Donegal Vs Tyrone

Replying To essmac:  "McQ lived down to his usual standards. There is no rule in Gaelic that its yellow for a slap and red for a punch. Both are red. Obviously, I didn't want to see the lad sent off for a slap, but the ref's ability to make up a brand new rule on the spot showed his bias. Thats the real significance of that minor incident - it revealed the red's bias.

He also gave you 2 soft frees when your lads just threw themselves at the ground. As I said, "well won" , and we'd do the exact same if we figured the ref would buy it, but McQ was buying nothing from us today. He also moved 2 in for little to no reason. And, when Tyrone had won an important line ball after your lad had sliced it over the line, he gave you a free for precisely nothing. The boys in the BBC studio were mystified. There was also a good claim for a penalty also when your lad touched the ball on the ground clearing the line. In a tight game, the ref always has an impact. Sure, when you get out of Ulster, I'll be of course shouting for Donegal; sure some of my best memories are of Summers in Kilcar, and big Murphy is a gent. You'll beat anything left in Ulster handy enough, but the funny thing is, though you beat us today, we'd be more competitive outside Ulster than you. Ultimately though, we'd need to pool our resources to win it."
It wasn't a red and just about a yellow. It was a clip around the ear nothing more and pales in comparison to alot of went on. Thankfully the red applied some common sense unlike some of the drama queen responses on here. I doubt either free was brought in for no reason the same as the Tyrone free in the first half. The lads on the BBC should be ashamed of themselves for their analysis especially when you consider the teams they played for. Not calling out the Tyrone man for his pathetic behaviour was poor to say the least. That kinda hand bag behaviour wouldn't have been tolerated much in either one of the great Armagh or Tyrone teams they were involved in. At least the lads on RTE saved face for the game by calling out the Tyrone man for his pathetic behaviour. Highlighting the non pen incident showed more bias. McMenamin was falling to the ground after competing fairly for the ball with McKenna. In those conditions hard for him to avoid contact with the ball but in no way did he move arm to the ball in which case it was a pen. I would agree with you in having reservations about Donegal outside of Ulster. However last year we probably should have beaten Kerry in the super eights who pushed the Dubs all the way so not that far away. Few can argue that the forward power and options is there if they can get it right on the day.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 01/11/2020 21:04:22    2304117

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Yes, being on course for 3 Ulster titles in a row is a disaster... after the wonderful Rory Gallagher years."
Also wasted talent, winning ulster not the big crown it was in my opinion.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 01/11/2020 21:06:35    2304119

Replying To essmac:  "McQ lived down to his usual standards. There is no rule in Gaelic that its yellow for a slap and red for a punch. Both are red. Obviously, I didn't want to see the lad sent off for a slap, but the ref's ability to make up a brand new rule on the spot showed his bias. Thats the real significance of that minor incident - it revealed the red's bias.

He also gave you 2 soft frees when your lads just threw themselves at the ground. As I said, "well won" , and we'd do the exact same if we figured the ref would buy it, but McQ was buying nothing from us today. He also moved 2 in for little to no reason. And, when Tyrone had won an important line ball after your lad had sliced it over the line, he gave you a free for precisely nothing. The boys in the BBC studio were mystified. There was also a good claim for a penalty also when your lad touched the ball on the ground clearing the line. In a tight game, the ref always has an impact. Sure, when you get out of Ulster, I'll be of course shouting for Donegal; sure some of my best memories are of Summers in Kilcar, and big Murphy is a gent. You'll beat anything left in Ulster handy enough, but the funny thing is, though you beat us today, we'd be more competitive outside Ulster than you. Ultimately though, we'd need to pool our resources to win it."
Moved the ball in for slabbering and rightly so. God sake waken up and admit you have to be disciplined. As for soft frees ,not easy called on a day like today. Tyrone were beat , simple as.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 01/11/2020 21:07:39    2304122

I agree with you about the red. When I seen the replay I was shouting at the tv calling Brennan all sorts of stupid. I think what saved him was that the ref didn't actually see it and took info from the linesman. Don't actually know what he got a yellow for. If it was for raising the hand then it's a red and we got lucky with that.
Not sure where you're coming from with the two frees moved forward. There was a pull on the Jersey on Eoin Mc Hugh looking for it short for the first one and back chat for the second. The ref also give a Tyrone free closer in for Paddy Mc Grath holding a Tyrone player when looking for the short so the ref was consistent. In the league game Tyrone got the soft penalty. Only when a team loses that their fans feel hard done by. I'm no different.
Was really disappointed with Mickey Hartes interview on Highland after the game. Very ungracious in defeat. I've great respect for him as a manager bit thought he could have handled the post match interview better. Maybe the fact it was radio he felt he could be more honest but it smacked of sour grapes.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 01/11/2020 21:23:14    2304130

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Some fair points there, but assuming the ref has a bias.. That's an unsubstantiated claim. Is there something you know about to back that up, does he ref A versus B games for Donegal at training?!

Not taking account of the fact we dominated possession and a fluke of a goal kept you in it.

