Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To daytona11:  "I'm not sure if someone who posts piles of stats and historic opinion pieces on an internet forum with google at their fingertips should be considered knowledgeable. Respected by all means though.

At the end of the day Leinster football is coming up on the 10th anniversary of it's death. Apart from perhaps Ulster, a bit like Munster in the hurling, the majority of counties want to see significant changes to the structure of the championship. That's the only way in reality to perhaps help the other 31 counties really bridge the gap on a consistent basis. 10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also.

There is nothing between Laois, Meath , Westmeath and Kildare on any given day and a best 15 from those counties wouldn't beat the dubs. Depressing."
"10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

In the last 10 years Dublin have, won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 0; and won 9 Leinsters, runners-up 0.

In the 10 years 1978 to 1987 Kerry won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 1; and won 8 Munsters, runners-up 2.

I don't remember any 'calling for changes' during Kerry's dominance.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 18/11/2020 21:06:15    2311220

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks Royaldunne. I do appreciate it much more then you think. I dont know personally but you always have my back here, I do appreciate that.
I am no legend , just a Meath bogman from the backwoods of Meath rambling on about this and that. If I was a Meath footballer I would be David Beggy capable of moments of brillance but little bit all over the place, but a good solid worker. If you were Meath footballer you would be Jack Quinn, the greatest Meath full back of all. The Mighty Quinn, The Mighty Royaldunne."
Haha. I'll always have ur back.
Honestly my highlights on here are reading ur in-depth posts.
These days too many people want to put everything into 140 characters or whatever. I've always been a lover of reading articles or books that can take you along And give you insights. Remind you of things that you once may have known but forgotten, and when I read ur posts I have often thought oh my I had totally forgotten about that, and brings me right back to that moment, and comparisons are just amazing. Keep it up. To me you are a legend

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/11/2020 21:18:41    2311227

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah lads no need, Furlong is a class and knowledgable poster, we have these conversations every year, we may as well be on a bar stool after a game in McGraths talking ball . As he says himself he's a passionate Meath man and I'm a Dub, we will both fight our corner, but shake hands.

I have the upmost respect for the man, passion and knowledge I only ever reply to posters who I think are good GAA people on here and Furlong is a real & knowledgable GAA man. If Meath win on Sat I'll congratulate him and all the Meath lads on here.

When it was Meath we were playing I was hoping furlong would make an appearance and hope all is going well for him behind the scenes! ;)

A great lad and worthy of respect, always play the ball not the man."
Thanks Username. I do appreciate it.
We have these great discussions now and again, they are always enjoyable and you always give me food for thought. I enjoy them. I think we are of the same generation of Meath and Dublin 80s and 90s so there is deep down respect on both sides because of those incredible battles. I think particulary after 1991 there was this realisation we were watching one of the greatest ever rivalries Irish sport with so many great players. The battles were tough, but at the end everyone shook hands. We realised then and looking back now we were seen a rivalry at levels never seen before or since. They were great Meath warriors eg Mick lyons Martin O Connell Robbie O Malley Gerry McEntee Darren Fay John McDermont Trevor Giles Tommy Dowd Graham Geraghty Ollie Murphy Brian Stafford versus great Dublin warriors Tommy Drum Paul Curran kieth Barr Mick kennedy Eamon Heery Tommy Car Brian Mullins Anto O Toole Jim Galvin Ciaran Duff Joe McNally Barney Rock Jason Sherlock Charlie Redmond and Dessie Farrell and of course Sean Boylan and kevin heffernan. Great men great memoried great times. It would be great to think in the 2020s the Meath v Dublin rivalry came alive again.

Regards Sunday I do have a worry that the young lads could be too raw yet, the game could be a year or two to early for them. But I think physically it is first time in 10 years Meath will play Dublin and Meath will be physically able for Dublin. Meath had a small team for years and were bullied and outmuscled of the ball by Dublin and Ulster teams for years. But McEntee has changed that and it took 4 years but especially this year under Niall Ronan, a Meath man who played for Munster rugby , he has brought our S and C to another level even since the spring. It has helped the young players who came in are strong big footballers like Shane Walsh.

