with so many 19 and 20 and 21 year olds., Meath have one youngest teams in the country( 10 players played v Dublin in league and championship who were 21 are under). Meath lost all those games in injury time. I have 8 competitive games since 2017 v best teams in the country where Meath lost by 1 or 2 points or drew and went the full 70s mins with Tyrone, Donegal 3 times, Monaghan, Mayo, Galway and 3 point lost to kerry this year where Pat Spillane and Marc O Se said Meath should have won. Maybe Meath will fade away and not get over the line. but with this young team lets see if we can get over the line v Monaghan Galway Mayo and Tyrone in next 2 years. We might not. But we are not a million miles away from beating Monahgnan Mayo or Galway.

We need to put Dubs to one side. Dubs hammer and humilate everyone. Meath are no different, even the top teams the Dubs have hammered. The finals have been tight. Finals in gaelic football tend to be tight. But there is much more to a season then a final, in league and championship in league games, league semi finals and league finals and q finals and super 8s and semi finals in the championship the Dubs have heavily beaten, hammered and even humiliated the top teams in the country outside leinster for years. Dubs have totally dominated gaelic football nationally recently with 12 national titles in a decade which includes 7 All Ireland titles in 9 years and 5 national league div 1 titles in 6 years. They have gone on the longest unprecedent winning run in football history with unprecedented 40 game unbeaten run in championship, far ahead of anything put together at senior inter-county level ever before. Of the 21 major trophies open to Jim Galvin, All-Ireland, provincial and league, the Dub won 18 of them. Under Galvin that breaks down as six All Irelands, seven Leinsters and five leagues. To win all them Dubs had to beat teams outside Leinster. And on many occasions they heavily defeated teams outside leinster also. Dublin are totally dominating gaelic football nationwide also not just Leinster. And they have heavily beaten all the top teams since they started totally dominating football. Examples below of games v oppostion outside leinster. Remeber all these games are v div 1 teams in that year, or teams in All Ireland q final, super 8s, semi final stage. Dubs hammered us , they hammer all teams in leinster by 16 to 22 points recently. But they have also hammered all the top teams recently also. Here are the results below.

Summary of Games
2011 Dublin beat Tyrone by 7 points
2012 Dublin beat Armagh by 16 points
2012 Dublin beat Donegal by 9 points
2013 Dublin beat Kerry by 7 points
2014 Dublin beat Cork by 7 points
2014 Dulbin beat Derry by 15 points
2015 Dublin beat Monaghan by 13 points
2015 Dublin beat Cork by 11 points
2015 Dublin beat Fermanagh by 8 points
2015 Dublin beat Mayo by 7 points
2016 Dublin beat Cork by 10 points
2016 Dublin beat Donegal by 10 points
2016 Dublin beat Kerry by 11 points
2017 Dublin beat Mayo by 12 points
2017 Dublin beat Roscommon by 22 points
2017 Dublin beat Monaghan by 10 points
2017 Dublin beat Tyrone by 12 points
2018 Dublin beat Kerry by 12 points
2018 Dublin beat Roscommon by 14 points
2018 Dublin beat Galway by 8 points
2019 Dublin beat Galway by 11 points
2019 Dublin beat Mayo by 8 points
2019 Dublin beat Cork by 13 points
2019 Dublin beat Roscommon by 18 points
2019 Dublin beat Mayo by 10 points

There has been many 5 or 6 points wins over Mayo, Donegal and Galway also. I left out defeats under 7 points.
Here are the games again listen above but just in more detail interms of
fixutre

Dublin beat Tyrone by 7 points 2011 Champ Q Final
Dublin beat Armagh by 16 points 2012 League
Dublin beat Donegal by 9 points 2012 league
Dublin beat Kerry by 7 points 2013 Champ Semi final
Dublin beat Cork by 7 points 2014 League semi final
Dulbin beat Derry by 15 points 2014 League Final
Dublin beat Monaghan by 13 points 2015 League
Dublin beat Cork by 11 points 2015 league final
Dublin beat Fermanagh by 8 points 2015 Champ Q final
Dublin beat Mayo by 7 points 2015 Champ Semi final
Dublin beat Cork by 10 points 2016 League
Dublin beat Donegal by 10 points 2016 League semi final
Dublin beat Kerry by 11 points in 2016 L League Final
Dublin beat Mayo by 12 points in 2017 League
Dublin beat Roscommon by 22 points 2017 League
Dublin beat Monaghan by 10 points 2017 Champ Q Final
Dublin beat Tyrone by 12 points 2017 Champ Semi final
Dublin beat Kerry by 12 points 2018 League
Dublin beat Roscommon by 14 points 2018 Champ Q Final Super 8s
Dublin beat Galway by 8 points 2018 Champ Semi Final
Dublin beat Galway by 11 points 2019 League
Dublin beat Mayo by 8 points 2019 league
Dublin beat Cork by 13 points 2019 Champ Q Final Super 8s
Dublin beat Roscommon by 18 points 2019 Champ Q Final Super 8s
Dublin beat Mayo by 10 points Champ Semi final"]There is not doubting the superiority of Dublin, however the glaring difference between Cavan and Meath was Cavan had prepared well, their management had equiped them with the tool to compete with Dublin, all the obvious recurring faults Meath have were not adressed in this or privious three years. Cavan gave themselves every chance when playing Dublin, they were just beaten by a much better team, no shame whatsoever and something to build on going forward. On the other hand we took the field at least ten points down before ball was thrown in because of managements inability to rectify our obvious faults.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 09/12/2020 12:40:22    2320620

Replying To Thebantersauras:  "Also worth mentioning it was with a lad playing who never would've gotten a look in for Meath because of where he's from and another few lads who when introduced to the cavan panel originally would've been playing with small junior clubs.
These forums should be to share opinions but to encourage and not to slate lads.(especially new lads after one poor game) Wishing next years panel a prosperous year. Onwards and upwards!"
Hey there I'm not looking to have a go at you, but who are these players from lesser known/ forgotten clubs who aren't getting a look in. This is one of these tired arguments that's always trotted out with no back up. Its almost like the whole north meath lads are hardier (and we are for sure ;) ) but when put to people they can't name guys.

If you look post lockdown
Jordan Morris Nobber
Jason Scully Oldcastle
Eoin Harkin Dunsany
Cathal Hickey Senchelstown
Matthew Costelloe Dunshaughlin

All clubs that seem to have been forgotten in recent years and made a big impact in the championship.

So who are these lads that are going to bring this "doggedness and drive that's lacking" into the panel. Who are all these over looked players.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 09/12/2020 13:04:42    2320627