Where Do We Go From Here?

Replying To Crinigan:  "That's fair enough. I'd go along with yourself and younggaels views on this. Give him another year in absence of any outstanding candidates ( let's be honest, Meath CB are hardly going to identify a diamond in the rough, even if one did exist, and then have conviction to carry it through)."
Look what happened in Leinster final was extremely disappointing , and plenty of blame can be layed at andys feet. And he must recognise there was extreme faults that he should have rectified. 1, goal keeper, should have brought pluck in from ballinabrackey when we resumed. 2, I don't blame him for not having a free taker who might not add to general play, those days are gone, but I do blame him for not having walsh, Morris or Reilly every night at training taking at least a hour kicking frees.
There 2 areas that the book stops with him.
However we have improved under Andy and he has one year left and should be let finish out his term. Is there anyone who can take us to the next level? I doubt it within the county. Maybe further afield, but are Meath fans/players/county board ready to embrace a outsider after what happened with banty. ? I actually don't care if they from Afghanistan once they bring us success.
Look while I know I will say different and write different on here should it come to pass, but we not going to beat Dublin in Leinster next year, so our year really is dependent on getting promotion from div 2, I do think we are good enough to get that and hopefully maybe go one different and actually win something that I believe would give a great push to the team, like the centurion cup did under boylan.
Also getting to super 8s. After that we can talk about the future and who should take us forward, but to disrupt the dynamics now I think could set us back years. Just my opinion.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/11/2020 19:41:09    2317119

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look what happened in Leinster final was extremely disappointing , and plenty of blame can be layed at andys feet. And he must recognise there was extreme faults that he should have rectified. 1, goal keeper, should have brought pluck in from ballinabrackey when we resumed. 2, I don't blame him for not having a free taker who might not add to general play, those days are gone, but I do blame him for not having walsh, Morris or Reilly every night at training taking at least a hour kicking frees.
There 2 areas that the book stops with him.
However we have improved under Andy and he has one year left and should be let finish out his term. Is there anyone who can take us to the next level? I doubt it within the county. Maybe further afield, but are Meath fans/players/county board ready to embrace a outsider after what happened with banty. ? I actually don't care if they from Afghanistan once they bring us success.
Look while I know I will say different and write different on here should it come to pass, but we not going to beat Dublin in Leinster next year, so our year really is dependent on getting promotion from div 2, I do think we are good enough to get that and hopefully maybe go one different and actually win something that I believe would give a great push to the team, like the centurion cup did under boylan.
Also getting to super 8s. After that we can talk about the future and who should take us forward, but to disrupt the dynamics now I think could set us back years. Just my opinion."
The fact of the matter is that we had to beat Carlow, Laois and Clare to achieve Super 8 status last year Division 2 the past couple of years has been quite poor and very little difference between 2 and 3. Granted we have had a certain consistency in performance but far from top.level. The biggest disappointment under Andy has been the failure to learn game on game. There were almost identical performances in super 8 last year and league campaign this year. Its also feels that this team is unable to rise for a game of that little bit extra importance. Remember we were trounced by Kildare in 17, lost to Longford in 18 and well the two no shows against Dublin. I really am unsure if there has been any progress at all. Likelihood, next year will be more of the same with same personnel in charge.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 30/11/2020 20:11:07    2317134

Replying To winatallcost:  "The fact of the matter is that we had to beat Carlow, Laois and Clare to achieve Super 8 status last year Division 2 the past couple of years has been quite poor and very little difference between 2 and 3. Granted we have had a certain consistency in performance but far from top.level. The biggest disappointment under Andy has been the failure to learn game on game. There were almost identical performances in super 8 last year and league campaign this year. Its also feels that this team is unable to rise for a game of that little bit extra importance. Remember we were trounced by Kildare in 17, lost to Longford in 18 and well the two no shows against Dublin. I really am unsure if there has been any progress at all. Likelihood, next year will be more of the same with same personnel in charge."
Cavan and Tipp showed us how it can be done against superior opposition . Andy has great passion but the modern game requires far more than passion. I cant recall any game where we surprised a rated opponent with a good game plan.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 01/12/2020 09:14:44    2317228

Replying To Poormouth:  "Cavan and Tipp showed us how it can be done against superior opposition . Andy has great passion but the modern game requires far more than passion. I cant recall any game where we surprised a rated opponent with a good game plan."
Cavan & Tipp showed us if you want to cause an upset you have to win the Middle third, get Big strong young lads that will fight like hell for every ball in the Middle to give you a platform to go forward. id say 6 or 7 of their lads all play their club football in Midfield, we need the same get 7/8 lads over 6'2" who can all field the ball, a stat came out last week that over 60% of all the kickouts in the provincial finals went long, (we need to be prepared for that) . there's no point in us having a Go short kick out strategy if the top teams that we need to beat are kicking it straight into the middle.