We have added Jones to midfield who is great ball carrier and a new full forward line. Last year we played James Conlon on his own upfront. A real prospect but physically wouldnt be able to win ball on his own. This year we have Shane Walsh who is 19 but big strong pacy athletic target man something we havent had since Graham Geraghty retired. Thomas O Reilly has bulked up and can win his own ball and strong also. And while Jordy Morris is small, he is built like a tank sometimes reminds me of Tommy Dowd. So I think our full foward line is much better then last year or the spring. Morris, Walsh O Reilly scored 12 points between them v Dubs few weeks ago.

I wonder could weather have impact. Meath great upset victories were in 86 and 96 in dreadful conditions with low scoring game, 0-9 Meath 0- 7 Dubs in 86 and Meath 0-10 Dublin 0 - 8 in 96. Wet conditions can keep scores down. What I mean downpower after downpower similar to Kerry v Cork game. I definately feel the conditions helped Cork if it was dry July day I think Kerry would have won. I know it was wet last year but I mean just dreadful downpours which can lead to dogfight and could keep score. Listen Dublin could score 2-22 in a rainstorm but even if you look at Dublins lowest scoting final it was in dreadful conditions and the score was 0 - 12 Dublin 0- 9 kerry in 2015. Everytime I play Dubs I want horrible rain dreasful conditions it did help us in 86 and 96 and did help Cork but saying that this Dublin team are that good a horrible wet rainy windy Nov night wouldnt bother them.

Truthfully cards on the table Dublin could win by 14 15 16 points. This Dublin team is a machine. More then likely we are looking at 8 to 12 point loss. If Meath could keep it under 10 9 8 7 and go 3/4s of the match with Dublin that would be real progress. A repeat of the league game 6 5 or 4 would be outstanding anything better that would be more outstanding. A victory would be incredible. We do know what we face and its unlikely we are going to win but becaude I was at 86 and 91 and 99 I just have to believe something incredible is possible. But I know its highly unlikely. Meath and Dublin brings up allot of emotions for my generation like no other game those. Those game were so incredible its means the dreams live on.
But I do feel we are going in right direction and I do think we will beat Dublin in next three years. That can only be good for leinster football and also Dublin havin a rivalry in leinster is what its all about and nothing is bigger and better then you havind a strong Meath and strong Dublin in leinster final. I hope to see one day Meath v Dublin All Ireland final. That would be the biggest Meath v Dublin game since 1991. That would be the big one to win. Hopefully in next ten to fifthteen years we will see that.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 18/11/2020 21:20:39    2311229

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah lads no need, Furlong is a class and knowledgable poster, we have these conversations every year, we may as well be on a bar stool after a game in McGraths talking ball . As he says himself he's a passionate Meath man and I'm a Dub, we will both fight our corner, but shake hands.

I have the upmost respect for the man, passion and knowledge I only ever reply to posters who I think are good GAA people on here and Furlong is a real & knowledgable GAA man. If Meath win on Sat I'll congratulate him and all the Meath lads on here.

When it was Meath we were playing I was hoping furlong would make an appearance and hope all is going well for him behind the scenes! ;)

A great lad and worthy of respect, always play the ball not the man."
Well said. Furlong is one of the very few posters I won't have slagged on here. Jesus the man is a encyclopaedia of knowledge. A great great gaa man.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/11/2020 21:22:04    2311232

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks Royaldunne. I do appreciate it much more then you think. I dont know personally but you always have my back here, I do appreciate that.
I am no legend , just a Meath bogman from the backwoods of Meath rambling on about this and that. If I was a Meath footballer I would be David Beggy capable of moments of brillance but little bit all over the place, but a good solid worker. If you were Meath footballer you would be Jack Quinn, the greatest Meath full back of all. The Mighty Quinn, The Mighty Royaldunne."
Jaysus, maybe Tinder or E harmony is the place for you lads to continue this conversation

