Limerick Vs Tipp

Ref is playing a blinder

Westmeath213 (Westmeath) - Posts: 332 - 01/11/2020 17:22:38    2303957

Replying To Westmeath213:  "Ref is playing a blinder"
He's doing his best to keep Tipp in it anyway.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 01/11/2020 17:26:21    2303960

Replying To Westmeath213:  "Ref is playing a blinder"
Players aren't helping him in fairness what was will o Donohue doing in the throw in. He was lucky

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 01/11/2020 17:33:11    2303962

Think it may well be his last big match for a while..tipp 2nd goal ball picked straight off ground..hegarty and Ronan Maher very lucky not to see red..frees given which were very soft..other blatant frees not given,to bloody whistle happy..delighted with the win but think there is still more to come from limerick..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2224 - 01/11/2020 17:46:39    2303970

ref was very poor.....if limerick keep focused its hard to see them been stopped....gillane and hegarty the 2 best forwards in the country right now.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1099 - 01/11/2020 18:04:26    2303984

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Think it may well be his last big match for a while..tipp 2nd goal ball picked straight off ground..hegarty and Ronan Maher very lucky not to see red..frees given which were very soft..other blatant frees not given,to bloody whistle happy..delighted with the win but think there is still more to come from limerick.."
There was so much fouling every tackle is basically wrapping hurl around and not letting go, if he blew for everything then we could have seen no hurling at all. For the tip goal he went to paud o Dwyer for an opinion and IMO if you look at the slow now it took 3 tiny bounces and he got it in the 3 bounce but it was definitely a throw after that for the pass. But I could see why people would say it was picked. Just rewind and look at the slow mo

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 01/11/2020 18:04:41    2303985

The referee is only human and did his best in appalling conditions he might have missed a couple of things during the game but overall he wasn't too bad, very easy criticizing in front of the fire.

Well done Limerick 3 23 in those conditions was a great return and I don't think that is the last of Tipperary they'll still a say in this year championship.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 01/11/2020 18:21:31    2303996

Some of tipps big names really went missing today, can't see Waterford stopping limerick.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 01/11/2020 18:37:16    2304013

Replying To ecad123:  "There was so much fouling every tackle is basically wrapping hurl around and not letting go, if he blew for everything then we could have seen no hurling at all. For the tip goal he went to paud o Dwyer for an opinion and IMO if you look at the slow now it took 3 tiny bounces and he got it in the 3 bounce but it was definitely a throw after that for the pass. But I could see why people would say it was picked. Just rewind and look at the slow mo"
Would you go away out of it. He caught the grass with the ball. Not alone was it rolling on the grass after the 3 micro bounces is when he caught it.. Then then...he threw it over his head to his brother

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 01/11/2020 18:53:54    2304016

Tipp looked a mile off the pace. Even the puck out strategy seemed ridiculous in weather like that, but just generally why pass it to a full back under pressure for him to drive it forward when you have a free shot at it yourself goalie??

Limerick look sharp, confident and very much cruising along like potential champions. Skill and physicality are a deadly combo and they'll take some beating from here.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/11/2020 19:42:19    2304049

If Limerick learned their lesson from Kilkenny last year it is hard to see anyone beating them right now but that is a big IF.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 01/11/2020 19:48:34    2304054

Replying To gatha:  "If Limerick learned their lesson from Kilkenny last year it is hard to see anyone beating them right now but that is a big IF."
Why is it a big IF?
Why don't you think Limerick learnt from last years loss. Curious what your reason is.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 01/11/2020 21:21:17    2304129

You never know if you learned your lessons until you take the test. We will see if they take a team for granted after a big win like they did last year. They won Munster and figured all they had to do was show up against Kilkenny. They forgot the Master Cody was on the other side. Limerick with a superior panel were out worked the whole game. Only a spectacular goal by Dowling Kilkenny would have cruised to victory. Limerick won easy today we will see IF they learned their lesson from last year. Until they win it is a big IF.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 01/11/2020 22:54:38    2304181

God help us or some auld saint. Underdogs for sure. Keep writing us off lads as was the case with Cork. The more that is done the better and hopefully it might get into some of the Limerick lads heads. Every little bit helps. If we can keep the beaten below 20 -points that will be a good days work.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 02/11/2020 00:48:34    2304210

Replying To munsterchamps:  "ref was very poor.....if limerick keep focused its hard to see them been stopped....gillane and hegarty the 2 best forwards in the country right now."
Gillane and Hegarty better than Reid and Horgan for example?

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 02/11/2020 08:22:13    2304222

Replying To gatha:  "You never know if you learned your lessons until you take the test. We will see if they take a team for granted after a big win like they did last year. They won Munster and figured all they had to do was show up against Kilkenny. They forgot the Master Cody was on the other side. Limerick with a superior panel were out worked the whole game. Only a spectacular goal by Dowling Kilkenny would have cruised to victory. Limerick won easy today we will see IF they learned their lesson from last year. Until they win it is a big IF."
They were also a young team playing a year after our first all Ireland win in 45 years.. There was a hangover there.
In fact after losing 2 games in Munster we were fortunate to have made it to the semi finals..

Guaranteed no-one took Kilkenny for granted, wouldn't be that stupid. We played poorly in the first half especially and couldn't score to save our lives.
That's what lost the game, not some "oh, it's only Kilkenny, we're grand" mindset.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 02/11/2020 09:28:34    2304241

Replying To Canuck:  "God help us or some auld saint. Underdogs for sure. Keep writing us off lads as was the case with Cork. The more that is done the better and hopefully it might get into some of the Limerick lads heads. Every little bit helps. If we can keep the beaten below 20 -points that will be a good days work."
Come off of it. Not going to work.
Anyone who knows anything about hurling recognises Waterford are a different side under Cahill.
You yourself said ye didn't have the scoring power to beat Cork.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 02/11/2020 09:33:32    2304244

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Think it may well be his last big match for a while..tipp 2nd goal ball picked straight off ground..hegarty and Ronan Maher very lucky not to see red..frees given which were very soft..other blatant frees not given,to bloody whistle happy..delighted with the win but think there is still more to come from limerick.."
Not only did McGrath clearly pick the ball up off the ground, he then went and threw it over his shoulder. Luckily for Limerick, the goal wasn't consequential, but bad refereeing.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 02/11/2020 09:48:58    2304251

Replying To skillet:  "They were also a young team playing a year after our first all Ireland win in 45 years.. There was a hangover there.
In fact after losing 2 games in Munster we were fortunate to have made it to the semi finals..

Guaranteed no-one took Kilkenny for granted, wouldn't be that stupid. We played poorly in the first half especially and couldn't score to save our lives.
That's what lost the game, not some "oh, it's only Kilkenny, we're grand" mindset."
They had no hangover all year until the semi-final. Every team has lessons to learn along the way. Kilkenny learned their lesson against Galway in 2001 semi-final. Limerick were blown away by Kilkenny's intensity if they learn you have to bring it to every game I think the only team that has a chance might be Galway.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 02/11/2020 11:47:43    2304329

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "Gillane and Hegarty better than Reid and Horgan for example?"
over the last six or 7 years no they're not better but read my post again i said "right now" they are the 2 form hurlers at the moment.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1099 - 02/11/2020 11:56:56    2304342