Anti GAA Agenda

Replying To KillingFields:  "Rugby players are all in bubble and tested very regularly. He covers all sports through off the ball. He isnt simply a rugby presenter."
Munster's bubble has already burst ..... twice.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/10/2020 17:43:04    2300309

Replying To TheFlaker:  "So you have gone from saying he has been ranting to say it should be cancelled to now saying he merely said it should be cancelled. He said he has been back and over in his mind and feels uncomfortable about the situation based on the results of the GPA poll and also the Louth player publicly speaking out about the issues especially in weaker counties.

And if I have to explain the difference between the rugby and the GAA and how it is easier for the rugby to continue then you really haven't a clue."
If I could suggest Flaker you have a listen to Dick Clerkin on the Our Game podcast to get the GAAs side of the story on testing of players and what NPHET told them about the low risk of playing GAA. Why Newstalk and RTE haven't got the GAA side of the story I don't know.
If rugby is so good in protecting it's players how come their has been outbreaks in provincial squads and with all the travelling to Scotland and Wales in the league on airlines and through airports and large rugby squads and backroom staffs I would argue that GAA players travelling on the day on their own and togging off in the stand has less risks. Rugby players might be living in 'bubbles' but unless their in outer space they won't be that protected from the public.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 22/10/2020 17:50:09    2300312

If I could suggest Flaker you have a listen to Dick Clerkin on the Our Game podcast to get the GAAs side of the story on testing of players and what NPHET told them about the low risk of playing GAA. Why Newstalk and RTE haven't got the GAA side of the story I don't know.
If rugby is so good in protecting it's players how come their has been outbreaks in provincial squads and with all the travelling to Scotland and Wales in the league on airlines and through airports and large rugby squads and backroom staffs I would argue that GAA players travelling on the day on their own and togging off in the stand has less risks. Rugby players might be living in 'bubbles' but unless their in outer space they won't be that protected from the public.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 400 - 22/10/2020 17:50:09
Because the cases came from all accounts academy players attending third level.
The travelling to Scotland, Wales is via chartered flights and as little interaction with people outside the squad bubbles. They are not exactly waiting in terminals for standard, scheduled flgights.

This is a myth and anyone that thinks these players are in bubbles are dreaming. They will minimise risk of course but the Rugby players will have plenty of contact with the outside world.

If you look at the two idiots from the England soccer team bringing girls back to their room. These are the highest paid sportsmen and teams in the world and they can't ensure complete bubbles. Covid cases happening all the time. Look at Ronaldo. And you want me to believe that a Rugby players with nowhere near the same money in the game As the footballers that could not prevent it either, are somehow more immune than the rest of us in their "Bubble"!

The fact is they are at risk the same as all of us. They go to the same shops, their kids go to school, walk the same streets. The only difference between the pro Rugby player and the GAA player is not the money available to lock you in a fake bubble, it's that the GAA player does not have to travel Europe to global pandemic hotspots for competition. The GAA are in position to have competition within the country and can take the same precautions and limit risk the same way as the Rugby players.

Blaming the GAA is a convenient way for TD's to divert from their own perceived failings in dealing with this pandemic.
BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 187 - 22/10/2020 17:40:05
what exactly are you claiming is a myth?
They have minimised risk.. The Rugby players are not working in schools, offices etc and can lower the contacts with others far more than GAA players.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 22/10/2020 18:00:06    2300315

Replying To updwell:  "If I could suggest Flaker you have a listen to Dick Clerkin on the Our Game podcast to get the GAAs side of the story on testing of players and what NPHET told them about the low risk of playing GAA. Why Newstalk and RTE haven't got the GAA side of the story I don't know.
If rugby is so good in protecting it's players how come their has been outbreaks in provincial squads and with all the travelling to Scotland and Wales in the league on airlines and through airports and large rugby squads and backroom staffs I would argue that GAA players travelling on the day on their own and togging off in the stand has less risks. Rugby players might be living in 'bubbles' but unless their in outer space they won't be that protected from the public."
I feel again I need to state I am a die hard GAA man who has devoted a lot of my life to it playing and coaching since retirement. I am not trying to have an argument about this. I want more than anything for it to go ahead. I am simply stating it is far more hazardous than a professional sports teams. There is not perfect solution. I can listen to Dick and he will make valid points but when a big percentage of the players are uneasy about it going ahead you are losing the battle especially if cases arise.

