Ulster counties should not think Tyrone's win makes their province look strong

fair play to tyrone ye are worthy all ireland winners, but why is the whole of ulster claiming this all ireland even the likes of louth[ worst team in leinster] at the end of the day the likes of kerry cork dublin mayo and galway would easily beat any team in ulster apart from this great tyrone team, wexford beat down and armagh , kildare beat fermanagh, apart from tyrone ,monaghan are the only other half decent team in ulster, get that chip off your shoulder ulster.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 23/09/2008 18:18:06    105894

Hurling or Football?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 23/09/2008 20:50:54    106001

Interseting to see meath muppet call Louth worst in Leinster. At least when we fell it was to the Leinster and All-Ireland champs!!

Did we we fall behind by 20 points to the mighty Limerick who were then knocked out by the mighty Kildare??? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Reality check bud. We know where we are. You guys are far gone and out. Wake up to yourself.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 23/09/2008 22:17:58    106077

good post milhouse, the facts are there, they just dont want to hear it though...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/09/2008 14:27:10    107725

The 3 most dangerous words in sport

Could, Would, Should.

I'm afraid all we can deal with are facts, everything else is only an opinion. But I do think that a lot of our Northern GAA followers have grown tired of the perceived 'attitude' in the South towards their styles of football, especially given the fact that Kerry's game was not the beautiful flowing game of yesteryear. So most of the lads in the North wanted Tyrone to defeat Kerry seeing as both gameplans were pretty similar.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6494 - 25/09/2008 14:48:54    107764

They've got big red hands covering their ears.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/09/2008 14:51:03    107768

League Champions - Derry (beat kerry)
Championship champions - Tyrone (beat kerry)

People remember who win trophies, in the history books Ulster will be the province of 08. No mention of dublin, galway, amyo or kerry being able to beat them.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 25/09/2008 15:09:55    107796

Well done,

I've said it before!.....Why do people in Louth WANT to be part of Ulster?

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/09/2008 15:09:58    107797

cos we're a proud province who stand together unlike th rest of ye squabbling begrudgers. you attack another team ye attack us all

Tir eoghain abu, Uladh abu

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 25/09/2008 15:10:31    107799

uladh abu! :D. i wudnt fear meath anyway.

glenn_abu (Down) - Posts: 515 - 25/09/2008 15:19:37    107815

Millhouse has a point except it's badly dressed up as an insult.I can't understand the cheerleading exercise that's going on myself.Tyrone won fair play to them they deserved it and especially Mickey Harte that won an all-Ireland with that team.You meet a Tyrone man out and they won't hesitate to remind you who won the all-Ireland and that's their right the've earned it.But to be honest I wouldn't be jumping up and down celebrating Tyrone winning after all it's Tyrone.To be fair it's a marginally better result than Kerry winning after all the rubbish that's spouted about them and yes it's all media driven.Fellas writing for the sake of putting words on paper and usually way way off the mark.Most of it came from Tyrone's previous wins when they had the audacity to beat Kerry before(that's not me supporting tyrone by the way).So I hope a bit of common sense previals in the reporting of matches and each team is treated evenly.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 25/09/2008 15:41:14    107841

Down beat Laios, and Offaly Tyrone beat Louth, Dublin and Wexford, the Ulster Leinster debate is over.

wolfe tone (None) - Posts: 121 - 25/09/2008 16:39:01    107915

main reason why other ulster counties are so glad tyrone won is simple. the vast majority of southerners were mad looking kerry to beat the nordies, so dont get all agro when it goes tits up and the nordies win. Its been going on most of the year, most of the southern posters on here (with the exception of about 5 or 6 of the more reasonable and mature posters) could not wait to see the end of the ulster teams, so it stands to reason that the ulster gaels get behind one an other.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 25/09/2008 17:19:13    107965

Because it is human nature to want to back WINNERS. Look at some of the anti-Ulster posters who slated Ulster football prior to the All-Ireland Final. They thought they were on a safe bet backing Kerry but we knew better. Put it down to superior intellect if you wish and also superior football. Jumping on the FAVOURITE does not always work. We attend matches in Ulster so we know how good our teams are. If our own county is out we still go to games and then support our provincial champions. Why cant people grasp this?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/09/2008 17:28:57    107984

What is this another Ulster V the rest tripe. Other people outside ulster did NOT all suport Kerry. I'm a Nordy but their is some tripe coming out of my fellow Nordies.

BeanSoupYUM (Tyrone) - Posts: 51 - 25/09/2008 17:34:43    107989

Millhouse thanks for the praise of the current Tyrone team but I would disagree with most of your point. Derry and Donegal have won the national league over the past two years - so they are strong teams nationally. Down beat Tyrone this year in what was a fantastic game of football. Down did not recreate that form when they met Wexford (taking nothing away from Wexford who had a fantastic year). Fermanagh have some of the best backs and midfield in the 32 counties but are short a consistent set of forwards. Monaghan as should be clear from their performances over the last 2 years against a great Kerry are also one of the better teams in the country. Armagh have dipped (but are Ulster Champions) but changes of personnel without a change in their system of play has not proved effective. Watch out for them next year though - I think we will see a new style of Armagh play. Cavan are a past giant of football and have the potential to be again. 10 years ago they were in an AI SF and with the change of management could put them on the road back.

