Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Crinigan:  "The fact that you are buzzing after that is extraordinary. You must have no concept of what sport is supposed to be."
What are you on about, of course their buzzing, Leinster champions again. Listening to Meath all week about what they were going to do might have put doubts in Dubs minds. And yes sports about winning. Again classy from Dean remembering young lad going through Chemo.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 21/11/2020 21:02:32    2312281

Replying To Crinigan:  "The fact that you are buzzing after that is extraordinary. You must have no concept of what sport is supposed to be."
Nail on the head. Tuning in at the end of that game you would have no idea who actually won.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 21/11/2020 21:03:27    2312282

Replying To royaldunne:  "Congratulations to Dublin. That is the best I have ever seen you play. I don't think the 6 in a row is in much doubt. But you never know.
As for Meath. ? Well we can only hope for better days ahead. Hard luck lads. It's a tough lesson.
We move on and I look forward to the start of the obc. (If it is to proceed. ) Otherwise it's the league.
Hon the royal"
You think because Dublin thrashed a second rate division 2 team that the 6 in a row is in no doubt?

They constantly whoop teams like Meath. So I dont think that tonight's match is any barometer to how the All Ireland will end up.

Donegal and/or Mayo will at least give them a proper match and not roll over and whisper gently into their ear like this Meath always do.

But I suppose Donegal and Mayo actually have the players to put it up to them while Meath lack quality right across the pitch.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 21/11/2020 21:06:22    2312287

Replying To Crinigan:  "Come back to me after ye play them.

If Donegal played Dublin every year in their province you'd have no team at all left as they'd have given up for the barstool long ago."
Ouch ;-) well donegal will give it a go if they get past cavan tomorrow which i hope they do. And I expect them to do thier best against dublin. A couple of years ago when the sky 8s started a shining example of favouritism was 2 home games for the dubs and when donegal questioned this they where derided how dare they question the dubs. But reality is croke park are going to have to do something maybe meath could get castleknock and blanchardstown for meath.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 21/11/2020 21:06:29    2312288

Meath lads

Do you honestly believe you gave your best tonight?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/11/2020 21:06:44    2312289

Congrats to Dublin on 10 in a row. The Leinster championship has been a farce for many years now. It's meant to be a competition but it's nothing short of a procession for Dublin...yes the greatest team ever and all that but It's pathetic. Most teams are beat before they even cross the white line.

Leinster counties are not "poor" or ravaged by immigration. The likes of Meath and Kildare have tradition, big support and money, there is no excuse for them to be this far behind. Maybe I'm completely wrong but that's what it looks like from the outside to me.

Also other counties in Leinster voted to keep Dublin in Croker so you can't coming crying with that excuse.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/11/2020 21:11:53    2312293

Very little intensity in the Meath backs. Dublin played very well but Meath backs were admiring them kicking it over the bar.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 21/11/2020 21:11:56    2312294

Can't see anyone stopping Cavan at this point..!!!!!!

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 21/11/2020 21:12:20    2312295

But then, they are an extraordinary team. We are entitled buzz after that great performance.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/11/2020 21:13:08    2312299

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "As good as Dublin are, and they are wonderful, it does make you wonder if Leinster championship is worth continuing. This is utterly predictable. The whole farce of having a draw, playing the games and knowing the outcome in advance of all of that is demoralising for anyone outside of Dublin surely. It's at the point that I can't see any team beating Dublin in Leinster for the next 20 years"
There is nothing wrong with the leinster championship if you take dublin out of it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2020 21:15:13    2312301

Replying To Crinigan:  "That's the death knell of Leinster football I'd say.

I won't be watching it again. Doubt many of those young Meath lads will be back either. There is no way back after that. Meath have thrown as much as they can at this in recent years, most professional setup we can have. We don't have the population or resources to compete with a professional team.

It's been discussed ad nauseum but the sport is a farce now, especially if you've to try and get out of Leinster. Let the GAA deal with the destruction they created."
Take a look at Donegal in a few weeks (assuming beat Cavan tomorrow). I can assure you they won't get annihilated like Meath did tonight.
They have a smaller population than Meath, yet have been far more competitive than them over the past 10 years.
Meath got relegated from Division 1 without winning a game. Haven't beaten a Division 1 team in league or championship for years.
None of that has anything to do with Dublin's advantages.
They need a good look in the mirror after this evening. That was an awful performance.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 21/11/2020 21:20:05    2312303

Replying To Meathball:  "Dublin were very good, Westmeath & Laois are worse teams than Meath but they set up much better against Dublin, tactics by McEntee were brutal, I have seen better kickout strategy at U14. He has to go, everyone was saying we are improving, but we were beaten by more than last year. Team selection was wrong tonight. I hope Andy does the honourable thing and steps down without delay. No matter who takes over cannot do any worse. There are great players there and they deserve better."
Going on tonight I would disagree that Westmeath and Laois are worse teams than Meath you are away with the fairies.