I hope it can go ahead behind closed doors it it had to. Can't be bothered listening to people crying about they can't get to games and it's no good without fans. And I never said rugby is perfect. I was replying to a contrary poster simply stating that a professional sports team has a better chance of getting things right than an amateur one. That's just a fact. And even then it's still not perfect. This thread has turned silly now with posters thinking one side is anti gaa and pro rugby.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 22/10/2020 18:13:57    2300321

Replying To KillingFields:  "Rugby players are all in bubble and tested very regularly. He covers all sports through off the ball. He isnt simply a rugby presenter."
How are so many rugby players getting infected if they are in a bubble?

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 22/10/2020 18:20:41    2300323

Replying To brisbane:  "How are so many rugby players getting infected if they are in a bubble?"
All bubbles burst Brisbane and this is a particularly contagious virus. That's why serious questions need to be asked of The IRFU in relation to sending two large groups to Paris next week. I'm not saying they shouldn't go but the rugby journalists need to do what they are paid to do and stop acting like sycophants.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/10/2020 18:53:11    2300329

Replying To TheFlaker:  "So you have gone from saying he has been ranting to say it should be cancelled to now saying he merely said it should be cancelled. He said he has been back and over in his mind and feels uncomfortable about the situation based on the results of the GPA poll and also the Louth player publicly speaking out about the issues especially in weaker counties.

And if I have to explain the difference between the rugby and the GAA and how it is easier for the rugby to continue then you really haven't a clue."
I leave out one word from my numerous replies to numerous posters and you claim i have backtracked? stop nitpicking over insignificant details. The GPA poll shows the players want to play. The louth player does not have to play if he does not want to unlike Rugby players.

Pro12 clubs are flying abroad every match weekend which is crazy during a pandemic
Ireland will be mainly playing pointless friendlies and no one is calling for them to be cancelled. baffling
GAA is knock out, half the teams will be knocked out after 1 week. The season will be extremely short with teams participating reducing quickly.Pro12 is played over a much longer period.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 22/10/2020 19:11:07    2300335

Replying To brisbane:  "How are so many rugby players getting infected if they are in a bubble?"
Through attending universities etc...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 22/10/2020 19:55:55    2300339

Replying To Greengrass:  "All bubbles burst Brisbane and this is a particularly contagious virus. That's why serious questions need to be asked of The IRFU in relation to sending two large groups to Paris next week. I'm not saying they shouldn't go but the rugby journalists need to do what they are paid to do and stop acting like sycophants."
The IRFU will have players out on their own chartered plane. Straight to a covid clear base and no movement from that base other than training/the match itself and im sure IRFU medics etc know far more on this than you.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 22/10/2020 19:57:11    2300340

Replying To KillingFields:  "Through attending universities etc..."
So is the whole University a bubble then or is that a different bubble and how do they go from 1 bubble to another.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 22/10/2020 20:10:57    2300345

Replying To brisbane:  "I leave out one word from my numerous replies to numerous posters and you claim i have backtracked? stop nitpicking over insignificant details. The GPA poll shows the players want to play. The louth player does not have to play if he does not want to unlike Rugby players.

