John Kiely Comments

You know it may not be a big thing in the big scheme of things. At least to the selfish people on here. There are more than the players involved who now you want to pay to watch the game. Maybe they should pay to play as well. I have elder family who just about know how to turn on the t.v. and are not going to do anything else but expect to see it on the national t.v. station. They have supported the GAA all their lives both the local club and county, travelling and buying tickets. They are obeying the travel distance regulation and want everyone they know to do like wise. It time some people would leave their own little cocoon and show some empathy toward others.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 954 - 18/11/2020 18:32:51
Whos being selfish on here?
The people saying fans have to be let in are the ones being selfish. The people saying those not involved in a match should attend are the ones who are selfish.
If there is older people who do struggle with technology and wish to watch games then they work with neighbours/family who can help them to do that

What does this have to do with players not being allowed to travel to a match. Players shouldn't be travelling to a game if they aren't needed. RTÉ can't put every game on TV and you'd have people complaining if it was aired in Irish on TG4. Virgin are more interested in rugby and soccer. You just need quit whining. And stop calling people selfish and bringing up stuff which will never happen (pay to play).
Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 18/11/2020 19:03:20
Virgin Media arent necessarily more interested in rugby/soccer. They didnt get a contract to cover GAA so apart from news etc cant show much else from games.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 18/11/2020 19:22:18    2311184

Replying To Canuck:  "Some post on here reminds me that there are people who are begrudgers and probably put nothing into any thing. Just childish references to stupid analogies that have nothing to do with a discussion on if the whole panel of our GAA teams should be allowed into the games. You can agree or disagree but let's at least have an adult conversation and debate about it."
You've admitted yourself it's not a big problem in the grand scheme of things.

Someone above admitted the same but thought that it was easy fixed.

I don't think it's easy fixed. For one thing it's out of the GAA's control and then is it something I want someone in government being distracted by, no.

Do I think it'd be nice for players to see the games, yes, is it a pity that they can't, yes. Would I like to see the games if I were part of a training group but not in the squad, yes.

Should John Kiely or Andy McEntee be complaining about it, in my mind no. Not every grievance or moan needs to be aired. I actually do think that the moaning, picking holes and contradictions in restrictions is detrimental to the effort overall.

As much as I love Ireland and Irish people, I do think our loose attitude to rules and trying to bend, push them, want to claim that there's no harm done by doing whatever is just outside the rules is a bloody annoying mindset at the best of times, let alone now.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 18/11/2020 19:32:05    2311188

Replying To Canuck:  "Some post on here reminds me that there are people who are begrudgers and probably put nothing into any thing. Just childish references to stupid analogies that have nothing to do with a discussion on if the whole panel of our GAA teams should be allowed into the games. You can agree or disagree but let's at least have an adult conversation and debate about it."
Well you have moved from the stupid analogy of the young lads who can't get access to the match (disproven) to the analogy of old people who can't access the games and have supported the GAA all their lives (in spite of not every game ever being on terrestrial TV!)
Just because somebody was able to see a match in the 50s doesn't mean they have some god-given right to do so 60 years later.
By the way, many of us players do pay-for-play. It is called club membership.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 18/11/2020 20:56:16    2311214

Replying To Whammo86:  "You've admitted yourself it's not a big problem in the grand scheme of things.

Someone above admitted the same but thought that it was easy fixed.

I don't think it's easy fixed. For one thing it's out of the GAA's control and then is it something I want someone in government being distracted by, no.

Do I think it'd be nice for players to see the games, yes, is it a pity that they can't, yes. Would I like to see the games if I were part of a training group but not in the squad, yes.

Should John Kiely or Andy McEntee be complaining about it, in my mind no. Not every grievance or moan needs to be aired. I actually do think that the moaning, picking holes and contradictions in restrictions is detrimental to the effort overall.