Tyrone would do better outside of Ulster; not so sure on that either. Had a handier super 8 group last year than we did, didn't make the final. No Sam since 2008. I think Harte needs to step aside. It feels like the Wenger years at Arsenal but even he stepped aside in the end.

I feel our young lads are ready to step up now but it's one game at a time."
You only have to look at previous Mcquillan games with tyrone to know there is a history there. Tyrone ran Donegal a whole lot closer than I thought. Not sure if that means Tyrone are better than I thought or if Donegal is not as good as I thought.

Wouldn't say it was a only a fluke goal as if you take out a few soft frees for Donegal it was neck and neck. Also the 2 major decisions went against Tyrone.

Anyway Donegal should win ulster handy enough but they havent made it to the semis of an AI in over 5 years. Ulster is easier as Tyrone have been poor for the last 5 years (they were lucky with the draw to reach the Ai semis and final the past few years).

If Donegal do progress this year I will be cheering for them.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 01/11/2020 21:29:51    2304135

2 best teams in Ulster by some distance. The Anglo Celt cup is now Donegals. Who do the play in the All-Ireland Semi ? is it Dublin, Kerry or Mayo ?. Should be a cracker.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 01/11/2020 21:50:46    2304147

Replying To kevin03:  "You only have to look at previous Mcquillan games with tyrone to know there is a history there. Tyrone ran Donegal a whole lot closer than I thought. Not sure if that means Tyrone are better than I thought or if Donegal is not as good as I thought.

Wouldn't say it was a only a fluke goal as if you take out a few soft frees for Donegal it was neck and neck. Also the 2 major decisions went against Tyrone.

Anyway Donegal should win ulster handy enough but they havent made it to the semis of an AI in over 5 years. Ulster is easier as Tyrone have been poor for the last 5 years (they were lucky with the draw to reach the Ai semis and final the past few years).

If Donegal do progress this year I will be cheering for them."
The Donegal v Tyrone rivalry is good for both counties. Just need one of them to break the ceiling. Plenty of young talent in both counties.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 01/11/2020 21:59:34    2304154

Replying To s goldrick:  "2 best teams in Ulster by some distance. The Anglo Celt cup is now Donegals. Who do the play in the All-Ireland Semi ? is it Dublin, Kerry or Mayo ?. Should be a cracker."
Since 2013 when Monaghan caught us on the hop in the Ulster Final Donegal have taken nobody for granted. It will be a tough battle in the semi v Armagh who are flying after getting promotion to Div 1. Keeping the two O Neill's quiet will be the key.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 01/11/2020 22:02:57    2304156

In the conditions it was a great performance from both teams, very entertaining but nerve wrecking too,
could have gone either way, we just coped better and won the breaks and deserved the win I thought. we took our chances better and that's what counts in the finish up. McFadden and Murphy did a lot of good work, Michael is as steady as a rock, some great scores and hopefully we'll get better conditions for the Armagh game,
people are thinking we'll win Ulster now but there are no easy games in Ulster, as soon as you think you are somebody there's a team waiting to take you back down to earth so keep the heads and focus and we may get our 3 in a row and another crack at the mighty Dubs, I think we'd give Dublin a good rattle anyway but I still think Sams heading to the southwest this Christmas regardless.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 01/11/2020 22:04:41    2304157

Replying To s goldrick:  "2 best teams in Ulster by some distance. The Anglo Celt cup is now Donegals. Who do the play in the All-Ireland Semi ? is it Dublin, Kerry or Mayo ?. Should be a cracker."
Behave. A lot of football to be played yet.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 01/11/2020 22:12:05    2304162

Haha nicely played. We will be ready for yous IF Cavan and Donegal make an Ulster final.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 01/11/2020 22:16:02    2304164

Replying To kevin03:  "You only have to look at previous Mcquillan games with tyrone to know there is a history there. Tyrone ran Donegal a whole lot closer than I thought. Not sure if that means Tyrone are better than I thought or if Donegal is not as good as I thought.

If Donegal do progress this year I will be cheering for them."
Donegal/Tyrone games are always tight this last decade in fairness. Both teams are top 5 more or less in that period and still are I would think.

I actually think without Harte, a new management team and also McShane joining Canavan and McKenna, you could have bright years ahead.

I agree that we haven't made the progress we want in the All Ireland series under Bonner but I believe the absence of the pointless Super 8 format will assist us. There's never a cheap Ulster title, it's just our time now again and that will change in time. I believe this group is more talented than the 2012 group but time will tell.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 01/11/2020 22:22:06    2304168

Donegal may get to the AI final. Best wishes to them. It was a great contest today in desperate conditions on a terrible pitch. Health and safety out the window. Fair play to.both teams for the entertainment they gave us on a terrible day on a desperate bad pitch. Donegal just about deserved it. Tyrone showed great heart giving that they were missing their good defenderDonnelly an all star full forward mc Shane. When those and Mc Nulty and others return I have no hesitation in saying that with Mc kenna and Cannavan they certainly have an AI in them. Though being honest I think they'll need Tony Donnelly on the sideline along with another new.voice to achieve that . Sorry Mickie you wee brilliant but its time to.walk away.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 01/11/2020 22:47:27    2304176

