Hurling Quarter Finals

Replying To tiobraid:  "You can guarantee Cahill will have a plan for him. He won't do that against Waterford.

You could easily be talking about Tipp with full back and goalkeeper. It can't happen but tipp need Ronan Maher in the half back line. He's our most important player for last two seasons.
I think Galway will be warm favourites. I think I'd like to play most teams apart from Galway in Croke park so I think Gaelic grounds may suit us. However on form it's impossible to see anything but a Galway win especially with David Burke to come back into starting team. Seamus Kennedy is a big loss for Tipp."
Ah stop tip, on what form are you basing Galway to be warm favourite. We looked good agains Wexrford but it has since transpired that Wexford were poor this year. We also looked good against a poor KK side but were found out that we are poor at the backs. We have gone back or stead the same , " GREAT FANCY HURLERS IN GALWAY, BUT ALWAYS FAIL TO DELIVER " . A lot of the Galway team including management have questions to answer. We will get that answer Saturday afternoon. Tipperary are All Ireland champions and the best team in Ireland until they are knocked out of this years All Ireland. I want to see the same fight and determination that we showed in 2017 league final and make no mistake about it Galway very happy to be going to the Gaelic ground. This match would be a sell out and only a chancer would predict the winner. Gaillimh ABU Gaillimh to win it by a short head .

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 17/11/2020 10:14:06    2310520

If Conor Gleeson is fit I would image he will be shadowing Tony. That is the last guy you would want man marking you. Tony is a rare talent though.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 17/11/2020 13:48:31    2310629

Replying To Canuck:  "If Conor Gleeson is fit I would image he will be shadowing Tony. That is the last guy you would want man marking you. Tony is a rare talent though."
The last guy Conor wants to be marking is Tony

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 17/11/2020 15:26:25    2310672

Will be interesting to see how Tony Kelly will be policed against Wat,he is such a fantastic reader of the developing play,he always seems to anticipate where the ball is going to come from and will be there to collect it,has great speed to take him away from opponents and peerless radar,don't think I have ever seen such a high rate of conversion from chances to scores and some are hardly even half chances,he is inspired at the moment, a joy to watch,what I would term a pure hurler.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 17/11/2020 15:27:04    2310673

Replying To heartbroken:  "Ah stop tip, on what form are you basing Galway to be warm favourite. We looked good agains Wexrford but it has since transpired that Wexford were poor this year. We also looked good against a poor KK side but were found out that we are poor at the backs. We have gone back or stead the same , " GREAT FANCY HURLERS IN GALWAY, BUT ALWAYS FAIL TO DELIVER " . A lot of the Galway team including management have questions to answer. We will get that answer Saturday afternoon. Tipperary are All Ireland champions and the best team in Ireland until they are knocked out of this years All Ireland. I want to see the same fight and determination that we showed in 2017 league final and make no mistake about it Galway very happy to be going to the Gaelic ground. This match would be a sell out and only a chancer would predict the winner. Gaillimh ABU Gaillimh to win it by a short head ."
If what happened to tipp happened to Galway you would go to town on them. in fairness this is not the same old Galway, this team is hard to beat. They were unlucky with a few things but they do need to hammer home the advantage when they are on top. I would prefer us to abandon the sweaper which we are not used to playing and go all out, can you imagine how dangerous our forwards would be in that scenario. I pity Whelan and the others having to dog it out beat their man and then be confronted by another this saps confidence.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 17/11/2020 15:33:20    2310678

