Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan

Replying To Fionn:  "Is McMenamin definitely gone now.?"
I haven't heard Fionn but considering the nature of the injury I would not expect to see him on Sunday. After that who knows.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/11/2020 13:17:37    2310031

Replying To JoeSoap:  "One of the best things about Bonner is how humble he is, it takes a man with little to no ego to bring in a big name like Rochford as your number 2 and with all the chatter that comes with it that Rochford is "the brains" etc. I hear a lot of disrespectful stuff about Bonner in all honesty (not in your post to clarify!) but nothing seems to phase Bonner and that calmness is a great asset in my view.

Rochford is very vocal on the line without a doubt although I think that has been compounded in the two games so far because he has been walking the sideline where the TV microphones are in both matches!

On to Sunday, I have to say that I thought Armagh would put it up to us and we'd be more flat after the big big performance against Tyrone. That didn't happen, we were very focussed and that gives me great confidence going in to Sunday. Cavan are dangerous and will definitely post up a decent score however I don't think they have improved enough from last year. The big worry for us is the fitness of McMenamin, if he is out then I think you'll see Cavan get plenty of success with a long ball in to our full back line and we will be exposed.

However possession is what it's all about and I think we will secure more than enough of our own kickout to get the scores needed.

Jim McGuinness was right on Sky though to just sound a note of caution. 3 in a row doesn't happen in Ulster easily, we caught Tyrone in 2011, we were caught ourselves in 2013. Cavan have a great tradition and plenty of these players broke Donegal hearts at underage level.

That's the note of caution and people may think it's a Donegal version of yerra (arra?) but it's true - we don't have a hole heap of Ulster championships so maybe the traditional winning mentality hasn't filtered down to all the supporters yet, myself definitely included. The reality is we are in a golden period for Donegal football, we've had as many Ulster championships since 2011 as we had in the previous 130 years. So the nerves will always be there going in to an Ulster final no matter who we're facing. But I think this group are laser focussed and will do us proud on Sunday."
A very good post! What comes across with Bonner is he loves Donegal football; he isn't there for his ego or what he can get out of it; he is there for the good of Donegal football and will do what benefits it first and foremost.

I'm sure Bonner has a great relationship with the younger players in particular, man management skills and a local knowledge of the Donegal scene; also he has shown he has a good coaching ability. Coaches like Rochford though are hard to find; there's a reason Mayo players went up against the county board to get him in and in truth nobody could be more unlucky than that Mayo set up not to get over the line. Rochford's Mayo went toe to toe and should have beat the best team to play the game - only thing Rochford didn't have is a little bit of luck; Rochford moved Mayo to unbelievable levels.

It's not a criticism of Bonner because he has a big role in that Donegal set up but Rochford is a special coach and you can certainly see how Donegal have moved up to a different level; I still fancy Mayo this year but atm Donegal look serious contenders.

You're right to caution against the 3 in a row in Ulster; I think Armagh are the only team in the province to achieve it during the 00's or certainly the only team in a lifetime?

It doesn't happen too often but Donegal have dominated Ulster; in truth they're looking beyond Sunday and look very much on a mission. Great teams get caught who have questionable lines but Bonner and Rochford are probably the strongest line in the country at the minute and for that reason they'll ensure Donegal get through it comfortably.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/11/2020 13:25:34    2310037

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I haven't heard Fionn but considering the nature of the injury I would not expect to see him on Sunday. After that who knows."
He wont be needed on Sunday.
Donegal to win with a lot to spare imo.

So he could be back for a semi final v Dublin/Meath.

Donegal motoring along nicely...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 16/11/2020 13:30:43    2310040

Replying To Fionn:  "Is McMenamin definitely gone now.?"
Well it seems its his hamstring so if just a nick 2-3 weeks if a tear be at least 6-8 weeks. He has had injury issues all year. He pulled out of knock out intermediate club game after getting through the group game phases. Either way he is probably almost certainly out at the weekend and touch and go beyond.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 16/11/2020 13:56:17    2310055

They say you have to lose one to win one, Cavan didn't perform in last years final, they have a chance now to redeem themselves, they have done incredible stuff to get to the final and I have enjoyed watching them and been rooting for them all along,
Donegal are in great form but we have defensive problems with injuries and absentees so that's worrying from our perspective, up front we are spoiled for choice, playing lovely football and scoring at will, I can see Rochfords influence, I suppose the southern media will still be spewing the Donegal defensive football tripe,
Donegal by 4 or 5 points but we need to really concentrate on this one, fellas with wee ideas in the back of their heads about a big semi final against the Dubs could get caught out very handy, Cavan are no mugs.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 16/11/2020 14:47:25    2310113

It's just fantastic to be looking forward to an Ulster final again this weekend. A lot of big talk surrounding Donegal but I'm sure Declan and the rest of the management team will be guarding against any complacency. In horse racing parlance there are three big fences to jump in order to land the big one. There's no point in thinking of the fences ahead if you can't clear the next one in front of you.

