Donegal Vs Tyrone

Replying To kevin03:  "How is it secondary to the fact. Mcquillan gave him a yellow as he saw some sort of foul being committed, the only foul was the strike which is a straight red. No ifs or buts. Either we follow the rules or there is no point in playing.

The slap wasn't during play or when 2 players were going for the ball. It was off the ball. The rule could not be any clearer

"5.16 To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with arm, elbow, hand or knee".

Even if he completely missed its still a red or an attempt.

The tyrone player made a complete meal of it which is wrong but it is still a red any day. There was no force when brennan grabbed the refs arm but as per the rules he was banned for 12 weeks. You can't pick and choose when to apply them.

If it happens to a Donegal player later in the championship I wonder if use would be as quick to down play the incident"
In the league game you are referring to, that time Rory Brennan grabbed the refs arm and got sent off and banned for interfering with an official,
in that incident Michael Murphy was attacking and was dragged to the ground by Rory Brennan, while Michael is on the ground after being fouled and holding the ball Rory Brennan slaps Michael Murphy on the head, Michael never reacted, now if that was the likes of McKernan or Tiernan McCann the ambulance would probably had to be called for them, that's the problem with some Tyrone players and it's not a new thing either.
What Paul Brennan did was stupid, no different than what Rory Brennan done to Michael Murphy in the league game incident, the difference is the men involved,
if McKernan had reacted like a man (eg Michael Murphy) with a bit of pride in himself and the county jersey he's wearing he would have got on with it and not be rolling around like a wee girl on the ground.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 02/11/2020 18:23:33    2304549

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "So what you're saying is that Murphy didn't go down because it was near the end, but McKernan went down to get a man sent off because the match was in the mix? Instead of giving out about Murphy, maybe you should be praising him for not going down like a sack of spuds the way McKernan did."
That's exactly what I am saying. People seem to be missing the point that if an opposition player is that stupid to slap someone in front on the linesman then they deserve to be sent off. Any Donegal player would have went down if they thought it would get a player sent off. If a tyrone player was silly enough to put himself in that position I would have no issue with Donegal player going down.

It's no different when a forward holds onto a defenders arm and goes down to get the easy free. Technically that's cheating but it happens numerous times in every single game.

People need to take the blinkers off and be honest. There is no harm in admitting when a player bought a free or got away with a sending off.

The only issue I have is when tierarn McCann went down like a sack of spuds from getting his hair ruffled. There was no physical slap so he was completely wrong to go down.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 02/11/2020 18:24:31    2304550

Replying To panamasam:  "Absolutely spot on. Rewarding a lad doing a Jack Grealish would make me consider why bother watching. Imagine what the hurling people must think? By the letter of law then alot of tackles and incidents where a man wins a high ball but often gets slapped over the head or back with actual force should be 'strikes' too."
Not sure what you have been watching- There was no ball around when the guy gave the slap. You'd have a pretty funny game if everyone was allowed to gives his opposite number a slap. Brennan was stupid and was lucky that he finished the match on the pitch and the guy lying down pretending to be hurt should have been taken off by management. Thought the pitch was exceptionally poor and should not have been used for such a important match -was there not a better pitch in the county, thought Letterkenny had a good pitch.

One of the difference between the two teams was Tyrone had wing half backs who were unable to mark their opposite numbers and surprised that Tyrone have no better player than McCann for half back. There were mistakes on the field of play by both sides and I do not think that the Ref decided the result. Very good match considering the weather and the state of the pitch.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 02/11/2020 18:36:06    2304555

Replying To kevin03:  "Oh give me a break. It happened to murphy in the last 2 mins off the game. What's the point in going down then as the game was over at that stage.

One trait I have noticed over the years is that when any free is given either for or against Donegal, murphy is standing right beside the ref shouting at him. Every single time. Mcquillan didn't move too many tyrone frees forward when murphy was constantly shouting."
Fair play to Michael Murphy. I knew he covered every blade of grass yesterday, and quite a bit of muck too, but I didn't realise he covered the ground you saw. To be constantly standing beside the ref every time the whistle is blown is a superhuman effort especially when you consider that he then has to move at record breaking speed to get on the end of many of those frees. You clearly have mastered lipreading when you know that Murphy was guilty of dissent when a free was awarded against Donegal.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 02/11/2020 18:44:09    2304561

Replying To kevin03:  "Oh give me a break. It happened to murphy in the last 2 mins off the game. What's the point in going down then as the game was over at that stage.