Replying To ecad123:  "If what happened to tipp happened to Galway you would go to town on them. in fairness this is not the same old Galway, this team is hard to beat. They were unlucky with a few things but they do need to hammer home the advantage when they are on top. I would prefer us to abandon the sweaper which we are not used to playing and go all out, can you imagine how dangerous our forwards would be in that scenario. I pity Whelan and the others having to dog it out beat their man and then be confronted by another this saps confidence."
That has been my point on Galway for years, They were miles the best team in 2017 but only just beat a Tipp that had a terrible cship and didnt beat Waterford by much either. Outside of maybe Jason Flynn on occasion, a lot of their forwards will nearly always take the option of the point. Tipp on the other hand are the opposite but the winter conditions won't allow as many goal chances I think. If Galway get even within "one goal scored" of Tipp, they will almost definitely out shoot us on points and thats why I think Galway will win with a bit to spare as Tipp arent creating the same chances.
I wouldnt be surprised to see John Mcgrath on the bench the next day and Noel moved to centre forward. Amazingly it was only the second game that Noel started in cship hurling that he failed to score from play which I'd imagine is a record for the number of games he has played in. Tipp will need to shuffle their defence around to move O'Meara out of there. The trouble with the team picked the next day is (depending on where Noel plays), you're likely to have 3 half forwards who aren't scorers.
Looking forward to another battle between Burke and Callanan.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/11/2020 17:44:35    2310746

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The last guy Conor wants to be marking is Tony"
Well like I said may the best team win. I doubt that Conor has recovered from injury anyway. Neither would have fear of the assignment I am sure. Cahill might freshen it up a bit if Gleeson and Daragh Fives are healthy. Montgomery and Curran may get the start. It would make sense after playing Sunday. He has a bit of advantage doing that as the first 15 is not established completely and parity between a good few of the panel. Shane Fives would be a loss if still injured after Sunday. It did not look good at the time.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 17/11/2020 18:52:21    2310772

A strange choice of ref for tipp/Galway with the possibility of limerick playing the winner..wait to and see how many times whistle is blown for little things..it will be very annoying watching what could be a great game..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 17/11/2020 20:33:06    2310820

Replying To tiobraid:  "That has been my point on Galway for years, They were miles the best team in 2017 but only just beat a Tipp that had a terrible cship and didnt beat Waterford by much either. Outside of maybe Jason Flynn on occasion, a lot of their forwards will nearly always take the option of the point. Tipp on the other hand are the opposite but the winter conditions won't allow as many goal chances I think. If Galway get even within "one goal scored" of Tipp, they will almost definitely out shoot us on points and thats why I think Galway will win with a bit to spare as Tipp arent creating the same chances.
I wouldnt be surprised to see John Mcgrath on the bench the next day and Noel moved to centre forward. Amazingly it was only the second game that Noel started in cship hurling that he failed to score from play which I'd imagine is a record for the number of games he has played in. Tipp will need to shuffle their defence around to move O'Meara out of there. The trouble with the team picked the next day is (depending on where Noel plays), you're likely to have 3 half forwards who aren't scorers.
Looking forward to another battle between Burke and Callanan."
I think Loughmore's long club campaigns in both codes are catching up on the two McGraths. They contested both football and hurling finals in Tipperary and were playing high-intensity games every week. Having said that, they are such skillful players that Sheedy will surely keep faith with them and hope they can regain the high standards they have set over the last number of years. If not, it's hard to see Tipp getting enough scores to get the better of Galway, especially if Bubbles is still injured. The impact subs did well against Cork but Galway are a different proposition.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 17/11/2020 20:35:29    2310823

The excitement is unbearable at the thought of a "possible " All Ireland Final between Galway v Clare, but both have tricky games this weekend first. Have to take it one game at a time!
Instead of Galway been dependant on J.Canning and C.Whelan...I want to see Galway target those "big name players " Tipp have in the half back line, its pivotal that we have big games from C.Mannion and C.Cooney if they line out in the half forward line. Both of them haven't taken off thus far and are long overdue a big performance...on song they would flitter the Mahers!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 19/11/2020 19:09:51    2311519

Replying To katser:  "The excitement is unbearable at the thought of a "possible " All Ireland Final between Galway v Clare, but both have tricky games this weekend first. Have to take it one game at a time!
Instead of Galway been dependant on J.Canning and C.Whelan...I want to see Galway target those "big name players " Tipp have in the half back line, its pivotal that we have big games from C.Mannion and C.Cooney if they line out in the half forward line. Both of them haven't taken off thus far and are long overdue a big performance...on song they would flitter the Mahers!!"
Do you think Conor Cooney will start? I wouldnt be surprised to see him on the bench.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/11/2020 21:12:05    2311847

Tipperary and Waterford to win.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 20/11/2020 22:35:32    2311879

Hoping on an improvement on my miserable 25% success on last weekends four Liam Mc predictions. So here goes this weekend.