Pro12 clubs are flying abroad every match weekend which is crazy during a pandemic
Ireland will be mainly playing pointless friendlies and no one is calling for them to be cancelled. baffling
GAA is knock out, half the teams will be knocked out after 1 week. The season will be extremely short with teams participating reducing quickly.Pro12 is played over a much longer period."
You seem really concerned about the rugby players all of a sudden Galwayford. The championships are going ahead. Is there anything else you want to whinge about?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/10/2020 20:11:19    2300346

Replying To KillingFields:  "The IRFU will have players out on their own chartered plane. Straight to a covid clear base and no movement from that base other than training/the match itself and im sure IRFU medics etc know far more on this than you."
England game against the Barbarians at Twickenham has been plunged into doubt after the Rugby Football Union revealed several Baa-baas players breached coronavirus protocols.

The RFU claims an unknown number of players left the team hotel without permission or informing organisers of their whereabouts on Wednesday evening.

https://www.the42.ie/barbarians-england-doubt-coronavirus-breach-5241960-Oct2020/

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 22/10/2020 20:19:02    2300348

Replying To brisbane:  "I leave out one word from my numerous replies to numerous posters and you claim i have backtracked? stop nitpicking over insignificant details. The GPA poll shows the players want to play. The louth player does not have to play if he does not want to unlike Rugby players.

GAA is knock out, half the teams will be knocked out after 1 week. The season will be extremely short with teams participating reducing quickly.Pro12 is played over a much longer period."
You said he ranted and wanted it cancelled. Calling him a rugby broadcaster. Clearly trying to make out he was anti gaa. Nonsense.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 22/10/2020 20:28:48    2300349

And how many rugby players have stated they don't feel comfortable playing? How many have publicly spoken about it?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 22/10/2020 20:30:12    2300350

Replying To KillingFields:  "The IRFU will have players out on their own chartered plane. Straight to a covid clear base and no movement from that base other than training/the match itself and im sure IRFU medics etc know far more on this than you."
Seeng as what you said about the make up about the ladies squad was well off the mark and seeing as Munster Rugby and The IRFU haven't been able to keep the Munster squad "Covid clear forgive me if I exercise significant scepticism with regards to your latest post. What you have outlined to me in relation to the logistics involved in Paris is no different to what I outlined. Paris is under lock down and it is subject to a night time curfew. A "Covid clear" base would be wonderful but all it takes is one little microbe and they are plentiful in Paris. You can bury your head in the sand all you like but that number of people travelling to Paris at this time is a risk. It's just that you can't find it in yourself to admit it. That combined with your silly assertion about sharing the U20 title leaves you looking a tad foolish.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/10/2020 20:40:01    2300356

Replying To bloodyban:  "
Replying To Crinigan:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "True in that Joe Molloy is a Kildare man who's family are from Silgo. Joe Molloy works for virgin Rugby and Off the ball Rugby newstalk. Joe went ranting on air and on twitter calling for the GAA season to be cancelled this is a direct attack on the GAA organisation by Rugby media. Vodapone "team of us" put a lot of money into Irish rugby and wont be too happy to see direct competition over the next few weeks they heavily involved in Off the ball newstalk.
brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 448 - 21/10/2020 15:58:26
Off the Ball covers all sports. He isnt rugby media. He is a sports journalist. Covers GAA and everything else with OTB.

Molly's Dad is a Mayoman. Before he took the TV job he was clueless on rugby, still is in many ways. He's more of a soccer and golf man. Don't let the truth get in the way of your lies.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 5851 - 21/10/2020 16:18:25
Wouldnt say clueless on rugby but far from the best.

He is from Limerick and is a big Munster rugby fan. His name- Killing fields, refers to a D4 rugby term for Limerick rugby. Limerick are not good at Gaelic football, they are in division 4. He is focally anti Gaelic football.
That said, it is nice to have some Munster rugby fans on this platform. I am a big Premier league football fan. Who nearly always watches Match of the Day.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1887 - 21/10/2020 16:24:38
Im not anti gaelic football but do think the rule book needs drastic overhaul. What "D4 rugby term" (whats a d4 rugby term anyway?) did i use?