As strange as it migh seem to folk outside Ulster - we do largely stick together. I'll be shouting all the way for the beautiful ladies of Monaghan on Sunday.

[oh and Louth drew with Tyrone in 2006 and came close enough in the replay, they are far from being the worst team in Leinster - just a bad season - surely Wicklow [beaten by Antrim(who also won the sevens tournament on the eve of AIF)] has that badge of honour?]

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 25/09/2008 17:50:47    107999

OK, let's get to the real question here. How did you fit so many characters into the title of this topic?

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 25/09/2008 17:58:38    108003

Millhouse

It's blatantly obvious that you don't understand the Ulster psyche nor are you familiar with regional geography. The Kingdom of Oriel, ruled over by the McMahons for centuries, stretched through counties Monaghan, Louth, Armagh and parts of Fermanagh and Tyrone. The imposed political boundary has no bearing in South Armagh/North Louth/Monaghan/Tyrone. The South Armagh hinterland is naturally interwoven with our Louth/Monaghan neighbours. North Louth is an extension of South Armagh. Similarily Monaghan is interwoven with Tyrone and Fermanagh. Parishes in South Armagh give no credence to the imposed political boundary and stretch into Louth and Monaghan.
We don't have monkeys on our backs nor an entrenched attitude. Rather we have an unwavering dedication to the preservation of our games instilled in us from birth because our games are an expression of our identity. To claim that we are suffering from the "monkey on the back" syndrome is nothing more than a pathetic, somewhat predictable, purile cacophany. Your simplistic remarks bear a striking similarity to an article penned ridiculing us for our vociferous rendition of amhran na bhfainn.
As an Ulsterman I salute Mickey Hart and Tyrone and wish the Tyrone minors well on Sunday.

Veritas (Armagh) - Posts: 51 - 25/09/2008 18:01:41    108004

Lads i love the fact that all of a sudden Ulster is untouchable! They have 1 good year and suddenly KaBoom they are the best thing since sliced bread lol i dont think so. What about all the other years. Kerry have 36 All Irelands Dublin have 22 All Irelands. Now lads if my calculations are correct ;) then i think there is a far way to go for the so called "mighty" Ulster to catch up!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 25/09/2008 18:40:36    108026

I've noticed that a lot of the people who post from Meath still think their county is in the upper echelons of Gaelic football. I also notice that they post as though the Gaelic Grounds massacre never happened. The night we beat Meath, a lot of Meath lads were in our bars & niteclubs and were almost in denial. When the score of the game and brief highlights were shown in one particular pub, the lads in their Meath shirts started shaking their heads, making 'sth' noises with their mouths to show disapproval and were unable to take any ribbing that came their way.

Meath lads, you were obliterated, pure & simple, by a so called weaker county. And in fairness to us you don't see too many people in our county gloating over the result. So why then the need to include yourselves among the arostocrats of Gaelic football (I saw one Meath poster rank Meath as the 7th best county in Ireland yesterday), or have a go at the Northern lads and the Louth lads for sharing in the joy of Tyrone lifting Sam? Louth came to Limerick in the football last year and won a qualifer by a point. Good luck to them.

Meath on the other hand are still suffering the loss of Boylan. For the last 3 years he was with Meath certain people among you wanted him out. Then Eamonn Barry got the job, but was almost paralysed with what he was allowed to do by your county board, and certain sections of your fans wanted him out, despite the man not getting a chance to build anything. Then you give Coyle the job, and after the Wexford and Limerick results you wanted him out despite an All-Ireland semi final appearance last season.

I think a bit of reality needs to come into all of this. For the record I'm no Meath basher, historically I've loved Meath's style, will to win and raw courage. I think Meath brought player professionalism to the GAA long before the Clare hurlers were running up and down hills at 7 in the morning. People like Coyle, O'Rourke, Hayes, Cassels, Stafford, O'Connell, Lyons and later Giles, Geraghty & Dowd demanded to go that extra mile and with a brilliant manager at the helm they got their just rewards. But the current Meath setup just ain't at that level. I know you got the draw with Dublin last year but I think they were a far superior team to you.

I think a contrast to this is that our hurling fans realise that we failed to build on last year and we were simply not good enough to beat Clare or Offaly. I don't think any true Limerick hurling follower sees us getting back into even the top 3 in Munster without a lot of very hard work. Sometimes it's hard to ignore the cold cold facts.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6494 - 25/09/2008 18:41:35    108027