ABD09 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 01/12/2020 10:02:45    2317236

Replying To Poormouth:  "Cavan and Tipp showed us how it can be done against superior opposition . Andy has great passion but the modern game requires far more than passion. I cant recall any game where we surprised a rated opponent with a good game plan."
No doubt whatsoever Andy has great passion ! The problem areas are obvious for along time now. Andy needs help in several areas of team preparation. That applies to every manager who wants to compete at a high level. Look at the help that all the top managers have at their disposal nowadays. NO one man can do the job on his own!... Even basic skills like fielding,kicking.tackling, freetaking, etc. etc. are in urgent need of attention. Above everything else mental toughness and confidence building is a first priority.
Any talk about changing the manager at this point is not the answer.The ready made manager does not exist anyway! He will have to develop in the role. Why not develop Andy ? How can that be seen as an insult to Andy? Quite the opposite. He has proven by his passion and commitment that he deserves that development and assistance. So it is over to the County Board to lead the way on this one . The alternative is to do nothing,and allow the pattern of obvious mistakes and shortcomings continue with the same outcome. Our players also deserve every possible help and assistance for their efforts. Fresh talent seems to be emerging in playing panel so everything points to the need to take stock from the top and show real leadership now when it is needed

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 01/12/2020 10:34:26    2317248

Let's see how Cavan get on against Dublin first. I have a feeling they'll be hammered too

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1461 - 01/12/2020 12:18:21    2317285

Replying To nobull456:  "No doubt whatsoever Andy has great passion ! The problem areas are obvious for along time now. Andy needs help in several areas of team preparation. That applies to every manager who wants to compete at a high level. Look at the help that all the top managers have at their disposal nowadays. NO one man can do the job on his own!... Even basic skills like fielding,kicking.tackling, freetaking, etc. etc. are in urgent need of attention. Above everything else mental toughness and confidence building is a first priority.
Any talk about changing the manager at this point is not the answer.The ready made manager does not exist anyway! He will have to develop in the role. Why not develop Andy ? How can that be seen as an insult to Andy? Quite the opposite. He has proven by his passion and commitment that he deserves that development and assistance. So it is over to the County Board to lead the way on this one . The alternative is to do nothing,and allow the pattern of obvious mistakes and shortcomings continue with the same outcome. Our players also deserve every possible help and assistance for their efforts. Fresh talent seems to be emerging in playing panel so everything points to the need to take stock from the top and show real leadership now when it is needed"
agree on a a lot of the great points , and if being honest probably find myself in the same predicament that a lot of us find ourselves with the Andy question , and that is between loving his no nonsense old style meath passion & commitment and longing for that to be brought back to the County , finally ... versus a really nagging worry & concern that he lacks some of the finer subtle bits to bring us to the next level. The real fear , if im being honest is that he decides he knows best , and try's to solve the question as to why we didn't perform the last day himself. or with those close to him. This is a real moment in Time for Andy over the next month or two to really show that he recognises that his leadership manner which brought him huge success with Ballyboden , works only in certain circumstances, and that the circumstances he found himself in with them it was ideal, but he has a total different environment with Meath. that's a hard one for him as he is a Winner, . he is not occupying a Winners dressing room now.
Nobull is 100% - none of the Top Managers do it themselves any more, they have serious strong characters around them , to balance out the management of 40 people. . I think this is the biggest hurdle for Andy. His single mindness is one of his great strengths , but he has to realise that it can prove to be equally his greatest weakness. , If we are all honest we know that on some Odd looking decisions (goalie) Andy "wont be told"......the more Andy is told its wrong...the more he has a tendency to be bull headed iand prove people wrong....I vote Andy stays....but he needs to add 2-3 serious strong minded guys to that Management Team....no yes men , guys that he can trust , but guys that will disagree for the right reasons . No back stabbers , no empire builders , no ego maniacs need apply.....

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 01/12/2020 14:36:11    2317324

Replying To ABD09:  "Cavan & Tipp showed us if you want to cause an upset you have to win the Middle third, get Big strong young lads that will fight like hell for every ball in the Middle to give you a platform to go forward. id say 6 or 7 of their lads all play their club football in Midfield, we need the same get 7/8 lads over 6'2" who can all field the ball, a stat came out last week that over 60% of all the kickouts in the provincial finals went long, (we need to be prepared for that) . there's no point in us having a Go short kick out strategy if the top teams that we need to beat are kicking it straight into the middle."
This really used to be a strong point of ours when we played the direct game. Along with McEntee and Hayes at midfield we also had Joe Cassells flanked by Beggy and Gillick, all tall men. Eamon O'Brien used to use Joe Sheridan at centre forward with Paddy O'Rourke bypass midfield. Playing O'Sullivan and McMahon on same line was very naive. We really had no hope of working short and running through the Dubs. The saying let the ball do the work was never truer but to do that, we must have men who can field it.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 01/12/2020 15:24:28    2317342