No they are not......just look at all the comments on social media over past 48 hrs....look at the profiles of the people commenting LoI fans, rugby fans etc all in a sustained attack on GAA due to its popularity ......

The chip on the shoulder of these people about the GAA is immense even the way the refer to it as bog ball and stick fighting thinking they are cool and hip when actually they are simply trying to ape a colonial power that tramped their people into the ground for generations ......
ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 49 - 21/10/2020 16:35:44
hahahaha do you have links to all these comments that are anti gaa?
Care to show on many main rugby forums that people use terms such as bog ball and stick fighting?

I'm GAA first and foremost but have more than an interest in other sports including soccer and rugby. This means I read and follow the media attached to all sports and make no mistake the current campaign is nothing to do with Covid.
Irish rugby is a farce; we're brainwashed into thinking the international rugby team touches every community in Ireland and we're one of the top international teams with a chance of becoming world champions. It's a complete farce; yes the team do fairly well; winning a few 6 nations in the years post world cup when all other nations are in transition planning for the next world cup year. Look at Ireland's record in WC years or at the WC itself; this is the only year every team is at peak and the same level of preparation and we're a very poor international team.
Soccer to be fair is a national sport that genuinely touches every community in Ireland; our soccer team is poor but there is nothing like a successful international team - it doesn't happen often but the vast majority of the country feel genuine warmth to working class guys representing us and get behind it as a country.
The mainstream media has been taken over by rugby fanatics; very much linked to the governments trying to make everything in the country middle class. There is a campaign to make rugby our national sport, it's all positive reports; nothing negative and after each awful WC year everything goes back how great rugby is.
Yes Munster rugby touches working class areas but it will never be a national sport like the GAA or soccer. GAA in particular gets bad press from the media as I suspect they see us as more of a competitor.
To the GAA people out there let the negativety and GAA bashing continue, they'll never achieve what they're trying to do as the GAA breaks down every class system and is the true national sport of Ireland no matter how much the rugby press dislike it.
sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 637 - 21/10/2020 16:48:20
The only farcical thing is this post.
You are going back to using the old insults that others have used countless times before and its been shown to be incorrect. Yes the mens rugby team have failed at world cups. Theres no arguing that but saying the 6 nations wins etc are just when the opposition is in transition is just plain lies.
Going on about mainstream media being taken over is very near jim corr/gemma o doherty paranoia levels.
The negativity the GAA receives in the media comes from the so called gaa people more than anyone else in particular the gaa only writers. that isnt the fault of anyone but the GAA itself."
The coverage of rugby in Ireland is farcical. I actually played rugby for the first team of my university even though I never played it until I went there, level was AIB Div 2. One of lads on the team went on to play for Munster and win 6 nations. The out half was kiwi ( I got involved as i lived with him and didn't make Sigerson panel so said I'd give rugby a go) that went on to play for Munster and Newcastle.

I remember thinking that the standard of athleticism was akin to Junior football in Meath and this was the 2nd division for the whole country. It's a minority sport with small playing numbers. I've no doubt Brian O Driscoll was a very good athlete but his achievements come nowhere near to a Sheamus Coleman for eg playing at highest level of a genuine world sport. To compare, there are more registered female soccer players in US than there are male/female rugby players on the planet. It's a minority sport played by a handful of countries yet Irish media go on about the rugby team as if they are world superstars. Makes me laugh when I hear such a player is world class... of course he is if he plays for one of the 7/8 actual countries that are competitive in the world.

