Monster Hurling Weekend (Your Predictions)

Replying To katser:  "Galway 1-27 Wexford 0-13
You weren't far out."
Same could be said about your predictions.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 01/11/2020 18:51:17    2304015

Replying To katser:  "I hope Galway get Tipp in the All Ireland Semi Final...they are so overrated P.Maher,N.Mcgrath,Bubbles all the wrong side of 30 (legs are gone) favourites my backside!!"
Try reading trump's post again slowly.
He/she said the winners of the Tipp vs. LIMERCK game
would be favourites. That turned out to be your 2nd favourite team - LIMERICK
I'm sure you will be delighted if results go to form and we end up with another Galway vs LIMERICK final.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 01/11/2020 18:57:34    2304017

Replying To katser:  "I hope Galway get Tipp in the All Ireland Semi Final...they are so overrated P.Maher,N.Mcgrath,Bubbles all the wrong side of 30 (legs are gone) favourites my backside!!"
How would you rate Limerick Katser? Would you rate them at all..

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 01/11/2020 18:57:57    2304018

Looks like a Galway v Waterford All Ireland Final!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 01/11/2020 19:04:27    2304025

Replying To bloodyban:  "How would you rate Limerick Katser? Would you rate them at all.."
If LIMERICK were playing Leitriim in hurling tomorrow she would tip Leitrim.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 01/11/2020 19:08:26    2304030

Replying To bloodyban:  "How would you rate Limerick Katser? Would you rate them at all.."
I will rate them for you. Best team around at the moment but they can be bet KK proved that last year and just a reminder in 2018 Galway were favourites to win final. So I would be a happy Galway supporter and a very worried Limerick supporter if we were both lucky enough to get to this year's All Ireland final.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 01/11/2020 19:15:32    2304033

Replying To Trump2020:  "Conor Whelan is a beast to be sure. Very dangerous all the time. As happy as I am with Galway I must say I'm very disappointed in Wexford as a HURLING fan/fanatic. I really felt like Wexford could have/should have beaten Tipp last year and went on to win it all. They really seemed to be that close. Very disappointing performance. I truly don't know how good Galway are after that match. Fair play to Dublin they'll be a nightmare matchup for someone. And nobody including me picked Waterford. Delighted for them."
fair play Trump2020 and the galway posters,that was 1 hell of a hiding you gave us.
i dont know where we are at but we were way off the pace last night.normally the 1st game could be rusty and it is about hitting the ground but we were so poor i dont know what to say.it was galways 1st game too.
we missed the best chance we had to win an all ireland since 2001 last year and i suspect it might have destroyed some of our players in the process.
we looked completely lost and had no answer.for all the good work of davy in driving these lads to a new level,he still has a core of 15-18 players and nothing else or new has come through and that is a worry.
after the weekend,the only team i can see even running limerick close this year is galway.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 01/11/2020 20:24:59    2304084

At this stage I'd predict a Limerick-Galway final but there's lots to play for still. For the record, neither Noel McGath nor Bubbles are "the wrong side of 30" (They're both 29). Padraic Maher was poor today but he was also written off after last year's Munster final while Noel McGrath was substituted in that game. Yet a few months later they both had All-Ireland medals and All-Stars. Time may not be on their side this year, however, in view of the condensed nature of the championship. Bubbles is only just back from injury having played little hurling this year and again he has little time to get things right. Overall, I suspect Tipp followers might be more concerned about the form of some of their younger, less experienced players today. The fact that Bonner Maher wasn't involved at all today should also be a concern. If he is injured again his workrate and selfless contribution would be sorely missed.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 545 - 01/11/2020 20:28:47    2304091

Replying To midlands:  "At this stage I'd predict a Limerick-Galway final but there's lots to play for still. For the record, neither Noel McGath nor Bubbles are "the wrong side of 30" (They're both 29). Padraic Maher was poor today but he was also written off after last year's Munster final while Noel McGrath was substituted in that game. Yet a few months later they both had All-Ireland medals and All-Stars. Time may not be on their side this year, however, in view of the condensed nature of the championship. Bubbles is only just back from injury having played little hurling this year and again he has little time to get things right. Overall, I suspect Tipp followers might be more concerned about the form of some of their younger, less experienced players today. The fact that Bonner Maher wasn't involved at all today should also be a concern. If he is injured again his workrate and selfless contribution would be sorely missed."
Last year Tipp got lucky.....Laois in the Quarter Final was always a winner. The Semi Final v Wexford....Wexford blew it.
Then the Final v KK was their best performance in a one off Game.
This current Tipp team don't look fit or sharp in comparison to the Galway team who really look so Physically strong and in great shape.
Even some of the subs who came on for Galway are built like rugby players...pure brute power, strength and stamina are going to be key for Winter hurling.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 01/11/2020 21:09:27    2304124

Replying To midlands:  "At this stage I'd predict a Limerick-Galway final but there's lots to play for still. For the record, neither Noel McGath nor Bubbles are "the wrong side of 30" (They're both 29). Padraic Maher was poor today but he was also written off after last year's Munster final while Noel McGrath was substituted in that game. Yet a few months later they both had All-Ireland medals and All-Stars. Time may not be on their side this year, however, in view of the condensed nature of the championship. Bubbles is only just back from injury having played little hurling this year and again he has little time to get things right. Overall, I suspect Tipp followers might be more concerned about the form of some of their younger, less experienced players today. The fact that Bonner Maher wasn't involved at all today should also be a concern. If he is injured again his workrate and selfless contribution would be sorely missed."
Are you that confident that Galway will beat Kilkenny?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2126 - 01/11/2020 21:25:04    2304131

Replying To heartbroken:  "I will rate them for you. Best team around at the moment but they can be bet KK proved that last year and just a reminder in 2018 Galway were favourites to win final. So I would be a happy Galway supporter and a very worried Limerick supporter if we were both lucky enough to get to this year's All Ireland final."
Don't think anyone in Limerick would be very worried about meeting Galway.