Replying To winatallcost:  "This really used to be a strong point of ours when we played the direct game. Along with McEntee and Hayes at midfield we also had Joe Cassells flanked by Beggy and Gillick, all tall men. Eamon O'Brien used to use Joe Sheridan at centre forward with Paddy O'Rourke bypass midfield. Playing O'Sullivan and McMahon on same line was very naive. We really had no hope of working short and running through the Dubs. The saying let the ball do the work was never truer but to do that, we must have men who can field it."
btw boys...would it be such a crime to consolidate our position in Div 2 for a season or 2. Its becoming clearer that we are stretched beyond our capability to have a long term stay at DIV 1, and in trying to push that gaol, we are constantly under pressure in games to win & hence making very short term decisions to retain that status. ...at what point do we truly develop our squad in meaningful games but against opposition that allow us make some mistakes. If I was nady I would report back into the CB and say that pour experience this year in Div 1 is that we need 2 good solid years at Div 2 to get quality game time into 40 guys and then in year 3 make a tilt at getting to div 1 again....more confident that if we get there , we can stay there....btw....just look at the teams that are around us in Div 2...plenty of real testers there, plus nice mid ranking teams & some that you can really experiment with...this is our level. for moment ..lets grow up & accept that

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 01/12/2020 15:46:17    2317350

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "agree on a a lot of the great points , and if being honest probably find myself in the same predicament that a lot of us find ourselves with the Andy question , and that is between loving his no nonsense old style meath passion & commitment and longing for that to be brought back to the County , finally ... versus a really nagging worry & concern that he lacks some of the finer subtle bits to bring us to the next level. The real fear , if im being honest is that he decides he knows best , and try's to solve the question as to why we didn't perform the last day himself. or with those close to him. This is a real moment in Time for Andy over the next month or two to really show that he recognises that his leadership manner which brought him huge success with Ballyboden , works only in certain circumstances, and that the circumstances he found himself in with them it was ideal, but he has a total different environment with Meath. that's a hard one for him as he is a Winner, . he is not occupying a Winners dressing room now.
Nobull is 100% - none of the Top Managers do it themselves any more, they have serious strong characters around them , to balance out the management of 40 people. . I think this is the biggest hurdle for Andy. His single mindness is one of his great strengths , but he has to realise that it can prove to be equally his greatest weakness. , If we are all honest we know that on some Odd looking decisions (goalie) Andy "wont be told"......the more Andy is told its wrong...the more he has a tendency to be bull headed iand prove people wrong....I vote Andy stays....but he needs to add 2-3 serious strong minded guys to that Management Team....no yes men , guys that he can trust , but guys that will disagree for the right reasons . No back stabbers , no empire builders , no ego maniacs need apply....."
As many say Andy Mc seems to have plenty of passion and commitment for Meath football, however these are basic qualities required of any manager who is in charge of their native county. As said top managers surround themselves with a quality management team, but they also listen and take advice from these experts, is this happening within the Meath set-up? Little point in adding to management team if he is not listening to the ones in place at present.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 01/12/2020 18:46:32    2317415

Have heard McEntee frequently talking about players not executing to plan.

Should he be changing plans to suit the talent we have available or keep forging ahead with sourcing/developing players according to his game plan?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 01/12/2020 18:56:33    2317419

Replying To seadog54:  "As many say Andy Mc seems to have plenty of passion and commitment for Meath football, however these are basic qualities required of any manager who is in charge of their native county. As said top managers surround themselves with a quality management team, but they also listen and take advice from these experts, is this happening within the Meath set-up? Little point in adding to management team if he is not listening to the ones in place at present."
It would be hard to disagree with those comments if they are accurate. I dont know. If ANY manager insists on going it alone ,and not taking assistance when the need is identified (over a long period) ,and offered, then that manager is surplus to requirements. I assume the yearly review at the top table will investigate what is needed and take the appropriate action.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 01/12/2020 19:24:59    2317434

Replying To bert09:  "Have heard McEntee frequently talking about players not executing to plan.

