Place Your Bets 2020

We're up and running so who are you picking to win this year's Football & Hurling All Ireland's ?
Let's assume for the purpose that there will be finals.
I'll go with Kerry in football as they are now in prime position to dethrone the Dubs with real firepower up front which is crucial.
Limerick this year in hurling for me as they have an embarrassment of riches and are going to be hard bet.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/10/2020 21:21:36    2301389

I know nothing about hurling and some would say I know nothing about football, I think it will be a great Ulster championship and the All Ireland semis will be good too, Tyrone v Dublin and Kerry v Galway,
Kerry v Dublin final and Kerry to win it by 2 points ending the hopes of Dubs6.
Hurling I haven't a clue, I'll say I'll tip--Tipp.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 25/10/2020 22:39:37    2301419

Infairneess hurling wide open I think we could have a surprise galway Wexford and Dublin could have a big say. Wexford have had very good prep as got the club championship out of the way very early and will have less pressure with no crowds.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 25/10/2020 23:23:16    2301435

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I know nothing about hurling and some would say I know nothing about football, I think it will be a great Ulster championship and the All Ireland semis will be good too, Tyrone v Dublin and Kerry v Galway,
Kerry v Dublin final and Kerry to win it by 2 points ending the hopes of Dubs6.
Hurling I haven't a clue, I'll say I'll tip--Tipp."
There will be no Du6s this year. Our full back line will be our Achilles...
Kerry won't be beaten in this years Championship.

Hurling - I think Limerick will win Liam.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 26/10/2020 01:01:03    2301447

Meath will give a good account of themselves in Leinster. Once they eradicate the slow start, a few euro on Meath to win it good pay for Christmas.
All ire going by my previous predilections would be Kerry. Connacht Mayo will prevail, Ulster I can it been Donegal
Hurling I haven't a clue and wouldn't even pretend to guess.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2020 08:44:09    2301467

Tyrone, Galway, Dubs & Kerry provincial champs, Dubs to win Sam.

Dont know enough about hurling to comment.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 26/10/2020 09:32:15    2301480

We're going to have a great Ulster and Connaught championship. In Connaught are Roscommon finally going to reach their potential this year with the huge financial backing they have got; would they be the richest county in the country at this stage? :). Being serious they are in a good position and appear to have a lot of depth to challenge Galway and Mayo but I think if Mayo put in the Galway or yesterday's 2nd half performance for 70 minutes they'll win Connaught.

Munster - Kerry
Leinster - Dublin

Ulster now has four Division 1 teams; whilst the All Ireland champions might not come from there this year (though they'll be close) it leaves no doubt who has the most competitive championship especially in a straight knockout system. Donegal v Tyrone is going to be a game in a half; I think Tyrone have regrouped and had to show some of their hand yesterday to stay up. They looked very impressive and despite Donegal's qualities I think Tyrone under MH will win in Ballybofey; more comfortable than many will expect.

As for the rest of the Ulster championship who knows but I think Tyrone will just see it out after winning next week but will have a tough semi final and final. It's possible they'll have to beat three Div 1 teams to win Ulster - compare that to the rest especially Munster.

Dublin v Tyrone
Kerry v Mayo

Mayo - Tyrone

Christmas All Ireland champions - Mayo

In hurling Limerick remind me of Jim Gavin's Dublin against Donegal in that famous semi final. I'm not saying they'll win 5 in a row but they were badly caught last season for whatever reason. It must have badly hurt watching Tipp lift Liam knowing they wouldn't touch a motivated, focused Limerick team. I suspect they've learnt from what happened against Kilkenny and complacency won't happen again. They're by the far the best team in the country and I think they'll win Liam this year; win it again in 2021 and possibly 2022.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 26/10/2020 09:33:17    2301481

Football Dublin. Hurling Cork.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 26/10/2020 10:39:28    2301503

Football ill go Kerry, if the rumors i'm hearing about the Dub5 last night and this morning are true.