Lots of respect but no fear....if Galway are to beat us in an Ireland final they'll deserve it because they'll earn it.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1064 - 01/11/2020 21:30:13    2304136

They are going to come up against a Physically strong defence that won't let their forwards have the freedom to pop balls over the bar with ease.... The Tipp and Clare defending was terrible!
Conceding 3-40 in two games for LK doesn't say much for their backs.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 01/11/2020 21:37:49    2304143

Replying To Trump2020:  "Are you that confident that Galway will beat Kilkenny?"
I'd never write off Kilkenny but I believe that Galway have a better team at the moment. If they get Daithi Burke fit and well they would be the team most likely to put it up to Limerick.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 545 - 01/11/2020 23:13:25    2304190

If we learned anything from the last no of years
Its that a lot can change in a few weeks
The teams you think are the ones to win it slip up
And the teams we rule out come back to bite
The likes of Tipp have come back this way before
While Galway and Limerick look the likely winners
Both those Teams know Killkenny have done them before
And you just know Brian Cody will be planning an ambush

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 02/11/2020 08:49:42    2304231

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "It's easy for you to crow after the event, considering you didn't bother to make any predictions yourself."
You make a fair point about the predictions. I didn't offer any predictions, as a bit like the RTE producer, I don't follow the other counties very closely. From my occasional posts, I think you'll find that crowing wouldn't be my normal tendency. Looking forward to another hop of ye in two weeks time. Thanks

Spudsareboilin (Galway) - Posts: 46 - 02/11/2020 09:45:24    2304248

Replying To midlands:  "I'd never write off Kilkenny but I believe that Galway have a better team at the moment. If they get Daithi Burke fit and well they would be the team most likely to put it up to Limerick."
Should be a great match. Galway probably have a lot more scoring options than KK but anything can happen.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2126 - 02/11/2020 13:03:36    2304386

Replying To rhudson:  "If we learned anything from the last no of years
Its that a lot can change in a few weeks
The teams you think are the ones to win it slip up
And the teams we rule out come back to bite
The likes of Tipp have come back this way before
While Galway and Limerick look the likely winners
Both those Teams know Killkenny have done them before
And you just know Brian Cody will be planning an ambush"
Spot on. The game yesterday will focus the KK minds and see a few changes also. They didn't become a terrible team in 35 mins. I'd say it'll be a 50/50 game. On paper KK are still a very good side. Its a decent KK forward line in my opinion but a huge lack of experience in the full back line and potentially not at KK standard. I still think Eoin Murphy is probably the best ever in goals but maybe not quite to the level he was a 2/3 years ago. I think you'll see a big reshuffle from positions 2-9 with a number of positional changes also.
Galway on the other hand look top class with even some room for further improvement. Easily second favs for All Ireland but as you said, anything can happen. Limerick lost a couple of games in Munster last year but in everyone's eyes they were going to walk the All Ireland but came unstuck (after winning 3 and losing 3 games in the cship).
That's the great thing about the present time, almost anyone can beat anyone despite what some people think.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/11/2020 23:43:29    2304659

I keep hearing how Cody is gonna shake things up and drop some players but never hear who he should drop or call up.

You would swear KK have a bunch of next Henry Shefflins sitting on the bench to be rotated in

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 03/11/2020 09:57:09    2304691

Replying To tiobraid:  "Spot on. The game yesterday will focus the KK minds and see a few changes also. They didn't become a terrible team in 35 mins. I'd say it'll be a 50/50 game. On paper KK are still a very good side. Its a decent KK forward line in my opinion but a huge lack of experience in the full back line and potentially not at KK standard. I still think Eoin Murphy is probably the best ever in goals but maybe not quite to the level he was a 2/3 years ago. I think you'll see a big reshuffle from positions 2-9 with a number of positional changes also.
Galway on the other hand look top class with even some room for further improvement. Easily second favs for All Ireland but as you said, anything can happen. Limerick lost a couple of games in Munster last year but in everyone's eyes they were going to walk the All Ireland but came unstuck (after winning 3 and losing 3 games in the cship).
That's the great thing about the present time, almost anyone can beat anyone despite what some people think."
I would just. to say this much about two of last year's Limerick defeats, those in Munster. Cork have beaten Tipp (2010) Clare (13), Waterford (17) and Limerick (14) and last year and eack time fell in their butt after. This has been a pattern of theirs for most of the past ten years. As regards the Thurles if you rest Lunch, Hegarty, Hannon and Mulcahy going to Thurled, where are you going. I disagreed with Kielys approach there.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 03/11/2020 10:33:16    2304707

Replying To Breezy:  "I keep hearing how Cody is gonna shake things up and drop some players but never hear who he should drop or call up.

You would swear KK have a bunch of next Henry Shefflins sitting on the bench to be rotated in"
T J Reid is the main man for Kilkenny.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 03/11/2020 10:39:46    2304712