As much as I love Ireland and Irish people, I do think our loose attitude to rules and trying to bend, push them, want to claim that there's no harm done by doing whatever is just outside the rules is a bloody annoying mindset at the best of times, let alone now."
There is no one trying to bend the covid the rules. Only asking that some evaluation and common sense be applied to this situation. Though at the same time our games would not probably be getting played at all if our fore fathers did not break some rules.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 18/11/2020 22:55:25    2311274

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Well you have moved from the stupid analogy of the young lads who can't get access to the match (disproven) to the analogy of old people who can't access the games and have supported the GAA all their lives (in spite of not every game ever being on terrestrial TV!)
Just because somebody was able to see a match in the 50s doesn't mean they have some god-given right to do so 60 years later.
By the way, many of us players do pay-for-play. It is called club membership."
You have the wrong poster I did not make an analogy with any thing and the full panels allowed into the games. I did say that elder members of my family would not have access to Sky t.v. (no analogy made either) which in fairness is a separate issue. You referred to them as old people but there are more than that to me. The fact is the game is being televised but with the means of accessibility not available to many long time supporters. It is not a case of a god given right but how about a bit of old fashioned fairness.
"By the way" to use your expression I don't need any lessons from you on what it is and takes to be club member.
Your are entitled to your opinion on the specific covid restriction with regards to the panel of players. I have my opinion on it and that does not mean I'm opposed to the rules and guide lines to keep us safe. I go to bed every night praying that my working front line daughters come home in the morning safe.
This whole conversation starting about John Kiely expressing his view on the subject and has turned in to calling him a whiner and worse.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 19/11/2020 00:35:41    2311291

Replying To Canuck:  "There is no one trying to bend the covid the rules. Only asking that some evaluation and common sense be applied to this situation. Though at the same time our games would not probably be getting played at all if our fore fathers did not break some rules."
Absolutely. Covid is the same as centuries of British oppression.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 19/11/2020 12:14:04    2311366

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Absolutely. Covid is the same as centuries of British oppression."
I never said that. It was in answer to the opinion expressed about Irish people attitude in general to rules.Again the poster is entitled to that opinion and it may have some merit. If you have read my posts it should be obvious to you my stance and concern on covid and an insult to my families work. No wonder John Kiely's comments and motivation gets blow out of all porpotion.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 19/11/2020 14:00:48    2311405

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Absolutely. Covid is the same as centuries of British oppression."
I never said that. It was in answer to the opinion expressed about Irish people attitude in general to rules.Again the poster is entitled to that opinion and it may have some merit. If you have read my posts it should be obvious to you my stance and concern on covid and an insult to my families work. No wonder John Kiely's comments and motivation gets blow out of all porpotion.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 19/11/2020 14:17:17    2311411

I think johns comments smack of a total disregard for what is happening in the country at present and over the last 9 months.

The GAA being the most prominent and influential organisation in the country need to lead the way in setting the tone for peoples behaviour and compliance with the rules.

He is totally correct that the Gaelic Grounds would be safe for entire squads to be allowed into but that's just not point and John needs to see the bigger picture. 5 or 6 lads not being allowed to attend a game is a nothing sacrifice in comparison to what thousands in the country have been hit with.

Get on with it, play the matches and show the country why the GAA is so highly regarded by giving thousands of patrons some escape from the Covid-19 misery. But also show them that we as an Organisation want to lead the way in creating a safe environment for all essential attendees.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/11/2020 15:45:16    2311451

Replying To daytona11:  "I think johns comments smack of a total disregard for what is happening in the country at present and over the last 9 months.

The GAA being the most prominent and influential organisation in the country need to lead the way in setting the tone for peoples behaviour and compliance with the rules.

He is totally correct that the Gaelic Grounds would be safe for entire squads to be allowed into but that's just not point and John needs to see the bigger picture. 5 or 6 lads not being allowed to attend a game is a nothing sacrifice in comparison to what thousands in the country have been hit with.

Get on with it, play the matches and show the country why the GAA is so highly regarded by giving thousands of patrons some escape from the Covid-19 misery. But also show them that we as an Organisation want to lead the way in creating a safe environment for all essential attendees."
That's a nice succinct summary of the thoughts I have on this.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 19/11/2020 16:24:20    2311468

Replying To Canuck:  "I never said that. It was in answer to the opinion expressed about Irish people attitude in general to rules.Again the poster is entitled to that opinion and it may have some merit. If you have read my posts it should be obvious to you my stance and concern on covid and an insult to my families work. No wonder John Kiely's comments and motivation gets blow out of all porpotion."
Nobody insulted your families' work so get over yourself. Kiely is wrong on this. Players who aren't needed shouldn't be making an journey to sit in a stadium and watch a game.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 19/11/2020 19:03:54    2311517

Replying To Canuck:  "There is no one trying to bend the covid the rules. Only asking that some evaluation and common sense be applied to this situation. Though at the same time our games would not probably be getting played at all if our fore fathers did not break some rules."
Missing the point. 10 members of an intimate panel barred while 20 reporters make a nuisance of themselves. Reduce reporters from 20 to 2 and allow 20 extra panel members to attend at appropriate distance.
Let Cusack, Jackie Tyrell and others comment from a gantry crane or "box' above the pitch. Problem solved.
Note that the 10 players who are barred are training with the team 3o r4 times per week in all kinds of weather .