Leftpeg1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 88 - 21/11/2020 21:20:39    2312304

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath lads

Do you honestly believe you gave your best tonight?"
I certainly believe we can perform much better, we did get within 4 of Dublin only last month, although some may dismiss that as it was a league game.

I'd imagine there will be questions about our desire to win tonight, but I would dispel those questions. I believe the players and management are 100% committed but they ran into an unstoppable force tonight and paid a heavy price.

It was a bad day at the office for us but all credit to the Dubs, they proved they were the best team of all time last season and have showed no signs of easing up so far.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/11/2020 21:21:59    2312305

Replying To jimbodub:  "Explain how Dublin are professional

And stop the Trump speak"
How many full time coaches do Dublin have?

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 21/11/2020 21:22:29    2312306

Replying To greysoil:  "This is very sad to watch. Brogan summed it up beforehand when he said that Dublin would have to be professional & that is exactly what we are seeing. Very difficult for amateur teams to compete."
All those Dublin players have day jobs/ college students , back in your box kid.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/11/2020 21:22:44    2312308

Of course Dubs are buzzing, won Leinster again beating Meath in the process. Sports usually about winning, that's why you get winners medals, cups, trophies. Another touch of class from Dean Rock in interview remembering young fellow.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 21/11/2020 21:23:53    2312310

Replying To Crinigan:  "That's the death knell of Leinster football I'd say.

I won't be watching it again. Doubt many of those young Meath lads will be back either. There is no way back after that. Meath have thrown as much as they can at this in recent years, most professional setup we can have. We don't have the population or resources to compete with a professional team.

It's been discussed ad nauseum but the sport is a farce now, especially if you've to try and get out of Leinster. Let the GAA deal with the destruction they created."
I disagree meath stood of that dublin team and never got in there faces, I'm sick of the usual excuses of population and money being blamed when the real reason is meath didn't lay a glove on them, if you stand of teams especially a five in row team what do you expect, We got what we deserved, congratulations to dublin and best of luck for the rest of the year.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 21/11/2020 21:24:40    2312311

Replying To sam1884:  "Yes Dublin have been the successful county in the last decade but to me the problem runs deeper than Dublin. There are now 4 or 5 semi professional teams at the top of the game (Mayo, Dublin, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone). The cost of running those teams; are they paying outside coaches?, full time employees etc is crazy. Kerry are young; but believe me they're a coming force as are the rest. One of those counties will soon stop Dublin; we've seen Mayo and Kerry already come close. For all the rest of the counties the sheer resources in those semi professional counties make it pretty much impossible bar the very very odd shock to put on a glove on them.

We've seen decent Div 1 and Div 2 counties completly over run this autumn; counties you could argue sit around 7th or 8th in the country. Some serious review needs to take place in counties looking to catch up, starting with how can they get more finance?"
No outside coaches in Tyrone

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/11/2020 21:24:58    2312312

A terrible night for Meath and another good night for Dublin. For me Meath played with a fear factor which did nt help but fair play to Dublin. A masterclass again. On the scoreline I have been at many games when teams got destroyed but things turn around very quickly if teams believe. I was in pairc Uí Caoimh when Cork beat us by 15 points in 1990.Spectatorscsaid we won't beat Cork for years. Cork were all ireland Champs and went on to win it again. Following year in Killarney Kerry win. I was in Croker 2009 Kerry hammer Dublin by 17 points and the dubs were favourites. I listened to dub fans saying twas a disgrace and Gilroy has to take the blame. 2 years later under Gilroy Dublin are all ireland Champs. What I'm trying to say is at the moment Dublin are the top dogs and probably there to stay for another year anyway but instead of making excuses let's get up to their level of skill and workrate etc. No team or person is infallible. Congrats to Dublin and commiserations to Meath.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 21/11/2020 21:26:06    2312313

Considering we watched the commemoration of Bloody Sunday before this & heard about the beautiful humility of the GAA & the supporters back then - an amateur sport of rawness, equality & unity.
And then we watch yet another attack on the essence of what our GAA tradition is - that amateurism & equality.
Gaelic football got another wound today. Can any true Gael's really celebrate what happened in Croke park tonight?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 21/11/2020 21:26:22    2312315