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "I agree with you about the red. When I seen the replay I was shouting at the tv calling Brennan all sorts of stupid. I think what saved him was that the ref didn't actually see it and took info from the linesman. Don't actually know what he got a yellow for. If it was for raising the hand then it's a red and we got lucky with that.
Not sure where you're coming from with the two frees moved forward. There was a pull on the Jersey on Eoin Mc Hugh looking for it short for the first one and back chat for the second. The ref also give a Tyrone free closer in for Paddy Mc Grath holding a Tyrone player when looking for the short so the ref was consistent. In the league game Tyrone got the soft penalty. Only when a team loses that their fans feel hard done by. I'm no different.
Was really disappointed with Mickey Hartes interview on Highland after the game. Very ungracious in defeat. I've great respect for him as a manager bit thought he could have handled the post match interview better. Maybe the fact it was radio he felt he could be more honest but it smacked of sour grapes."
Mickey harte has only ever heard or seen what suits him. Tyrone players being manhandled in the first half he said .what a joke.
Paul brennan was lucky when he slapped with no power or force the Tyrone fella in the head not to get a red card as the rules say he should. But that shows the difference in class between the 2 teams. Murphy got the same from a Tyrone lad and just brushed it off, did not go down as if he got concussion.
Anyway armagh next hopefully donegal can win ulster and more this year.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 01/11/2020 23:40:00    2304198

The winner of Leinster yeah.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 02/11/2020 00:06:53    2304202

Unlucky Tyrone. Fans gracious in defeat. Like M. Harte but his interview after the game was poor form. Didn't congratulate Donegal once instead moaned about how "we were up against it" and it should have been an open draw.

If Tyrone get Mc Shane back they won't be far away. Although we were missing Mc Brearty today so both teams were level in terms of personnel. Even Hampsey came on and Mc Gee went off for us.

Despite my above tongue in cheek answer to the cavan poster, I'm sure the team won't be taking anyone for granted. That Armagh team is so talented. Haven't looked at the odds but id guess it's a 50/50 game or we could be a point or 2 favourite.

Winter football is hard to know. A lot on the day.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 02/11/2020 00:12:46    2304204

Listened to Micky Hartes interview on Highland as another poster mentioned it. His 2 main complaints were, 1. That it wasn't fair that Donegal had home advantage. Its been like that in Ulster for God knows how long Micky and with no supporters at the game any advantage was reduced significantly. 2. Conor McKenna was manhandled. Nearly choked on my cornflakes over this one. I'm sure Michael Murphy would see the irony in it too considering how Micky has sent his men out to deal with him over the years.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 02/11/2020 08:23:38    2304223

Credit to both Tyrone and Donegal for serving up a great game in testing conditions yesterday.

A couple of things on the game yesterday, firstly the brennan/mckiernan incident, brennan deserved a yellow for stupidity alone and I accept some refs may have interpreted it as a red, mckiernan's reaction was ridiculous and what he needed treatment for I really don't know.

Secondly, Mickey Harte was complaining about mcgee and mcmemnamin man handling his players, the camera didn't capture it and it is the sort of thing you need to be at a game to see, if that was the case it is totally unacceptable and with linesmen/umpires all miked up now it should be called out. The only problem I have with Mickey's comments is he forgets he sent out joe Mcmahon to do exactly the same thing to Michael murphy in 2015 in a first round game in ballybofey or the both McMahons on Donaghy /Walsh in the A/L final 2008. The words pot and kettle come to mind..............

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 02/11/2020 08:26:11    2304224

Replying To lilylanger:  "Really enjoyed that and huge credit to both teams in that weather. Michael Murphy didnt do a whole lot and with McGee going off I thought Donegal would struggle but was hugely impressed with Thompson and Gallen. There was a strike to the face to the Tyrone lad and yes he milked it but a strike is a strike and I daresay if it had been Michael Murphy that got a strike to the face there would be a different narrative by RTE & on social media. Tyrones indiscipline cost them. That's something they haven't been able to rid themselves of over the years and that's a management issue imo. Lastly, what about that 80 yard goalkick for the Donegal goal!!!"
when does a tap on the back of the head become a strike to the face! Murphy got a tap on the back of the head but didn't fall to the ground like he'd been pinpointed by a sniper!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 02/11/2020 08:35:01    2304225

Replying To essmac: There is no rule in Gaelic that its yellow for a slap and red for a punch. Both are red. Obviously, I didn't want to see the lad sent off for a slap, but the ref's ability to make up a brand new rule on the spot showed his bias. Thats the real significance of that minor incident - it revealed the red's bias.

by that logic then McKiernan should have already been sent off for his pat/slap/hand moving action earlier that connected with Micheal Murphy's head???................Was one a red/yellow and the other not, or is there some sort of device in existence that can measure the exact force, the difference between the 2 incidents is that murphy didn't lie down

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 02/11/2020 08:43:02    2304227