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 19/11/2020 19:51:57    2311533

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Nobody insulted your families' work so get over yourself. Kiely is wrong on this. Players who aren't needed shouldn't be making an journey to sit in a stadium and watch a game."
That would be fair enough if others were nt left in but it makes a mockery of the whole thing when certain people are left in when theres no need of them whatsoever.One rule for one and one rule for another.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 19/11/2020 21:35:26    2311564

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Missing the point. 10 members of an intimate panel barred while 20 reporters make a nuisance of themselves. Reduce reporters from 20 to 2 and allow 20 extra panel members to attend at appropriate distance.
Let Cusack, Jackie Tyrell and others comment from a gantry crane or "box' above the pitch. Problem solved.
Note that the 10 players who are barred are training with the team 3o r4 times per week in all kinds of weather ."
Agree the National Hockey League had the analyst for the games do it from home and some play by play commentators also. Anyone can write a summary of the game from watching on TV. This is a small issue the world right now but it would be fairer to let the players who train in the cold and rain to be at the games with their teammates. If anyone should be kept out it should be the media.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 19/11/2020 21:48:35    2311566

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Missing the point. 10 members of an intimate panel barred while 20 reporters make a nuisance of themselves. Reduce reporters from 20 to 2 and allow 20 extra panel members to attend at appropriate distance.
Note that the 10 players who are barred are training with the team 3o r4 times per week in all kinds of weather ."
Why should reporters be limited? What media do you limit entrance to then?
They are doing their job.
The extra squad members are just supporters on match day. They have no role on match day. All the reporters/journalists help provide coverage of the game to those who cant attend
That the extra players may be training with the squad during the week is irrelevant.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 19/11/2020 21:51:04    2311569

Replying To KillingFields:  "Why should reporters be limited? What media do you limit entrance to then?
They are doing their job.
The extra squad members are just supporters on match day. They have no role on match day. All the reporters/journalists help provide coverage of the game to those who cant attend
That the extra players may be training with the squad during the week is irrelevant."
You obviously just like to stir the pot, but maybe you were just never part of a team or panel. Don't know which is true, probably both.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 19/11/2020 22:30:45    2311581

Replying To gatha:  "Agree the National Hockey League had the analyst for the games do it from home and some play by play commentators also. Anyone can write a summary of the game from watching on TV. This is a small issue the world right now but it would be fairer to let the players who train in the cold and rain to be at the games with their teammates. If anyone should be kept out it should be the media."
Ludicrous statement.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 19/11/2020 23:08:35    2311591

Journalists attending games is inline with the wider regulations that are in place in the country to facilitate journalists being able to perform their jobs.

I mean come on. The GAA can't be demanding bespoke solutions for it. If I were in government and the GAA were to try to come up with these sorts of alterations, I'd be really ****** off to be honest.

There's better things for them to be deliberating on.

If they're creating bespoke solutions to problems for the GAA, it's hard for them to then not spend the same amount of time detailing things to the same degree in other facets of the country.

That doesn't seem like time we'll spent to me.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 20/11/2020 10:00:21    2311628

Replying To gatha:  "You obviously just like to stir the pot, but maybe you were just never part of a team or panel. Don't know which is true, probably both."
Nonsense but players in squads can get to see the games on tv. They are not required on match day. Journalists jobs rely on being at the game.
Im not stirring anything and have played multiple sports with multiple teams.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 20/11/2020 10:07:54    2311630

Replying To KillingFields:  "Nonsense but players in squads can get to see the games on tv. They are not required on match day. Journalists jobs rely on being at the game.
Im not stirring anything and have played multiple sports with multiple teams."
I agree that the squad is enough if they want to bring more leave some of the huge back room team at home. They know what they are getting into when they are called up.

SupermanSub (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 20/11/2020 10:20:52    2311632