Tipp v Galway. Looking at the team announcements last night I can only see a Galway win. Aidan Harte back in the corner with Daithi Burke & Shane Cooney. I can't see the Tipp forwards winning this battle. On the other hand David Burke, Canning & Whelan at the other end will get the upper hand! The one caveat is that Galway don't switch off. I'm convinced that Galway thought they had KK beaten last week. Five points up and flying, Canning went for an ambitious sideline pass and 1 min later KK were two goals up. So verdict Galway

Waterford v Clare.
When this draw came out I immediately thought Waterford. However, as the week went on and after team announcements I'm starting to change my mind. Shane Fives out is an interruption in the FB line. They only have a 6 day turn a round after straining the reserve tank on Sunday.
Clare on the other hand named an unchanged team - leaving McInnerney & Shannaher on the the bench. This is a big confidence boost to the lads. This along with the massive leg up from beating Davys' Wexford might just be enough to see them through after extra time. Verdict Clare.

So my €10 PP accumulated this week is Galway, Kerry & Clare.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 21/11/2020 10:57:45    2311944

Replying To katser:  "The excitement is unbearable at the thought of a "possible " All Ireland Final between Galway v Clare, but both have tricky games this weekend first. Have to take it one game at a time!
Instead of Galway been dependant on J.Canning and C.Whelan...I want to see Galway target those "big name players " Tipp have in the half back line, its pivotal that we have big games from C.Mannion and C.Cooney if they line out in the half forward line. Both of them haven't taken off thus far and are long overdue a big performance...on song they would flitter the Mahers!!"
Well done Galway!! Won as I expected..but made unnecessary hard work of it!! Good man C.Mannion brilliant game and back to his best!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 21/11/2020 14:57:03    2312010

After all the talk about the goals drying up in hurling, both quarter-finals have been goal-fests! 5 already in the second match and its only half-time.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 21/11/2020 16:35:37    2312058

Fair play Waterford, that's a fantastic result!
The 2 games next week will be something else.
Potential repeat of either provincial final.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 21/11/2020 17:37:47    2312082

So my €10 PP accumulated this week is Galway, Kerry & Clare.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 263 - 21/11/2020 10:57:45 2311944

That'll be a €10 to Paddy so! Well done Waterford. That is how the game should be played, although I am even more concerned about where we are after that.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 21/11/2020 17:44:47    2312088

Absolutely gutted for tipp. Thought we played quite well but the silly second yellow probably ended up costing us. Aidan Harte would probably have never found himself in that position if he had someone to mark. Having said that, well done to Galway, I think the best team almost always wins and I think they'll feel they can improve. The extra day is the only blessing for them but 3 weeks in winter conditions won't be easy.

Well done to Waterford and Liam Cahill. He's a ruthless manager but his record is ridiculous at this stage. They'll feel they have every chance of reaching a final now but again it'll be tough to raise their game again for the third week in a row.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/11/2020 17:47:22    2312092

Hardluck to Tipp, ye played like champs today. Great rivalry, long may it last. RIP 1920 victims....Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 21/11/2020 17:56:25    2312098

Thought the ref was poor for both Galway and Tipp. Never let the game flow. Condition of the field didn't help. Hard earned win for Galway well deserved. They will have a tough go next week with 3 games in a row. They have the horses if they can get the energy level up for 70 minutes. Hats off to Waterford I thought they would have a good Championship under Cahill. He set the tone in January when he dropped Austin Gleeson. To Gleeson's credit he came back in shape and is contributing. Waterford will have a good shot next week, again 3 games in a row is not easy but they are in terrific shape. I have to give Brian Lohan credit he was short 2 of his best all year due to injuries and another left to travel I believe but he had a very good year. Shame Tony Kelley got injured don't know if even healthy he would have made the difference but that is sport. Next week will be very interesting can't wait. Great Championship so far hope it continues

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 21/11/2020 17:58:35    2312099