One trait I have noticed over the years is that when any free is given either for or against Donegal, murphy is standing right beside the ref shouting at him. Every single time. Mcquillan didn't move too many tyrone frees forward when murphy was constantly shouting."
Jeez is he shouting after every free? The poor fella's vocal chords must be in pieces.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/11/2020 18:46:49    2304564

Tyrone and Donegal posters on with negative jibes at each other, grow up. Tyrone were beat, end off. Things happen in games and on another day it could have been red, thankfully not this time, especially after the way Mc Keenan reacted. Match could have went either way so no point in complaining about home advantage and frees moved in. Ref was on the field to see and hear stuff, we weren't. As for Tyrone, we need our so called big stars to stand up on days like yesterday not hide away passing the buck.Some of them lasted 70 minutes , don't know how. Good luck Donegal or whoever comes out of Ulster.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 02/11/2020 19:16:35    2304581

Replying To Saynothing:  "Tyrone and Donegal posters on with negative jibes at each other, grow up. Tyrone were beat, end off. Things happen in games and on another day it could have been red, thankfully not this time, especially after the way Mc Keenan reacted. Match could have went either way so no point in complaining about home advantage and frees moved in. Ref was on the field to see and hear stuff, we weren't. As for Tyrone, we need our so called big stars to stand up on days like yesterday not hide away passing the buck.Some of them lasted 70 minutes , don't know how. Good luck Donegal or whoever comes out of Ulster."
Reads like they bottled it when the pressure was on

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 02/11/2020 20:08:52    2304596

Replying To kevin03:  "That's exactly what I am saying. People seem to be missing the point that if an opposition player is that stupid to slap someone in front on the linesman then they deserve to be sent off. Any Donegal player would have went down if they thought it would get a player sent off. If a tyrone player was silly enough to put himself in that position I would have no issue with Donegal player going down.

It's no different when a forward holds onto a defenders arm and goes down to get the easy free. Technically that's cheating but it happens numerous times in every single game.

People need to take the blinkers off and be honest. There is no harm in admitting when a player bought a free or got away with a sending off.

The only issue I have is when tierarn McCann went down like a sack of spuds from getting his hair ruffled. There was no physical slap so he was completely wrong to go down."
Can't agree Kevin, no self respecting Donegal man would ever go down like.
The slagging he would get from his friends would be never ending, his mother would be in tears at the shame brought on the family & no young lassie with any self respect would look at him.
Things are obviously different in Tyrone but that's how we rock n roll in Donegal.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/11/2020 20:10:58    2304597

Replying To Saynothing:  "Tyrone and Donegal posters on with negative jibes at each other, grow up. Tyrone were beat, end off. Things happen in games and on another day it could have been red, thankfully not this time, especially after the way Mc Keenan reacted. Match could have went either way so no point in complaining about home advantage and frees moved in. Ref was on the field to see and hear stuff, we weren't. As for Tyrone, we need our so called big stars to stand up on days like yesterday not hide away passing the buck.Some of them lasted 70 minutes , don't know how. Good luck Donegal or whoever comes out of Ulster."
Careful now, you're acting like a reasonable adult. There's no place for that here.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/11/2020 20:11:24    2304598

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Reads like they bottled it when the pressure was on"
Big time

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 02/11/2020 20:43:32    2304608

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Can't agree Kevin, no self respecting Donegal man would ever go down like.
The slagging he would get from his friends would be never ending, his mother would be in tears at the shame brought on the family & no young lassie with any self respect would look at him.
Things are obviously different in Tyrone but that's how we rock n roll in Donegal."
Good on ye Muck. No way would a big strapping Donegal lad ever go down that easily. He'd never live it down.

https://youtu.be/o8kzJ0yLcWs

As for Tyrone, the hardiest men of them all. Built like iron so they are.

https://youtu.be/ao3WGXLIX3M

Joking aside, really enjoyable game yesterday given the conditions. Best of luck in the semi.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/11/2020 20:59:07    2304612

Replying To Joxer:  "Good on ye Muck. No way would a big strapping Donegal lad ever go down that easily. He'd never live it down.

https://youtu.be/o8kzJ0yLcWs

As for Tyrone, the hardiest men of them all. Built like iron so they are.

https://youtu.be/ao3WGXLIX3M

Joking aside, really enjoyable game yesterday given the conditions. Best of luck in the semi."
Lol very good post.

Every team has players that will do this. I have no idea why some fans seem to think their team is whiter than white.

Anyway I am sure there will be many more incidents over the championship. Donegal got the calls in their favour this time but that's the way it goes.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 02/11/2020 21:18:42    2304618

Replying To themaddog:  "Fair play to Michael Murphy. I knew he covered every blade of grass yesterday, and quite a bit of muck too, but I didn't realise he covered the ground you saw. To be constantly standing beside the ref every time the whistle is blown is a superhuman effort especially when you consider that he then has to move at record breaking speed to get on the end of many of those frees. You clearly have mastered lipreading when you know that Murphy was guilty of dissent when a free was awarded against Donegal."
Tell you what. Watch the match again and tell me how many times murphy is beside the ref when any free is given. Come back to me with a number.