I wouldn't be drawn into any chat about playing Dublin/Meath yet. Time enough for that.

I will say however that it is vital for Donegal's chances that Stephen McMenamin's hamstring injury isn't too bad.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 16/11/2020 14:54:06    2310124

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "They say you have to lose one to win one, Cavan didn't perform in last years final, they have a chance now to redeem themselves, they have done incredible stuff to get to the final and I have enjoyed watching them and been rooting for them all along,
Donegal are in great form but we have defensive problems with injuries and absentees so that's worrying from our perspective, up front we are spoiled for choice, playing lovely football and scoring at will, I can see Rochfords influence, I suppose the southern media will still be spewing the Donegal defensive football tripe,
Donegal by 4 or 5 points but we need to really concentrate on this one, fellas with wee ideas in the back of their heads about a big semi final against the Dubs could get caught out very handy, Cavan are no mugs."
Not having a pop. But that's a very odd thing to say, southern media ? I presume u not talking about Munster. Do you really view yourself as part of northern ire ?? Again not having a pop. I just never seen someone from Donegal Monaghan or Cavan refer to the media as southern. Dublin or d4 yeah.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 14:56:17    2310129

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "They say you have to lose one to win one, Cavan didn't perform in last years final, they have a chance now to redeem themselves, they have done incredible stuff to get to the final and I have enjoyed watching them and been rooting for them all along,
Donegal by 4 or 5 points but we need to really concentrate on this one, fellas with wee ideas in the back of their heads about a big semi final against the Dubs could get caught out very handy, Cavan are no mugs."
I was impressed how Cavan fought back to beat Down. The big problem for Cavan is that if they have a first half like they did against Monaghan Antrim and Down there will be no coming back against Donegal in my view. The wish both teams the best of luck and whoever wins I wish them the best of luck in the All Ireland series.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 16/11/2020 15:06:21    2310138

Replying To Young_gael:  "I cant wait for this match-up. Donegal look to me to be the best team to challenge the Dubs for the title this year. They were very dogged against Armagh. I was amazed at their level of dominance. A very good side. I have to admit on a personal level that I find it hard to back them and the supporters give off a vibe I cant get jiggy with, but I appreciate a good side when I see it.

As a traditionalist and a man of the east, Id love to see Cavan win this game. What an amazing boost it would give to the North East of the country; an area that used to lord over the game for decades in the fabled days of the 40s,50s,60s. A strong, competetive Cavan, Meath, Monaghan, Louth, Armagh and Down are important to the game. The area adds a certain spice to affairs, and for that reason Im backing Cavan to upset the odds, tall odds, but not unbeatable."
unfortunately every county has clowns following them, them thar jump on the bandwagon and couldn't tell you if it was blown up or stuffed!...............we in donegal are afflicted like every other county......vast majority of fans are genuine but empty vessels make the most noise

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 16/11/2020 15:10:58    2310142

Replying To totalrecall:  "unfortunately every county has clowns following them, them thar jump on the bandwagon and couldn't tell you if it was blown up or stuffed!...............we in donegal are afflicted like every other county......vast majority of fans are genuine but empty vessels make the most noise"
Very true.

Can't say I've ever met a Donegal fan 1 to 1 who wasn't 100%.

My 2nd favourite team in Ulster and while I hope our lads do it on Sunday, I'll be cheering on the lads from the hills in the semi final should they beat us

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 16/11/2020 15:31:10    2310154

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not having a pop. But that's a very odd thing to say, southern media ? I presume u not talking about Munster. Do you really view yourself as part of northern ire ?? Again not having a pop. I just never seen someone from Donegal Monaghan or Cavan refer to the media as southern. Dublin or d4 yeah."
You might think we are different from our fellow Ulster men in the six counties but we are not.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 16/11/2020 15:45:47    2310166

Replying To gunman:  "You might think we are different from our fellow Ulster men in the six counties but we are not."
Didn't say that. I know a fair few from Donegal and never heard them say southern media. It makes no sense.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/11/2020 16:11:32    2310184

Replying To gunman:  "You might think we are different from our fellow Ulster men in the six counties but we are not."
That's a good one.