It's popularity lies in the fact that upper middle class types worship the snobbery and BS that surrounds the sport. It's all about being seen to be there. It's horrendously commercial and fake. Irish clubs are successful because they take euro competition so seriously and rest up for the league. The French and English by comparison aren't as bothered. After that, who else is there in the whole of Europe? Nobody. They've to go to South Africa to find teams."
Im sorry. Brian O Driscoll was a superior athlete and sportsman than Seamus Coleman could ever be. Soccer players are world class from the waist down. From the waist up they have no muscle mass and minimal contact during a game. Most of the biggest players weigh less than 75kgs. O Driscoll would snap Coleman in half and was faster ,more skillfull.
All your rugby anecdotes sound made up and anti rugby.AIL division 2 is about the equivelant of division 2 gaelic football. What club did you play for and who was this kiwi? Killing fields might know..
In Limerick rugby is the fabric of city living,like hurling is in the countryside. Theres very good relations. People like you always try to ridicule and put up barriers. Why?"]You're having a laugh. The standard of athleticism is very poor. I later played a few matches for a end a season dead runners for Div 1 team (they wear black and white) and on the other wing was a lad who played a bit of second team ball for St Vincent's. He was a star in AIB league but nothing special at Vincent's.

Brian O Driscoll faster than Sheamus Coleman? You're having a laugh. Anyone can eat 200g of protein a day and do a load of squats , deadlifts etc and put on 10+ kg of muscle. But BOD is amazing athlete because he has muscles?! No question he was a great rugby player but in terms of chances and odds of success... Coleman or Glenn Whelan (300+ PL appearances) etc achievements dwarf his.

How many Kiwis played for Munster and Newcastle?! Thought Limerick lads were into their rugby?!

I enjoyed playing rugby and I find the lads sounder than lot of GAA lads I've played with, lot less posing and shape throwing. But the coverage of the sport is nothing short of ridiculous in Ireland.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 22/10/2020 20:42:35    2300358

Replying To Leftpeg1:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "It's not plain lies though and any rugby follower would know this if they like to admit it or not. Look at the RFU and Welsh Rugby Union's 4 year cycle plan. It's a very well spoken about; these unions tend to move players on after a world cup and only keep a coach if they're committing to the 4 years. Their coaches don't hide the fact they're trying new systems and players with thd ultimate aim of preparing for the world cup. Those unions as well as France have a very clear policy which shows in the results at WC's compared to ourselves; yes there is one or two WC's they underachieve but not often. Ireland's policy on the other hand is building up huge momentum in the 6 nations to grow the game and increase revenue. NZ even laughed during interviews at the WC about Ireland beating them in glorified friendlies whilst they were in transition. Look at the result when NZ were at peak. I love rugby but Irish rugby is a farce and a tad embarssing when we talk about being number 1 and winning world cups. We benefit from the transitional period; even the 6 nations in WC year we tend to be awful; all a farce sorry.
sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 638 - 21/10/2020 20:30:56
except there is huge examples of welsh and english keeping players on just like the irish. like 99 with the english and 07/11 with welsh...
calling irish rugby a farce is just childish and immature. calling the tests we beat new zealand glorified friendlies is nonsense. Theyre the top level of the sport. before the world cup, which there has only been 9, they were only chance to play these sides. The Kiwis werent in transition in those games."
You're right KillingFields the Kiwis weren't in transitions....they were just missing 7 or 8 of their first team and the players that were playing were exhausted after a long club season. Realistically they were on a holiday for for a pi** up! But ye, Ireland world no.1!!"
And they made a dvd about the victory!!!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 22/10/2020 20:46:33    2300359

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Molly's Dad is a Mayoman. Before he took the TV job he was clueless on rugby, still is in many ways. He's more of a soccer and golf man. Don't let the truth get in the way of your lies."
Exactly , soccer and golf are his sports. He's not too arsed with gaa and rugby. Decent presenter, wasted among the utter idiots on OTB.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 22/10/2020 20:48:48    2300360

Hopefully the GAA becomes uncool and unpopular among teenagers in Dublin, please God they turn back to soccer and rugby

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 22/10/2020 21:09:04    2300366

Replying To TheFlaker:  "And how many rugby players have stated they don't feel comfortable playing? How many have publicly spoken about it?"
It's their job. They are contractually bound and are paid to play. They use that money to provide for their families. They're in a difficult position if they are uncomfortable about playing.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/10/2020 21:16:18    2300370