Generally the player besides the free taker gets the ball. In murphys case it was cause he was stuck beside the ref, see its easy to explain.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 02/11/2020 21:25:55    2304621

We live in an age of "whataboutery" unfortunately. No team in the country is without sin when it comes to unsavoury aspects of the game like sledging, off the ball antics, "winning" frees, exaggerating hits etc.

Mickey's comments need to be taken into context. No doubt Tyrone put a huge amount of time and effort into Sunday's fixture so any post match comments were bound to be a bit raw,

It's done now. Brennan was an idiot for doing what he did and McKernan equally so.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 02/11/2020 21:36:11    2304625

Replying To Soma:  "Michael Murphy was lying on the ground holding his head and pretending to be injured when the final whistle went in the 2012 All-Ireland so I'm not sure about that comment. But you are right about yesterday. For it to be considered a strike there has to be force, clearly the linesman told the referee there was no force in the tap from Brennan and that instead it was simply rough play which is a yellow card. The only mistake the referee made is not giving Mckernan a yellow card as well for feigning injury."
Soma, so you reckon Michael murphy was lying feigning Injury OJ the ground after the AI final, whilst he was lying there he must have punched himself on the nose too for the crack, as after the final whistle goes there is blood streaming out of his nose, if you don't believe me check it on YouTube, so maybe get your facts right before you head off on one.

beenthere (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 02/11/2020 22:36:42    2304640

I imagine one of Tyrone's more famous divers is about to be taken to the cleaners by =====. Tyrone GAA's race to the bottom continues apace.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 02/11/2020 22:39:00    2304641

Replying To browncows:  "Not sure what you have been watching- There was no ball around when the guy gave the slap. You'd have a pretty funny game if everyone was allowed to gives his opposite number a slap. Brennan was stupid and was lucky that he finished the match on the pitch and the guy lying down pretending to be hurt should have been taken off by management. Thought the pitch was exceptionally poor and should not have been used for such a important match -was there not a better pitch in the county, thought Letterkenny had a good pitch.

One of the difference between the two teams was Tyrone had wing half backs who were unable to mark their opposite numbers and surprised that Tyrone have no better player than McCann for half back. There were mistakes on the field of play by both sides and I do not think that the Ref decided the result. Very good match considering the weather and the state of the pitch."
Even describing as a slap is pushing it. It is quite simple if the Tyrone man doesn't go down in such dramatic fashion faking injury we are not even talking about it. The lads on the GAA hour called it right that it is an embarrassment that we are even talking about this all because of that reaction. The likes of twitter have given far too many pussycats an opinion translated to what I am reading on here. It was an embarrassing act and if I was his teammate I would be telling him as much.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 02/11/2020 22:42:42    2304642

Replying To Soma:  "Michael Murphy was lying on the ground holding his head and pretending to be injured when the final whistle went in the 2012 All-Ireland so I'm not sure about that comment. But you are right about yesterday. For it to be considered a strike there has to be force, clearly the linesman told the referee there was no force in the tap from Brennan and that instead it was simply rough play which is a yellow card. The only mistake the referee made is not giving Mckernan a yellow card as well for feigning injury."
https://youtu.be/ko4K2h861yM

The reason he is lying on the ground holding his head is the cowardly punch from ;;;;;who makes no attempt to connect with the ball (20 seconds in in case you missed it).

No comparison but obviously the 2012 final is still a hard pill to swallow

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 02/11/2020 22:44:21    2304643

Hard to beat an ole derby for the cracks

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 02/11/2020 23:33:40    2304657

Replying To Lockjaw:  "We live in an age of "whataboutery" unfortunately. No team in the country is without sin when it comes to unsavoury aspects of the game like sledging, off the ball antics, "winning" frees, exaggerating hits etc.

Mickey's comments need to be taken into context. No doubt Tyrone put a huge amount of time and effort into Sunday's fixture so any post match comments were bound to be a bit raw,

It's done now. Brennan was an idiot for doing what he did and McKernan equally so."
That's not true. Diving is an Ulster issue (along with numerous other unsavory elements) although likes of Cavan and Donegal I would say are generally more sporting in their approach.

I've never seen a Meath or Kildare player feign injury for example and very rarely will you see a Kerry or Dublin player dive and feign injury in such a fashion.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 03/11/2020 09:43:59    2304686