I think football this side of the border is less politicised. In the north, it is automatically nailing your colours to the mast. So in terms of GAA, the dice are loaded in the 6 counties, not so much in the republic. In terms of being people, yes, we are all the same.

Going back to the game, Cavan will be really, really up for this one. I think they will be eyeing a long ball or 2 in on top of our full back line. We will see how that works out.

A repeat performance of the Armagh or Tyrone games would see me happy. Cavan can improve too. If they can get consistency, they will be a huge threat, but I still think we have enough strength, depth and a good mix of experience too for anyone.

I would take a 1 point win, but think we are good enough of 4.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/11/2020 16:15:18    2310186

That sounds a bit like Dublin talking up Longford before they play them. Donegal have won the last 2 Ulster finals and they were both very one-sided affairs, there is no reason to think this will be any different. Cavan have done brilliantly to get to the final but the reality is they could have been 16 points behind at halftime yesterday against Down, and Down are a long way off Donegals level. Cavan have shown great heart and there was one outstanding block in yesterday's game that kept them in it. There hasn't been a competitive Ulster final since 2016 and sadly there won't be this year either.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 16/11/2020 16:23:40    2310198

Replying To panamasam:  "Well it seems its his hamstring so if just a nick 2-3 weeks if a tear be at least 6-8 weeks. He has had injury issues all year. He pulled out of knock out intermediate club game after getting through the group game phases. Either way he is probably almost certainly out at the weekend and touch and go beyond."
Looks like he is 50/50 for the Cavan game, so I reckon he should be ok for the All Ireland Semi Final.

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/football/news/30553/12134106/donegals-stephen-mcmenamin-very-doubtful-for-ulster-final

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 16/11/2020 16:47:57    2310216

Replying To Soma:  "That sounds a bit like Dublin talking up Longford before they play them. Donegal have won the last 2 Ulster finals and they were both very one-sided affairs, there is no reason to think this will be any different. Cavan have done brilliantly to get to the final but the reality is they could have been 16 points behind at halftime yesterday against Down, and Down are a long way off Donegals level. Cavan have shown great heart and there was one outstanding block in yesterday's game that kept them in it. There hasn't been a competitive Ulster final since 2016 and sadly there won't be this year either."
So like the referee, you're ignoring the fact Down's 1 actual goal shouldn't have stood.

Could've been further behind indeed, but by rights, should've been much closer.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 16/11/2020 18:00:40    2310259

Replying To Fionn:  "Looks like he is 50/50 for the Cavan game, so I reckon he should be ok for the All Ireland Semi Final.

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/football/news/30553/12134106/donegals-stephen-mcmenamin-very-doubtful-for-ulster-final"
Dunno where they are getting their info from Fionn but if a hamstring injury he won't be playing at the weekend. I wouldn't take too much on board from what the management report if that is the source.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 16/11/2020 19:44:29    2310328

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not having a pop. But that's a very odd thing to say, southern media ? I presume u not talking about Munster. Do you really view yourself as part of northern ire ?? Again not having a pop. I just never seen someone from Donegal Monaghan or Cavan refer to the media as southern. Dublin or d4 yeah."
For me we get far better coverage of Ulster football from BBCNI, Mickey Harte,Peter Canavan and Oisin McConville on as pundits yesterday for the ulster semi final,compare that to what RTE serve up.
Neither Ulster semi final was covered by RTE, I have always felt very detached up here from the Dublin based media, it's only recently that we get much coverage of anything up here.
I feel far more at home in Belfast or Derry than I would in Dublin. Derry would be or nearest city, partition and the troubles affected Donegal as well in lots of ways. from a geographical point of view we are the north, you can't get any further north. Tell someone in Malin hd that they are in the south, it's bonkers.
What I said about the semi final and fellas wrongly thinking of playing the Dubs before they have even taken on Cavan, I wasn't dismissing Meath's chances but I suppose the whole country is expecting Dublin to win the 6 in a row in truth,
best of luck to Meath on Saturday, be some craic if ye beat Dublin!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 16/11/2020 20:16:22    2310347

Replying To royaldunne:  "Didn't say that. I know a fair few from Donegal and never heard them say southern media. It makes no sense."
He means the southern media because ulster is in the northern part of Ireland either side of the "border"

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 16/11/2020 21:03:37    2310399

The Echo in Cork, boi

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 16/11/2020 21:24:31    2310412