Hurling Limerick.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/10/2020 10:46:24    2301511

Well its gonna be a very strange Championship
First the football straight knockout like the old days
Very hard to know the form of some teams
Connacht and Ulster very open
Roscommon have no fear of Galway or Mayo
They have a strong and very experienced panel
Galway hard to know were very up and down
Is PJ gonna gonna get Galway to an All Ireland final
He has his work cut out for sure
Like wise with Mayo hard to know their form
Ulster youd think winners will come from Donegal or Tyrone
But could one of them be caught by Monaghon ?
All things considered its looking like a Kerry and Dublin final
With Kerry having their young lads older more experienced bulked up
Kerry can beat the Dubs to take Sam home to the Kingdom

Hurling
Well id like and can see Wexford win the All Ireland
But if theres one man out there who knows the road to Liam its Brian Coady
Killkenny might have only 4 /5 games to wn an All Ireland
Id imagine Coady is rubbing his hands (as is his style) at the thought

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 26/10/2020 10:48:50    2301512

On another thread I was going for a Cork double but after seeing our lads the last couple of weeks I think we'll beat their footballers now and we'll win Munster.

I don't know who we'll get in the semifinal but it'll be about 50/50.

dublin will win the allireland football championship hands down, they were only ticking over last week and this week and will be the same through leinster which they'll play at home followed by the semifinal and final at home its a nice situation for them to be in in fairness.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/10/2020 10:59:24    2301522

Cork vs Mayo
Donegal vs Dublin.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 26/10/2020 11:01:08    2301524

Football: Kerry
Hurling: Tipp

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 26/10/2020 11:10:42    2301532

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "On another thread I was going for a Cork double but after seeing our lads the last couple of weeks I think we'll beat their footballers now and we'll win Munster.

I don't know who we'll get in the semifinal but it'll be about 50/50.

dublin will win the allireland football championship hands down, they were only ticking over last week and this week and will be the same through leinster which they'll play at home followed by the semifinal and final at home its a nice situation for them to be in in fairness."
He He Kingdom i like youre style
Kerry are now ready to take down Dublin
With the Cool Kid Clifford ready to shoot down the Dubs
And you know it but playing it cool fair play to you,
I think you know and imost people do Dublin have come back to the Pack
Youl have no bother getting to All ireland final
And then take care of the Dubs as ye are well capable of

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 26/10/2020 12:20:16    2301568

Replying To rhudson:  "He He Kingdom i like youre style
And then take care of the Dubs as ye are well capable of"
I hope you're right brother, we have an excellent team and our young guns have filled out over the last year but we have to get to the final first and then try and beat that over monied behemoth of a team that plays all their games at home.

Éamon Sweeney had an article in the paper yesterday where he said there are only 2 things that can stop the dub$ winning the 6 and that's Mayo or Covid19.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/10/2020 12:39:48    2301573

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Cork vs Mayo
Donegal vs Dublin."
Which of those is the hurling final TheRock?

Going for Kerry to land Sam and Limerick to take Liam back.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/10/2020 12:51:01    2301580

Replying To rhudson:  "He He Kingdom i like youre style
And then take care of the Dubs as ye are well capable of"
It's called Yerra Yerra and part of their DNA.

I refer you to another post of theirs proclaiming it is their God given right to win Sam every year.

But feel free to continue to humour him. ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 26/10/2020 12:59:02    2301583

Replying To royaldunne:  "Meath will give a good account of themselves in Leinster. Once they eradicate the slow start, a few euro on Meath to win it good pay for Christmas.
All ire going by my previous predilections would be Kerry. Connacht Mayo will prevail, Ulster I can it been Donegal
Hurling I haven't a clue and wouldn't even pretend to guess."
Think your on the mulled wine early. Dublin, Kerry, Galway and ?. Winners Galway or Ulster?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 26/10/2020 13:08:59    2301585

Replying To TheUsername:  "Football ill go Kerry, if the rumors i'm hearing about the Dub5 last night and this morning are true.

Hurling Limerick."
What rumours are floating about Username? Rumours are called rumours for a reason though.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 26/10/2020 13:15:10    2301588

Football
Leinster Dublin
Munster Kerry
Ulster Donegal
Connacht Roscommon

All Ireland Kerry

Footballer of the year David Clifford

Hurling
Munster Limerick
Leinster Wexford