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2590 - 18/11/2020 21:26:24    2311237

Is this not a forum about Dublin v Meath !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1176 - 18/11/2020 21:27:14    2311238

Replying To winatallcost:  "Explain yourself please on comment regarding great players?"
I tried to but Admin blocked it...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4498 - 18/11/2020 21:36:24    2311240

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Is this not a forum about Dublin v Meath !"
Indeed. Give us ur insight

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/11/2020 21:39:29    2311241

Replying To MillerX:  "On a lighter note, in the 1970 all final v Kerry, Jack Quinn had a great game where his fielding was top drawer, an a lad beside me on the Canal End shouted sone thing like 'go on the Mighty Quinn' which was a line from a song at the time. An old Dub quipped, that's not the mighty Quinn....he's a Superquinn. Nearly made my day....Kerry spoiled it though."
Nice to have a laugh Miller and I always enjoy some of the comments from supporters during game especially when one is neutral. I remember a a good few years ago in croker Michael Collins from Cork was refereeing a game(cant recall who wasplaying) but some fan who wasupset at him shouted out "feckin shower of idiots in cork they shot the wrong Michael Collins"

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4027 - 18/11/2020 21:58:55    2311252

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

In the last 10 years Dublin have, won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 0; and won 9 Leinsters, runners-up 0.

In the 10 years 1978 to 1987 Kerry won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 1; and won 8 Munsters, runners-up 2.

I don't remember any 'calling for changes' during Kerry's dominance."
In 1980 the Munster council put our senior football team straight into a Munster final to give the other teams a chance.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/11/2020 22:00:07    2311254

Ah in fairness to Furlong, he is an old school GAA romanticist and a traditionalist. He was reared on Meath teams that would box above their weight. A magic potion of raw guts, a bit of the divil and absolute self-belief concocted by Mr Boylan.
I definitely sense more optimism from the Meath folk for this one. Its an odd year, so who knows. They're young and like to score goals so it seems. Most of our glasses are at least slightly tinted, so carry on Furlong, there's not many of you left!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 18/11/2020 22:02:41    2311257

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well said. Furlong is one of the very few posters I won't have slagged on here. Jesus the man is a encyclopaedia of knowledge. A great great gaa man."
Thanks Royaldunne, I do appreciate it. Your a gentleman.
Regards the game, 1986 rain and muck dreadful conditions Meath 0 - 9 Dublin 0- 7, 1996 rain and downpour after downpour, dreadful conditions Meath 0 - 10 Dublin 0 - 8. What about 2020 and a wet windy novembers Night. Listen Dubs could score 2 - 22 in a tropical storm. Conditions did effect Cork and kerry. I will be hoping for wet windy November night and I think thats the forecast. It will probaly have no impact but we can only hope.

I think Shane Walsh and Thomas Reilly could have big games. Morris will definately be singled out for tight marking. Walsh seems to be big game player. I think he could have big game. And also Thomas O Reilly he is most improved player on the team this year. Id say there is a chance Sullivan will be out. Big loss he is turning into one leaders. It will mean Scully probaly or Devine will start. I would personally pick Campion. I think he is a quality footballer and seems to play well v Big teams he was excellent v Kerry last year and excellent also v Donegal in Ballybofey and kildare in Navan. He can also kick long range points has pace and vision. He is one of the most skilful players on team, but he has suffered with injuries badly. But Sullivan missing is a massive loss. He was excellent v Kildare.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 18/11/2020 22:05:24    2311258