Should he be changing plans to suit the talent we have available or keep forging ahead with sourcing/developing players according to his game plan?"
Think your right, management would seem to have a plan in place that may not suit current players, this would go a long way to explain how poorly experienced lads like McGill and Lavin played in last few games. Both of them were talked about as all-star nominees last year, but looked very ordinary and I thought McGill seemed agitated and unsure of himself especiall in Dublin game. Make the best of talent at his disposal rather than trying to mould them into his way of thinking.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 01/12/2020 19:36:06    2317439

Replying To seadog54:  "Think your right, management would seem to have a plan in place that may not suit current players, this would go a long way to explain how poorly experienced lads like McGill and Lavin played in last few games. Both of them were talked about as all-star nominees last year, but looked very ordinary and I thought McGill seemed agitated and unsure of himself especiall in Dublin game. Make the best of talent at his disposal rather than trying to mould them into his way of thinking."
But sure both those players got those nominees with the same manager and the same system last years. I think the fact that both were made self isolate for 14 days that made them miss the Dublin league game had something to do with it

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1461 - 01/12/2020 21:02:21    2317462

Replying To winatallcost:  "This really used to be a strong point of ours when we played the direct game. Along with McEntee and Hayes at midfield we also had Joe Cassells flanked by Beggy and Gillick, all tall men. Eamon O'Brien used to use Joe Sheridan at centre forward with Paddy O'Rourke bypass midfield. Playing O'Sullivan and McMahon on same line was very naive. We really had no hope of working short and running through the Dubs. The saying let the ball do the work was never truer but to do that, we must have men who can field it."
We seem to cursed in the middle. In recent years. S o'Rourke. Gillespie. Nash. Cian McBride etc. Others Lads that came in didn't work. Jones looked good in 2017 but then had to due work commitments. He back hopefully he can stick around. But midfield and goalkeeper are the to areas that we need to focus on.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 01/12/2020 21:02:48    2317464

I think Andy deserves more time but needs to freshen up the backroom team. His football coach has been all over the media the past couple of weeks, doesn't seem to be taking on any blame himself and is bigging up Dublin. He's more interested in using the training sessions to make videos for his YouTube channel then coach kickouts or free taking. The players were very ****** off earlier in the year as they were doing drills that had no relevance to the game. Donnie Buckley is a top coach and is available having left Kerry. Would do well to get someone like him in.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 02/12/2020 13:18:56    2317651

Replying To royal11:  "I think Andy deserves more time but needs to freshen up the backroom team. His football coach has been all over the media the past couple of weeks, doesn't seem to be taking on any blame himself and is bigging up Dublin. He's more interested in using the training sessions to make videos for his YouTube channel then coach kickouts or free taking. The players were very ****** off earlier in the year as they were doing drills that had no relevance to the game. Donnie Buckley is a top coach and is available having left Kerry. Would do well to get someone like him in."
wow. If this even 75% accurate, this joins a lot of dots for me..

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 02/12/2020 18:06:46    2317746

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "But sure both those players got those nominees with the same manager and the same system last years. I think the fact that both were made self isolate for 14 days that made them miss the Dublin league game had something to do with it"
Last year we played a system where our full backs were either out in front of their men or touch tight, this year at times not even near enough to get in a tackle. Doubt missing two weeks training could account in any way for such a fall off in form. Wicklow game should have brought them back up to speed.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 02/12/2020 18:45:51    2317765

Replying To royal11:  "I think Andy deserves more time but needs to freshen up the backroom team. His football coach has been all over the media the past couple of weeks, doesn't seem to be taking on any blame himself and is bigging up Dublin. He's more interested in using the training sessions to make videos for his YouTube channel then coach kickouts or free taking. The players were very ****** off earlier in the year as they were doing drills that had no relevance to the game. Donnie Buckley is a top coach and is available having left Kerry. Would do well to get someone like him in."
Yeah, I think Nally did well when came in, and I believe he that made the difference that got us promoted. However I think we have Plateaued since, or have not advanced against the top teams.
Missing so many players was a disaster with regards getting a few wins in Div 1 if we did scrapce over the line with some of the matches. gods knows we might have gained some momentum from it. But it never happened.
I think coach and manager should ship some of the blame after the Dublin game, to lash it on the players is wrong. For both coach and manager.
Nally has no choice but to say we need to work harder to reach Dublins level. He cant very well say yous are never going to get to Dublins level, and forget about it.
I think your right though I would be for Andy to stay and to freshen up to coaching staff. We have had numerous chances to beat a top team in the last few years and taken none of them. We haven't seem to learn anything. Like we played Donegal 3 times lost all 3. And Dublin lost by 16 points last year. and the game was over after 15 minutes this time.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 02/12/2020 19:42:31    2317786

Interesting debate with John Connellan & Anthony Moyles. some insights into the Meath setup from Moyles.

GAA funding debate | Do we defund the Dubs? John Connellan & Anthony Moyles

https://www.otbsports.com/podcasts/otb-gaa-on-off-the-ball/gaa-funding-debate-do-we-defund-the-dubs-john-connellan-anthony-moyles

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 02/12/2020 20:26:42    2317805