Replying To superdub:  "Meath had more natural forwards than dublin in the 70's??????"
I don't know but its possible.i did nt see much of the Meath forwards in the 70 s as a young boy as not much gaa on tvthen and would nt have gone to any Meath games.However I was atalot of Dublin games and sawthem on telly too,Dblin had agreat team then but maybenot all the forwards were what id classifyas typical scoring forwards.Jimmy Keaveney brilliant forward to score and John McCarthy a poacher.Bobby Doyle very good againbut no Bernard Brogan,Tony Hanahoe did nt trouble the scoreboard much buta goodplaymaker.David Hickey a fine athlete but again not a top scorer.Anton O Toole (R.i.p.)was myfavourite Dublin player could score.in synopsis Dubs forward line in the 70 s were great athletes and great team players but maybe only 3 or 4 natural forwards.meath I don't know.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4027 - 18/11/2020 22:21:52    2311265

Capacity could not be an issue in this Covid year, should this match not have been played at a neutral venue ?. Dublin know Croke park so well, I would have preferred this match played in Newbridge or somewhere else.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1415 - 18/11/2020 22:28:37    2311269

Replying To TheUsername:  "Agree to differ a chara. We obviously have different takes, i have no problem with anyone being optimistic and hopeful, but i think you need to be realistic and also provide proper context in regard to any sabre rattling. There have been talk on here of Meath hammering Dublin at underage and while there have been very good results for Meath at minor - i also know its a grade that isnt results focused for Dublin, i can tell you this will continue to be the case, next year and the years ahead, so i dont weight to much on it.

Truth is there hasn't been a squeak out of Meath at underage, be it minor or U20. The best i think they have done recently is a semi against Galway in 18 at minor. In the time you are talking off, Dublin have dominated nationally at U20 and even Kildare have gotten a national title under their belts. I wouldn't minimize or dismiss the Meath players breaking through or the efforts of improving things on the ground in Meath, but at the same time you need to have perspective. Its not like Meath have been pulling up trees at underage, like Kerry doing five minors in a row or Dublin at U20. If you are talking at competing at the top table that is what you are up against. Im sure the young lads for Meath are good players, but who Meath are going to be competing against the likes of Tyrone, Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Galway have all had more relative success underage provincially and nationally more recently then Meath, so all will be bringing players through, perhaps the difference is those teams dont have the vacuum of need Meath do and dont need to fast track them. I mean if Archer was a Meath man he would be starting for Meath on Sun, just to illustrate my point and i imagine he be hyped to the nines like the young Meath forwards lads are talking up.

But like you i really enjoy and respect your posts, im just anchoring the sabre rattling a bit and giving a bit of perspective and context. So all good my old friend."
just to respond to a few points Username.I would agree with you in that the u 20 grade is a better barometer of players that are going to make it than minor level.In Kerry s case we have got nothing out of our minor wins at under 20 but a couple of years we could nt use players that were playing senior so welost out on Diarmuid O connor and Clifford for two years and Seanie o shea all big losses.We neededthem on senior panel whereas Dublin so strong at senior level they could afford to let their players play u2o.Now I thought that was a bad move by the gaa but that's another story.OnMeath yes they have nt done much underage but I was at their semi final minor v Galway a couple of years ago and tbh they were very unlucky to lose.Meath have a great tradition and I think we would all like to see them back up near the top but like you I think next sat eve not the time yet..I really hope its not totally one sided.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4027 - 18/11/2020 23:01:48    2311275

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Jaysus, maybe Tinder or E harmony is the place for you lads to continue this conversation"
Or , get a room!

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2390 - 18/11/2020 23:11:48    2311277

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Actually at the time there was call for changes but obviously social media was nt around so maybe not as much in your face.However there were indeed calls for change in both hurling and football.Ironically because of Kerry s dominance at the time in 1980 to stop them beating teams by a large score Kerry were given a bye into MSF where it was expected Cork would meet them and that would be closely fought (and was).you often hear of Kerry winning sam in 3 games.well that was the reason and the oneand only time it happened in my lifetime.Now Cockneyyou surely remember the next timethere was call for change in the football.If not let me refresh you.it was decided around the time of the millennium to bring in the back door in fooball.Originally the back door was brought in in hurling in1997 but it was said football was ok,however they decided to bring it in in2001 and I remember at the time it was said would be great for teams like Dublin to get a second chance (Dublin had nt won Leinster since 95).Now I remember on radio at the time the gaa said it was really for the weaker counties.Anyway people never happy so be careful what we wish for.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4027 - 18/11/2020 23:52:37    2311288

Replying To daytona11:  "I'm not sure if someone who posts piles of stats and historic opinion pieces on an internet forum with google at their fingertips should be considered knowledgeable. Respected by all means though.

At the end of the day Leinster football is coming up on the 10th anniversary of it's death. Apart from perhaps Ulster, a bit like Munster in the hurling, the majority of counties want to see significant changes to the structure of the championship. That's the only way in reality to perhaps help the other 31 counties really bridge the gap on a consistent basis. 10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also.

There is nothing between Laois, Meath , Westmeath and Kildare on any given day and a best 15 from those counties wouldn't beat the dubs. Depressing."
Daytona, im saying this from a position of respect for your county. This is too worrying of a trend im seeing out of Kildare posters, on this forum and also in reality since last week's game. Now look, in the cold, hard light of day I can accept Meath are no great shakes. The success of Dublin speaks volumes and yeah it a proper mountain this Meath team has to climb at the weekend.

Ive noticed in all my time that Kildare posters and indeed Kildare people are very quick to get negative after defeats. However the negativity is usually camouflaged by a bizarre sense of detatchment, so:

"...yes Kildare lost, but thats ok because the team that beat Kildare are also not very good in general, and football is dead, and there's no even point going on because everyone is terrible, and even if you combined 5 teams, they still wouldnt be good enough..."

And this negativity is projected ALWAYS at Meath but also on other neighbouring counties such as Laois and Westmeath. So the overall point is that "we lost but thats ok because all of our neighbours are not much better." The same in the opposite extreme can be said when Kildare are winning games, and there are Kildare posters on this forum whose only entries are to be seen when sticking the boot into their neighbours. In 2017 in the League in Navan, Kildare had the game won after 10 minutes v. Meath and Im not over-exaggerating when I say that the bulk of the Kildare supporters I saw were more interested in pointing out hilariously that Meath were poor, rather than Kildare were good. It was very, very strange. Ballygosideways stuff.

Small town mentality, looking over the neighbours fence mentality. If Kildare broadens its horizons, its potential is massive; probably the most untapped potential in Ireland.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 610 - 19/11/2020 06:46:04    2311295

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "

Actually at the time there was call for changes but obviously social media was nt around so maybe not as much in your face.However there were indeed calls for change in both hurling and football.Ironically because of Kerry s dominance at the time in 1980 to stop them beating teams by a large score Kerry were given a bye into MSF where it was expected Cork would meet them and that would be closely fought (and was).you often hear of Kerry winning sam in 3 games.well that was the reason and the oneand only time it happened in my lifetime.Now Cockneyyou surely remember the next timethere was call for change in the football.If not let me refresh you.it was decided around the time of the millennium to bring in the back door in fooball.Originally the back door was brought in in hurling in1997 but it was said football was ok,however they decided to bring it in in2001 and I remember at the time it was said would be great for teams like Dublin to get a second chance (Dublin had nt won Leinster since 95).Now I remember on radio at the time the gaa said it was really for the weaker counties.Anyway people never happy so be careful what we wish for."
Thanks Mick for refreshing my memory. I stand corrected.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 19/11/2020 09:38:00    2311305

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Capacity could not be an issue in this Covid year, should this match not have been played at a neutral venue ?. Dublin know Croke park so well, I would have preferred this match played in Newbridge or somewhere else."
I know, sure the lads apparently even have nicknames for every single blade of grass on the pitch, they know it that well compared to other blades of grass in different stadia around the country....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 19/11/2020 09:59:26    2311311